Should Scotland be an independent country?

Alex Kintner

Should Scotland be an independent country?  

505 members have voted

1. 1. Should Scotland be an independent country?

• Yes
    • No
    • Don’t know/ Abstain/ Spoil ballot

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

I don't agree, it needs 51% of those who vote to think it's a good idea.

Struggling despite what the polls might say.

We will see .

While I slagged Scotland off a bit I do think we are a collect of individuals who have punched above our weight.

That needs emphasised but with a plan to show what tools we will use.

Just saying the tools we have got are shit is no argument.

A good tradesman never blames his tools.

😄

How's that for fekin metaphors Smithhee ya madnan

• Replies 13.3k

• Unknown user

• JudyJudyJudy

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

39 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Of course. I just don't see why we need to spend time and money to cause further division just to end up pretty much back where we are at the moment.

Exactly. I love when the hardcore think it'll be some hitting the reset button and a socialist utopia when obviously a generation is going to be poorer.

Meanwhile they're following a neoliberal party selling off the seabed under value. 

So, what's the plan? Low taxes Ireland or higher taxes Scandinavia?

3 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

I would probably vote small c Conservative(not British type like Davison and Ross). I am ex Labour and the likes of Starmer, Sarwar and Murray types give me the fear. 

They are oxbridge type political science graduates(types) before anyone points out they're not actually.

For me outlining the plans needs to be costed to the extreme.

And by the way should have been done to death with tees crossed and eyes dotted.

3 minutes ago, pablo said:

Exactly. I love when the hardcore think it'll be some hitting the reset button and a socialist utopia when obviously a generation is going to be poorer.

Meanwhile they're following a neoliberal party selling off the seabed under value. 

So, what's the plan? Low taxes Ireland or higher taxes Scandinavia?

Mmm.

Your plan is that you're quite comfortable.

Understandably you don't want the boat rocked.

Scotland as you and I have pointed out while being critical of the current SG has

A public sector workforce that exceeds anywhere in the UK apart from NI I think

Has the worst health record in Western Europe

Has a shit Education attainment gap

Has no real manufacturing base

Has a shortfall in IT skills and other high tech

Has a slumbering financial sector from a previously strong one

Doesn't really have the tools to fix these and although the current SG has to bend to account Scotland has always been coming up short.

I agree about a socialist utopia which is why if you are making the argument against independence you must concede that given a giro(barnet formula) leads to the dependency culture you think Scotland would be voting for.

So how do you reconcile your conservative outlook with wanting Scotland to not be like it has been with subsidised economy?

It doesn't make sense to me.

47 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Because we're an ancient nation being governed by another, and they're making a massive ***** of it.

That’s it in a nutshell.

Unfortunately the brain dead don’t see that.

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Each and every household will be provided with a tartan unicorn. If you need to go shopping, simply feed the unicorn some government-subsidised haggis. When it poops it back out again, hey presto! - you have your currency.

Surely now that the EU have had it with the UKG over NI and the nonsense going on, they'd agree an in principal application from the SG prior to an indy ref. That would sway a fair few, I'd imagine (as well as putting some off, too). Just sign ourselves up for the Euro Mannschaft and pray neither France nor Germany elect any absolute nut jobs in the years to come.

Eh?

We're you not just arguing for some decent debate?

The UK like most other nations currently runs on a debt of 98% of gdp.

It has ran on a deficit since the 70s of more than 80%.

Let's cut the unicorn crap please.

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Each and every household will be provided with a tartan unicorn. If you need to go shopping, simply feed the unicorn some government-subsidised haggis. When it poops it back out again, hey presto! - you have your currency.

Surely now that the EU have had it with the UKG over NI and the nonsense going on, they'd agree an in principal application from the SG prior to an indy ref. That would sway a fair few, I'd imagine (as well as putting some off, too). Just sign ourselves up for the Euro Mannschaft and pray neither France nor Germany elect any absolute nut jobs in the years to come.

I actually think that an Independent Scotland would be fast tracked into the EU. Maximum **** yous to the UK. How much sooner than the 15 years or so average,  dunno?

Adopt the Euro, hope the UK doesn't **** us over in the way the EU held the cards during Brexit.

Sounds magic. Which is why it's a minority opinion that hasn't grown one iota since Sturgeon took charge 

Nobody supporting the status quo is going to put a car sticker on. :rofl:

3 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s it in a nutshell.

