Leigh gets upset

There's little doubt that Griffiths is an idiot who seems to find endless ways of hitting the headlines for all the wrong reasons. Sometimes it's harder for people to do or say nothing, instead of getting involved.

However, if the Police think they have solid grounds for charging him over this incident, they should also be looking at cctv coverage of the crowd from where the object was originally thrown from. It can't be right that he's being charged when some numpty gets off with bringing it into the ground and throwing it over the heads of those in front of him.

It's clear that some idiots still think it's ok to expose others to a burning, rancid smoke producing object. It's time that the effort was increased to identify these morons and punish them heavily.

• Replies 633

• sadj

• Jambo 4 Ever

• niblick1874

On 23/09/2021 at 13:35, ShortmanRossco said:

More sledging. 

IMG-20210923-WA0001.jpg

Shouldn't laugh, but the tinternet is fabby sometimes. 

42 minutes ago, Jonkel Hoon said:

Bit harsh. Loads of folk would like to give him a warm welcome to Tynie.

If he thought StJ fans were bad, he's heard nothing yet

He is a danger, him not playing weakens them.

If he plays at Tynecastle, 100% he's getting a flare chucked at him. 

We'll get in bother, so hope he's banned by then. 

2 minutes ago, Lfhearts said:

Agreed, he has a certain flare about him. 

I was quite looking forward to abusing him at Tynecastle tbh, looks like nelms is getting it all game instead 

11 minutes ago, Lfhearts said:

He wasn’t a danger on the 19th of May 2012. 

His goal scoring stats have been appalling for years. He’s finished. 

On 23/09/2021 at 03:05, Boyces beard said:

The man is not right in the head, he should be the main striker that our National team are crying out for. However because he is a grade A bellend he is kicking smoke bombs/ flares in to a crowd while playing for the mighty Dundee!

What a ****ing waste of a talent and a complete erse of a man.

I hope the spfl come down hard on him and that he is not painted as the poor victim.

Playing for the hobbits seems to do that to a player. Derek Rearend, fantastic ability but a schemey ned through and through. Gary O' Connor, good target man and tough to play against and could score. Chased by the polis through the town and now weighs about 35 stone. And finally The Thumb. No-one can doubt his goalscroing ability but he's not wired right upstairs. Theuy certainly know how to screw up their players down Lochend.

20 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

There's little doubt that Griffiths is an idiot who seems to find endless ways of hitting the headlines for all the wrong reasons. Sometimes it's harder for people to do or say nothing, instead of getting involved.

However, if the Police think they have solid grounds for charging him over this incident, they should also be looking at cctv coverage of the crowd from where the object was originally thrown from. It can't be right that he's being charged when some numpty gets off with bringing it into the ground and throwing it over the heads of those in front of him.

It's clear that some idiots still think it's ok to expose others to a burning, rancid smoke producing object. It's time that the effort was increased to identify these morons and punish them heavily.

It's absolutely right that's he's being charged for his own conduct, regardless of anything else anybody else did. Some other bampot committing his own act of culpable reckless conduct does not excuse bampot footballers from being accused of their own acts of it.

Hopefully there is CCTV of the original idiot, but whether there is or not, Griffiths is alleged to have culpably and recklessly subjected the general public to potential harm. That allegation isn't coloured at all by the events that led up to his alleged act.

1 hour ago, Lfhearts said:

Why the xxxx would you want him to play at Tynecastle you should think before you type.

Is it ok if he doesn't play but is on the bench so he can receive a warm welcome? 

Leigh Griffiths, with his head screwed on, should be leading the line for Scotland, scoring goals that players like Lyndon Dykes can only dream of scoring.  We have been crying out for a striker like him for years.  His goals against England had us all celebrating, regardless of which club he played for and who he did in the past.  He is a brilliant footballer who has pissed it all away, the same sort of way that other ex-Hibs strikers have done in the past.  He has absolutely chucked his career away by continually finding new ways to be a complete and utter bellend.  Clubs keep giving him second chances, and he continually needs another.  He must be on his eighth or ninth chance by now.

Absolute cretin who needs binned and forgotten about.  Jailed preferably for nonsense that anyone who wasn't a "professional" footballer would never get away with.  Tit.

Edited by tian447

4 hours ago, john thomas said:

Dundee PR : "one more time Leigh"

LG : "it wuz regretsumfin , wtf is that pyrothing?"

😂 Take 26 Leigh …. Take ur time this time …. 
that club and him are well suited to each other 

ShortmanRossco
2 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

Shouldn't laugh, but the tinternet is fabby sometimes. 

