Pre season friendlies

Pre season friendlies are for the benefit of the team, not for jollies. Pretty sure there will be another match planned for the Saturday if you hold your horses

• Replies 567

• the general

• Rockwell

• Jambo 4 Ever

45 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Probably several reasons that they couldn’t. 😎

The unpleasantness in and around around the railway station after the last Saturday game for one. Not sure the Preston polis would want us back on a Saturday.

The last Preston friendly i went to was a ball and so was Blackpookl after with my Mrs

Very easy to get to as well

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
3 hours ago, DG_HMFC said:

Would be at least a two-three hour drive for me across the M62 or the Snake Pass then round Manchester, in the evening rush hour.  Don't think so.  I'll wait for the announcement of a game against the Blades or Owls.  Or Rotherham again.  Even Chesterfield would do.

Edited by Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

Newcastle would be terrific for Gary Locke's testimonial.  They would pack put the Roseburn and he would get a large sum.  Well deserved for such a stalwart servant and great Jambo.

the general
5 hours ago, Stu_HMFC said:

8 hour round trip for a glorified training session. 

It's a mid-week away game for a reason

Low key and stops the drunken bams going

5 minutes ago, the general said:

It's a mid-week away game for a reason

Low key and stops the drunken bams going

Aye just noticed its a midweker, so no for me

As for the drunken bams most if not all are good natured imho

the general
12 minutes ago, SCFHearts said:

Aye just noticed its a midweker, so no for me

As for the drunken bams most if not all are good natured imho

Were you at the last games there?

I was at the one about ten yr ago  was fine from what i seen, forgot about the more recent one, so what did i miss ??

weekend offender
5 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

The unpleasantness in and around around the railway station after the last Saturday game for one. Not sure the Preston polis would want us back on a Saturday.

The polis were the ones that caused the "unpleasantness" last time

6 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

I remember walking up to the train station at the rear of the support. There was a wee mob of Preston hoolies telling anyone daft enough to listen that they were ready to get stuck in. Moments later the Hearts fans started scrapping with the police and the Preston boys hoored off in the opposite direction. 😀

2 hours ago, the general said:

Were you at the last games there?

He was on the ching with billy king 

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

Some junkie in Leith once told me that Hibs are pure Barry, so does that count?

6489B3AE-02C7-42EE-95FF-117B918F787A.webp

56 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

I remember walking up to the train station at the rear of the support. There was a wee mob of Preston hoolies telling anyone daft enough to listen that they were ready to get stuck in. Moments later the Hearts fans started scrapping with the police and the Preston boys hoored off in the opposite direction. 😀

Too many arseholes from our side on the pish all day and not able to behave reasonably vs an aggressive police presence who took no shite. A fun trip for some. Not so much fun for those who can have a beer without wanting a pagger to go with it and just want to watch our team. On the way home we passed on the Edinburgh train which was going to be carnage and went to Glasgow instead. Spoiled by a couple of hundred scumbag welts IMO

2 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Too many arseholes from our side on the pish all day and not able to behave reasonably vs an aggressive police presence who took no shite. A fun trip for some. Not so much fun for those who can have a beer without wanting a pagger to go with it and just want to watch our team. On the way home we passed on the Edinburgh train which was going to be carnage and went to Glasgow instead. Spoiled by a couple of hundred scumbag welts IMO

I don't necessarily disagree with this. I didn't spend too much time with the main support. We spoke nicely to the Preston police and were allowed to do our own thing and avoid the designated pubs and laid on transport. 

10 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

I don't necessarily disagree with this. I didn't spend too much time with the main support. We spoke nicely to the Preston police and were allowed to do our own thing and avoid the designated pubs and laid on transport. 

We had a fine day until after the game. Nice trip down. Taxi to Pub near the ground for lunch. Shite game right enough. It was only really when we got back near the station it was obvious something had changed and the police were pissed off. Then the jostling and pavement dancing and can and bottle throwing by utter melts on 3 cans of cider moved from outside on to the Edinburgh bound platform so we walked over and switched to the Glasgow train. It’s fairly commonplace at away games by public transport. The same faces every time but this was the worst I’d seen. just complete disrespect from moronic cretins in a ‘safe’ mob.

Edited by JimmyCant

16 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Did you think the same of Gorgie Jungle back in the day JC ??

