hydrocephalus (fluid in the brain)

Tynieman

Hi fellow Jambos,

I have received had a CT and MRI scan after a fall and they’ve discovered I have Hydrocephalus. I believe it’s excess fluid in my brain.

It’s been there for a while according to the doctors and I’ve now got an appointment with a neurosurgeon in November.

Can anyone give me any advice on what to expect? Also, I’ve been suffering black outs for a while now which I presume are part of said condition?

Edited by Tynieman

I have no medical background, however a quick google search states the below procedure may possibly be required. Maybe best asking your GP for some advice.

The most common treatment for hydrocephalus is a medical device called a shunt, a flexible tube, which is placed in the ventricular system of the brain and connected to a valve. A small hole called a burrhole is made in the skull and the tube is gently guided through the brain to the fluid-filled ventricles.

8 minutes ago, Jambo314 said:

I have no medical background, however a quick google search states the below procedure may possibly be required. Maybe best asking your GP for some advice.

The most common treatment for hydrocephalus is a medical device called a shunt, a flexible tube, which is placed in the ventricular system of the brain and connected to a valve. A small hole called a burrhole is made in the skull and the tube is gently guided through the brain to the fluid-filled ventricles.

Sounds like a good time that.

Glad it appears to be treatable.

2 hours ago, Tynieman said:

Hi fellow Jambos,

I have received had a CT and MRI scan after a fall and they’ve discovered I have Hydrocephalus. I believe it’s excess fluid in my brain.

It’s been there for a while according to the doctors and I’ve now got an appointment with a neurosurgeon in November.

Can anyone give me any advice on what to expect? Also, I’ve been suffering black outs for a while now which I presume are part of said condition?