Absolutely. Don't get me wrong online content must be about 95% shitposting but stuff like this is genuinely quite witty. 

jambogirlglasgow
2 hours ago, SectionDJambo said:

Eh, the police will be doing that. 

2 hours ago, Des Lynam said:

You forget he actually played on that game.  ****ing glad he did though. 

Ainsley Harriott

Sisterfister.net is intresting. Whataboutery the guy that took it in. No wonder being called a Peado.

Maybe if he wasnt noncing on Instagram the farmers wouldnt have been chanting peado at him.

3 hours ago, SectionDJambo said:

I am sure this is being carried out. It wouldn't surprise me if we hear of an arrest before the weekend is out.

4 hours ago, SectionDJambo said:

Well said 👏

2 hours ago, Auldbenches said:

You forget he actually played on that game.  ****ing glad he did though. 

Suso showed him a clean pair of heels in the lead up to the penalty.

Just now, Section N Rules said:

Suso showed him a clean pair of heels in the lead up to the penalty.

Was finishing my half time scran in the concourse and missed the pen being given.  

So glad he was part of that historical occasion.   

So that was at least 4 pure hibs in that team?  Gary O, him, Hanlon and Stevenson?  

6 hours ago, tian447 said:

Leigh Griffiths, with his head screwed on, should be leading the line for Scotland, scoring goals that players like Lyndon Dykes can only dream of scoring.  We have been crying out for a striker like him for years.  His goals against England had us all celebrating, regardless of which club he played for and who he did in the past.  He is a brilliant footballer who has pissed it all away, the same sort of way that other ex-Hibs strikers have done in the past.  He has absolutely chucked his career away by continually finding new ways to be a complete and utter bellend.  Clubs keep giving him second chances, and he continually needs another.  He must be on his eighth or ninth chance by now.

Absolute cretin who needs binned and forgotten about.  Jailed preferably for nonsense that anyone who wasn't a "professional" footballer would never get away with.  Tit.

Saved me the bother

7 hours ago, Des Lynam said:

I’d still rather he didn’t face Hearts again.

4 hours ago, Auldbenches said:

Was finishing my half time scran in the concourse and missed the pen being given.  

So glad he was part of that historical occasion.   

So that was at least 4 pure hibs in that team?  Gary O, him, Hanlon and Stevenson?  

McPake the grass. Sproule the stamper.

8 minutes ago, Saint Jambo said:

McPake the grass. Sproule the stamper.

I meant those who probably grew up as hibs fans.  Those two just embraced the culture.  

27 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

I meant those who probably grew up as hibs fans.  Those two just embraced the culture.  

Stevenson's a Raith fan and Garry Jos is grew up a Celtic fan. 

14 minutes ago, Robbies Tackle said:

Stevenson's a Raith fan and Garry Jos is grew up a Celtic fan. 

Is Hanlon not from a hibs family?  

1 minute ago, Auldbenches said:

Is Hanlon not from a hibs family?  

No idea.  I know Lewis Stevenson is a Raith fan from Kirckaldy though. 

Just now, Robbies Tackle said:

No idea.  I know Lewis Stevenson is a Raith fan from Kirckaldy though. 

So only definitely Griffiths and maybe Hanlon.   

Never Let Them Forget

Boyd’s article today, he’s certainly doesn’t hold back 😀

KARMA has a way of catching up with people.

Leigh Griffiths is about to find that out the hard way at Dens Park.

He was laughing when he tied that Celtic scarf to one of the goalposts at Ibrox a few seasons back.

Grinning from ear to ear during an Old Firm game the day he waved his Irish tricolour from the Broomloan Road Stand.

When he wiped his nose on a Rangers corner flag he thought he was being clever.

Well, let’s see how smart he is when Rangers supporters tell him what they think of him.

Griffiths is about to get bombarded with 90 minutes of relentless abuse and if he’s got a brain in that head of his he better be prepared to take it.

Listen, I’m not going to go into the reasons why supporters all over the country are going to give him a hard time this season. Frankly, I want nothing to do with it.

But what I will say is that Griffiths only has himself to blame — and the sooner he realises that the better.

Will he, though? Is he capable of accepting responsibility for anything in life? I’m not sure he is.

It seems to me that every time something happens to him he thinks it’s someone else’s fault.

He wasn’t to blame for how things worked out for him at Celtic, was he? No, that was all Neil Lennon’s fault apparently.

