1 minute ago, The White Cockade said:

Cup of tea and a couple of digestives for me thanks 

Chocolate digestives hopefully especially dipping it in said mug

1 hour ago, The White Cockade said:

Cup of tea and a couple of digestives for me thanks 

More or less the same.

It used to be cheese on toast.

Here people will often say they are going out for supper, which is actually a normal evening meal.I could never understand getting all dressed up for a cup of Ovaltine and a biscuit.

8 hours ago, Sharpie said:

Here people will often say they are going out for supper, which is actually a normal evening meal.I could never understand getting all dressed up for a cup of Ovaltine and a biscuit.

I always refer to my main meal of the day as “Tea.”

3 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I always refer to my main meal of the day as “Tea.”

Everything after 1159am is dinner for me. :D

Just now, Sir Craig Gordon said:

Crackers and cheese

Used to hate cheese, Stilton bring the worded. 

Not sure if it’s an age thing as I’m 51 now but I can’t go without cheese nowadays. Always away buying something different to try and love Stilton  

5 minutes ago, theshed said:

Not sure if it’s an age thing as I’m 51 now but I can’t go without cheese nowadays. Always away buying something different to try and love Stilton  

Stilton is one of my favourites.

16 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Everything after 1159am is dinner for me. :D

What folk call Lunch now we used to call it Dinner.

11 hours ago, Morgan said:

Is it still a thing?

Had 2 pork chops and uncle bens rice for tea about 4-30, son was getting a chippie at 7pm,

i had a jumbo haggis and a few chips so i suppose that was my supper.

Years ago my gran would give me a small tin of beans and toast for my supper and hot chocolate.

2 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Had 2 pork chops and uncle bens rice for tea about 4-30, son was getting a chippie at 7pm,

i had a jumbo haggis and a few chips so i suppose that was my supper.

Years ago my gran would give me a small tin of beans and toast for my supper and hot chocolate.

Good to see the tea word being used.

From what you had to eat you weren’t that hungry.:lol:

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Good to see the tea word being used.

From what you had to eat you weren’t that hungry.:lol:

Was all the nervous tension from the hobos game, 7 mins of injury time was not good lol.

Always say tea bud, dinner is for posh folk eating at 8pm ha ha.

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

What folk call Lunch now we used to call it Dinner.

Aye, it was always dinner money you took to school and had your tea after school.

9 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Was all the nervous tension from the hobos game, 7 mins of injury time was not good lol.

Always say tea bud, dinner is for posh folk eating at 8pm ha ha.

1 minute ago, Awbdy Oot said:

Aye, it was always dinner money you took to school and had your tea after school.

I wonder if that’s just an Edinburgh thing.

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I wonder if that’s just an Edinburgh thing.

Maybe, it has changed though and the kids now talk about lunch and dinner.

12 hours ago, jamtartan74 said:

Nope not for me, dinner and nothing after it, maybe a wee snack or something but not supper as a thing no. 

Same here. Was never a religious thing in my house growing up. If you were hungry just go have something. Wasn't until I started staying with my ex at her parents that I realised some people actually have supper all the time. Same with breakfast. Never been a huge breakfast person. Sometimes I'll eat, sometimes I won't. 

Can’t stand the term ‘evening meal’ - call it tea, dinner or supper.

If I ask people round for ‘supper’ I mean come and have whatever we’re having.  ‘Round for dinner’ to me means make a bit of an effort, cook something special, get the good napkins out etc.

13 hours ago, Sharpie said:

Supper/dinner/tea ... I use whatever comes into my head at the time, tbqh. Although now that I'm back I tend to use it's tea time! We're a mixed-up family! :lol:

5 hours ago, theshed said:

I almost always eat some mature cheddar before going to bed, I just can't help it.  Not good for me I know but ....

.... tbh, I eat waaaay too much cheese. It's :wow:

Edited by ArcticJambo

When growing up, dinner was lunchtime and tea was dinner time……now I’m a bit more sophisticated 😏 lunch is lunchtime and dinner is dinner time 

1 hour ago, FWJ said:

Can’t stand the term ‘evening meal’ - call it tea, dinner or supper.