Lets face it how many were lifted or hurt in Preston  ??

3 minutes ago, SCFHearts said:

Quite a few were arrested outside the train station. 

3 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Fair play i didnt know 

All i can say is seen Hearts all over England  never seen much bother

Though i did get the Preston PSF wrong and on hindsight getting old, that was no doubt 15yr ago 

6 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Were they done or just held ?? 

Forza Cuore

I drove last time and one of the few not steamboats.

Think a number of dafties had been on the ching with Mr King.

8 minutes ago, SCFHearts said:

Not really a movement I associated myself with. knuckle draggers from a different era

No idea how many arrested or hurt in Preston. Don’t see the relevance. It was anti social. Spoiled the day a bit for decent fans. Didn’t do our reputation any favours, hence I’m sure in part why this game is on a Wednesday night. Thanks lads.

1 minute ago, JimmyCant said:

Not really a movement I associated myself with. knuckle draggers from a different era

No idea how many arrested or hurt in Preston. Don’t see the relevance. It was anti social. Spoiled the day a bit for decent fans. Didn’t do our reputation any favours, hence I’m sure in part why this game is on a Wednesday night. Thanks lads.

Good point 

Just now, Weakened Offender said:

Dunno pal 

See thats the thing 

In my day you got kicked out or lifted

Now being held till the next train doesnt seem that bad, but lited in england or the likes  sure does

Glad am an old get  that lests it all go by me 

7 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

I recall Burberry wearing blokes in their 50s actively seeking an early police escort to the game.

Weird behaviour.

Folk moan about no pre season games in England then moan it’s midweek. Looking forward to a wee away day in July. 

Sniggering at the typical pompous digs at the Hearts support from some on here. 

Selective memories from the moral high ground but I shall refrain from whataboutery.

To still keep on the topic of Preston last time around I'm sure the Police Officers would love to have the Hearts support visit their Town again, give them something to do. 

IMG-20150721-WA0003.jpg

23 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

Newcastle would be terrific for Gary Locke's testimonial.  They would pack put the Roseburn and he would get a large sum.  Well deserved for such a stalwart servant and great Jambo.

Saturday 3pm Sunderland v Hearts week before season starts we would take between 3k and 5k down id imagine 

Make it happen!

15 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

We should line up some friendlies when the World Cup is on too 

Against who?

1 hour ago, been here before said:

Against who?

Lower league English teams ? No harm in it. I’d imagine the championship will stop in England ? Keeps the teams fresh and no just training.

8 minutes ago, Stu_HMFC said:

Lower league English teams ? No harm in it. I’d imagine the championship will stop in England ? Keeps the teams fresh and no just training.

Exactly

will be almost as long a break as there is between seasons

so worth us organising some friendlies in the mean time 

Angel eyes

Well Rangers have Tottenham in July at Ibrox which has left ra people underwhelmed they think they should have a BIGGER team worthy of playing the mighty Rangers! Short  memories these eejits have, no long ago they were playing Peterhead, Montrose  & Stenny think it should be Spurs that’s underwhelmed…..

30 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Exactly

will be almost as long a break as there is between seasons

so worth us organising some friendlies in the mean time 

How long is the break?

merseyjambo
50 minutes ago, Stu_HMFC said:

League 1 & 2 in England are not shutting down for the break.

33 minutes ago, merseyjambo said:

League 1 & 2 in England are not shutting down for the break.

Could arrange some away friendly against Burnley Sunderland Blackburn maybe just no on the days England are playing 3k Jambos down south 😂

Ford Prentice

So the schedule so far:

June 30 - Europa FC in Malaga

July 5 - East Fife in Methil

July 6 - Spartans in Pilton

July 20 - Preston North End in Preston

Have I missed anything?

the general
1 hour ago, Ford Prentice said:

So the schedule so far:

June 30 - Europa FC in Malaga

July 5 - East Fife in Methil

July 6 - Spartans in Pilton

July 20 - Preston North End in Preston

Have I missed anything?

Stoke?

Trawling through other forums, it seems that any game against Stoke would be weekend of 23rd July

And they are doing a lot of work on their ground so my guess would be Tynecastle.

(Or not!!)

3 minutes ago, the general said:

Tynecastle 30th July I heard

That's the first league games that weekend .so that's not happening