Mince ‘n’ tatties with……….

Angel eyes

@Angel eyesI often pop into Cameron's in Arbroath for a steak bridie (ooooft!!) and they sell the skirlie there. What is it/does it taste like .... like white pudding, the good stuff you used to get back in the day?

In the central Arctic they used to make dough balls/dumplings with boiled goose; they were absolute piggy but used to give me horrendous tummy aches. Saying that, maybe it was the goose, come to think of it. :berra:

Edited by ArcticJambo

Just now, Greedy Jambo said:

I get those cheap mince neeps and tatties that you heat in the microwave occasionally. 

Decent. 

Aye, for a quid 40 at Aldi they're a quick godsend!

Just now, Tazio said:

Another angle is mince with veg in when you cook it or not? I say yes to carrots but peas can eff off. 

stick the peas in near the end of the cooking so they keep some of their firmness

1 minute ago, Section N Rules said:

Mince and tatties with Heinz beans 

Correct. I came on to post just that.

No veg other than onion in the mince.

42 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Another angle is mince with veg in when you cook it or not? I say yes to carrots but peas can eff off. 

Carrots, celery and peas.

40 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

stick the peas in near the end of the cooking so they keep some of their firmness

The best way.

1 minute ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Be honest, you were hoping for girls dancing in mini kilts. :brows:

Why. What about men in kilts..... 

You boys need a lesson on how to make it. 

So simple, so tasty and 8 ingredients 

Water

Mince

Onion, diced. 

Carrots bruniosed

Oxo stock cube 

Tatties 

Butter (proper) 

Salt 

Boil diced tatties using the water 

Soften the carrots and onion in a pan with the butter. 

Add the mince to the pan

Add Oxo, some water. 

Simmer all until ready

Cook and serve. 

Yum

SpruceBringsteen

Came into the thread to say "beans, but I'm no weird" and I see another couple of not weirdos. Good lads. 

When I have mince, like a lot of folk on here, I always have some buttered bread as you cannae beat a mince n tattie piece. 

However, up here in Lewis, everyone thinks it's disgusting. I almost started to believe folk that I was a deviant, glad that JKB could reassure me.

1 hour ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Need to shred the mince up with a fork though, it's pish just frying it as is. 

3 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Not a massive fan of dough balls. 

Me neither. 

Promised so much, delivered so little. 

Reminds me of everyone of of Craig Levein's signings.

Dough Balls - good name for them too.  

2 hours ago, Tazio said:

That's harsh on the peas. Go easy mate. 

36 minutes ago, Morgan said:

:oohmatron:

👀😳 one of me ex’s used to make superb doughballs . I really miss them 

82A7AB3E-02A6-4FBB-961F-F65B9985D0F6.gif

9 hours ago, Cade said:

Mash and lashings of Worcestershire sauce.

Buttered plain bread (NOT optional).

Worcester sauce is for @#$#@&@#$&$#@s.

Mash totties and beans. Or Boiled totties with his version in a massive Feck off soup bowl with buttered outsiders to mop up the gravy. 

Not had mince for ages, it's getting made.  

Fecking starving noo, reading this thread.

5 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

👀😳 one of me ex’s used to make superb doughballs . I really miss them 

82A7AB3E-02A6-4FBB-961F-F65B9985D0F6.gif

Tho, not as hungry as James. 😆

Had to Google Skirlie, knew it couldn't be an Edinburgh thing.

Now I know what it is, I'd give it a go.

Not had mince and tatties in years. It was always made with onion and carrot. Peas would be on the side if at all. Plain buttered bread too. Used to have it a couple of times a week growing up, or it felt like it anyway. Everyone loved it.

A friend who was brought-up in Glasgow always referred to grey mince! I discovered that's because is mother put gravy salt in it when cooking!

I put Worcester sauce in my mince and have marrowfat peas and carrots on the side with bread and butter.

I hate when people add peas and carrots into the mince. It ruins the meal.

14 minutes ago, Herbert said:

I put Worcester sauce in my mince and have marrowfat peas and carrots on the side with bread and butter.

Mince needs peas through it, and onions, and carrots. Marrowfat though, no no no.

Worcester sauce though, absolutely, it's not complete without it. And if you're not having bread and butter, step back and ask what you're doing with your life, the nick of you.

1 hour ago, Herbert said:

Garden peas in with the mince