The Greatest Football Club Name

Percival King

1 hour ago, 1953 said:

In the same vane I think there was a team called 'Shaktar senseless'

Oh aye, Shakhtar, miners. (Andrew's sweating at that sentence)

• Replies 156

• Unknown user

• PortyBeach

• Hmfc1965

• Factuer Moi

2 hours ago, Percival King said:

So, for almost 50 years I've believed that there's no greater football club name than Heart of Midlothian. Then I pick up the latest issue of When Saturday Comes, there's an article on the American Soccer League in season 1926-27 and there's teams called:

Springfield Babes

Fall River Marksmen

Boston Wonder Workers

Providence Clamdiggers  

Newark Skeeters

Indiana Flooring

None as good as Heart of Midlothian but all better than Motherwell or Dundee or Kilmarnock or Cowdenbeath........

Or Hibs 

47 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Bradford (Park Avenue) A.F.C.

Only club I know that has brackets

My dad played for them in the late 50's. Think they were a league team back then.

2 hours ago, Tazio said:

A truly bizarre one is a former South African team that I’m won’t even type on here but it’s utterly baffling. 

https://www.news24.com/News24/Dangerous-Darkies-are-back-20021218

This really brought a smile to my face. Good luck to them, I think that this team deserves a medal for breaking down the crazy political correctness which makes life so bloody soulless. 

1 hour ago, Smithee said:

That was the Eastern bloc industry team thing, the Lokomotivs were railworker teams, the CSKAs were army teams, and the Dynamos were the state security structure, KGB, that type of thing

Yeah, I liked all that.

Well, maybe not the KGB

2 hours ago, cb1874 said:

I seem to recall there were a few good amateur spoof names in the past, like...

Boca Seniors

Bayern Bru

AC A Little Silhouette of Milan

My Uni halls team was called Shanty Town

An old mate of mine from my busking days in Europe supported Vittese Arnhem.

It's pronounced Vè-tessa which I always thought was nice.

He agreed that Heart of Midlothian, Hearts and even He'rts was magnificent.

Fluminese v. Flamengo is probably the most exotically named derby in the world.

The Flu-Fla derby for short, I believe.

1080587565_images(1).jpeg.70be4faeeb23b9d2f5b7d68b2d517e33.jpeg

images.jpeg.75b4f66ab260b0aa221c73e2a274afc2.jpeg

churchill-wearing-tin-hat-20029150.jpg.53f67c825e0fbbb094f1be34050d2648.jpg

All my tin hats are firmly wedged on but Hibernian is an original, imaginative name for a football club.

I quite like that the Edinburgh derby is Heart of Midlothian v. Hibernian rather than something mundane and boring like Edinburgh This v. Edinburgh That.

5 minutes ago, martoon said:

All my tin hats are firmly wedged on but Hibernian is an original, imaginative name for a football club.

I quite like that the Edinburgh derby is Heart of Midlothian v. Hibernian rather than something mundane and boring like Edinburgh This v. Edinburgh That.

You're not wrong, plus their very name has given us the term Hibsed it.  You would have struggled to do that if they were called Leith United or Edinburgh Rovers. 

Pioneers, way ahead of their time. 

Apart from the obvious,every time I hear Accrington Stanley I have to say it in a Scouse accent followed by who are they?

1 hour ago, martoon said:

Nah it’s the name of a country ffs, like us being called Alban, and there’s a team called Hibernians too. Unoriginal and unimaginative, like their supporters 😜

3 hours ago, gnasher75 said:

Borussia Mönchengladbach

Who's the most hated person in the home end at Borussia Mönchengladbach?  The guy who stands up and shouts "give us a B".

Hearts of Oak in Ghana is a good one, but right now the teams either side of them in the league are called Great Olympics and Dreams.  If you don't like any of those, there's always Eleven Wonders.

Meanwhile in Sierra Leone, you could go to the East End Lions v East End Tigers derby.  Failing that, you might catch a game between Police and Anti Drugs Strikers.

8 hours ago, Morgan said:

AC Milanda ( :lol: ) and Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Shittest name - Hibernian FC.  

AC Milanda ,I think I remember them. Maybury Sunday League?

Played in a cup game for Royal Wooton Bassett Town v Royal Droitwich Spa. Regal afair but no connection with The artist formetly known as Prince Andrew.

