The Tron....

Morgan

....on Hogmanay.

A bit of a tradition for us many moons ago.

Imagine sharing a stranger's bottle nowadays!

Who else brought in the bells at the Tron?

18 minutes ago, Morgan said:

....on Hogmanay.

I was there the last year before Edinburgh NY was ruined forever by commercialisation in 1993/94.

The next year they cordoned off the city centre for the first time.

Edited by Spellczech

4 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

I was there the last year before Edinburgh NY was ruined forever by commercialisation in 1993/94.

I had no idea that it was that long ago that the city centre was closed off.

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

I had no idea that it was that long ago that the city centre was closed off.

Yep I may be one year out as I cannot remember if I spent Christmas Eve in Glasgow in 92 and then Hogmanay in Edinburgh or did both in Glasgow...

I remember one year going around collecting tickets from a lot of pubs (they were free) then me and pals had pretty much free movement that night before going to the Tron. The next year some pubs started charging for tickets, and the next there was a cordon and it spread down onto Princes Street Gardens. After that the proper big cordon started and it was 100k people... 

32 minutes ago, Morgan said:

It used to be more than a  bottle, kisses and hugs with complete strangers!

Many moons ago it was the done thing.  

image.png.94409d823ec400f64f8415658ae6effc.png

8 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

Yeah it was still risky as you risked cold sores and glandular fever!

The last year before the cordon was also the last year AFAIK when everyone just went on a total snogging bender! being 19 year olds we had to have a competition of course. It was great! So many hot girls just going for it as you walked up and down between the Tron and Bank St - yet strangely the one I remember most clearly was a really rough middle-aged biker chick who tongue raped me with her scary looking partner/husband watching! Haha I claimed double points for that one!

Edited by Spellczech

3 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

The last year before the cordon was also the last year AFAIK when everyone just went on a total snogging bender! being 19 year olds we had to have a competition of course. It was great! So many hot girls just going for it - yet strangely the one I remember most clearly was a really rough middle-aged biker chick who tongue raped me with her scary looking partner/husband watching! Haha I claimed double points for that one!

and maybe a bit more if you got lucky 🥵

Always a great atmosphere rarely any bother that I can remember. Back in the 70s it was there for the bells then on to numerous houses First Footing rarely any sleep before the Derby. 

4 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

It’s a 24/7 bevvy session at the Tron these days, stay well clear.

Really?

I didn't know that folk even still gathered there nowadays.

Do you see much bother from the taxi?

1 minute ago, luckyBatistuta said:

It’s a 24/7 bevvy session at the Tron these days, stay well clear.

Yeah - The cordon and tickets and tourists ruined the Edinburgh NY...I've done a few since but it's never come close. The worst one I had was Millenium, where I spent the first hour of the 21st century with one mate wandering around looking for the rest of the group as there was no phone signal, and my mate spent the whole hour trying to get a connection until I got so pissed off I shouted "FFS John, put the effing phone away, be with the people you are with not chasing the people who can't be arsed hanging out with you!" Haha It was shoite...Eventually we got off the streets and crashed a party and I lost myself in the arms of a girl whose name I cannot remember...

18 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

My wife worked her way down the line of police at the junction with the Bridges, giving them all a wee peck!

Around 1991 that was.

Just now, Morgan said:

My wife worked her way down the line of police at the junction with the Bridges, giving them all a wee peck!

Around 1991 that was.

Yeah it was triple points for the policewomen but you had to get in quickly as they were in high demand and soon got a bit pissed off with the attention! Haha

I seem to recall that it became a wee bit dangerous for young women to be alone in some of the closes leading down to Cockburn Street.

2 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Yeah it was triple points for the policewomen but you had to get in quickly as they were in high demand and soon got a bit pissed off with the attention! Haha

I sometimes gained triple points for still being able to stand!

Just now, Morgan said:

I seem to recall that it became a wee bit dangerous for young women to be alone in some of the closes leading down to Cockburn Street.

