2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Absolutely.

To be sure to be sure.

May the road rise up to meet you.  :thumb:

What's the craic?

22 minutes ago, Morgan said:

May the road rise up to meet you.  :thumb:

What's the craic?

It's Crak or crack a Scots/N.English term, that the Irish stole and have the world duoed into thinking it's their patter.

4 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

Yeah I’ve got Irish roots too !! Top of the morning to you anyway 

Get them dyed, nae ***** will notice.

41 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

That’s incredible it’s Patrick’s too ! 😂 happy birthday 

😅 

Cheers bud. It did, once, score me a few freebies in America when I happened to be there over my birthday once. They were lapping it up, as was I with all the free bevvy. :rofl: 

3 minutes ago, jonesy said:

I'm keeping my powder dry for Holi tomorrow.

And who's he the saint of.

Placid Casual
5 hours ago, Morgan said:

100 per cent spot on.

I was going to start my annual thread on this later today, but you've done it for me.

The biggest load of crap ever, which the masses use as an excuse to get drunk and behave like ridiculous fools.

And every year boringly predictable.

Lots of young folk up the town having a good time, what’s not to like.

I used to enjoy the day on the lash with my Irish flatmates when I was younger. Great laugh it was. Not a fan of U2 on a loop though.

13 minutes ago, Placid Casual said:

And every year boringly predictable.

Lots of young folk up the town having a good time, what’s not to like.

I used to enjoy the day on the lash with my Irish flatmates when I was younger. Great laugh it was. Not a fan of U2 on a loop though.

Och well, sorry you don’t like it.

I’ll make a wee note not to do one next year.  Y’know, can’t have you being upset every 365 days.

Take care, enjoy your observations of young folk having a good time whilst ‘celebrating’ another country’s Saint.

It'll probably all end in tears though.

U2 forever!  👍

14 minutes ago, Boab said:

It's a young man's game !

:sadrobbo:

That’s fine then, Boab!

See you tonight!

:biggrin2:

Folking in Scotland jumping about with Tri colours and drinking Guinness. Do irish folk do the same for St Andrews day? :jj_facepalm:

Wait till they find out the Guinness family funded the UVF.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Get them dyed, nae ***** will notice.

That’s a goodie I’ll give u that 😂

364FB99D-F8CE-4C73-B980-52FCB158D33A.gif

Edited by JamesM48

58 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

😅

Cheers bud. It did, once, score me a few freebies in America when I happened to be there over my birthday once. They were lapping it up, as was I with all the free bevvy. :rofl: 

👍👍

16 minutes ago, Sir Craig Gordon said:

Folking in Scotland jumping about with Tri colours and drinking Guinness. Do irish folk do the same for St Andrews day? :jj_facepalm:

B310CE9E-345C-440D-9E8A-F4EEE176E2B6.jpeg

26 minutes ago, Sir Craig Gordon said:

And have spent the last 50 years attempting to disassociate themselves from Ireland

23 minutes ago, Sir Craig Gordon said:

I love a Guinness btw, but im a 365 day a year Guinness fan.

👍😎👍

Captain Slog
2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

It's Crak or crack a Scots/N.English term, that the Irish stole and have the world duoed into thinking it's their patter.

Thanks for the etymology.

Would you care to explain the etymology of your posting name, and its language roots?  I love irony.

Placid Casual
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

I’ll make a wee note not to do one next year.  Y’know, can’t have you being upset every 365 days.

That would be great, another one off the list, cheers 👍

7 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

Cause some may have Irish heritage and like to celebrate it ? What’s wrong with that ? And Scotland had a massive Irish migration 

Just dont think its necessary. Personal opinion. 

Jambo-Jimbo

I've loads of Irish ancestry but I've never had any inclination to celebrate St. Patrick's Day, tbh if it hadn't been mentioned on the TV I wouldn't have known it was today.  I also have French ancestry and guess what, I don't celebrate Bastille Day either.

I don't have a problem with anybody else celebrating whatever they want, just my personal choice that I don't.

2 hours ago, Sir Craig Gordon said:

I find it quite funny that Sir Arthur Guinness was a very devout protestant.