Honestly, I can’t remember reading anything as ridiculous as when Griffiths spoke about Lennon recently and claimed his ex-boss was just trying to stay relevant by talking about him. Really?

Are we talking about the same high-profile Neil Lennon who has been one of the most talked about personalities in Scottish football in the last 20 years?

Griffiths can’t surely be serious when he says Lennon needs him to stay relevant.

But that sums him up, doesn’t it? Rather than owning his mistakes and taking responsibility for them, his default position is to go on the attack.

If only he was as threatening on the park.

Because when you strip everything back with Griffiths, he’s not the player his fan club will have you believe.

Is he a good finisher? Sure, I’ll give him that. But in the last three seasons do you know how many league goals he’s scored? Let me tell you because I looked it up. It’s 17.

Two goals in season 2018/19, nine goals in season 19/20 and six goals in season 20/21.

I’m sorry, but that’s not the statistics of a top-level goalscorer.

This is someone with natural talent, sure.

But that’s not enough if you are to be considered a top player.

Yet his cheerleaders are forever making excuses for him, constantly telling anyone who’ll listen that Griffiths would prove everyone wrong.

That he just needed to get fit and he’d be back.

Griffiths ended up saying it himself but it was total and utter nonsense, every single word of it.

Griffiths is yet to score for Dundee

Griffiths has had more than enough time and opportunity to get himself in shape and he’s only thrown it back in people’s faces.

The scoring records in Scottish football should have been OBLITERATED by him in the last five years. Instead he put the tools away and it seems like he couldn’t care less.

Why Celtic gave him a new contract in the summer, I’ll never know. For the life of me, I’ll never be able to work that one out.

Even their supporters must have been scratching their heads.

Those fans slaughtered me for criticising Griffiths and more or less saying it takes more than just ability to play at a top club.

But while my wording could have been better I think I’ve been proved right. When he scored at Rugby Park one day he looked up at me and made a shooshing gesture, but I stand by every word. He’s not exactly silenced me since, has he?

Now he’s at Dundee I wonder if his manager James McPake is beginning to wonder if it was a good idea bringing him to the club.

They’re pals from their days together at Livingston so I can understand why McPake was prepared to give Griffiths the benefit of any doubt.

But since he signed, Dundee have yet to score a goal.

Listen, I’ve been there. I got abuse every single time I stepped on to a football park and had to take it. It’s part of the deal.

Okay, the shouts weren’t anything like the abuse Griffiths is getting but he’s 31 now and should be experienced enough to know how to switch off from it.

I just look at him and see someone who is more or less finished. Truth be told, he’s the way I was when I was at Kilmarnock and hung up my boots a couple of months before my 36th birthday.

I didn’t have the same drive to stay in shape so I realised it was time to hang up the boots.

As a striker you stand the best chance of playing every week, because it’s a specialist position. But you need to deliver.

Griffiths just hasn’t looked like delivering for a long time now. His decline is there for all to see with his scoring record miles off where it should be.

During the warm-up before the Dundee derby at Tannadice last weekend we were in the gantry preparing for kick-off when a ball flew past.

We were nowhere near the goals so it was obvious someone was deliberately trying to hit us.

I didn’t see who was responsible — but my money would be on Griffiths.

Why? Because he missed.

16 minutes ago, Never Let Them Forget said:

He was laughing when he tied that Celtic scarf to one of the goalposts at Ibrox a few seasons back.

Grinning from ear to ear during an Old Firm game the day he waved his Irish tricolour from the Broomloan Road Stand.

Well, let’s see how smart he is when Rangers supporters tell him what they think of him.

Griffiths is about to get bombarded with 90 minutes of relentless abuse and if he’s got a brain in that head of his he better be prepared to take it.

Listen, I’m not going to go into the reasons why supporters all over the country are going to give him a hard time this season. Frankly, I want nothing to do with it.

But what I will say is that Griffiths only has himself to blame — and the sooner he realises that the better.

Will he, though? Is he capable of accepting responsibility for anything in life? I’m not sure he is.

It seems to me that every time something happens to him he thinks it’s someone else’s fault.

He wasn’t to blame for how things worked out for him at Celtic, was he? No, that was all Neil Lennon’s fault apparently.

Honestly, I can’t remember reading anything as ridiculous as when Griffiths spoke about Lennon recently and claimed his ex-boss was just trying to stay relevant by talking about him. Really?

Are we talking about the same high-profile Neil Lennon who has been one of the most talked about personalities in Scottish football in the last 20 years?