7 hours ago, heartgarfunkel said:

Pish - even Hawick Royal Albert is better :wink:

Away and Wash your mouth with soap and water. Hawick are the borders answer to hibs, inbred mutants.

8 hours ago, martoon said:

Fluminese v. Flamengo is probably the most exotically named derby in the world.

The Flu-Fla derby for short, I believe.

Been to that!

The one I liked in Edinburgh was A C Milanda

13 hours ago, queensferryjambo said:

I always liked FC Sheriff Tiraspol more down to the fact they have a Sheriff's badge on their shirt.

FC Sheriff.svg

Named after the company that effectively runs the country...

9 hours ago, martoon said:

Don't disagree. Imagine if Wallace had got his way...would have been "Edinburgh United" or "Edinburgh City United" or some other drivel.

7 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Who's the most hated person in the home end at Borussia Mönchengladbach?  The guy who stands up and shouts "give us a B".

Just a flash back to the Shed and that's how The Hearts Song used to kick off.

Some brave or inebriated soul would shout "Give me an H".  A real cringe if nobody joined in.😬:laugh:

Just now, Nobreath said:

Just a flash back to the Shed and that's how The Hearts Song used to kick off.

Some brave or inebriated soul would shout "Give me an H".  A real cringe if nobody joined in.😬:laugh:

Remember it well.

"Give me an H"

Silence

"Whats wrong wi yeez?"

"Sing ya Bastewards!"

Shout comes from somewhere..."Shut yer puss"

wentworth jambo
4 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Don't disagree. Imagine if Wallace had got his way...would have been "Edinburgh United" or "Edinburgh City United" or some other drivel.

I seem to remember something at the time where Wallace just poured petrol on the fire by suggesting the merged team would be called Heart of Midlothian and would play in maroon and white...😄

Just now, wentworth jambo said:

I seem to remember something at the time where Wallace just poured petrol on the fire by suggesting the merged team would be called Heart of Midlothian and would play in maroon and white...😄

Well that would have been OK then :lol:

11 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Remember it well.

"Give me an H"

Silence

"Whats wrong wi yeez?"

"Sing ya Bastewards!"

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
14 hours ago, Costanza said:

Always liked Lokomotive Leipzig.

Not as good as Heart of Midlothian obviously.

Certainly not - especially in the 1976 Cup Winners Cup!

14 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Remember it well.

"Give me an H"

Silence

"Whats wrong wi yeez?"

"Sing ya Bastewards!"

:laugh2: Ah happy times!

5 minutes ago, Ron Maroon said:

Keith. 

Always makes me laugh when I see him lose, poor guy. 

Laughed at that.

12 hours ago, Smithee said:

ADO den Haag - the ADO is short for all through endeavour.

Go Ahead Eagles is another Dutch one

My favourite Dutch name is NAC Breda. Or more specifically, their full club name: 

Nooit Opgeven Altijd Doorzetten
Aangenaam Door Vermaak En
Nuttig Door Ontspanning
Combinatie Breda

52 minutes ago, wentworth jambo said:

50 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Well that would have been OK then :lol:

That's right.

Heart of Midlothian FC.

The only concession to the previous existence of Hibs, or that any kind of merger had taken place, was to add "Edinburgh" on any official documents etc.

Maroon/white/maroon with a Juventus style shirt for the away kit as black and white is/was the official colours of the council.

Based at Tynecastle, of course.

Percival King
9 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Nah it’s the name of a country ffs, like us being called Alban, and there’s a team called Hibernians too. Unoriginal and unimaginative, like their supporters 😜

Well, at least to be consistent after they named their team after natives of another country, they then named their ground after a road on which their stadium ISN'T located. A bit like our team being called Cymry and our ground being called Ardmillan Terrace Stadium. And that would just be stupid!

6 hours ago, moonraker said:

AC Milanda ,I think I remember them. Maybury Sunday League?

I'm not sure about that, but I think they came from Penicuik.

Great name!

16 hours ago, Ominous said:

My dad played for them in the late 50's. Think they were a league team back then.

Yes they were. They lost their League status in 1969-70, sadly.

Photo of their stadium…

2297D11D-1C81-4C73-A554-59A465B358F8.jpeg

I looked up Plymouth Argyle as I wondered if there was a Scottish connection and indeed there is one theory that they took their name from the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders regiment who had a football team of their own back then. Others say it is just from the name of the pub the founders frequented or a local street near the ground. 

The choice of colours they chose for the team was a huge mistake though 🤢