• Maroon Sailor

• Malinga the Swinga

• Unknown user

8 minutes ago, Skivingatwork said:

Bruce will get a nice little pay off and be back managing in the championship before Christmas.

£8m is a big pay off for such a useless ***** of a manager. 

7 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

They'd be as well putting him on gardening leave

A9G9-9qC.jpg.1cc556af0d4a34fdc26c844fa2ba7c6e.jpg

18 minutes ago, Skivingatwork said:

Bruce will get a nice little pay off and be back managing in the championship before Christmas.

Or league 1 - He doesn't do himself any favours by managing rival clubs

Sheff Utd and Sheff Wed

Birmingham and Aston Villa

Sunderland and Newcastle

1 hour ago, Skivingatwork said:

Reports are it’s a 8M pay off will finish the season with someone like Middlesbrough or Cardiff . 

Niemi’s gloves

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58921000

interesting piece from the BBC web site on the thoughts of Mike Rigg, technical director of Man City during their transformation, on how Newcastle might or might not be able to  follow suit in becoming a global force. 

One or two bits in it are sort of relevant to what any club in Scotland wanting to build a challenge to the OF would have to do. With rose tinted specs on, you might even think that we have being going along the right path in recent months.

1 hour ago, Mikey1874 said:

Steve Bruce taking the Tottenham pre match press conference today. 

Have Spuds sacked Nuno Espirito Santo? :lol:

Edited by Seymour M Hersh

25 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Have Spuds sacked Nuno Espirito Santo? :lol:

Sounds like a Gardener's derby on Sunday

Cabbage v Spuds

3 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Sounds like a Gardener's derby on Sunday

Cabbage v Spuds

Cultural appropriation alert!! :lol:

Honest to feck how does a perennial failure even gets gigs never mind a huge pay off 

Must be great to be a shit football manager from a financial perspective. You can lose every game and still be minted.

Manager

Birmingham City

Hull City

There are about 13 games before the transfer window opens,  by then they could be cemented to the drop.  How then are they going to attract these superstars in a relegation battle rather that a league challenge.  Even if they avoid relegation its goint to be 2/3 seasons before Champions league football.  But If you are a superstar you are going to go to a club thats guaranteed it.  Piggy back on other mugs efforts.  Man City did it the right way, but they were not a basket case to begin with.  Its a chicken and egg situation.

Shearer, Ant and Dec, Terry and Bob, Sharon and Tracy...your Toon is gang doon

On 13/10/2021 at 18:44, davemclaren said:

Like private schools. 

Yip. Teach the "little toffs" how to cheat the system so they become better "toffs" when they grow up!

16 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

There are about 13 games before the transfer window opens,  by then they could be cemented to the drop.  How then are they going to attract these superstars in a relegation battle rather that a league challenge.  Even if they avoid relegation its goint to be 2/3 seasons before Champions league football.  But If you are a superstar you are going to go to a club thats guaranteed it.  Piggy back on other mugs efforts.  Man City did it the right way, but they were not a basket case to begin with.  Its a chicken and egg situation.

What's with the timescale.

It's inevitable that Newcastle United will be a major force.

Even Klopp has said it will mean one less place for CL qualification

It's going to be Chelsea, Man City, Newcastle and a.n other every year by the looks of it.

1 hour ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

They don't need superstars in january though, all they need are better than they have now and will be able to throw cash at any player not being targeted by the CL clubs. Come January they will no doubt be targeting loans for players not playing elsewhere rather than asking players to join a 3-5 year project

The media in this country are really a bunch of amateurs now.

Bruce was told on Monday to carry on as normal yet everything reported since the takeover was that he wouldn't be there for the Spurs match.

On 13/10/2021 at 18:44, davemclaren said:

Like private schools. 

They are and by taking that away and pushing up the fees that will reduce demand.

It'll also increase the burden on the state sector which in turn will push up taxes and put pressure on class sizes. 

As it stands a load of people that can afford to are paying twice, effectively an additional tax on the rich.

16 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

The media in this country are really a bunch of amateurs now.

Bruce was told on Monday to carry on as normal yet everything reported since the takeover was that he wouldn't be there for the Spurs match.

This was reported very early after the taheover by Sky sports reporter Keith Downie who is usually "in the know" re NUFC matters.  By co-incidence Downie is a Jambo.

14 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

They are and by taking that away and pushing up the fees that will reduce demand.

v2yl0M.gif

16 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

It'll also increase the burden on the state sector which in turn will push up taxes and put pressure on class sizes. 

Will it? I think the same amount of people will go to these schools. 

17 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

As it stands a load of people that can afford to are paying twice, effectively an additional tax on the rich.

v2yl0M.gif

No one's forcing them to send their kids to posh schools, and private, profit making businesses shouldn't be tax exempt.

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

v2yl0M.gif

v2yl0M.gif

No one's forcing them to send their kids to posh schools, and private, profit making businesses shouldn't be tax exempt.

Of course it will, basic economics, we aren't talking about a marginal difference here. Surprised you aren't arguing that for that actually; thought the desire for equality of opportunity was a large part of the point.

