Happy St Patrick’s Day

9 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Does anyone actually celebrate St Andrews day? And if they do what do they do? I know there is the usual public state announcement from Bute House. :) 

Celebration of St. Andrew's day tailed off after the reformation, I believe. Not banned or anything by the C of S but not encouraged.

Edited by martoon

• Replies 144

• JudyJudyJudy

• ri Alban

• Roxy Hearts

Roxy Hearts
32 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Does anyone actually celebrate St Andrews day? And if they do what do they do? I know there is the usual public state announcement from Bute House. :) 

Burns Day is more celebrated all over the world. This is why I think St Andrews Day is diminished a little. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🥃

1 minute ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Burns Day is more celebrated all over the world. This is why I think St Andrews Day is diminished a little. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🥃

Yes i prefer Burns night. 

29 minutes ago, martoon said:

Celebration of St. Andrew's day tailed off after the reformation, I believe. Not banned or anything by the C of S but not encouraged.

I didnt know that 👍 typical C of O... party poopers 

3 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Plus, the hoose Jocks will never embrace it

Japan Jambo
On 17/03/2022 at 12:17, whodanny said:

Feck St Pats.

lol, still remember getting chased round Dublin in the away leg.

6 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Talk about not reading the room....dearie me. 

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Talk about not reading the room....dearie me. 

I smelled it Hamish, is that not enough? 😁

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

I smelled it Hamish, is that not enough? 😁

bit early to be on the waccy baccy is it ? :) 

36 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

bit early to be on the waccy baccy is it ? :) 

Is it early already? I thought it was still late

10 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Is it early already? I thought it was still late

:)  depends on how you live your life....good answer :) 

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Hamish.

Haggis.

Robert Burns.

Waccy baccy.

All on a St Leprechaun's thread. :lol:

I like when threads go all over the place...its creative  and never dull :) 

31 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Haggis-pickers oughta keep themselves real quiet. Leave the hoosies to their (leftover) cucumber sandwiches and pimms.

its getting nearer that time 

R (15).gif

15 hours ago, Tazio said:

It’s not really. Stiff Little Fingers. Punk band from Ulster dating back to the 70’s with a hugely fanatical support. 

Coincidently from todays programme-

Screenshot_20220319-144239_Gallery.thumb.jpg.5bb04f0de128b740531edc63ce12511b.jpg

4 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Love Burns night, me.

4 hours ago, Smithee said:

Imagine embracing it like the Irish have done paddy’s day! 
I understand exactly what paddy’s day is and how commercialised it is but the entire planet now sees Ireland and I’ll bet it brings fortunes to Ireland and Irish bars etc the world over. Genius stuff. 
I was a bigotted arse myself when younger but I’ve tried to change 😬😂 I worked in Ireland on a couple of paddy’s day and honestly what a time I had. County Kildare a good few years now ago Jesus it was tremendous I had an absolute ball. 
Loads of Scots would just cringe their tits off about anything similarly Scottish. 
See this anglophobia garbage they’re trying to force into the news the now. 

6 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Plus we are, or were, a Protestant country. 

We don't make a big deal of saints.

Captain Slog

I had truly thought our club had got over sectarianism.  I was obviously ignorant.  Few posters on here outed themselves as still being mini blue arse cheeks.

Captain Slog
2 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Imagine embracing it like the Irish have done paddy’s day! 
I understand exactly what paddy’s day is and how commercialised it is but the entire planet now sees Ireland and I’ll bet it brings fortunes to Ireland and Irish bars etc the world over. Genius stuff. 
I was a bigotted arse myself when younger but I’ve tried to change 😬😂 I worked in Ireland on a couple of paddy’s day and honestly what a time I had. County Kildare a good few years now ago Jesus it was tremendous I had an absolute ball. 
Loads of Scots would just cringe their tits off about anything similarly Scottish. 
See this anglophobia garbage they’re trying to force into the news the now. 

Some very good points here Jack.  I was a bigotted erse myself at school, and Anglophobic too.  But like you i had the capacity to learn that was wrong when i became an adult.  Though there is is nothing wrong with celebrating Scotland, it should be encouraged, just make it inclusive.

31 minutes ago, Captain Slog said:

I had truly thought our club had got over sectarianism.  I was obviously ignorant.  Few posters on here outed themselves as still being mini blue arse cheeks.

Really? How?

There's a few posts that don't think St Patrick's day is the best thing ever. 

Is that it?

Hearts being over sectarianism is not happening anytime soon, let’s be honest here. I was guilty as sin in the past and I still hear it. 
This thread hasn’t went the way I hoped at all😐

the general
On 17/03/2022 at 16:13, Placid Casual said:

And every year boringly predictable.

Lots of young folk up the town having a good time, what’s not to like.

I used to enjoy the day on the lash with my Irish flatmates when I was younger. Great laugh it was. Not a fan of U2 on a loop though.