Dunno about that, but I'd have thought that is the case anytime? The Meadows was always the place women were told not to cross alone at New Year...

33 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Really?

It’s where the homeless gather every day and sit, get pissed and have a wee fight every now and again.

Edited by luckyBatistuta

45 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

The last year before the cordon was also the last year AFAIK when everyone just went on a total snogging bender! being 19 year olds we had to have a competition of course. It was great! So many hot girls just going for it as you walked up and down between the Tron and Bank St - yet strangely the one I remember most clearly was a really rough middle-aged biker chick who tongue raped me with her scary looking partner/husband watching! Haha I claimed double points for that one!

This!!  :D '86-92/3 think I was up there just about every Hogmanay, then back to Carry on Porty. I do believe one of those years he we played the 'tic at their place, was surprised even got into the ground as I could barely stumble, just as surprised I found my bus back, blacked out in the toilets at a basement bar in frederick st, got kicked out and woke up again at twenty past the bells! Still went up, and home eventually, probably to bed, haha.

Aye, if you're young and feckless it was a pretty good gig tbf.

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

I think the last one without restrictions was 1996. I recall a gig headlined by Ocean Colour Scene attracted massive crowds which led to limitations being applied. Stereophonics and Babybird were also on the bill. 

2 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I think the last one without restrictions was 1996. I recall a gig headlined by Ocean Colour Scene attracted massive crowds which led to limitations being applied. Stereophonics and Babybird were also on the bill. 

There was one year of a mini-cordon on the Mile right at the Tron before the big concerts in the Gardens really got going...That was the year pubs started charging a few quid for tickets that had previously been free. Anyway, they ruined the Edinburgh NY as soon as they made it a music concert...

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Really?

Gathering point for jakeys. Usually an entertaining watch. Last time I was in the area there was a guy with a Batman suit on (that's a suit with Batman signs all over it, not a Batman costume) threatening to batter some guy for having a Wales flag.

6 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Gathering point for jakeys. Usually an entertaining watch. Last time I was in the area there was a guy with a Batman suit on (that's a suit with Batman signs all over it, not a Batman costume) threatening to batter some guy for having a Wales flag.

He sometimes wears a suit with playing cards all over it (including trousers). Think he is a Hearts fan as well.

Edited by Pap

Last time I went to Tron at New Year must have been about 1982. At least it was free and ticketless. Mind it was also music free and consisted of just standing about and drinking. It was a laugh at 17/18 but after that, never again. Far preferred pub or club and now I'm older, a decent restaurant and meal with friends.

Used to do the tron every year before that shite street party took over. Done that until that year with the insane crushes when about half a million folk went. Was it 96? 
Then the tickets to get in places, drinks dearer, fecking packed in like sardines toiling to get served, canny get a taxi home then if you do double fares…

Im getting auld I think :lol: 

Edited by jack D and coke

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Really?

It's Jakeball Centre. Trashy scum, young lassies and devil dugs. Tbf to the police, they clear it during the Festival. 🙄

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

....on Hogmanay.

I remember a few.

And I had a flat just up from it just before the bells got switched to the gardens and fireworks ...or maybe confused as my first born was there and we had him out with us so that might have been the festival fireworks.

We drew some  looks being a young couple with a young baby.(no wonder tbf)

I do remember before though the crowd was almost football like with sways .I lost my shoe a light blue pod 🤣 and it got handed to me later by a lassie who called me Cinderella.

Edinburgh seemed more village like in those days.Its kind of lost that for the residents now.

I'm sure the younger ones do their thing.

I loved that flat btw ....🤗

28 minutes ago, Savage Vince said:

It's Jakeball Centre. Trashy scum, young lassies and devil dugs. Tbf to the police, they clear it during the Festival. 🙄

You are definitely on the ball with your name on here mate🤣

It's an apt description though .Although many are I'd say mentally ill and have addiction issues.

And I just sense the lassies are likely escaping something worse than that scene.

For someone that I think is socialist you are no half unsympathetic to things .

Not having a go as I catch myself saying similar.

