Souttar signs pre-contract with Rangers (Super Thread)

47 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

If he's signed a pre contract with another employer, was off sick for the best part of two years while his employer and mates seen him through it, then aye someone should. All that and he had the chance to help them out by getting a fee but then chose not to. 

If he's just a guy earning a average buck, then naw. 

I’ve had 2-3 different careers. 2 at mid to high management level in competitive industry sectors. If it became known that a key employee was speaking to a competitor they were moved to other duties. If it became known that you were actually leaving to join a competitor you were placed on gardening  leave immediately.

Same thing should be happening here. Suspended on full pay until he joins the competitor. Completely legal and common place

• Replies 6k

• Factuer Moi

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

The term wasn’t coined until Webster, you couldn’t sign for anyone in your last year before him. You could say you were going to as a free agent.

The original post said we had signed plenty, that’s simply not the case. 

Davie Weir was going to sign for Everton on a pre-contract, but ended up joining in January or February after paying about £200k.

1 minute ago, 4marsbars said:

A slightly different take.

How will his team mates feel right now?

If we, the fans, give Souttar a hard time will they welcome that, or might they think 

'that's no way to treat my mate'

'so that's what happens if you progress to a bigger club'

What I mean is that how the fans behave now should be to do whatever brings out the best in the rest of the squad, bearing in mind that, inevitably, our most promising players (Devlin, Baningame, etc) are here as a stepping stone to greater things (which is absolutely fine by me).

In general, I prefer the carrot to the stick.

Devlin comes across as a top, top guy who loves the club. I can’t see him doing what Souttar has done in a month of Sundays. 

1 hour ago, luckydug said:

While they were under contract to their current clubs ? 

I  really doubt that 🤔

That definitely happened, Wyness got a better reception.

4 minutes ago, husref musemic said:

You think this is cool?

We supported him & his family for 2 years while he never kicked a ball. Two fekin years ! longer than most contacts.

He then sneaks out the door for nothing to save the huns money.

Absolute Ars_hole of a man. 

Cool ?

I just think it’s life and it’s football. 

Did anyone complain when we signed Halkett on a pre from Livingston? Livi plucked him from the Rangers scrap heap and turned him into a player we were happy to sign for nothing.

Souttars injury issues only adds to the argument of him wanting to move on and make the most of his career.

We got Souttar on the cheap considering his potential at that time and we will lose him on the cheap. 

You win some, you lose some imo.

number witheld
27 minutes ago, OldGorgie said:

Nothing wrong with getting angry, especially since Hearts were very loyal to Soutar when injured. It’s a better reaction than some of the holier than thou posters that spin this incident into a good thing for Hearts.

Didn’t we just do what any club would do? What makes our treatment of Souttar particularly special? 

Edited by number witheld
Spelling

14 hours ago, andydog said:

That fact he’s going to rangers is a disappointing but if that’s what he wants to do then fine. It’s the pre-contract to a rival club that angers me. It’s the most disrespectful thing he could do. He’s committed to another team in the league whilst still drawing a wage here. He ran his contract down knowing that the result is hearts receive nothing as a result and to add insult to injury he signs for another club with half the season to go and puts us in the position where we are damned if we play him and damned if we don’t. 

Good post. As you say, a bad situation made worse with so much of the season remaining coupled with Souttar’s apparent indifference to his debt to Hearts over the club’s support and care for him over his time with us. 
Crazy position to be in and, as you say, disrespectful. 

13 minutes ago, 4marsbars said:

If we, the fans, give Souttar a hard time will they welcome that, or might they think 

What I mean is that how the fans behave now should be to do whatever brings out the best in the rest of the squad, bearing in mind that, inevitably, our most promising players (Devlin, Baningame, etc) are here as a stepping stone to greater things (which is absolutely fine by me).

Fine as long as you are happy for Hearts to act as a feeder club for Rankers. Which is exactly how the Huns view us.

1 hour ago, Marczero said:

Saw this on  rangers supporters page , now I know you can photoshop but looks pretty genuine , get rid now , sickened me seeing this photo

Screenshot_20220115-091922_Facebook.jpg

Boke - but looking at the neck, this has not been done by the Caravaggio of photoshoppers.

People getting all excited about his politics 😂. Suppose he could be a plastic socialist earning north of £200k a year.

The OF weakens the opposition, same old same old. The best we can do is forget he existed and move on. Doesn’t get best wishes, equally don’t give a shit about him. Non-entity Rangers reserve player.

