I don’t like...

Morgan

..Tuesdays.

The Boomtown Rats perhaps didn’t like Mondays (because of the shooting in 1979 at the Cleveland Elementary School in San Diego) but...

I really hate Tuesdays.

No good reason for it, it’s just there.

Is there a particular day of the week that you just don’t like?

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

..Tuesdays.

The Boomtown Rats perhaps didn’t like Mondays (because of the shooting in 1979 at the Cleveland Elementary School in San Diego) but...

I really hate Tuesdays.

A very misunderstood lyric that. It wasn’t them that disliked Mondays but the girl that did the shooting. When she was asked why she did it her reply was “I don’t like Mondays” people don’t hear the question mark in the lyrics. 

Tell me why? I don’t like Mondays.

Tell me why I don’t like Mondays? 

Anyway I digress. 

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

A very misunderstood lyric that. It wasn’t them that disliked Mondays but the girl that did the shooting. When she was asked why she did it her reply was “I don’t like Mondays” people don’t hear the question mark in the lyrics. 

Tell me why? I don’t like Mondays.

Tell me why I don’t like Mondays? 

Anyway I digress. 

I know it was about the wee girl, I was just using the reason behind my post as an example.

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

I know it was about the wee girl, I was just using the reason behind my post as an example.

I know YOU did.  Others though…

I used to dislike Tuesdays as it was the first day of the working week, I’ve shifted that dislike to Mondays since my working week changed. 

Just now, Tazio said:

I know YOU did.  Others though…

I used to dislike Tuesdays as it was the first day of the working week, I’ve shifted that dislike to Mondays since my working week changed. 

Sorry, Taz.

I thought you were picking me up there.  👍

16 minutes ago, Morgan said:

..Tuesdays.

I really hate Tuesdays.

Isn't every day the same when you're retired?

Just now, Savage Vince said:

Every day's a gift to cherish. Tuesdays can be ***** though. 

That’s how I see it too, Vince.

Just now, Greedy Jambo said:

Isn't every day the same when you're retired?

I’ve never retired, Greedy.

Would you fancy stopping working at 44 years old?

I bet you would.

It was great.

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I bet you would.

It was great.

I was gifted 2 years of furlough, it was very much needed. 

Only 25 hours and 16 minutes to go. 

Meh. Only day I really can't be arsed with is a Wednesday. You're neither here nor there.

Don't really mind a Monday tbh, especially if I've had a good weekend. Pre-Covid, I quite enjoyed the Monday morning football chat in the work.

Big Morgan doesn't really know what it's like to not like a day, because he works for himself. 

Any day i have to work for someone else, i don't particularly like. 

Sundays are never good, because you know you've got work the next day. 

Mondays are worse. 

Tuesday you just get on with it

Wednesday you're already numb to it all. 

Thursday there's a glimmer of hope that the weekend is coming and you might just make it. 

Friday you're in love. 

Edited by Greedy Jambo

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

I bet you would.

It was great.

A former workmate of mine retired, and described her week as being made up of six Saturdays and one Sunday.  I see her point.

I don't care if Monday's blue
Tuesday's grey and Wednesday too
Thursday I don't care about you
It's Friday I'm in love

Monday you can fall apart
Tuesday, Wednesday break my heart
Thursday doesn't even start
It's Friday I'm in love

Saturday wait
And Sunday always comes too late
But Friday never hesitate...

I don't care if Monday's black
Tuesday, Wednesday heart attack
Thursday never looking back
It's Friday I'm in love

Monday you can hold your head
Tuesday, Wednesday stay in bed
Or Thursday watch the walls instead
It's Friday I'm in love

27 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

A former workmate of mine retired, and described her week as being made up of six Saturdays and one Sunday.  I see her point.

I don't care if Monday's blue
Tuesday's grey and Wednesday too
Thursday I don't care about you
It's Friday I'm in love

Monday you can fall apart
Tuesday, Wednesday break my heart
Thursday doesn't even start
It's Friday I'm in love

Saturday wait
And Sunday always comes too late
But Friday never hesitate...

I don't care if Monday's black
Tuesday, Wednesday heart attack
Thursday never looking back
It's Friday I'm in love

Monday you can hold your head
Tuesday, Wednesday stay in bed
Or Thursday watch the walls instead
It's Friday I'm in love

Off topic but this is a brilliant cover of it. 

Sunday.

Hated it since I was a kid.

The high of TFIF, the joy that is Saturday then the most depressing, let down day of them all: Sunday.

A nothing day when the world can't be arsed, the fun is over and all that remains is the prospect of another week of school or work.

Hated Sunday telly, too:

Weekend World, Glen Michael's Cavalcade, The Muppet Show...even Scotsport seemed crap compared to Saturday night's Sportscene.

Genuinely prefer Monday's. At least I know where I stand. It's shite and doesn't masquerade as anything other than shite.

In my 50's now and my working week has altered and is more flexible but I still hate Sundays. 

3 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Surely if you retire early, you miss out on Craig David's version of the 7 days?

In my case, that's an unexpected bonus.  :laugh:

Fridays, knowing that I now have two days on which all the Neanderthal descend upon the city centre

14 hours ago, Morgan said:

..Tuesdays.

I really hate Tuesdays.

My pal in SD was at that school and at the same time as her. Apparently she was always somewhat of an outlier. 