Unfortunately the brain dead don’t see that.

It is definitely nowhere near that being in a nutshell.

Holy fek man

Just now, jonesy said:

Iareseriouscat.jpg?1318992465

Jonesy you can't just moan about posters not wanting to discuss in a grown up way and then spraff shite about buying messages with unicorns.

Well you can but backing it up with a cat isn't an answer.

So cake and eating it isn't a great look.

16 minutes ago, Ked said:

Mmm.

Scotland as you and I have pointed out while being critical of the current SG has

Doesn't really have the tools to fix these and although the current SG has to bend to account Scotland has always been coming up short.

I agree about a socialist utopia which is why if you are making the argument against independence you must concede that given a giro(barnet formula) leads to the dependency culture you think Scotland would be voting for.

So how do you reconcile your conservative outlook with wanting Scotland to not be like it has been with subsidised economy?

For the highlighted bits - what criteria and comparisons are you using to make such a statement?

How do you measure these?

4 minutes ago, Ked said:

Mmm.

I can't really do your excellent questions justice. I'm really sorry. In the most I agree with you

Part of me really believes in the power of the people, and all that. 

It's just not what life's like though.

The numbers don't stack up and I've never felt subjugated by anyone as a British citizen. 

I can't stand Nationalism of any kind.

10 minutes ago, pablo said:

I actually think that an Independent Scotland would be fast tracked into the EU. Maximum **** yous to the UK. How much sooner than the 15 years or so average,  dunno?

Adopt the Euro, hope the UK doesn't **** us over in the way the EU held the cards during Brexit.

Sounds magic. Which is why it's a minority opinion that hasn't grown one iota since Sturgeon took charge 

Nobody supporting the status quo is going to put a car sticker on. :rofl:

Again it doesn't really matter which currency Scotland would use after independence.

Last I checked the euro ,pound and dollar is legitimate currency.

Our ability to influence the value of any one of the three is zilch.

What we could do is affect the value of our internal economy.

Future predictions for Scotland are favourable.

It's on the whole a law abiding safe country to raise families that's attracting more and more of those pesky English.

We have a lot to sort out no doubt but aligning ourselves with Europe from a fresh start is a good thing.

Our trade with England gives them the hand but be in no doubt our resources mean a longer term outlook is ours.

Asides from that overall the health(literally) of Scotland can only improve independently.

It will never realise its potential as part of the UK.

That doesn't mean freedom of trade ,movement etc but free from someone to blame .

I'm surprised that your outlook doesn't appreciate that.

5 minutes ago, pablo said:

I can't really do your excellent questions justice. I'm really sorry. In the most I agree with you

Part of me really believes in the power of the people, and all that. 

It's just not what life's like though.

The numbers don't stack up and I've never felt subjugated by anyone as a British citizen. 

I can't stand Nationalism of any kind.

Neither have I felt subjugated.

Never felt anger towards the English.

Never bought into the absolute drivel that they're racist (if ever a country in Europe was less so I'd like to see proof)

But they are clever see you next Tuesdays.

Not the English but the well established .

The Barnett formula has bred dependency.

Scotland like Irekand have always been conservative and I don't mean that in the confines of political parties.

Small nations with a get go.

Would like that back buddy to stop us being the fat lazy druggies we have become and I mean that in a wider sense .

Always someone else to blame always someone else to give more money etc.

I want this done so I can slag fek oot the folk that think a St Andrew flag is the epitome of Scottishness.

The truth about Scotland is as bad if not worse than they types spout pish about England.

1 hour ago, Ked said:

It is definitely nowhere near that being in a nutshell.

Holy fek man

It is actually.

Why people wouldn’t want to run their own affairs beggars belief.

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

An ancient nation?

AFAIWA, the current geographical limits of Scotland were a collection of fragmented and distinct kingdoms up until the end of antiquity.

There's been more than a millennium of Scotland now, in terms of current nation origins that's pretty bloody ancient. What's Germany, 200 years old?

Scotland and England even started on different continents and crashed into each other.

It is what it is, we should have our own government.

51 minutes ago, Smithee said:

There's been more than a millennium of Scotland now, in terms of current nation origins that's pretty bloody ancient. What's Germany, 200 years old?

Scotland and England even started on different continents and crashed into each other.

It is what it is, we should have our own government.