32 minutes ago, frankblack said:

All Celtic or Rangers players at the time they went down there, sadly.

McGinn is really the only player outside them to have done well, but he had been becoming an international regular when sold.

The profile of our game needs to improve outside the uglies to get big money curculating from transfers.   95% of the money goes to those two.

That's my point though, playing for the Glasgow clubs is rightly or wrongly, a platform to get a move to a higher profile English club.

Loads have moved to the Championship and are either stuck at that level or have fallen further down the pyramid.

39 minutes ago, ramrod said:

Really not getting this argument at all.

If you aren't to bothered about getting a pittance for him then why sell him thats exactly what Rangers , Souttar and his agent want. 

They've played their cards we play ours.

He is our player to use as we see fit till the end of the season unless a fee is met .

We have been royally shafted no doubt so its up to us to throw a spanner in Souttars plans and use him as back up to Moore , then Smith .simple really .

The only way I would except him going is if Robbie wants him out the door which atm doesn't seem to be the case. 

I can explain it quite easily. Yep, rangers and Souttar will be looking to get the move done. That is to their advantage.

Unfortunately, it’s to our advantage as well. 

Don’t think Robbie has commented yet. 

35 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I think he’ll be away in the window as well but there’s a wee game of poker likely to be played first. 

No doubt but they’ve got the upper hand unfortunately. 

3 hours ago, allystrachan said:

Let’s be honest, he’s going to win trophies at rangers, theres a high chance he will play in the champions league or at least europa league most years, he will have trebled or quadrupled his wages & doesn’t need to move house & uproot his family. And he will be a stick on for all international squads. Hard to blame him.

That’s where we’re at in Scottish football. We can say we’re a big club and can progress people careers but money talks. And why would you want to play in the English championship over European group stages. 

it’s a shit deal for us but we need to now thrash out a deal as best we can for the club. Playing him isn’t an option imo & paying his wages with him sitting at home is no good either. Get some money, get some additional instalments for when rangers win stuff & move on. It’s lose lose for us whatever we do.

I don’t wish him any injuries but certainly won’t wish him well either. 

HHGH!

The Rangers have won one major trophy in their history. Bit if a stretch thinking he’s going to win lots there? 

4 minutes ago, westbow said:

People getting all excited about his politics 😂. Suppose he could be a plastic socialist earning north of £200k a year.

The OF weakens the opposition, same old same old. The best we can do is forget he existed and move on. Doesn’t get best wishes, equally don’t give a shit about him. Non-entity Rangers reserve player.

Yep - political crap should be an instant warning and a thread ban. It has no place on the terrace.

4 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

No doubt but they’ve got the upper hand unfortunately. 

All you can do is play the hand you have in the best way. 😉

Even after all these years, I feel gutted each time a player of ours goes off to join one of the ugly twins. I know it's only football but It feels like a complete and utter betrayal for someone to go off to either of the two teams who so contemptuously and arrogantly treat the rest of Scottish football as their fiefdom. Souttar is most definitely persona non grata as far as I'm concerned and I would rather he just buggered off now.

Just now, davemclaren said:

All you can do is play the hand you have in the best way. 😉

Indeed. No doubt we’ll be pragmatic and get the best we can. 

55 minutes ago, Cade said:

Rudi Skacel wanted to move on from Hearts

He signed a contract extension with Hearts so that anyone that wanted him would have to pay Hearts a ton of cash.

A month or so after signing his contract extension he was sold to southampton for £1.6million

Rudi Skacel is a top boy.

John Souttar wants to move on from Hearts.

He signed a pre-contract with another club.

Hearts will get nothing. Despite the club still paying him for almost two years with his successive achilles injuries.

John Souttar is a snake.

Not comparable, at that time we paid really high money to do that. 

Even done it with CG, elvis and Hartley as well iirc, massively increased their wages so they extended, then we sold. 

It's all about the money. 

If we could offer £15-£20k he would have stayed with us. 

We can't, so he never. 

Rangers can. 

30 minutes ago, 4marsbars said:

I think the squad might see what John did as a little bit shitty

Elsewhere, Berra probably rubbing himself off over this

Edited by kila

10 minutes ago, westbow said:

Spot on. And our solution was to throw more money at him!

49 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

To be honest if they offer us anything it’ll be a pitrsnce

F them and F Him

Tell them to cram it and tell him he can stay at home and we’ll continue to pay him 

Wouldnt even let him use out facilities to get fit for those *****

That's my view as well with the possible exception of a cameo appearance at Auchinleck. 

