We've played in South Morocco

Poseidon

5 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

***Pedant Alert*** ... ***Pedant Alert***

You two have stumbled across a lyrical dichotomy, and guess what? You are BOTH wrong. 😄

Please bear with me ....

For a song played at almost every home game, it amazes me that fans consistently get it wrong when singing it a cappella.

What's more, given the demise of 'Rangers' and their re-incarnation as 'The Rangers', the original (and best) as sung by the late, great Hector Nicol is arguably prescient given that he sings, "Though some say The Rangers and Celtic are grand" ... not "Though some say that Rangers and Celtic are grand", and certainly not  "Though some say that Celtic and Rangers are grand".

So, the proper lyric is:-

"Though some say The Rangers and Celtic are grand, the-e boys in maroon are the best in the land."

Sing along, folks ...

🎶🎵🎶

H-E-A ... R-T-S,

If you cannae spell it then here's what it says:

Hearts, Hearts, glorious Hearts,

It's down at Tynecastle they bide,

The talk o' the toon are the boys in maroon,

And Auld Reekie supports them wi' pride.

This is my story, this is my song,

Follow the Hearts and

You can't go wrong

Though some say The Rangers and Celtic are grand,

The-e boys in maroon are the best in the land."

🎶🎵🎶

I prefer Chisholms version ………………  : - (

• Replies 109

• Sooks

• Poseidon

• Francis Albert

• The Hogfather

Wee Mikey
44 minutes ago, Sooks said:

I prefer Chisholms version ………………  : - (

Sooks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My keyboard is running out of !!!!s

They've almost all  gone now!!

You are a heretic!

😄😄😄

17 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Sooks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My keyboard is running out of !!!!s

They've almost all  gone now!!

You are a heretic!

😄😄😄

: - D

Wee Mikey
10 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

I usually change the word ‘grand’ to sxxxe

I'll let you off with that 'un seeing as you didn't hoover up all the remaining 🏆 final tickets in yesterday's physical queue at Tynie. 😉

8 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

I'll let you off with that 'un seeing as you didn't hoover up all the remaining 🏆 final tickets in yesterday's physical queue at Tynie. 😉

Nope only two 👍

Wee Mikey
1 minute ago, **** the SPFL said:

Nope only two 👍

The gal just behind me was in for 24 (she got them, phew!), and there was that person just in front of you getting 40 for a supporter bus. I'm hoping that the folks at the end of the queue didn't miss out.

Wee Mikey

@Sooks

The h1b5 hoards can sing that dirge 'Sunshine on Leith' all they want, but Colin Chisholm's version of the Hearts song got to #92 in the charts, so they can suck it up.

Nevertheless, Colin gets the words wrong.

Great voice, for sure, but get the lyrics right, for heaven's sake!

Must dash as there's a match oan so, with a nod to Monty Python's Flying Circus, you dear Sooks, are an unorthodox Zindiq; a dissident dissenter; a non-comformist apostate; a schismatic agnostic pagan heathen; and a recreant recusant nullifidient to boot. 😆

I'll say it in Íslandic ... "Villutúmađur". 😉

... but all the more loveable for being so. ❤️

Which version (there are others) is best?

Hearts Song

Let the battle commence. 🎶🎵🎶

18 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

@Sooks

The h1b5 hoards can sing that dirge 'Sunshine on Leith' all they want, but Colin Chisholm's version of the Hearts song got to #92 in the charts, so they can suck it up.

Nevertheless, Colin gets the words wrong.

Great voice, for sure, but get the lyrics right, for heaven's sake!

Must dash as there's a match oan so, with a nod to Monty Python's Flying Circus, you dear Sooks, are an unorthodox Zindiq; a dissident dissenter; a non-comformist apostate; a schismatic agnostic pagan heathen; and a recreant recusant nullifidient to boot. 😆

I'll say it in Íslandic ... "Villutúmađur". 😉

... but all the more loveable for being so. ❤️

Which version (there are others) is best?

Hearts Song

Let the battle commence. 🎶🎵🎶

Lol : - D

13 hours ago, Led Tasso said:

I now it's not really the topic of conversation, but to me our greatest achievement is that the club was collapsing after being asset pumped, was on the brink of oblivion, and 8000 heroic souls stepped forward and refused to let it die, and now we've built a new main stand, roared back to third and are off to a European group stage.

Frankly we need a song about that . . . (be awfully nice to end the story with a cup win TBH)

Not on topic but what assets were pumped?