Unfortunately for you, the majority, the unseen quiet majority, are not convinced by the shit spouted by SNP, their utter failure in running Scotland to the ground on last 10 years and their inability to produce anything resembling a concrete plan for the future.

They failed once and they will fail again. Yelling Tory bad and freedom won't convince anyone who is swithering to back this escapade.

You can come on here, have your little group of support who all serve to cheer each on and convince yourselves it's going to happen, just as you did previously. The independence campaign haven't learnt 1 thing from last time, which is astonishing but not unexpected.

Keep cheering, keep egging yourselves on and when you lose, look inwards for the reason.

4 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Unfortunately for you, the majority, the unseen quiet majority, are not convinced by the shit spouted by SNP, their utter failure in running Scotland to the ground on last 10 years and their inability to produce anything resembling a concrete plan for the future.

They failed once and they will fail again. Yelling Tory bad and freedom won't convince anyone who is swithering to back this escapade.

You can come on here, have your little group of support who all serve to cheer each on and convince yourselves it's going to happen, just as you did previously. The independence campaign haven't learnt 1 thing from last time, which is astonishing but not unexpected.

Keep cheering, keep egging yourselves on and when you lose, look inwards for the reason.

Aye it'll be my fault if Scotland votes no

And round and round we go. Totally pointless as the unionists on here will always prefer Bojo to our own government. I'll pop back next year once the referendum is on 

I have to say you guys are doing a shit job of selling the union to me, you might persuade me to change my mind.

23 minutes ago, XB52 said:

And round and round we go. Totally pointless as the unionists on here will always prefer Bojo to our own government. I'll pop back next year once the referendum is on 

Nobody prefers Bojo to anybody.  The guy is a clown.

The issue is whether the SNP can explain how independence will not make us poorer than the rest of the UK.

Roxy Hearts
52 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

INDEPENDENCE is not about the SNP! It's about choosing our governments! Westminster is not a good barometer!

Good to see SNP showing example of what we can expect from them should they govern Scotland unchecked.

Oct 2017 - Ian Blackford confirms SNP Westminster group will have zero tolerance of unacceptable behaviour.

June 14 2022 - SNP parliamentary leader Ian Blackford tells Westminster SNP MP'S 'Patrick's going to face a number of challenges and so he should our absolute support.'

Despite the denials from their followers, they're no different to Tories. 

Absolute hypocrites and not to be trusted.

55 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Nobody prefers Bojo to anybody.  The guy is a clown.

The issue is whether the SNP can explain how independence will not make us poorer than the rest of the UK.

Correct. The cultists just refuse to see it. Bojo won't be around for muck longer and a new scapegoat will need to be found. They've only just stopped blaming Thatcher, despite that being around 40/50 years ago.

Roxy Hearts
2 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Good to see SNP showing example of what we can expect from them should they govern Scotland unchecked.

Oct 2017 - Ian Blackford confirms SNP Westminster group will have zero tolerance of unacceptable behaviour.

June 14 2022 - SNP parliamentary leader Ian Blackford tells Westminster SNP MP'S 'Patrick's going to face a number of challenges and so he should our absolute support.'

INDEPENDENCE is not about the SNP!

52 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

INDEPENDENCE is not about the SNP! It's about choosing our governments! Westminster is not a good barometer!

I know where I stand with Westminster. Not good period just now but we'll get through it l. 

I have seen what Scottish government have done at Scottish parliament and the thought of these shysters gaining more power is depressing. Free stuff for their core support and squeeze anyone who works hard and manages to earn decent salary. 

3 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

INDEPENDENCE is not about the SNP!

Unfortunately, it is as they are driving independence bus. If you really believe they will give up an ounce of power, you are kidding yourself.

Their core support will lap up whatever they are told while SNP will still blame Westminster for all their **** ups for next 50 years.

They would also be responsible for negotiating any leave deal with rest of UK and with EU should we rejoin. I don't believe they are capable of getting the job done.

Independence is all about SNP and whether you trust them or not. 

I don't.

48 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

The SNP won't govern Scotland unchecked, and if they ever did it would be because that's what the electorate wanted.

(No different to the Tories is a laughable suggestion by the way!)

If you want to convince people to vote No you need to sell the benefits of the union, answer peoples concerns, not just say Yeah well independence might be shit too.

1 minute ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Hoose Jock, Uncle Tam,arsehole...

Paradoxically Scotland is utterly peppered mint but absolutely loaded with resources.