Ps

Edinburgh has always had that about it for centuries .

Edited by Ked

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

Really?

It's all Jakey Celtic fans, getting pished on Buckie. 😃

43 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Last time I went to Tron at New Year must have been about 1982. At least it was free and ticketless. Mind it was also music free and consisted of just standing about and drinking. It was a laugh at 17/18 but after that, never again. Far preferred pub or club and now I'm older, a decent restaurant and meal with friends.

That's where I am 

It was good for a few years but got boring  

Edited by Hmfc1965

The Tron had started to develop a bit of an edge about it which is why the authorities were glad when things got more organised. The last year I went to the Tron I popped into one of the closes for a pee and had no sooner started peeing when a bottle smashed on the wall next to me, followed by several others.  No reason other than pissed young lads out for bother. 

58 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Used to do the tron every year before that shite street party took over. Done that until that year with the insane crushes when about half a million folk went. Was it 96
Then the tickets to get in places, drinks dearer, fecking packed in like sardines toiling to get served, canny get a taxi home then if you do double fares…

I think it was 95, the last time I was at the tron fir the bells. I just remember about half hour after the bells, me and my mates though we would take a wonder down to princes Street. Couldn't even get down the mound so we gave up and headed to another mates house in Tollcross.

1 hour ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I remember that being the one and only time I went to Princes Street for the bells. 

People who weren't there thought we were exaggerating when we said there could've been a crushing tragedy if action wasn't taken to limit the crowd. The corner of Frederick Street and Princes Street was scary about 20 minutes after the bells with people leaving as others were trying to get on to Princes Street. 

I vowed then never again. Since then it's been at home for NY for me. 

The very next year it became all ticket and the crowd has been reduced even more since. 

3 hours ago, Spellczech said:

Yeah - The cordon and tickets and tourists ruined the Edinburgh NY...I've done a few since but it's never come close. The worst one I had was Millenium, where I spent the first hour of the 21st century with one mate wandering around looking for the rest of the group as there was no phone signal, and my mate spent the whole hour trying to get a connection until I got so pissed off I shouted "FFS John, put the effing phone away, be with the people you are with not chasing the people who can't be arsed hanging out with you!" Haha It was shoite...Eventually we got off the streets and crashed a party and I lost myself in the arms of a girl whose name I cannot remember...

Yes its been ruined by big business.

Actually i have never been to Tron for the bells but heard it was a great night. An authentic Edinburgh experience.  I remember the Millennium night vividly.  Turned out a very romantic night with my then boyfriend. At midnight we were standing on a balcony and saw the fireworks and had champagne. Told me he loved me an awe and embraced me .   Fast forward to later that year and he dumped me ! :)   I managed to get over it

Went a couple of times but was hugely disappointed and it was always murder trying to get back to West Lothian after it. Been lucky enough to have spent NYE on Seven Mile Beach on Cayman which was nuts. Feet in the Caribbean Sea and fireworks that put Edinburgh to shame. 

This year in the house like most others but with the Covid 🙄

1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

Used to do the tron every year before that shite street party took over. Done that until that year with the insane crushes when about half a million folk went. Was it 96? 

I was a conspiracy theorist then as I predicated that tickets for the " street party" would definitely not be free in the future. But people argued " they cant charge for you to go into your own city centre ? "  How naïve.  Your so right about the taxi getting home though. That's a nightmare. I've walked many a night home from the city centre in my full highland outfit and brogues  and my feet killing me when i got home . Deck that. 

It was mental in the mid 80s. Swaying crowd, Bottles flying, drenched in beer and whisky, and I ruined my adidas trimm trabs one year. Muddier than the Somme. Was gutted.

When they moved things to the bottom of the mound it wasn't much better but least there was a few decent bands

Funny the things you remember from New Years gone. One of my strongest memories was walking to Stockbridge from the Tron for a house party and when we were walking through the New Town in the pouring rain a guy was standing on the balcony of a flat playing (very good) jazz saxophone. Totally random but remember it like it was yesterday. 

