Dont Watch Alone.

Am i right in thinking the Hammer house of horror movies were shown in the seventies.

The films being Frankenstein, Dracula , and im sure werewolf themes.

Also was it a friday night or saturday they were on.

Would love a re-run of these films. 

40 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Am i right in thinking the Hammer house of horror movies were shown in the seventies.

They are often on the great “ Talking pictures “ channel which is channel 81 . It’s a great wee channel if you like older films which I do . 

8 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Not as great as some of the original Universal productions starring Bela Lugosi,  Boris Karloff,  Lon Chaney,  etc.  

Yes Boris Karloff was the definitive Monster in  “ Frankestein” and was even better in the brilliant sequel “ The bride of Frankenstein” And Just as Bela Lugosi was “ Dracula “ ! Great films . Always amazing me these were filmed on the Universal Los Angeles set as they are so authentic 

1 hour ago, Harry Potter said:

Yes and loved it as a kid. Lon Chaney, Boris Karloff, Christopher Lee, Peter Cushing etc. The music added to the Hammer experience.

My memory is there used to be a horror double bill on a Friday night in the 70s. I have box set of HHoH films on DVD which I havent watched in a long time. Will look them out now

54 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

While not exactly scary, you knew there was going to be a twist. What a series, loved it!

Written by none other than Roald Dahl.

16 minutes ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

My memory is there used to be a horror double bill on a Friday night in the 70s. I have box set of HHoH films on DVD which I havent watched in a long time. Will look them out now

Correct, my mum would let me sit up and watch them with her as company whilst my dad was nightshift.

7 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

The music?  Either way he was genius.

7 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

The music?  Either way he was genius.

No the stories.

1 minute ago, John Findlay said:

No the stories.

I really need to revisit them, have vague recollections of a card player missing fingers, and an inventor that invented a macine that could translate the inaudible sounds made by plants.  Sure seemed far out in the late 700s early 80s, wasn't it on a Friday night, maybe?

17 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

No the stories.

The first couple of series were written by him . Then it was other Authors stories . 

14 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

I really need to revisit them, have vague recollections of a card player missing fingers, and an inventor that invented a macine that could translate the inaudible sounds made by plants.  Sure seemed far out in the late 700s early 80s, wasn't it on a Friday night, maybe?

There are some classic ones 

“ Mrs Bixby and the colonels coat “ 

“ the way up to heaven “ 

“ lamb to the slaughter “

“ genesis and catastrophe “ 

think that plant one is “ the sound machine “ 

13 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

We used to call it ‘tales of the totally predictable’ in my hoose 😂

What night was it on, can you remember?

2 hours ago, Tazio said:

Always worth a watch as there was a good chance of seeing boobies. 

Those were lean times unless you were willing to sit through BBC2’s series of subtitled foreign films, which in many cases provided an upgrade.

To quote from Gregory’s Girl, “Tits, *****, the lot”.

(No idea what the sweary filter will do to the above.)

Started off as old black and white movies at 1030 on a Friday night with Bela Lagusi as Dracula, Boris Karloff as the Frankenstein monster and Lon Chaney as Lawrence Talbot ( the Werewolf).  Low budget and low scary by todays standards. Moved onto the Hammer era with Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing.

46 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

Just googled it. First episode of tales of the unexpected was 24/03/79 - a Saturday.

Can only ever mind one episode.

Some girl for a bet ,squeezed her head through a hole in some expensive work of art in some dudes garden and got stuck.

Think it finished with the owner swinging the axe and leave us wondering where he had destroyed  his work of art to rescue her or just cut her head off.

Anyway sure sportscene was on after it 🙂

6 minutes ago, Tott said:

Can only ever mind one episode.

Some girl for a bet ,squeezed her head through a hole in some expensive work of art in some dudes garden and got stuck.

Think it finished with the owner swinging the axe and leave us wondering where he had destroyed  his work of art to rescue her or just cut her head off.

Anyway sure sportscene was on after it 🙂

That was called “ Neck” with Joan Collins and John Gielgud I think. 

3 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

That was called “ Neck” with Joan Collins and John Gielgud I think. 

Nice one..

Probably watched a few of them, but that one sticks in my mind.

Play For Today had an episode that messed my head, Brimstone and Treacle, written by Dennis Potter in which a disabled teenager was raped by a guy who may or may not have been the devil. 

Welcome to 70’s British TV drama. I can’t believe my folks let me watch it. 

5 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

Cannae mind. Saturday I’d guess. 

Some of the Hammer House of Horrors were ace ‘The house that bled to death’ sticks out. 

Basically a house with blood pishing out the pipes and stuff when some new folk moved in😂

Aye, vaguely remember them too but not my cuppa, at that age! :lol:

2 hours ago, BarneyBattles said:

Just googled it. First episode of tales of the unexpected was 24/03/79 - a Saturday.

Originally thought Friday but guess I was always in on a Sat too, at thst age! :lol:

3 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

Turns out it was the very first episode, of the first series.

Spoiler alert: Skip this link and go straight to the episode on YT, below.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man_from_the_South

HeartsandonlyHearts

Always thought it weird that all 3 horror type actors

Lee

Cushing

Price

all had the same birth date.

Nothing can ever beat The Carry on Screaming movie though🤪

Thought this was Scotland's World Cup triumph at the Darts. Heart failure material.

:yas: Go on Wrighty and big Hendo.

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

7 hours ago, Les Izemore said:

Play For Today had an episode that messed my head, Brimstone and Treacle, written by Dennis Potter in which a disabled teenager was raped by a guy who may or may not have been the devil. 

Welcome to 70’s British TV drama. I can’t believe my folks let me watch it. 

Was a film with Sting in it.

Dennis Potter was a Play for Today regular.

I vaguely remember my parents watching a series like Tales of the Unexpected called, Murder, Mystery & Suspense. Rememer it having thunder and lightning at the intro. Anybody remember that?

11 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

Aye, vaguely remember them too but not my cuppa, at that age! :lol:

Originally thought Friday but guess I was always in on a Sat too, at thst age! :lol:

Was the Saturday night creepy stories show not Tales of m

Mystery & Imagination Aired in the mid to late 1960's? Some really scary stuff for an 11 year old.

17 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

Channel 81 have been showing these the last couple of Friday nights, this Friday it's The Curse of Frankenstein.

6 minutes ago, argyjambo said:

Was the Saturday night creepy stories show not Tales of m

Mystery & Imagination Aired in the mid to late 1960's? Some really scary stuff for an 11 year old.

Could have been argy, I'm not the best when it comes to recollections. :lol:

On a similar theme the Amicus films are really good. Peter Cushing is in some of them. I've got a few on BluRay and watch them quite regularly.

The Skull

The House that Dripped Blood

From Beyond the Grave

Dr Terrors House of Horrors

Asylum

To name a few.....

39 minutes ago, allyby said:

Channel 81 have been showing these the last couple of Friday nights, this Friday it's The Curse of Frankenstein.

Thanks,I like a bit Frankenstein.