Them unionist guys eh, you gotta love them :lol: 

Roxy Hearts
1 hour ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Unfortunately, it is as they are driving independence bus. If you really believe they will give up an ounce of power, you are kidding yourself.

Their core support will lap up whatever they are told while SNP will still blame Westminster for all their **** ups for next 50 years.

They would also be responsible for negotiating any leave deal with rest of UK and with EU should we rejoin. I don't believe they are capable of getting the job done.

Independence is all about SNP and whether you trust them or not. 

I don't.

INDEPENDENCE is not about the SNP!  I don't care about buses, power, blaming Westminster! Let's get to the point where we make the decisions. Ffs!

2 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

INDEPENDENCE is not about the SNP!  I don't care about buses, power, blaming Westminster! Let's get to the point where we make the decisions. Ffs!

It is about the SNP, without them persuading enough people to vote for it it will never happen, they're the only path to independence just now.

3 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

It is about the SNP, without them persuading enough people to vote for it it will never happen, they're the only path to independence just now.

Exactly, them and notionally Alba...

Means to an end...

Roxy Hearts
27 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

I don't agree. It's about Scots consciousness IMO. The SNP are part of the vehicle to get there but if folk can't see it for themselves they are either stupid or servile.

10 hours ago, jonesy said:

That's cool, you've convinced yourself that a slogan or tagline is a meaningful thing.

Governments do what's best by their own ideology and with their careers in mind. It'd be naive to think otherwise.

Does that mean that Scotland deserves a government that doesn't exist for Scotland?  No skin in the game here, just asking.

10 hours ago, Smithee said:

Fair enough, that's your prerogative. There are plenty who do care about their children being able to hold future governments to account.

But...

...and this relates to the above posts and your previous couple of posts...

...it's not about whether the government exists for Scotland.  It's about whether the system by which the government gets picked exists for Scotland.  So far so good, but Scotland's political system does seem to be dominated by one party, does it not?

5 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

The SNP are part of the vehicle to get there but if folk can't see it for themselves they are either stupid or servile.

They're not part of the vehicle to get there, realistically they're the only way for the foreseeable future to get there, the rest of your reply is just argumentative nonsense.

7 hours ago, Smithee said:

Because we're an ancient nation being governed by another, and they're making a massive ***** of it.

I'm neither agreeing nor disagreeing with you here...

...Ireland (most of it, at any rate) ****ed off from British control about 100 years ago.  We were one of Europe's basket cases when we did so, because our economy, political system and culture had still not recovered from the devastating effects of many of our population starving to death or emigrating to avoid doing so 75 years before that.

But in the opinion of many the true beginning of our independence project was when we joined the first European Exchange Rate Mechanism in 1979.  We were still the most backward economy in Western Europe at the time.

We now have the highest life expectancy in Europe.  We are ranked as one of the top 10 countries on the planet in terms of human development.  We have the highest percentage on Earth of the school population staying in education until they reach adulthood.  We are ranked as the third most peaceful country on the planet, and international benchmarking rates us as having one of the 3-4 happiest societies in the world.  All of this despite the fact that, like many countries in the developed world, we could do better in terms of healthcare, housing, the environment and the cost of living, and we could be so much better at protecting and developing our own historical language and associated culture.

So much to do.  But so much better than we were.  Not a sideshow.  Not a vassal.  Not forever in someone else's shadow.

I'm not suggesting for a moment that this is the right path, the appropriate strategy, or even the most desirable outcome for Scots.  Suits us, though.

Roxy Hearts
7 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

...Ireland (most of it, at any rate) ****ed off from British control about 100 years ago.  We were one of Europe's basket cases when we did so, because our economy, political system and culture had still not recovered from the devastating effects of many of our population starving to death or emigrating to avoid doing so 75 years before that.

But in the opinion of many the true beginning of our independence project was when we joined the first European Exchange Rate Mechanism in 1979.  We were still the most backward economy in Western Europe at the time.

We now have the highest life expectancy in Europe.  We are ranked as one of the top 10 countries on the planet in terms of human development.  We have the highest percentage on Earth of the school population staying in education until they reach adulthood.  We are ranked as the third most peaceful country on the planet, and international benchmarking rates us as having one of the 3-4 happiest societies in the world.  All of this despite the fact that, like many countries in the developed world, we could do better in terms of healthcare, housing, the environment and the cost of living, and we could be so much better at protecting and developing our own historical language and associated culture.