That will be one medal he's no chance of winning. 

Tynecastle Valhalla

Make him train with the youths; give him zero interaction with the first team squad; explain to the squad why this is happening; send a message out to the market we shall not be messed with.

play him for 30 seconds in the cup.

If rangers or Celtic want our players they must pay mega bucks and should be a back up option to a move elsewhere such as England 

45 minutes ago, 4marsbars said:

If I was a player I’d probably be annoyed at the side show it’s creating. Could this not have waited till the summer? Probably all wanting a strong finish and this jeopardises that.

If I was Andy Halliday, I’d probably want an autograph. 

Souttar is one of the best young defenders we’ve had since the days of Maclaren and Levein. 

it’s a short career -especially with his injuries. 
We’ve supported and looked after him through his injuries, and developed him from a player with potential, to a full internationalist. 

This is how he thanks us. 

**** him. Judas ****

27 minutes ago, DH1986 said:

Cool ?

I just think it’s life and it’s football. 

Did anyone complain when we signed Halkett on a pre from Livingston? Livi plucked him from the Rangers scrap heap and turned him into a player we were happy to sign for nothing.

Souttars injury issues only adds to the argument of him wanting to move on and make the most of his career.

We got Souttar on the cheap considering his potential at that time and we will lose him on the cheap. 

You win some, you lose some imo.

Spot on. It's the law of the football jungle sadly.  As you say, we got Halkett from Livi and the Huns are about to lose Goldstone for nothing.  We're in the middle.  Hopefully Savage will ensure we win more than we lose, going forward.

10 minutes ago, westbow said:

Have to laugh at the Tory comments, where are these coming from?  Whether he is Tory, SNP or Labour, he's about to become a millionaire and will have an accountant making sure he pays as little tax as legally possible.  Whether he's an open Tory or a plastic socialist either, either way he'll not give a shit about us anymore.

Tynecastle Valhalla
4 minutes ago, Mister Dee said:

Souttar is one of the best young defenders we’ve had since the days of Maclaren and Levein. 

it’s a short career -especially with his injuries. 
We’ve supported and looked after him through his injuries, and developed him from a player with potential, to a full internationalist. 

This is how he thanks us. 

**** him. Judas ****

This post sums up how I feel pretty well.

Hearts can learn from this.

Also don’t deal with McNamara ever again.

in the meantime only play him in the cup for a small part of the game.

58 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

If that is what he is on it may sound a lot to us maybe but it is not a huge amount for an injury prone footballer who  has no guarantee that he will have many more years in the game especially given his injury history. . When I said good luck to him earlier I was not wishing him success at Rangers. I was saying I understood him making the move and I don't as many do wish him a career ending injury. On the other hand I won't shed any tears for him or Rangers if his new club has to nurse him through more potentially career ending injuries. It is a risk club takes when it signs any player.

(As an aside is it an insurable risk? )

That £3100 a week would be from the contract offered to him when he was recovering from injury and was a bit of a risk for Hearts at that time. 

Fairly sure the contract he declined this time around from Hearts would have been  much more than that. 

Neilson should just make sure not to play him. Have him in and around the squads until the window closes then put him in to train with the youth team. From February he shouldn't make any of our matchday squads. Have him sit in the stands each week so he can take any abuse that comes his way but doesn't keep match fit so will lose his Scotland place.

5 minutes ago, wallace_mercer said:

Totally agree mate. 

7 minutes ago, wallace_mercer said:

wouldn't be shocked if he develops a niggle to take that option away from RN's hands. Not as if he hasn't burn't his bridges already.

33 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Yep - political crap should be an instant warning and a thread ban. It has no place on the terrace.

I think I'm of a different political persuasion to yourself but I agree no place for Politics on the terrace. 

Hearts are a broad church and watching and supporting our beloved club should unite us and take our minds of the ills of the world for a time. 

Naisys Tackle
1 hour ago, 4marsbars said:

Probably the same as they react to a loan signing from a bigger club. 

Realistically they will all be pals and will be happy for him. 

1 hour ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Davie Weir was going to sign for Everton on a pre-contract, but ended up joining in January or February after paying about £200k.

He went with most folks best wishes, once again showing there’s a way to leave. I’m not sure he even got much stick when he returned with these horrible *******s. 

8 minutes ago, luckydug said:

I think I'm of a different political persuasion to yourself but I agree no place for Politics on the terrace. 

Hearts are a broad church and watching and supporting our beloved club should unite us and take our minds of the ills of the world for a time. 