38 minutes ago, luckydug said:

I remember that being the one and only time I went to Princes Street for the bells. 

People who weren't there thought we were exaggerating when we said there could've been a crushing tragedy if action wasn't taken to limit the crowd. The corner of Frederick Street and Princes Street was scary about 20 minutes after the bells with people leaving as others were trying to get on to Princes Street. 

I vowed then never again. Since then it's been at home for NY for me. 

The very next year it became all ticket and the crowd has been reduced even more since. 

Yeah, the foot of the Mound, Hannover St and Frederick St were all pretty manic from memory. 

Have to say that Visit Scotland were doing a grand job in attracting all the dafties from overseas to come and holiday in Scotland just for the Hogmanay celebrations. 

1 hour ago, Ked said:

It's an apt description though .Although many are I'd say mentally ill and have addiction issues.

And I just sense the lassies are likely escaping something worse than that scene.

Ps

I wouldn't describe myself as a socialist, more of a soft leftie. 

I agree with you that Edinburgh has always has this problem and that knowing where they are and containing them is a strategy that the plod likely prefer. 

The lassies may well be escaping something that is worse mate but they're on a dangerous path. 

The dugs should all be shot. 😊

6 minutes ago, Savage Vince said:

I agree with you that Edinburgh has always has this problem and that knowing where they are and containing them is a strategy that the plod likely prefer. 

The lassies may well be escaping something that is worse mate but they're on a dangerous path. 

No such thing as a bad dog, just bad owners. Having said that I just don't get the popularity of Staffies and other hardman dogs - they're freaking ugly beasts - which I always suspect people like for the sole purpose of vicarious hardness...

1 minute ago, Spellczech said:

No such thing as a bad dog, just bad owners. Having said that I just don't get the popularity of Staffies and other hardman dogs - they're freaking ugly beasts - which I always suspect people like for the sole purpose of vicarious hardness...

Your 'I'm hard cos my dug's hard' theory is very likely the main reason behind their popularity. 

3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Taxi fares are never double🤨

Was a dangerous place come midnight with the amount of bottles that went up in the air. One of my mates was stabbed up there one year. You would never meet a nicer guy, no enemies. Only a few minutes after the bells, some random guy came from behind him, stabbed him and ran off.

2 hours ago, Ked said:

Ps

I used to be like that and still am at times, even though I try not to. You just don’t know what start in life some of these people have had. Loads of folk feel sorry for them when they’re abused as kids, but not once they’re adolescent. A lot have had no chance in life and are on a downward spiral from day one. They just need some love, care and help. 

I accidentally set off a fire extinguisher in that pub many years ago.

Trying to squeeze past folk to get to a seat and leaned on it. I heard this loud noise which caused me to stop and turn as it was loud and I wasn't sure what it was. Continued to lean on it and noticed the carpet was covered in foam. By the time I realised it was me think I'd emptied about half of it.

As a teenager we used to walk the length of princes street on hogmanay just getting snog after snog. Good days......real good days.

3 hours ago, Savage Vince said:

I know they are mate.

And the dugs should be given a good home.

Peace and love ya Hearts radge

2 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Taxi fares are never double🤨

Was a dangerous place come midnight with the amount of bottles that went up in the air. One of my mates was stabbed up there one year. You would never meet a nicer guy, no enemies. Only a few minutes after the bells, some random guy came from behind him, stabbed him and ran off.

I used to be like that and still am at times, even though I try not to. You just don’t know what start in life some of these people have had. Loads of folk feel sorry for them when they’re abused as kids, but not once they’re adolescent. A lot have had no chance in life and are on a downward spiral from day one. They just need some love, care and help. 

They do mate .

We all do

1 hour ago, Der Kaiser said:

As a teenager we used to walk the length of princes street on hogmanay just getting snog after snog. Good days......real good days.

Reminds me of the first time I went to the Tron , I was about 16, back in the 70s. 

Getting randomly snogged by some well fit bursd. It was unreal.