Robbie Neilson

Leveins Battalion

44 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Definitely. Doddie did a fantastic job bringing in the right pros to guide those players and built a proper football team around them. It was a different football world then mind you. It's unlikely the likes of Robbo, Mackay, JC and Levein would have been at Hearts so long today. That was one major advantage managers then had over Hearts managers today. Also applies to Jim McLean and Fergie at Aberdeen. Most of their best players would have been picked off before a team could be built around them.

Also, before sky so the lure to go down south wasn't as big. 

No way young  guys would have entertained the lower English leagues over top flight Scottish football. 

Even the lower half English top flight teams weren't that  big a draw. 

• Replies 353

• Hmfc1965

1 hour ago, Smith's right boot said:

Also, before sky so the lure to go down south wasn't as big. 

No way young  guys would have entertained the lower English leagues over top flight Scottish football. 

Even the lower half English top flight teams weren't that  big a draw. 

And Robbo or someone said that there wasn't the massive jump in wages from Hearts to the OF in those days, nor were the OF so far ahead of everyone else on the pitch, so not only were the OF not such a lure but good OF players could move to another Scottish club without considering it a backwards step. 

We'd also never be able to sign a young player who had been a first team regular for Celtic or Rangers in Colquhoun or McPherson today. 

22 hours ago, davemclaren said:

It was a humiliating result but we just have to pick ourselves up and get on with it - and it looks like we have. 

Its an hugely embarrassing and humiliating result, worse than Berwick Rangers was for Rangers. It affects our clubs reputation going forward which constitutes a damaging result. But if you think it’s fine, that’s up to you

Edited by HMFC 86

8 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Its an hugely embarrassing and humiliating result, worse than Berwick Rangers was for Rangers. It affects our clubs reputation going forward. But if you think it’s fine, that’s up to you

It “was”.

Keep looking to the past.

It will get you everything you want in life and more.

10 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Its an hugely embarrassing and humiliating result, worse than Berwick Rangers was for Rangers. It affects our clubs reputation going forward. But if you think it’s fine, that’s up to you

The result was far from fine but it isn’t impacting this season, as far as I can see, and I don’t believe it will impact future seasons. 

2 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

The result was far from fine but it isn’t impacting this season, as far as I can see, and I don’t believe it will impact future seasons. 

Disagree

21 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Its an hugely embarrassing and humiliating result, worse than Berwick Rangers was for Rangers. It affects our clubs reputation going forward which constitutes a damaging result. But if you think it’s fine, that’s up to you

Nowhere near as bad as Berwick vs Rangers or Clyde vs Celtic to name just two. For a whole host of reasons. Basically with their finances the OF should NEVER lose to teams in a lower league or even the bottom 6 in the premiership, yet they do pretty often. Tom English I think to was made this point recently that Killie or Hamilton or someone like that beating one of the OF is a major, major shock, yet it's rarely treated as one. Then when Celtic or Rangers beat someone good in Europe, it's proclaimed as this huge win despite the gap in resources usually being smaller than between a Hamilton and them.

You could also easily find a at least one if not a few relatively as bad results (and without the "excuses" of no fans, the pitch, the whole covid situation etc), especially cup results, for every top level Scottish and English team. The English FA Cup is littered with them. It's not called the magic of the cup for nothing. International football is the same. Denmark winning the Euros despite being called in at the last minute to replace Yugoslavia for example - should never have happened but did.

35 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Disagree

Apart from embarrassment at the result what specific harms has it done or will it do?

12 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Apart from embarrassment at the result what specific harms has it done or will it do?

Aye its all good Dave , no point anyone greetin if we lose to the Ayrshire juniours.

Only a game and all that .

1 hour ago, HMFC 86 said:

It affects our clubs reputation going forward? 

In what way? 

Players won't sign for us? 

Lessens our chances in future cup competitions? 

Future Sponsorship money reduced? 

Don't talk absolute shite. 

28 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I think it left a residual stain on Neilson for some. A few other disasters he has had are the same. Actual harm to todays team doing well. No harm. But he’s got a shorter rope to hang on to if the going gets tough for him. I don’t expect for one minute to lose to AT in the cup but if we did ……….. for me at least it clears the board of the trust and goodwill he has built up since it happened.

Edited by JimmyCant

35 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Long term reputational damage. Pretty clear IMO

15 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

It affects our clubs reputation going forward? 

In what way? 

Players won't sign for us? 

Lessens our chances in future cup competitions? 

Future Sponsorship money reduced? 

Don't talk absolute shite. 

Well you should know, you’re a specialist at this

10 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Did EPL champions that season Chelsea suffer longterm reputational damage when they got pumped 4-2 by League 1 Bradford in the FA Cup a few years ago - at home and after going 2-0 up? 

