Go-go bars

Morgan

Went to Tony's Cellar Bar

and a load of us from the Region used to go to one top of Cockburn Street on Friday lunchtimes

The go go's had all seen better days!

N Lincs Jambo
1 minute ago, Alex Kintner said:

Why you speaking in the past tense? 😯😞

Do they still exist in Edinburgh? Serious question as me and the mrs are coming up for a few days on Monday. She’s looking to visit a few hostelries 😂 😂 

15 minutes ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Do they still exist in Edinburgh? Serious question as me and the mrs are coming up for a few days on Monday. She’s looking to visit a few hostelries 😂 😂 

That‘s my question too 👍🏻

17 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Tipplers always had a personal touch :arry:

Tipplers was that wee you could touch anything without moving from your pint.  

39 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

Why you speaking in the past tense? 😯😞

I’ve not been near them for years, Alex.

I don’t even know if they still exist.

37 minutes ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

You’d take your wife to a go-go bar?

:wow: 

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Tipplers was that wee you could touch anything without moving from your pint.  

Do you remember the African lass Leslie who was manager  ? 

She was a good laugh .

3 minutes ago, maroongoals said:

nobles was good on a friday

I remember many years ago there was a court case where a punter was hurt after he fell down the hatch to the cellar as he was trying to catch a dancers bra she’d lobbed across the bar. 

2 hours ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Do you remember the African lass Leslie who was manager  ? 

She was a good laugh .

No, sorry.

It was a bar I only used occasionally.

6 minutes ago, maroongoals said:

nobles was good on a friday

I worked in Lorne Street for four days once.  

Thankfully, one of them was a Friday.  😀

51 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Tony's Cellar Bar and the Western were frequent haunts many years ago.

Had a private dance in The Western wee room through the back. The lady had a flashing **** ring as it was the Xmas holidays. 

A tenner it cost me. 

Does it still flash ?

Jessies Bar was a crackin place back in the day. It eventually changed name and became "normal" I think. No idea if its even a pub now as its been years since I've been past.

14 hours ago, The White Cockade said:

Went to Tony's Cellar Bar

and a load of us from the Region used to go to one top of Cockburn Street on Friday lunchtimes

The go go's had all seen better days!

One of my fav places.

10 hours ago, Morgan said:

I’ve not been near them for years, Alex.

I don’t even know if they still exist.

Me neither. Was always a good laugh on a stag do. 👍🏻

What was the name of the really small one directly opposite the Lord Darnley? There was a group of us in there after a game once and as the girl got ready to get on the stage a fairly boisterous rendition of "Get your **** out for the boys" ensued. She hopped up on to the stage and screamed "If yez dinnae shut up yez'll no see **** all"! About 5 minutes after that somebody threw a pint glass with full force directly at the barman from about 2m away. Still dunno how he managed to miss him but it skiffed the top of one of the taps and shattered before it got to him thankfully.

11 hours ago, Rousset1 said:

Woooooooooooo hoooooooooooooo thats got my weekend going....what a chooooooooooooonn

35 minutes ago, CostaJambo said:

What was the name of the really small one directly opposite the Lord Darnley? There was a group of us in there after a game once and as the girl got ready to get on the stage a fairly boisterous rendition of "Get your **** out for the boys" ensued. She hopped up on to the stage and screamed "If yez dinnae shut up yez'll no see **** all"! About 5 minutes after that somebody threw a pint glass with full force directly at the barman from about 2m away. Still dunno how he managed to miss him but it skiffed the top of one of the taps and shattered before it got to him thankfully.

The Western

It may come as a surprise to some but I have been a few of the pubs in the pubic triangle with a few straight mates. I must say I nearly spurted out my drink when I looked around and there was a woman on the table dancing then she lay on the table and was legs akimbo.......nowt on...I didnt think it would be so explicit.  The odd thing about these places is they are totally unerotic really. The poor lassie is doing all that and the guys are just talking about football or some mundane subject....:)   it was like that when we were in Benidorm and they had a " live sex show " at 3 am. So we went along with a female friend and her boyfriend thinking it would be very sedate...OMG ....it certainly wasn't.  I think the guy had taken a couple of viagras .,..lets just say....:) 

11 hours ago, Tazio said:

I remember many years ago there was a court case where a punter was hurt after he fell down the hatch to the cellar as he was trying to catch a dancers bra she’d lobbed across the bar. 

Still waiting on the punch line to this

😁

N Lincs Jambo
14 hours ago, Morgan said:

You’d take your wife to a go-go bar?

:wow: 

Dress it up as a bit of historical research 😂 

2 hours ago, CostaJambo said:

That place was tiny, im sure they danced on top of the bar😮.

I mind back in the day when I was regular night shift that Mackays Centre Spot had ‘chicken dippers’ from 7am to 9am. Going home at 10am bevvied in the bus attracted the odd look, specially if you still had a hard on.

The ones at the West port were a

happy hunting ground for me in early mid 90s. Took 4 of the dancers home with me at various times 

:ruiner:

Alan Anderson's Pivot bar in Infirmary Street used to have go-gos at lunchtime in the mid 70's. I only know this as five of us went there during the break in our maths O Level exam for a half of shandy. 

3 hours ago, the general said:

Aye all back reopen now

Western every day the other 2 might just be weekend only

Said with authority and recent experience 🍺👍🏻

Nobles had the best go gos.

When I first started working lunchtime pints were mandatory.

Nobles 3 pints and a sausage roll .

I was half cut after 3 pints.

Sometimes we would go to the Angel which even at dinnertime was rough as fek.

As were the go gos .

Nobles is more about food now.

That boozer made a fortune at dinnertime.

If we were skint we would go to Ma Aitkens as he gave you beer on the slate.

Thankfully I got working elsewhere by 17 as the men I worked with were mad for the drink.

Good memories though.