So much to do.  But so much better than we were.  Not a sideshow.  Not a vassal.  Not forever in someone else's shadow.

I'm not suggesting for a moment that this is the right path, the appropriate strategy, or even the most desirable outcome for Scots.  Suits us, though.

Ireland and Scotland are fractured countries. Both fantastic and infuriating at the same time!  

Just now, Roxy Hearts said:

Ireland and Scotland are fractured countries. Both fantastic and infuriating at the same time!  

In what way are we fractured?

3 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Correct. The cultists just refuse to see it. Bojo won't be around for muck longer and a new scapegoat will need to be found. They've only just stopped blaming Thatcher, despite that being around 40/50 years ago.

See the likes of @jonesynever ever pulls up posts like this despite claiming he’s on the fence. The first mention of anyone slinging any mud at a unionist though and he’s all over it even inventing absolute shite like “field jock” possibly one of the silliest swing and misses for a while :lol: 
Who started this cult crap anyway? Because you believe Scotland is a country and it can stand or fall by its own decisions? That makes you some cult member? Don’t you think Scotland is a country? Are you saying you’ might get the chance to get rid of the likes of Thatcher, and Blair, and Johnson and his cabinet of the Rees Mogg’s, Javid’s, Patel’s etc FOR EVER and then vote No and hand the power straight back to them?

Im not having a go at you at all mate but that to me that is bizarre. 
I think the “cult” chat is pointed at the wrong side if we’re going to start that nonsense. 

On 19/06/2022 at 08:49, Ulysses said:

Took a long time and a lot of pain.

7 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

See the likes of @jonesynever ever pulls up posts like this despite claiming he’s on the fence. The first mention of anyone slinging any mud at a unionist though and he’s all over it even inventing absolute shite like “field jock” possibly one of the silliest swing and misses for a while :lol: 
Who started this cult crap anyway? Because you believe Scotland is a country and it can stand or fall by its own decisions? That makes you some cult member? Don’t you think Scotland is a country? Are you saying you’ might get the chance to get rid of the likes of Thatcher, and Blair, and Johnson and his cabinet of the Rees Mogg’s, Javid’s, Patel’s etc FOR EVER and then vote No and hand the power straight back to them?

Im not having a go at you at all mate but that to me that is bizarre. 
I think the “cult” chat is pointed at the wrong side if we’re going to start that nonsense. 

We've had them beating on about raising taxes for a few weeks, getting skelped up and down the shop on that one, so it's back to their safe space of 'cultists'.

All this whilst supporting a semi-fascist, despotic Junta and taking the knee to a shower of miscreants whose sole standing is to be born into an inbred dynasty of dysfunction. 

But cultists. Aye? 

On 15/06/2022 at 20:15, Malinga the Swinga said:

So popular it gained less than 50% of the votes cast in election. 

This is why they are a minority government and rely on greens to govern.

They are so popular they failed to persuade Scotland to vote for independence last time.

They're so popular they will fail next time.

Good trolling though.

Our voting system is such that by design it seeks to avoid any party gaining a majority. But you know that.

The fact that the SNP regularly get within a bawhair of a majority shows just how popular they are.

In the UK GE 2019 with FPTP voting structure Tories had about 43% of the vote. In last years Scottish Election SNP had 40%.

Easy to see thr SNP would cover the map in yellow if we used FPTP. Fortunately we don't and use a much fairer system.

Ainsley Harriott

Would be interesting to get an opinion poll up on how many people will vote in Elsie McSelfie's wildcat referendum vs abstain 

15 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Would be interesting to get an opinion poll up on how many people will vote in Elsie McSelfie's wildcat referendum vs abstain 

What's this? She's not going to have a pretend referendum. No chance is she that stupid.

22 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

It’s not a wildcat referendum, neither is it illegal. A sitting government can hold a referendum on any subject at any time it wishes. 

Ainsley Harriott
8 minutes ago, pablo said:

What's this? She's not going to have a pretend referendum. No chance is she that stupid.

She's planning in her words an 'advisory' referendum. It will have no legal weight and ignored by the international community. Very catalan style so fingers crossed we can jail her if she does.

Ainsley Harriott
3 minutes ago, jamboy1982 said:

It’s not a wildcat referendum, neither is it illegal. A sitting government can hold a referendum on any subject at any time it wishes. 

They are only a government in name. They are actually a devolved assembly