What about champions Arsenal getting beat by 4th div Wrexham?

29 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Aye its all good Dave , no point anyone greetin if we lose to the Ayrshire juniours.

Pissed off after the game - normal. Still pissed off a year later when we have a completely new and much better team - not normal. 

13 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

So what players haven’t signed because of it, what companies haven’t sponsored us due to the reputational damage? 

14 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Reputational damage in who's eyes ?   The players ?

32 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

You can greet all you want, the result happened. It’s what we do as a club in the present and the future that is much more important. 

23 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

Doddie never even got us promoted first time of asking, some of the rabid gang Would have wanted him sacked after that, he'd never had a chance to turn us around. 

That was when 2 were automatically promoted as well. 

This "Doddie" character sounds like a right bunch of shite.  Did he put guys like Cammy Logan out on loan as well?

I bet he didn't and that's why he's a legend and not a "****ing pleb" like Rabbert Nielson.

For some perspective, it was nowhere near as damaging as losing 5-1 at Hampden in the first Edinburgh Derby Cup Final for 100+ years. Now that was damaging and well worth the tears and snotters. 

4 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

It damaged the reputation of the wise sages on here who were so sure it would and should lead to Robbie Neilson getting sacked. The same ones convinced we'd be in a relegation battle this season playing negative Neilsonball. 

30 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

I think it left a residual stain on Neilson for some. A few other disasters he has had are the same. Actual harm to todays team doing well. No harm. But he’s got a shorter rope to hang on to if the going gets tough for him. I don’t expect for one minute to lose to AT in the cup but if we did ……….. for me at least it clears the board of the trust and goodwill he has built up since it happened.

Managers are always judged on their results. Neilson did use up virtually all of his political capital with the Brora result. He’s is steadily rebuilding it imo, but not enough to survive a similar catastrophe. 

6 minutes ago, WageThief said:

This "Doddie" character sounds like a right bunch of shite.  Did he put guys like Cammy Logan out on loan as well?

I bet he didn't and that's why he's a legend and not a "****ing pleb" like Rabbert Nielson.

Couldnae win the pub league and won  nae cups.

How he lasted so long, no one knows. 

Done nothing for us. 

iwasthere1954

How does it affect our reputation. Good god you can slaver some rubbish.

8 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Not playing your wee game. Up to you If you are happy for our club to get results like that, think it’s ok and forget about it

1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

The Bob out crew never got their way and since then he's gone from strength to strength. 

Their jkb, Facebook and street cred was damaged beyond repair. 

2 minutes ago, iwasthere1954 said:

How does it affect our reputation. Good god you can slaver some rubbish.

You certainly seem to slaver pish 

Just now, HMFC 86 said:

Not playing your wee game. Up to you If you are happy for our club to get results like that, think it’s ok and forget about it

Doesn't answer the question. 

And Ofc it's OK to forget about bad results if the the following results are better or good. 

26 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Managers are always judged on their results. Neilson did use up virtually all of his political capital with the Brora result. He’s is steadily rebuilding it imo, but not enough to survive a similar catastrophe. 

They're not judged (not by normal people anyhow) on single results in otherwise perfectly fie or even good seasons years apart though, which is as it should be. 

Thank goodness for Gordon Smith and the ref for saving Sergio from being slagged off on Kickback for decades to come. At home against part-timers, with that team, playing on a decent pitch not a field, in decent weather for football and with a home crowd... I was more embarrassed by that win than the Brora defeat. At least Brora deserved something the way they played, as did Talbot. I mean Talbot even gifted us our goal. Sergio goes on to become a hero and Neilson is still panned a year later after rebuilding the team into one of our best for ages. Such fine lines in football.

53 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Among whom? Players? Agents? Fans?

I think what you’re upset about is that it’s given your Hibs mates fresh material for taking the piss and you don’t like it. That’s unpleasant as a fan, no question, but don’t make it more than it is.

25 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Too right! I was just reading my "Worst Hearts Defeats Ever" book and was thinking how put of date it is. Then I had a wee watch of my "John Robertson's Worst Ever Misses" DVD. Later I think I'll look up "Hearts Disasters" on YouTube and maybe will try to do a 6-2 gesture with only two hands. Because it's really, really important to remember the bad stuff.

41 minutes ago, WageThief said:

He would have thrown youth players straight off a back injury into the first team with no time with the reserves? Sounds like a shite manager indeed.

22 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

So you're main concern is that a percentage of fans now have a diminished view of Robbie as manager, as a result of Brora ?   Cool.    It sounds as if you derive much more happiness from  holding that view, than I get from taking a longer term view of his time at Hearts.

