Share Your Hilarious Willie Johnston Stories Here

Deodato

That Peter Shields thread introduced me to a Hampden Babylon legend Willie Johnston. 

Thank you YouTube, as there's a truck load of stories about him and they leave you hurting your ribs laughing. 

I'm new to this character, only just learned he played for Hearts under Alex McDonald, but this Baggies story takes some beating. 

Negotiating the cost of a greenhouse whilst taking corner kicks - one week at a time. 

Edited by Deodato

Rogue Daddy

🤣 Great character, not seen that before! I remember watching him at Tynie roasting a guy down the left and continually getting his shirt tugged. He eventually squared up to the player, took his shirt off and handed it to him! I think he got a card for it. Don't remember the game but it was in front of the shed.

hmfc_liam06

A good friend of relatives of mine and uncle of a friend, we're all from the same Fife village.

There's an annual pub 7 a side tournament in his name, always a great day where he turns up for the presentation.

Bull's-eye

I remember him blowing out of his arse after 5 minutes when he 1st rocked up at Tynecastle.

He did improve marginally.

Safe to say we didn't get to see him at the peak of his powers.

Saw him play for Hearts in a pre-season friendly against Broxburn at the Albyn Park, just seemed unreal watching a player of his calibre in those surroundings. 

His cross leading up to Dalglish’s goal against England in 1977 was outstanding, totally destroyed a photographer.

1 hour ago, Rogue Daddy said:

🤣 Great character, not seen that before! I remember watching him at Tynie roasting a guy down the left and continually getting his shirt tugged. He eventually squared up to the player, took his shirt off and handed it to him! I think he got a card for it. Don't remember the game but it was in front of the shed.

I'm laughing so much here, it hurts. 

1 hour ago, briever said: