The (temporary?) death of Facebook.

Tazio

There is something not right about all this. Something as big as Facebook simply doesn’t go all ****ed up like this all of a sudden.  They will have back up servers then back ups for the back up severs. My programmer mate who has worked for a

bunch of social media sites in cyber security cannot understand how this is possible without someone attempting to hide something. 

Anyone who has interacted with so called "modern technology" should not be surprised. JKB is about as far as I have got with social media. Thankfully.

1 minute ago, AlimOzturk said:

There is something not right about all this. Something as big as Facebook simply doesn’t go all ****ed up like this all of a sudden.  They will have back up servers then back ups for the back up severs. My programmer mate who has worked for a

bunch of social media sites in cyber security cannot understand how this is possible without someone attempting to hide something. 

Apparently some of their physical access controls for their HQ were also routed through...Facebook. All that money to spend on cutting-edge infra yet to clearly have little redundancy baked-in has to be a deliberate approach from a company very, very keen to keep tight control of their data.  

6 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Anyone who has interacted with so called "modern technology" should not be surprised. JKB is about as far as I have got with social media. Thankfully.

Kinda have no choice but to interact with social media platforms these days. That’s how you build most businesses these days or find new clients or even find new jobs. The job centre will ask most folk if they have social media accounts. 

3 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Kinda have no choice but to interact with social media platforms these days. That’s how you build most businesses these days or find new clients or even find new jobs. The job centre will ask most folk if they have social media accounts. 

And there is a part of the problem. An over-reliance on dodgy "technology" and a few giant global poorly regulated corporations.

What's app? 

35 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

And there is a part of the problem. An over-reliance on dodgy "technology" and a few giant global poorly regulated corporations.

What's app? 

I think it’s a bit of both. Worlds changed drastically and without social media the changes we all take for granted simply wouldn’t happen. You wouldn’t have instant video chatting with loved ones from anywhere in the world for example without social media. I have seen some of most amazing acts of kindness ranging from reuniting loved ones to amazing gestures of charity. 

There is of course the negatives but society no matter which form has its negatives. 

4 hours ago, Rupert Pupkin said:

How ever will the Young Generation survive..? They may actually need to talk to people 

#Armageddon

To be fair,  the young folk abandoned Facebook ages ago. It's all auld folk reposting completely pointless crap now.

Insta being down will have a positive impact on the mental health of many impressionable kids though...

15 minutes ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

To be fair,  the young folk abandoned Facebook ages ago. It's all auld folk reposting completely pointless crap now.

Insta being down will have a positive impact on the mental health of many impressionable kids though...

Too late to edit,  I just realised Facebook and JKB have more in common than you'd think!

Jamstomorrow
9 hours ago, Savage Vince said:

Careful, he will spend the next half hour telling you that he doesn't care what you think. 

I care what he thinks . . .  just not YOU!

7 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

i heard it on the news last night, 

8 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Even the Facebook outage was a conspiracy ffs. Read it in a few groups. People claiming their mate works in cybersecurity and others all buying it. 
People are genuinely all going mad. 

Edited by jack D and coke

5 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Even the Facebook outage was a conspiracy ffs. Read it in a few groups. People claiming their mate works in cybersecurity and others all buying it. 

Not buying that in a time of whistle blowers and Facebook being implicated that a whole outage for the biggest social media platform the world just happens. 

2 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Not buying that in a time of whistle blowers and Facebook being implicated that a whole outage for the biggest social media platform the world just happens. 

It can happen surely? It’s the internet. 
People want to believe everything is bad now, everything is more than it seems, it’s the Russians/Chinese/Iranians. 
The whistleblower has spoken ive watched some of it. People already knew most of it anyway. They allow fake news and their algorithm is to make you angry so you’re on there more. More time spent on it, more ads, more buy. If you’re not on there posting they don’t make as much money. 

14 hours ago, Savage Vince said:

I had a cracking dinner post too. 🙄

Underrated post.

Have recently got it again because I'm looking for a couple of second hand things from the local page and nothing on gumtree. 

Forgot how bad it is.   Wummins pish.  

On the news this morning that it's affected the shste price and Zuckerberg is down 4 billion.  Ffs  how much does that ******* have if he has lost that and it doesn't impact on his wealth? 

50 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

It's weird.  When the electricity ever goes down somewhere, folk are more bothered about not having broadband than lights etc.

Everything is a conspiracy now. 

10 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

It's weird.  When the electricity ever goes down somewhere, folk are more bothered about not having broadband than lights etc.

Everything is a conspiracy now. 

Nothing is ever to go wrong anymore or it’s something much more sinister than what the actual story is. We clearly are plugged in far too much now and when something goes wrong it’s total bombardment of claim and counter claim and it’s sending everyone off their heed. 
I’m not saying we’re told the whole truth all the time but it’s getting to silly stages. 

Savage Vince
58 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Nothing is ever to go wrong anymore or it’s something much more sinister than what the actual story is. We clearly are plugged in far too much now and when something goes wrong it’s total bombardment of claim and counter claim and it’s sending everyone off their heed. 
I’m not saying we’re told the whole truth all the time but it’s getting to silly stages. 

Tend to agree however I think the problem is that people just give in and stop questioning anything. Which is exactly the plan, of course. 😉

1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

The claim and culture claim culture is well out of hand.  A hospital etc can make a genuine error and can't apologise and say regret because people are straight into them for money.   I understand if it was something intended, but who in their mind decides to sue a hospital?