If I ask people round for ‘supper’ I mean come and have whatever we’re having.  ‘Round for dinner’ to me means make a bit of an effort, cook something special, get the good napkins out etc.

Supper is a post-dinner, light-meal at night in my book.

Breakfast (8am)

Lunch (12pm)

Dinner (6pm)

Supper (10pm)

I use dinner/lunch without much thought so mix them up a bit.

Tea is evening meal after work.

Supper usually a bowl of cereal/bit of toast and cup of tea.

My kids use lunch, tea and supper 

We never, ever eat breakfast.  We don’t eat anything until around 2.00pm.

At school, lunch time was known as dinner time.  We now call it lunch.

The evening meal was tea. We still call it that.

When we invite folk over for the evening, we invite them for ‘a meal’.

It’s probably all very confusing for non-Scottish folk!

As for supper, we call it wine.

4 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Cup of tea, an Actimel and two slices of toast with Marmite Peanut Butter (naturally).

Occasionally I'll have three Weetbix or Bran Flakes with chopped banana or some prunes and natural yoghurt with chia seeds.

In the morning I am as regular as clockwork..... 

:kirk:

Start your own toilet thread, don’t hi-jack my supper one.

😎

2 hours ago, frankblack said:

My dinner is usually later so supper is never a thing for me.  By the time I finish my dinner its probably time for other people's supper.

Same as us, Frank.

We eat our tea/evening meal around 10.00pm.

7 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Same as us, Frank.

Not quite that late - usually...

However, I find by the time I get in from work and have had a quick breather before starting cooking, is 9.30 by the time I'm done.

3 hours ago, Morgan said:

Same as us, Frank.

When I’m working it’s dinner around 6.00 pm and for supper its usually tea and toast about 1/2 hour before bed, if not working ( most days now) we usually have a late lunch and dinner about 8.00pm and maybe a chocolate biscuit and tea for supper 1/2 before bed.

A Saturday night is an Indian or Chinese and a few beers about 9.00pm and fall asleep on the couch 👍.

3 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

The word supper should only be used in regards to getting a chippy. 

Close thread. 

7 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

I almost always eat some mature cheddar before going to bed, I just can't help it.  Not good for me I know but ....

.... tbh, I eat waaaay too much cheese. It's :wow:

Love cheddar. I can/could eat a whole block easily. Used to love it when my mum cut me a big bit of the block. Just shows you, that you like the things your Dad does, even when pretending you're nothing like him. :(

3 hours ago, Morgan said:

We never, ever eat breakfast.  We don’t eat anything until around 2.00pm.

At school, lunch time was known as dinner time.  We now call it lunch.

The evening meal was tea. We still call it that.

When we invite folk over for the evening, we invite them for ‘a meal’.

It’s probably all very confusing for non-Scottish folk!

As for supper, we call it wine.

You've become quite the snob, Morgs.  :D

You need a fortnight in the old hood. :gun_bandana:

10 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

The word supper should only be used in regards to getting a chippy. 

Close thread. 

What about a Burns supper?

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Love cheddar. I can/could eat a whole block easily. Used to love it when my mum cut me a big bit of the block. Just shows you, that you like the things your Dad does, even when pretending you're nothing like him. :(

Yup, my old man was a cheese fiend too, and whenever I used to visit his mum way back, she'd make me toasted cheese with apple slices regularly, although this was never at supper time. :D  Runs in the family, as you say.

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Snob is putting it nicely. 

3 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

Yup, my old man was a cheese fiend too, and whenever I used to visit his mum way back, she'd make me toasted cheese with apple slices regularly, although this was never at supper time. :D  Runs in the family, as you say.

Cheese is a delight at any time of the day. :2thumbsup:

4 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

He can't be that much of a snob if he's drinking that much wine for his supper, that he cant face eating till 2pm the next day.  :D