Europa league/conference 22/23 - Zurich v Hearts

mickycameron98

1 minute ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

I’ve booked flights to Rome for the 3rd week in September as I am convinced Roma will be in our group.

Anyone know of any decent hotels in Rome to look for?

In the Vatican City area.

Hotel Canada was brilliant. Free bar between 5pm and 7pm when I was there a few years ago.

Some cracking Air BNBs out there too. Far better value.

Booked up for October

• Replies 3.5k

• Ricardo Quaresma

• Heartsmad1874

• JimmyCant

• hughesie27

The Wrinkly Ninja
1 hour ago, Wee Mikey said:

In that case, as a non-betting person, I might just stick a fiver on a Heart of Midlothian v The Rangers tie. The odds must be astronomical.

You’ll be right browned off if it’s The Rangers V Heart of Midlothian that comes out the hat!

7 minutes ago, Busby8 said:

Hotel Canada was brilliant. Free bar between 5pm and 7pm when I was there a few years ago.

Some cracking Air BNBs out there too. Far better value.

Booked up for October

Shit.

Should I wait until October? 

Maybe that’s for the best. When will the club confirm?

8 minutes ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

Shit.

Should I wait until October? 

Maybe that’s for the best. When will the club confirm?

Ahhh .... I see..... and here's me thinking I was being helpful.

No issue with folk booking flights now, although I'd hope for the same courtesy if I choose to wait.

Each to their own eh ?

Just now, Busby8 said:

Ahhh .... I see..... and here's me thinking I was being helpful.

No issue with folk booking flights now, although I'd hope for the same courtesy if I choose to wait.

Each to their own eh ?

You were far too helpful mate. I felt a bit bad.

That said I love Rome and am looking to go there for the Ryder Cup next year so I will actually definitely look into your recommendation.

7 minutes ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

You were far too helpful mate. I felt a bit bad.

That said I love Rome and am looking to go there for the Ryder Cup next year so I will actually definitely look into your recommendation.

Cheers THD.

I was just too slow to spot the humour in your post.

Digs for October https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/53640912?source_impression_id=p3_1659714402_zZM7%2BR%2BXpxzRCf3M

(Edit.... probaly should have pmd you with this, but no harm done) 

Now it's established, Air BNB is the way to go for city breaks.

I doubt I'll be scrawling Gorgie Rules on the walls, but I'll let you know how it goes 🙂

Edited by Busby8

A friend in Zurich (Grasshoppers fan, btw) offered this brief assessment of our likely opponents in Europe.

File under encouraging. 

That said, FC Zurich was Swiss Champion last season and started very poorly this season. After 3 matches, they did not win a single one and are on place 10 in the Swiss league at the moment. A very poor start into the season.

The club has its 125 year anniversary this year.

59 minutes ago, Deodato said:

A friend in Zurich (Grasshoppers fan, btw) offered this brief assessment of our likely opponents in Europe.

File under encouraging. 

That said, FC Zurich was Swiss Champion last season and started very poorly this season. After 3 matches, they did not win a single one and are on place 10 in the Swiss league at the moment. A very poor start into the season.

The club has its 125 year anniversary this year.

Had a quick look at the Swiss Champions list to see how Zurich have done recently.

Shocked me to find that Grasshoppers haven't won the title in 20 years.

A long time for the country's biggest club.

43 minutes ago, Herbert. said:

Gnonto is good on FM.

I watched the game on a live stream and he also good on grass.

They are very quick on the counter attack, with Gronto and a couple others very rapid.

Not fearing Zurich one bit. They've certainly had a rollercoaster few years though. Relegated in 2016, immediately back up in 2017, won the cup in 2018 finishing 4th, then 7th and 8th finishes before winning the league. Mad. 

Obviously winning the league was impressive, but prior to that, only Basel or Young Boys won titles in Switzerland for 13 years. Basel haven't now won it since 2017 and haven't won either of their opening 2 games this season. Young Boys won 4 titles on the bounce, but then last season appointed David Wagner (:lol:) and turned to shit in the league. So aye, good achievement, but gonna go on a limb and say that might've been the weakest Swiss league in some time last season.

1 hour ago, RS86 said:

They've signed Donis Avdijaj on a 3 year deal

:facepalm:   File under even-more-encouraging.  :icon14:

9 minutes ago, Auld Reekin' said:

:facepalm:   File under even-more-encouraging.  :icon14:

Avdijaj had a very good season in the Austrian top flight last year. I'd not be judging many players on their time in that Hearts squad tbh.

Batistuta87

Will be a tight game and they won't be easy to beat. I'm definitely not going to underestimate them as they have some very good players including a Croatian international attacking mid (Koric) on loan from Roma and two young guys (Omeragic, a CB, and Gnonto, an attacker) who are both tipped to have a big future.

Man-for-man it's pretty close to be fair. Will be a good couple of games 👍🏻🇱🇻

Edited by Batistuta87

4 hours ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

I’ve booked flights to Rome for the 3rd week in September as I am convinced Roma will be in our group.

Anyone know of any decent hotels in Rome to look for?

In the Vatican City area.

😉

stayed at this one in May - 45 minute walk from the Vatican & 20 minute walk from Stadio Olympico. In a decent area with nice cafe / bars!

I’ll definitely re-visit for the game in September unless the fixtures are switched … can’t believe it’s not confirmed already!