Also that the orange in the tricolour represents Protestantism.. the flag being a "gift" from a group of French peasant women  (obviously based on their own flag) to show peace/unity (white) between the Catholic (green) and Protestant (orange) sides. 

So when certain elements wave/fly this flag they are waving a flag originally intended for peace. 

Disclaimer: This post is not intended to start a flag debate!! 😂

Roxy Hearts
7 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

My dear old granny was from Ireland 🇮🇪 Eire ! 

My great granny, grandad and uncle were Irish. Grandad disliked being Irish so was extremely proud Scotsman as Dad was Scottish. Moved over when very young. I'm not overly fussed with my Irish ancestry.

1 minute ago, Roxy Hearts said:

My great granny, grandad and uncle were Irish. Grandad disliked being Irish so was extremely proud Scotsman as Dad was Scottish. Moved over when very young. I'm not overly fussed with my Irish ancestry.

I ancestry fascinating have managed to trace relatives back to 1820. 

Roxy Hearts
15 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I ancestry fascinating have managed to trace relatives back to 1820. 

👍. I've got Italian ancestry too. Italy are my second team when it comes to football. Stronger Italian family links. 

2 hours ago, Placid Casual said:

That would be great, another one off the list, cheers 👍

Magic!

We’re both happy now.  👍

Now, enjoy your people watching and have a pint of thick, black, weak sludge tonight.

It’s great to know that you won’t be on my St. Plastics Day thread next year.

35 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

👍. I've got Italian ancestry too. Italy are my second team when it comes to football. Stronger Italian family links. 

👍👍 I love Italy 🇮🇹 a great county and culture 

5 hours ago, Sir Craig Gordon said:

I find it quite funny that Sir Arthur Guinness was a very devout protestant.

Also that the orange in the tricolour represents Protestantism.. the flag being a "gift" from a group of French peasant women  (obviously based on their own flag) to show peace/unity (white) between the Catholic (green) and Protestant (orange) sides. 

So when certain elements wave/fly this flag they are waving a flag originally intended for peace. 

Disclaimer: This post is not intended to start a flag debate!! 😂

Captain Slog

Correct me if i am wrong, but there is a whiff in some of the posts of the bad old days, and some posters have the blue side of the erse cheeks as their other team.

8 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

Was at the Paddy’s Day SLF gig at the Barrowlands tonight 

Tremendous and saw a few good Jambos into the bargain 

If you want to feel some Irish love 9pm BBC4 St Patrick’s at the Beeb. It was on last year as well, some amazing bands and songs. 

19 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

Was at the Paddy’s Day SLF gig at the Barrowlands tonight 

Tremendous and saw a few good Jambos into the bargain 

Got at least 2 on my FB who were there.

On 17/03/2022 at 22:04, Captain Slog said:

Correct me if i am wrong, but there is a whiff in some of the posts of the bad old days, and some posters have the blue side of the erse cheeks as their other team.

I don't think so, CS.

It's probably more to do with "Oirish" fatigue.

Celtic fans, tricolours, terrorist adoration, ludicrous songs about joining "the IRA tomorrow morn"...it's phoney, pathetic and sickening all year round without that mob having a specific day for it.

This is Scotland.

Virtually all of the bams who indulge in such shite are Scottish.

Whether they like it or not.

Same goes for the quintessential bams on the other side of the fence.

Edited by martoon

Just now, martoon said:

Thanks.

It’s not really. Stiff Little Fingers. Punk band from Ulster dating back to the 70’s with a hugely fanatical support. 

5 minutes ago, Tazio said:

It’s not really. Stiff Little Fingers. Punk band from Ulster dating back to the 70’s with a hugely fanatical support. 

I should have realised.

I recall the band but had no idea where they were from or anything about them.

Edited by martoon

10 hours ago, martoon said:

I should have realised.

I recall the band but had no idea where they were from or anything about them.

I didn't know that either.

Not being a fan of Oirish bands, Oi couldn't really care less either.

14 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Some folk just jealous because the Irish marketing shtick is all about fun whereas Scotland's is a bit more serious and refined. 

Room for both, but St Patrick's day drinking and greenity is just about getting folk to part with their cash. Great if you're 19. Less so if you're an actual adult.

Does anyone actually celebrate St Andrews day? And if they do what do they do? I know there is the usual public state announcement from Bute House. :)