Take the point though I am clear headed that in the end it'll cost everybody more except for a number of parents for whom it was a marginal call/stretch in the first place who are now unable to have their kids attend.

Just pointing out that the law of unintended consequences exists in this space.

16 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

Of course it will, basic economics, we aren't talking about a marginal difference here. Surprised you aren't arguing that for that actually; thought the desire for equality of opportunity was a large part of the point.

Take the point though I am clear headed that in the end it'll cost everybody more except for a number of parents for whom it was a marginal call/stretch in the first place who are now unable to have their kids attend.

Just pointing out that the law of unintended consequences exists in this space.

There's more demand than supply for places in these schools, the next in line will get accepted.

Why should I be subsidising profit making businesses that I could never afford to use?

7 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

£8m 🤣 English football is ****ed up

7 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

Paying for your child for a private education is not a tax. 

13 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Aye but he's one of these managers who seems to fall into jobs no matter.

1 hour ago, Hmfc1965 said:

Aye but he's one of these managers who seems to fall into jobs no matter.

It’s quite scary, surely this is his last job 🤦🏽

19 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

What's with the timescale.

It's inevitable that Newcastle United will be a major force.

Even Klopp has said it will mean one less place for CL qualification

It's going to be Chelsea, Man City, Newcastle and a.n other every year by the looks of it.

That’s a real shame for those poor EPL clubs… ONLY 4 CL spots available. Boo feckin hoo! … and now, apparently, there is another ‘big boy’ to fight it out. Maybe UEFA could give the EPL another (5th)spot? 
Utterly hate what the ‘Champions’ (why do they still call it that?) League has become. 🤬

1 hour ago, Rogue Daddy said:

That’s a real shame for those poor EPL clubs… ONLY 4 CL spots available. Boo feckin hoo! … and now, apparently, there is another ‘big boy’ to fight it out. Maybe UEFA could give the EPL another (5th)spot? 
Utterly hate what the ‘Champions’ (why do they still call it that?) League has become. 🤬

I agree - when you can get all semi finalists from the same country it loses it's appeal. As for that borefest with Liverpool and Spurs the other year - brutal.

You can be champions of Europe even if you are not champions of the country you play in like Chelsea beating English League champions Man City.

Farcical

28 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I agree - when you can get all semi finalists from the same country it loses it's appeal. As for that borefest with Liverpool and Spurs the other year - brutal.

You can be champions of Europe even if you are not champions of the country you play in like Chelsea beating English League champions Man City.

Farcical

👍 100%

Forever Hearts
48 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Farcical

It is farcical. Liverpool finished in 4th place, thirty points behind the winners Arsenal in 2004. They got a place in the Champions League for that wonderful achievement and ended up winning it.🙄

Just now, Forever Hearts said:

It is farcical. Liverpool finished in 4th place, thirty points behind the winners Arsenal in 2004. They got a place in the Champions League for that wonderful achievement and ended up winning it.🙄

🤣🤣

It's a fecking joke !

Although the Newcastle takeover is certainly not without noise, it is a change that the owners of the richest clubs are a lot quieter. Although there is a bit noise from Spain it's not like the era of Silvio Berlusconi and Bernard Tapie who has just died. 

Soft power spoken quietly. 

• 3 weeks later...
Rudi5kaceldream1ng
2 hours ago, Cade said:

Is that really an upgrade over Steve Bruce???

Diddy club.

No. Wrong appointment and shows the lack of football knowledge from Staveley and that consortium. 

They'll get it right eventually they're too rich not to but this is a mis-step. 

Howe has multiple relegations under his belt, it doesn't bode well, but it's football so you never know. I think celtic dodged a bullet though.

InternationalJambo
1 minute ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

No. Wrong appointment and shows the lack of football knowledge from Staveley and that consortium. 

Howe has multiple relegations under his belt, it doesn't bode well, but it's football so you never know. I think celtic dodged a bullet though.

Disagree here, he’s a great manager. Wheels fell off a bit the last 18 months to be fair but the amount of time he was at Bournemouth - with the way inflation went in football with his new signings - was it really a surprise? New challenge for him, he’s an intelligent guy who lives and breathes the game. Will keep them up easy and push on next season IMO. 

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
1 minute ago, InternationalJambo said:

Disagree here, he’s a great manager. Wheels fell off a bit the last 18 months to be fair but the amount of time he was at Bournemouth - with the way inflation went in football with his new signings - was it really a surprise? New challenge for him, he’s an intelligent guy who lives and breathes the game. Will keep them up easy and push on next season IMO. 

Let's see howe it goes. 

2 hours ago, Cade said:

Is that really an upgrade over Steve Bruce???

Diddy club.

McGlynn would be an upgrade over that kebab eating dinosaur

13 minutes ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

Has he not only been relegated as a manager once? 

Said earlier in the thread that Eddie Howe isn't an appointment you make when battling relegation. His tippy tappy nonsense and no plan b is what got Bournemouth relegated plus some of his signings were honking, how much did he pay for Jordan Ibe? 

He'll be sacked at end of season, regardless of whether they stay up or not. If they stay up, they'll go for some big name from abroad. If they go down, they'll go for more experienced name from UK.

Either way, Howe will end up a wealthier man than he is now.