5 minutes ago, Led Tasso said:

He would have thrown youth players straight off a back injury into the first team with no time with the reserves? Sounds like a shite manager indeed.

He would have introduced a kick-off that involved Kenny Black hoofing it up the touchline like a rugby drop ball restart. Forget Neilsonball, this was pure Doddieball at its agricultural finest. Wait, he did do that and it was brilliant.

1 minute ago, Lone Striker said:

So you're main concern is that a percentage of fans now have a diminished view of Robbie as manager, as a result of Brora ?   Cool.    It sounds as if you derive much more happiness from  holding that view, than I get from taking a longer term view of his time at Hearts.

I don’t derive any happiness from the damage to the club reputation. Maybe you don’t give a shit about that

What a pile of shite…utter ****ing shite this is….

17 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

I don’t derive any happiness from the damage to the club reputation. Maybe you don’t give a shit about that

Set us back years. 

15 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Mate no-one except you thinks that result damaged the club's reputation. People who know football know these random results come along. It's painful but a short-term pain and most fans cope by using every excuse in the book to try to explain it away. Long-term pain is losing 5-1 in your biggest cup final in 100 years and being dominated by your rivals pretty much forever, the odd season or two here and there aside. Thank **** we don't know what any of that feels like.

Aside from that, since then we've attracted some of the best young players we've seen pitch up at Hearts in some years in Beni, Woodburn, Moore, Cochrane and Devlin (and hopefully also Atkinson) - sound characters one and all - and extended the contract of the country's best goalkeeper, and convinced a top player like McKay to join us over other offers. Do they not have access to Google or something? If that's damage, more please!

3 minutes ago, jr ewing said:

Set us back years. 

Indeed, it’s taken us right back to 2015-16…when we were the third best team in Scotland. 

ScandinavianJambo
16 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

I hadn't been ok here for a few days, but you sir need to let go. Anger and resentment can build and cause some real damage, not to the club, not the fans, but to you. Loving your club through the lense of anger seems boring, what about enjoying our place in the league after som s*** years? Robbie is not going anywhere soon, but when he does you can have your day. Until then Hearts are back where we belong and Robbie definitely made that happend, either you like it or not. Hope you have a good night when it comes 🌃

9 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

Nice try.  From your user name, I'm assuming you were born in 1986.   Consider yourself lucky that you missed the shambles of  most of the 1970s - one Cup exit at Brora last year with a 3rd rate goalie on the pitch doesn't come  close to the club's damaged reputation as a result of the 1970s.  It took years, but we recovered from it in the 80s.   In the space of 1 year since Brora we've won a trophy, got promoted and are comfortably 3rd with an improving quality of  squad.   

But hey - Budge/Robbie/Savage/FoH  oot.

16 minutes ago, HMFC 86 said:

What ****ing damage to the club reputation? I suppose Arsenals defeats to Wrexham , York or worse still Walsall means their club is forever damaged , same with Coventry losing to Sutton , i mean theyd won the cup less than two years earlier , bet most City fans wish they hadn’t won it as that loss to Sutton tarnished it forever. Maybe Leeds should just give up football and hand back any moments from their glory years after getting pumped at Crawley. Maybe , just maybe Stoke deserve to just stay out the top flight as they once lost to Blyth Spartans. 

7 minutes ago, jr ewing said:

Set us back years. 

**** me here he is , the tag team of doom n gloom are in full flow now

Just now, sadj said:

What ****ing damage to the club reputation? I suppose Arsenals defeats to Wrexham , York or worse still Walsall means their club is forever damaged , same with Coventry losing to Sutton , i mean theyd won the cup less than two years earlier , bet most City fans wish they hadn’t won it as that loss to Sutton tarnished it forever. Maybe Leeds should just give up football and hand back any moments from their glory years after getting pumped at Crawley. Maybe , just maybe Stoke deserve to just stay out the top flight as they once lost to Blyth Spartans. 

It would be kind of interesting to know how many managers were sacked after those results. But not interesting enough to do the work to find out. 

11 hours ago, davemclaren said:

You can greet all you want, the result happened. It’s what we do as a club in the present and the future that is much more important. 

This. Dented pride hurts...move on.

8 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Indeed, it’s taken us right back to 2015-16…when we were the third best team in Scotland. 

Back to even better than 15/16 (if we do finish 3rd) because they don't have the "Aye, but there's no Rangers and Hibs in the league and we just finished where we should have budget-wise" angle to talk that particular achievement down. Hibs and Aberdeen have both been outspending us, at at least in transfer fees, the last season or two. Who knows about wages, I assume we're still playing catch-up there after demotion.

10 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

The one that couldn’t beat a championship dwelling Hibs team over two games, one a money spinner, that started all this?