Crap HMFC-related Claims to Fame!

Craig_

Thought this deserved its own thread. In light of the distinctly underwhelming Kevin-Thomas-in-RBS-Queue revelations elsewhere, the question is, what is your worst HMFC claim to fame? The more obscure and mundane the better!

• Replies 170

• Pans Jambo

• Shanks said no

• Stu_HMFC

I saved a Robbo penalty aged about 12?

He was a special guest at a mates Birthday party. Had some goal posts set up in the garden so we had a bit of a kick about. Ended up everyone taking a few pens and I kept his out.

Don’t think he was trying to hard mind 🤣

Bumped into half of the team in City Falkirk and beat Jack Hamilton at a game of pool next door in Sportsters

This was the 15 point deduction squad for the record

Edited by Jeff

I did once have a pint with Wayne Foster, which at the time I thought was tremendous. However, I suspect most people on here have probably had a pint with him, as he seems to be no stranger to the hostelries of Edinburgh!

Me and my mate Mike Devlin had a conversation with Drew Busby in Brattasani's at Haymarket after a 3-1 victory over Morton in 1974( I was aged 11). Drew was in a booth and was getting steak and chips, me and Mikey had Mince pie suppers.

I thought Drew was loaded as he was having steak.

chuck berrys hairline

When Jefferies was boss first time he  using one of the army barracks fields my Dad sorted out for pre-season training quite alot and we got invited to watch it. Asked to come look at a new keeper big french guy! I was about 7/8 got asked to take a few pens into him. Scores the first two and big Jim sayes to big Giles Rousett you better save the third or you're dropped 😅 which he did 😭

Also went along to Neil McCanns house with my dad to price a job the summer he went to Rangers, He's tiny lol

Got served a pint by Henry Smith in the Diggers whenever it was he worked there.

No, he didn't drop it...mainly because there wasn't some Celtic thug fouling him in the process and the referee *cough* bar manager turning a blind eye to it.

Me and my dad got a lift home from the golf club by Davie Bowman one evening (he was a visitor with someone we knew)... 3 door Ford Sierra! Sweet (at the time!)... absolutely bricked myself until I got out! Bit of a lead-welly has oor Davie!

9 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

And you proved him wrong? 

For a short period but decided age 10ish I didn't want to be a goalie. My dad still scolds me cos I was good!

Not sure Henry followed my football career arc mind you.

I was really lucky cos my dad worked at Hearts for my first few years.

Spoke to Wayne Foster in the urinals ... i think it  was in the Canny Man's ... just a couple of years ago.

I said "If we weren't in here, I'd shake your hand"

He said "it's OK - I'm left -handed" 

Used to work up around George Street a lot and seen a guy often who I thought looked like Gary Wales. Was only after I changed job that I realised, it was in fact Gary Wales.

He's an estate agent now, and was working for a company up that area during the era I'm talking about. Not really a claim to fame, but the amount of times I seen him, reckon I could've struck up a wee rapport with him like I did with Gary Mason.

3 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

For a short period but decided age 10ish I didn't want to be a goalie. My dad still scolds me cos I was good!

Not sure Henry followed my football career arc mind you.

I was really lucky cos my dad worked at Hearts for my first few years.

Oh, I have a goalie story also.... as a teenager I played in goal for Dean Park and we were poop. The coach had lined me up to be coached the next season by Ian Westwater (think he may have been understudy to Jim Brough!?)... but I left at the end of that season to pursue a golf career. Which was also ended up poop.

21 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

Spilt a glass of coke on Henry when I was about 6. Told me I'd never be a goalie. I cried.

henry made me cry too, when I was 10. 

My mate and I spoke to Willie Bauld in Boroughmuir rugby club for over an hour. As he was leaving, his wife said to us that was the first time he had spoken to anyone outside of his family about his time at Hearts. She then showed us his '56 cup winners medal which she wore as a 'necklace'. That would be about 40 years ago.