There's people I know who when going for a hospital scan claim their expenses even though they can afford the £20.  They are ****ing you while you are suffering and will grab anything. 

I suppose MPs etc don't help with what they try and get away with. 

Disgusting. 

1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

Funnily enough it's social media that has caused it

3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Yip, nowadays shit doesn't just happen anymore, it's always a conspiracy of some sort, that's just the way folks are wired nowadays.

And it's going to get one helluva lot worse in years to come, with the levels of paranoia impacting more and more into peoples everyday lives.

As for facebook, never been a member, past present or future.

It's hardly a big stretch for people to think what happened yesterday was more than just a simple 'problem'.

Absence of the normal, presence of the abnormal and all that jazz. Yesterday was certainly abnormal.

13 minutes ago, Taffin said:

It's hardly a big stretch for people to think what happened yesterday was more than just a simple 'problem'.

Absence of the normal, presence of the abnormal and all that jazz. Yesterday was certainly abnormal.

Abnormal in that now we can’t cope when the internet goes down. We’re so connected now that it’s almost a bit of fear creeps in if internet goes down. My nephews freak out and go stay at my mums and stuff if my sister ever has any issues with hers lol. Everything in my house is internet based I was sitting almost worried that the whole thing was going go down it’s laughable really :lol: 

I wasn’t having a go at anyone btw we’re all pretty much the same. I just tell myself to turn it in these days is the difference I suppose. 
I seen someone on Twitter suggesting this is an act of war and that it was probably China again after releasing covid. We’re all going fecking mad :lol: 

5 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Abnormal in that now we can’t cope when the internet goes down. We’re so connected now that it’s almost a bit of fear creeps in if internet goes down. My nephews freak out and go stay at my mums and stuff if my sister ever has any issues with hers lol. Everything in my house is internet based I was sitting almost worried that the whole thing was going go down it’s laughable really :lol: 

I wasn’t having a go at anyone btw we’re all pretty much the same. I just tell myself to turn it in these days is the difference I suppose. 
I seen someone on Twitter suggesting this is an act of war and that it was probably China again after releasing covid. We’re all going fecking mad :lol: 

I don't disagree, nor did I take it as having a go at anyone. It's so incredibly interwoven into how we function nowadays. Work, communication, entertainment...it's all via the internet. Although I've got into reading again which is a nice break from it all 👍

I just meant that yesterday was unusual that given what's going on with Facebook for it to then be down for such a long period of time and on the scale it was seemingly experiencing issues is unusual. May well just be someone or something failed, it's just not that outlandish for people to surmise it may have been an intentional act.

4 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I don't disagree, nor did I take it as having a go at anyone. It's so incredibly interwoven into how we function nowadays. Work, communication, entertainment...it's all via the internet. Although I've got into reading again which is a nice break from it all 👍

I just meant that yesterday was unusual that given what's going on with Facebook for it to then be down for such a long period of time and on the scale it was seemingly experiencing issues is unusual. May well just be someone or something failed, it's just not that outlandish for people to surmise it may have been an intentional act.

It’s not beyond the realms of possibility no but in these times of 5G causing covid, covid hoax to microchip you, global paedo rings and on it goes. 
Ive watched one mate in particular absolutely lose his mind since covid appeared. He was posting about Ed Sheerin being a woman lately and how he’s a member of some weird religion that Hitler and the like were part of. It’s frightening what people can start to believe after going down these rabbit holes. 

2 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

It’s not beyond the realms of possibility no but in these times of 5G causing covid, covid hoax to microchip you, global paedo rings and on it goes. 
Ive watched one mate in particular absolutely lose his mind since covid appeared. He was posting about Ed Sheerin being a woman lately and how he’s a member of some weird religion that Hitler and the like were part of. It’s frightening what people can start to believe after going down these rabbit holes. 

You're surely not trying to claim Ed Sheeran isn't a women are you? I thought everyone knew that was true now.

😂 Yes, I agree though. However, often the absence of the truth let's people backfill it with nonsense; sometimes that nonsense is bonkers and the truth is boring but sometimes whilst the conspiracies may be bonkers, the truth may be equally as crazy, even if different...like a lot of the stuff around the Cuban Missile Crisis and the Bay of Pigs.

47 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

I've got one of these.  Genuinely no idea how to deal with him. He's zero fun or interest to be around, every conversation or message turns to conspiracy theories/new world order/covid hoax/blm etc.  I feel bad not speaking to him but he's a completely different guy.  He needs help but can't see it despite 4 or 5 people all having conversations with him. Sad and scary in equal measure.

19 hours ago, Jamstomorrow said:

Like I care what you think.

Jamstomorrow are you the traffic jam specialist on Radio Two 

1 hour ago, Byyy The Light said:

I've got one of these.  Genuinely no idea how to deal with him. He's zero fun or interest to be around, every conversation or message turns to conspiracy theories/new world order/covid hoax/blm etc.  I feel bad not speaking to him but he's a completely different guy.  He needs help but can't see it despite 4 or 5 people all having conversations with him. Sad and scary in equal measure.

I don’t see this guy much anymore and rather than delete him he’s on unfollow so see none of his utter nonsense anymore. 
No helping them I don’t think. Adamant it’s you that’s not seeing the real agendas. 
Wild. 

Jamstomorrow
3 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

Jamstomorrow are you the traffic jam specialist on Radio Two 

Maybeez aye . . .Maybeez naw.  Erring towards the naw!