11 hours ago, martoon said:

Sunday.

Hated it since I was a kid.

The high of TFIF, the joy that is Saturday then the most depressing, let down day of them all: Sunday.

A nothing day when the world can't be arsed, the fun is over and all that remains is the prospect of another week of school or work.

Hated Sunday telly, too:

Weekend World, Glen Michael's Cavalcade, The Muppet Show...even Scotsport seemed crap compared to Saturday night's Sportscene.

Genuinely prefer Monday's. At least I know where I stand. It's shite and doesn't masquerade as anything other than shite.

In my 50's now and my working week has altered and is more flexible but I still hate Sundays. 

I used to be on board with you, but I've really started to love a Sunday in my adult life. I used to work every 2nd Saturday, so Sunday was always my chill day. Feet up, plenty of football and other sport, and indulge on scran.

Past few years I've worked a Monday-Friday gig which has coincided with me running a Sunday amateur football team which has see me appreciate Sunday's in a whole new way. Being out on a Sunday morning getting fresh air is oddly satisfying. Then after the game, we go out for a few pints. Love a wee Sunday session, and even better when my FlexiTime is at a good enough level to just not bother going in on the Monday. :D 

Sundays used to make me feel like a slave to it all, but now I find them rather liberating. 

24 minutes ago, Locky said:

I used to be on board with you, but I've really started to love a Sunday in my adult life. I used to work every 2nd Saturday, so Sunday was always my chill day. Feet up, plenty of football and other sport, and indulge on scran.

Past few years I've worked a Monday-Friday gig which has coincided with me running a Sunday amateur football team which has see me appreciate Sunday's in a whole new way. Being out on a Sunday morning getting fresh air is oddly satisfying. Then after the game, we go out for a few pints. Love a wee Sunday session, and even better when my FlexiTime is at a good enough level to just not bother going in on the Monday. :D 

Sundays used to make me feel like a slave to it all, but now I find them rather liberating. 

Aye.

My Sunday's tend to be different from what they were but I've never been able to shake off that dreary, the weekend is coming to a close, vibe.

I'm going to try harder in 2022 to change that.

5 minutes ago, martoon said:

Aye.

My Sunday's tend to be different from what they were but I've never been able to shake off that dreary, the weekend is coming to a close, vibe.

I'm going to try harder in 2022 to change that.

All about they little things mate. A Sunday night Chinese takeaway gives you something to look forward to. :thumbsup: 

Totally agree with the OP.

Monday is a crap day as its the start of the working week. '

Tuesday is just a nothing day - it just exists

Wednesday  - hump day

Thursday - start of the weekend used to be late night opening hours in the old days so full advantage take.

Friday - party night 

Saturday - Fitba and party night 

Sunday - see Thursday but to finish off the weekend

1 hour ago, Dunx1892 said:

Wednesday  - hump day

Thursday - start of the weekend used to be late night opening hours in the old days so full advantage take.

Friday - party night 

Too busy at the weekend?

:oohmatron:

28 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Every day of the week is solumn

Man, you really need to get some help with these feelings and thoughts that you have.

My thread was a little bit serious, but mainly just a personal observation.

I truly hope that you can find some way out of this negativity that you feel.

39 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Man, you really need to get some help with these feelings and thoughts that you have.

My thread was a little bit serious, but mainly just a personal observation.

I truly hope that you can find some way out of this negativity that you feel.

Thank you for your kind words

2 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Thank you for your kind words

Not a problem.

All the best.  👍

2 hours ago, Dunx1892 said:

Wednesday  - hump day

Friday - party night 

You have a designated day🤣 romance and alive and kicking in your house Dunx🤣

1 hour ago, rudi must stay said:

Every day of the week is solumn

Really hope you’re just joking pal

After working in West Germany many years ago I'm no keen on Wednesdays, I mean they don't even have a name for it, Wednesday is called Midweek (Mittwoch). How odd is that?

16 minutes ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

After working in West Germany many years ago I'm no keen on Wednesdays, I mean they don't even have a name for it, Wednesday is called Midweek (Mittwoch). How odd is that?

The weather in Germany must also be pretty crap on a Thursday.:ermm:

Tuesday always seems the longest day in work. Monday is shite but generally flies in for me as I catch up with all the stuff I didn't do on the Friday. Then Tuesday drags in. 

Wednesday is okay. Thursday drags a bit. Friday is an absolute canter in the office. 

Thursday when I was at school was my favourite midweek day as my mum went shopping that day and there would be some good scran in the cupboards. 

Saturday good.

Sunday shite. 

The above is all based on the working week. If I'm off then every day is great. 

35 minutes ago, merrymac said:

The weather in Germany must also be pretty crap on a Thursday.:ermm:

Am I missing a song here?

Just now, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Am I missing a song here?

Naw nothing so inventive😂

Donnerstag - donner means Thunder.

Sounds lame now sorry 😒

1 minute ago, merrymac said:

Naw nothing so inventive😂

Donnerstag - donner means Thunder.

Sounds lame now sorry 😒

Guessing thats down to Thursday being Thors Day, Norse god of thunder.

Just now, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Guessing thats down to Thursday being Thors Day, Norse god of thunder.

Yep

Thursday. I hate it but love it. It's a shite day at work, our biggest day of the week, but I meet up with the boys Thursday night for a few pints (too many)