53 minutes ago, Macros said:

Delivered Alan Maybury's Tesco order to his house at the start of the first lockdown 

Does he still live by the old academy in Bathgate? I could view his conservatory from my old living room

Not me, but my Dad's claim to fame: he was a linguist and acted as interpreter for the visit of, I'm guessing here, but I think it would be Zaragoza in '66. I've got some stuff all about it in his belongings, which are still all boxed up in my loft. I'll try and dig it out, can't remember exactly what it consisted of, he showed me it many many years ago.

23 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Does he still live by the old academy in Bathgate? I could view his conservatory from my old living room

he does aye. My Missus buys stuff from his missus

Whilst working in a bistro in Edinburgh I served Neil Pointon who was a really pleasant chap. Also Chris Robinson on one occasion and one of the Proclaimers on another. They were actually very nice as well although they have both made some very poor decisions with regards to football. 

My street had a little outside gathering last year, I sat was sat chatting to a guy for an hour thinking “I know your face pal” turns out he played for hearts in the not too distant past.

I won’t name names as I’m sure a few on this board will know who I’m talking about and thus where i live 😂

I also once took a pish in a urinal next to JC, and won a quiz for free hearts tickets at school when hearts did a roadshow.. Brian Whittaker was the quizmaster 

I stopped to let Billy Brown and his grandson cross the road. He gave me a wave to say thanks. I like to think it was because he saw my Hearts air freshener hanging from the mirror!

1 hour ago, Auldbenches said:

Made a cup of tea for Bobby Prentice in a relatives house.

Couldn't believe it when saw him sitting in the living room when I went in.  

The wing is where you'd expect him to be, I suppose.

Mark De Vries was in the bank a family friend worked at. It was after the 5-1 game. She got an autograph and he signed it "To .... Thanks for being a Hearts Supporter" :)

5 minutes ago, buzz said:

I stopped to let Billy Brown and his grandson cross the road. He gave me a wave to say thanks. I like to think it was because he saw my Hearts air freshener hanging from the mirror!

It probably was for just that very reason.  👍

Mainly because it’s really only Hibs fans that need air fresheners, so Billy was probably surprised.  😎

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

Went on holiday to Maga on a stag do in 2012 the day after the 5-1 final and Billy Broon was staying in the same hotel.

9 minutes ago, buzz said:

He has been places.

Talked to the Buzzbomb on Haymarket St west bound platform while I was eating a haggis supper from Quo Vadis chipper on Dalry road, he said , and I quote, wait for it, “ that smells gid” we had a nice chat then my train came, I went home , the end. 

I’ve had more pints with Robbo than I care to remember.  He’s brilliant company, can talk the hind legs off a donkey and is full of great stories.

He bought my mum champagne on her 70th birthday.  She cried.  So did I.  🥂☹️

7 minutes ago, Darren said:

The wing is where you'd expect him to be, I suppose.

Only caught a wee bit at the end of his career.  

Wish I had seen him when he was on form.  

Held the door open for David Obua at Harvey Nics, that's about as good as it's got for me I think. My sister has spoke with JJ as they stay in the same village, the annoying thing is she knows **** all about football!

Bumped into Craig levein and Willie Johnston in a pub on Lothian Road in 1983 after they had been at their Xmas party. They were steaming and didn’t talk much sense. 

Started for Edinburgh under 18s v Fife, kept Eamon Bannon on the bench...just for 45 mins though,  My wife was childminder for Scott Leitchs kids when he played for

Swindon Town

Once saw Elvis in marks and Spencer’s food hall in town. He had a trolley full of stuff but was buying those steaks with the wee dods of butter on top in a selophane packet. He had scored the a penalty against Aberdeen in a 1-0 win at pittodrie then day before. 

wentworth jambo

At school, was in a charity Question of Sport thing with each team having a Scottish sports personality as captain - my captain - the one and only Wallace Mercer. Made my night when he said “Great answer, son” when I knew what the Maillot Jaune was 🙂

Edited by wentworth jambo

2 hours ago, Craig_ said:

I did once have a pint with Wayne Foster, which at the time I thought was tremendous. However, I suspect most people on here have probably had a pint with him, as he seems to be no stranger to the hostelries of Edinburgh!

He usesd to drink in the old Brunswick bar on leith walk. I worked casino night shifts at the time and the Brunswick opened at 5am. Wayne was a frequent visitor after his postie shift. We are going back over 20 years mind.