Griffiths can’t surely be serious when he says Lennon needs him to stay relevant.

But that sums him up, doesn’t it? Rather than owning his mistakes and taking responsibility for them, his default position is to go on the attack.

Because when you strip everything back with Griffiths, he’s not the player his fan club will have you believe.

Is he a good finisher? Sure, I’ll give him that. But in the last three seasons do you know how many league goals he’s scored? Let me tell you because I looked it up. It’s 17.

Two goals in season 2018/19, nine goals in season 19/20 and six goals in season 20/21.

Yet his cheerleaders are forever making excuses for him, constantly telling anyone who’ll listen that Griffiths would prove everyone wrong.

Griffiths ended up saying it himself but it was total and utter nonsense, every single word of it.

Griffiths has had more than enough time and opportunity to get himself in shape and he’s only thrown it back in people’s faces.

The scoring records in Scottish football should have been OBLITERATED by him in the last five years. Instead he put the tools away and it seems like he couldn’t care less.

Why Celtic gave him a new contract in the summer, I’ll never know. For the life of me, I’ll never be able to work that one out.

Those fans slaughtered me for criticising Griffiths and more or less saying it takes more than just ability to play at a top club.

But while my wording could have been better I think I’ve been proved right. When he scored at Rugby Park one day he looked up at me and made a shooshing gesture, but I stand by every word. He’s not exactly silenced me since, has he?

Now he’s at Dundee I wonder if his manager James McPake is beginning to wonder if it was a good idea bringing him to the club.

They’re pals from their days together at Livingston so I can understand why McPake was prepared to give Griffiths the benefit of any doubt.

Listen, I’ve been there. I got abuse every single time I stepped on to a football park and had to take it. It’s part of the deal.

Okay, the shouts weren’t anything like the abuse Griffiths is getting but he’s 31 now and should be experienced enough to know how to switch off from it.

I just look at him and see someone who is more or less finished. Truth be told, he’s the way I was when I was at Kilmarnock and hung up my boots a couple of months before my 36th birthday.

I didn’t have the same drive to stay in shape so I realised it was time to hang up the boots.

As a striker you stand the best chance of playing every week, because it’s a specialist position. But you need to deliver.

Griffiths just hasn’t looked like delivering for a long time now. His decline is there for all to see with his scoring record miles off where it should be.

During the warm-up before the Dundee derby at Tannadice last weekend we were in the gantry preparing for kick-off when a ball flew past.

We were nowhere near the goals so it was obvious someone was deliberately trying to hit us.

Why? Because he missed.

No love lost there 😂

17 hours ago, Des Lynam said:

Still loved his 2 free kicks v England but that's when he was effective playing for MY team so it's all good. 😅

20 minutes ago, Smoked-Glass said:

Still loved his 2 free kicks v England but that's when he was effective playing for MY team so it's all good. 😅

Oh aye, I was naming my first born Thumberto after that! Seems a loooong time ago now

1 hour ago, Never Let Them Forget said:

Why? Because he missed.

Where was this from?

55 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Boy is  putting a bulls eye on poor Leigh. 😂😂

Boyd isn't bitter at all, professional journalism at it's finest.....

On 25/09/2021 at 10:06, Smith's right boot said:

Boy is  putting a bulls eye on poor Leigh. 😂😂

Boyd isn't bitter at all, professional journalism at it's finest.....

Dundee and Celtic maybe agreeing on something else

33 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Interesting that the SFA/SPFL seem to have said or done nothing yet.  

Now that it's a police matter they'll have to wait till that concludes before they can sweep it under the carpet.

2 hours ago, Beni said:

Now that it's a police matter they'll have to wait till that concludes before they can sweep it under the carpet.

Im sure there has been cases in the past which have had police intervention whereby the national association has acted in the meantime. 

16 minutes ago, sadj said:

Im sure there has been cases in the past which have had police intervention whereby the national association has acted in the meantime. 

I definitely remember a case a few years back where a player went to court for singing an offensive song, and the SFA only fined him after the case had been heard.

You've probably heard of the guy, his name was...Leigh Griffiths

Always wonder what takes the police so long to ‘investigate’ in these situations.  If this took place on a Saturday night in George street the person would be arrested, charged and have a court appearance scheduled for a future date.

It’s not as if they’ve a mountain of evidence to trawl through but the police and SFA insist on treating it like they’re having to unravel a Bernie Madov Ponzi scheme.

• davemclaren locked this topic