AF5BB59D-9FA1-4712-B3A7-C9CAD86F1428.jpeg

Edited by Jambo-Fox

2 minutes ago, Jambo-Fox said:

😉

stayed at this one in May - 45 minute walk from the Vatican & 20 minute walk from Stadio Olympico. In a decent area with nice cafe / bars!

I’ll definitely re-visit for the game in September unless the fixtures are switched … can’t believe it’s not confirmed already!

AF5BB59D-9FA1-4712-B3A7-C9CAD86F1428.jpeg

The fixtures switched.

Why?

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

The fixtures switched.

Why?

Lazio Ladies at home - fixture clash!?!

2 minutes ago, Jambo-Fox said:

Lazio Ladies at home - fixture clash!?!

Well that’s it explained.

43 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Will they be better than Ross County?

More to the point ... will they be better than Liverpool?

51 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Will they be better than Ross County?

possibly a bit sharper in front of goal.

4 hours ago, Herbert. said:

Gnonto is good on FM.

Hopefully Robbie plays FM so will already be equipped with this knowledge lol

6 minutes ago, VALDOS' said:

Hopefully Robbie plays FM so will already be equipped with this knowledge lol

Why do you think he's improved? Do FM not use scouts for player ratings? 

3 hours ago, Yoda said:

I watched the game on a live stream and he also good on grass.

They are very quick on the counter attack, with Gronto and a couple others very rapid.

You'd think that would have slowed him down. 

1 hour ago, Batistuta87 said:

Will be a tight game and they won't be easy to beat. I'm definitely not going to underestimate them as they have some very good players including a Croatian international attacking mid (Koric) on loan from Roma and two young guys (Omeragic, a CB, and Gnonto, an attacker) who are both tipped to have a big future.

Man-for-man it's pretty close to be fair. Will be a good couple of games 👍🏻🇱🇻

Gronto has a Barry McKay poster on his wall. 

1 hour ago, Herbert. said:

Why do you think he's improved? Do FM not use scouts for player ratings? 

In all seriousness, yes there is a ridiculous degree of accuracy in FM stats.

6 hours ago, martoon said:

Had a quick look at the Swiss Champions list to see how Zurich have done recently.

Shocked me to find that Grasshoppers haven't won the title in 20 years.

A long time for the country's biggest club.

I know!

I loved watching them play Notts Forrest in the doc I Belive In Miracles - if you haven't seen that, then your weekend starts here. 

3 hours ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Linfield Vs FCZ Highlights

Hmmmmm bit of pace up front through the middle that might trouble us. We wouldn’t have lost that 2nd goal though

5 minutes ago, braveheart said:

Seems like they take a decent away support with a fare bit pyro😲

Yeah, noticed that

Well, they won their first title in 12 years or so, last season

I think we might partake in more than just pyro in that scenario 😄

They have lost their manager, 2 or 3 key players; as far as can be seen, they have only added Donis Avdijaj to their team

Here's their results so far, the only win against Linfield

19/07/22 UCL Qarabag    3 - 2 Zürich  
23/07/22 SUL Zürich        0 - 0 Luzern  
27/07/22 UCL Zürich        2 - 2 Qarabag  
30/07/22 SUL St. Gallen  2 - 0 Zürich  
04/08/22 UEL Linfield      0 - 2 Zürich

10 hours ago, Deodato said:

I know!

I loved watching them play Notts Forrest in the doc I Belive In Miracles - if you haven't seen that, then your weekend starts here. 

I haven't seen that, bud, but I've watched other stuff on Forrest.

Remarkable time that I remember well as a kid.

Brian Clough was an absolute one off.

FarmerTweedy
On 03/08/2022 at 19:07, Fozzyonthefence said:

I agree, now that the away goals rule has been removed a home tie in the second leg could well be more of an advantage these days.  As well as knowing exactly what you need to do there is more chance of the tie going to extra time now with all level games now going to extra time (so an extra 30 minutes at home compared to the other team, in addition to any extra time goals no longer counting double which I always thought was unfair).

In addition, under the away goals rule, previously if you got a respectable 1-0 away defeat in the first leg, while you might well fancy your chances the reality was if you lost an away goal in the 2nd leg against decent opposition the tie was usually effectively over as you had to score 3 without reply or you were out, but now 2 would get you extra time.

I always thought it was a (moderately) interesting fact that you couldn't win on away goals if you kept a clean sheet away from home!

1 hour ago, FarmerTweedy said:

I always thought it was a (moderately) interesting fact that you couldn't win on away goals if you kept a clean sheet away from home!

image.png

22 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

Hmmmmm bit of pace up front through the middle that might trouble us. We wouldn’t have lost that 2nd goal though

Maybe just me, but Big Craigy is saving both the goals. 

Bring it on! 

Sheesh. I just watched the goals and not the whole game, but no way Halkett is losing either of those balls that their mid CH lost. Lovely touch on the second from the striker but it was a relatively pedestrian ball over the top that the CH flubbed and that they got a nice bounce on.

I don't want to get complacent but that's hardly the stuff of nightmares.

35 minutes ago, Led Tasso said:

Sheesh. I just watched the goals and not the whole game, but no way Halkett is losing either of those balls that their mid CH lost. Lovely touch on the second from the striker but it was a relatively pedestrian ball over the top that the CH flubbed and that they got a nice bounce on.

I don't want to get complacent but that's hardly the stuff of nightmares.

We’d have put 4 or 6 past them with no reply

-

Edited by Ricardo Quaresma
Missing word

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to Europa league/conference 22/23 - Zurich v Hearts