Not a church thanks 👍🏽

Main concern is the effect this will have on the rest of the team. Tynecastle will not be a great place to play on Tuesday if Souttar starts, and his selfish act has put the club in a really difficult situation. 

We should tell the Huns we want a certain price for him.  If we don't get it then we cup-tie him. They may need him as the season goes on, especially if Goldstone switches off.

We should bench him from now on.  This will seriously put his Scotland squad position at serious risk and no World Cup place, if we qualify.  Hopefully Souttar and his agent will press the Huns to do a deal and pay the cash.  A win-win for everyone.  It's not like they don;t have the cash.  They just got £10m from Everton.

Celtic are improving by the week and have spent in the window.  The Huns could do with Souttar now.

Time to play hardball with the Huns.

For me the only relevant thing is a sell on clause. My initial thought was keep him and go for third. Now it's a reality I'd take a few quid, save on the wages, get him to fk and hope he stays fit enough to get us a few quid down the line.

1 hour ago, Roxy Hearts said:

I hope he goes this month to get rid of the acrimony! He's let the supporters and the club down. 

Got a feeling Rangers will really want him this month - with his injury history they'll be terrified of us playing him!

1 hour ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

That definitely happened, Wyness got a better reception.

Yes but Hartley and Wyness were introduced to the Hearts fans on the last day of the season in 2003

St Johnstone and ICTs season however was in fact completed the previous weekend 

A Shoreditch Heart
57 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Even after all these years, I feel gutted each time a player of ours goes off to join one of the ugly twins. I know it's only football but It feels like a complete and utter betrayal for someone to go off to either of the two teams who so contemptuously and arrogantly treat the rest of Scottish football as their fiefdom. Souttar is most definitely persona non grata as far as I'm concerned and I would rather he just buggered off now.

spot on mate and this is the way that I feel, but x 10 - he has to leave our club right now

Broxburn Jambo

This is how I see the  John Souttar situation

His contract was coming to an end, he is looking for an improved deal.

( I am sure Hearts have been talking to him/agent since the beginning of this season, we offered him the best deal we could within the structure we now have laid down, it was not enough)

He owes us for sticking with him through his injuries

( Rubbish !!!, we have a duty of care as does any employer, even my own when I was off work for 6 months, he also got these injuries while representing our club)

He should never have gone to Rangers

( They had the best deal on offer, that probably suited him and his family)

Don't play him the rest of the season if he doesn't go in January for a fee

( If he is still here and performing -play him, he is part of a squad)

Finally, 

John I will be sorry to see you go, you have left us with memories, not least the most recent tackle against Griffiths in the Dundee game, and a beauty of a tackle against Hibs in a midweek game, I would love to see that again!!!, 

Thanks for being here, but I now of course reserve the right to give you dogs abuse when you wear a Rangers shirt.

onwards and upwards HHGH 

letsmakesomenoise
4 hours ago, CostaJambo said:

Joking aside, the fee must already be agreed, otherwise Souttar faces the prospect of Sevco refusing to meet our valuation (do they really need him now anyway???) and Robbie dumping him with the kids the minute we cement third place, with Souttar eventually joining Sevco at the end of the season while knowing full well that they didn't want him enough to pay the fee back in January. Not the ideal start to joining a new employer.

I kinda agree with this, if I was Souttar Id be instructing my agent that I wont sign a precon unless the club agree to buy me in January.  Imagine the scenario where he breaks down again and faces the prospect of stacking shelves in Tesco for the rest of his working life.

Just now, letsmakesomenoise said:

I kinda agree with this, if I was Souttar Id be instructing my agent that I wont sign a precon unless the club agree to buy me in January.  Imagine the scenario where he breaks down again and faces the prospect of stacking shelves in Tesco for the rest of his working life.

That's nonsense and you know it is.

He's got a coffee shop in Brechin...

1 hour ago, JimmyCant said:

I’ve had 2-3 different careers. 2 at mid to high management level in competitive industry sectors. If it became known that a key employee was speaking to a competitor they were moved to other duties. If it became known that you were actually leaving to join a competitor you were placed on gardening  leave immediately.

Same thing should be happening here. Suspended on full pay until he joins the competitor. Completely legal and common place

While that's true, in the football business I'd question if it applies to players.

It's not as if he's sitting in board meetings, or strategic planning sessions with Joe Savage.

If his attitude is right, there's no real risk involved with playing him. FWIW I'd personally have him nowhere the First team.

• davemclaren changed the title to Souttar signs pre-contract with Rangers (Super Thread)