Town was carnage especially the Grassmarket and Cowgate

Huge queues for Three Sisters Biddys and Subway Social

Pretty good natured but usual few drunken assholes trying to spoil it

18 hours ago, Captain Slog said:

Yes I noticed that too . Usual suspects . 

19 hours ago, Captain Slog said:

:rofl: You're kidding, yeah?

A few people don't wet themselves at the thought of St Leprechauns Day, and you somehow contrive to take that as meaning that all Hearts fans are sectarian?

That's some feckin leap by the way.

And yes, you're right, you were obviously ignorant.

Top of the morning to you.  :thumbsup:

Roxy Hearts
19 hours ago, Hmfc1965 said:

I don't perceive it that way. It's to celebrate our country and all of its people. Nothing to do with religion. We've much to be proud of and we should celebrate more often. Our Scottishness is diminished enough!

1 hour ago, Roxy Hearts said:

I don't perceive it that way. It's to celebrate our country and all of its people. Nothing to do with religion. We've much to be proud of and we should celebrate more often. Our Scottishness is diminished enough!

Scotland should be celebrated but we've never made a big deal of StAndrew's Day.

10 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

Scotland should be celebrated but we've never made a big deal of StAndrew's Day.

Roxy Hearts
1 hour ago, Hmfc1965 said:

Any other suggestions? Burns Night is great.

19 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Any other suggestions? Burns Night is great.

Burns Night is the obvious one.

To an extent New Year.

Grafting something else on for the sake of it seems tacky.

1 hour ago, Hmfc1965 said:

In a few years' time, we can do all that on Independence Day. ;)

Just now, redjambo said:

Well quite. That would be a natural thing to celebrate though,  not something we've ignored for years. 

Just now, Hmfc1965 said:

Well quite. That would be a natural thing to celebrate though,  not something we've ignored for years. 

Agreed. If a day of celebration doesn't come into being in a natural and organic way, it will probably seem a wee bit fake and people probably won't get into it in a big way, a bit like the recent attempt at a "One Britain, One Nation Day".

On 17/03/2022 at 11:48, manaliveits105 said:

St Patrick was of course not even Irish 

but Scottish 

Some say he was actually from....

wp3086983.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

Placid Casual
On 17/03/2022 at 20:21, Morgan said:

Magic!

We’re both happy now.  👍

Now, enjoy your people watching and have a pint of thick, black, weak sludge tonight.

It’s great to know that you won’t be on my St. Plastics Day thread next year.

Yes, let's leave it at that 👍

No idea what you mean with your 'people watching' comment, but that's okay.

On 17/03/2022 at 17:13, Placid Casual said:

And every year boringly predictable.

Lots of young folk up the town having a good time, what’s not to like.

I used to enjoy the day on the lash with my Irish flatmates when I was younger. Great laugh it was. Not a fan of U2 on a loop though.

2 hours ago, Placid Casual said:

Yes, let's leave it at that 👍

No idea what you mean with your 'people watching' comment, but that's okay.

There’s what I meant.

Perhaps wrongly, but I assumed you had been up the town on Plastic Day and had observed all the ‘young folk’ apparently having this ‘good time’.

Let’s, as you say, leave it at that. 👍

On 19/03/2022 at 10:41, martoon said:

That St Giles guy :yadayada:

On 20/03/2022 at 16:31, redjambo said:

:jambobanana:

On 19/03/2022 at 17:49, Hmfc1965 said:

Says who. Proddies are finished. Just like the rest of the nae church plastic religious folk of Scotland. And thank feck. 

Hopefully the Orange walk will categorised as hate soon and wiped of our streets along with any other scum.

• 3 weeks later...
Captain Slog
On 20/03/2022 at 13:17, Morgan said:

:rofl: You're kidding, yeah?

A few people don't wet themselves at the thought of St Leprechauns Day, and you somehow contrive to take that as meaning that all Hearts fans are sectarian?

And yes, you're right, you were obviously ignorant.

Top of the morning to you.  :thumbsup:

How did i miss this,

I said a few,

and you somehow contrive to take that as meaning that all

Is that how you do it?

And yes, you're right, you are obviously ignorant, if there is no sectarianism exhibited on this thread, because you declared it, then I obviously wasn't.

Try filtering your thoughts before you post, people would respect you more if you gave content rather than volume.

12 hours ago, Captain Slog said:

How did i miss this,

I said a few,

and you somehow contrive to take that as meaning that all

Is that how you do it?

And yes, you're right, you are obviously ignorant, if there is no sectarianism exhibited on this thread, because you declared it, then I obviously wasn't.

Try filtering your thoughts before you post, people would respect you more if you gave content rather than volume.

Read your post through.

Come back to me when you’ve realised what a load of rubbish you’ve typed.

And, while you’re at it - try being a bit more pleasant, instead of an aggressive arsehole.  👍