First Derby

martoon

25 minutes ago, Hackney Hearts said:

Ally MacLeod* equalised around midnight at the school end.    

Sorry, getting the two midnight equalisers in 1-1 games mixed up - MacLeod scored at the Gorgie end, it was the 1975 Stanton equaliser that came at the school end.

• Replies 135

• martoon

• dannymack

• Auldbenches

• John Findlay

15 minutes ago, Hackney Hearts said:

Sorry, getting the two midnight equalisers in 1-1 games mixed up - MacLeod scored at the Gorgie end, it was the 1975 Stanton equaliser that came at the school end.

MacLeod equalised in the game that both Jim Jeffries and Donald Park got sent off in. I'm sure a Hearts supporter got on the pitch and made a beeline for the ref.

1 hour ago, Smith's right boot said:

2-0 Robbo, second one a pk. 

88' or 89' I think. 

Sounds like the 1990 NY derby, Tosh.

Robbo penalty up at the Gorgie Road end in the first half and another goal early in the second.

Tynecastle fair crackled with atmosphere that day. 

Very memorable win.

Edited by martoon

2 minutes ago, wheatfield to sheffield said:

0-0 Easter road November 1985.

Not much of a game, but I remember there was a stream running down the terracing

The dropped derby point that cost Hearts the title according to the loons on dotnut. 

Only they could attempt to turn a draw and 3 derby defeats into a bragging right. 😉

Das Viertel Hearts
2 hours ago, dannymack said:

Derek O'Connors chips are better than Brattisanis 

Screenshot_2014-09-05-18-58-28-1.png

Ha ha a great quote...Brattisanis our local chippy and agree great chips back in the day.. when I was in Edinburgh!!! 😃

This will be my first Edinburgh derby this Sunday and I cannot wait; Section G will be bouncing and I really hope the Hearts players respond to the atmosphere and get the job done! Like I said in another post this really could turn out to be such a memorable season Jambos so keep the faith. HHGH.  Terry 

1 minute ago, CARDIFFBOY said:

This will be my first Edinburgh derby this Sunday and I cannot wait; Section G will be bouncing and I really hope the Hearts players respond to the atmosphere and get the job done! Like I said in another post this really could turn out to be such a memorable season Jambos so keep the faith. HHGH.  Terry 

I've seen loads. Every one is brilliant. Have a great day mate 

5 minutes ago, Das Viertel Hearts said:

Ha ha a great quote...Brattisanis our local chippy and agree great chips back in the day.. when I was in Edinburgh!!! 😃

Classic from Gilzean who had badges made with the quotes on them 😀 

Das Viertel Hearts

First derby for me and it was my pleasure to be there was the day in the 80s that finally the tide surged and turned!! The deadly duo of Bone and Robertson with one of the best goals I've seen...3-2 at Tynecastle...years of misery blown away...!!! 😃

#ThereIsALightThatWillNeverGoOut

Das Viertel Hearts
2 minutes ago, dannymack said:

Classic from Gilzean who had badges made with the quotes on them 😀 

Ha ha ...it's where I was first introduced to the very modern art concept of salt and...sauce!!! 😃

That's a badge to own and treasure!! 

56 minutes ago, martoon said:

Great start, bud.

The first of 22.

Was at 22 as well. 21 was rather good. Blame it on a friend who never said nothing, taunting Hibs fans 23 in a row for the end

1 minute ago, Sir Gio said:

Was at 22 as well. 21 was rather good. Blame it on a friend who never said nothing, taunting Hibs fans 23 in a row for the end

I was at all 22.

Still have most of the match tickets somewhere.

The defeat was the opening of the Wheatfield. My mate and I had seats that were double booked. About two dozen were in a similar situation and we were escorted around to the old main.

I actually recall "It's magic, you know, 23 games..." being sang but then the buggers scored. 🤮

It's amazing how things quickly changed against them.  From waiting nearly 6 years for me to see a win in 83 to going home raging after the Archiebauld goal because we had rarely lost to them.

I think that ended the 18 game run. 

Was spewing after that game.

Was that their only win before the 21 game run began? 

37 minutes ago, CARDIFFBOY said:

You've picked a cracker for atmosphere.  Two years since fans? It'll be fantastic. 

40 minutes ago, CARDIFFBOY said:

Here's hoping it's a dream debut, Terry.

:flagwave:

7 minutes ago, martoon said:

I was at all 22.

Still have most of the match tickets somewhere.

The defeat was the opening of the Wheatfield. My mate and I had seats that were double booked. About two dozen were in a similar situation and we were escorted around to the old main.

I actually recall "It's magic, you know, 23 games..." being sang but then the buggers scored. 🤮

I remember it well for Wheatfield opening. Happy New Stand was their patter.

Not sure how many of the 22 I was at in truth would have been the majority. September 90 the pick?

4 hours ago, 1953 said:

The first one I remember would be new years day 64/65 ish at Easter Road. I got a stand ticket in my Christmas stocking and went with my dad, brother and uncle. Hibs went 2 goals up early on and I remember my uncle saying that if we get one before half time we could go on and win it. We pulled one back before halftime then scored 2 in the second half to win 3-2. Boom boom!

I think that was New Year's Day 1966.

The Willie Wallace header from the edge of the penalty area, for Hearts first goal, was my favourite Hearts goal for years until Austin McCann's thunderbolt against Celtic.

My own first derby was the 1965 New Year's Day game which we lost 1-0 I think.  As someone else said there was bigger disappointment to come that season.

1 minute ago, Sir Gio said:

I remember it well for Wheatfield opening. Happy New Stand was their patter.

Not sure how many of the 22 I was at in truth would have been the majority. September 90 the pick?

Certainly up there, SG.

What a day.

Feckin epic.

1 hour ago, martoon said:

Sounds like the 1990 NY derby, Tosh.

Robbo penalty up at the Gorgie Road end in the first half and another goal early in the second.

Tynecastle fair crackled with atmosphere that day. 

Very memorable win.

aye, correcto mondo

This and dannymack's bumped thread hasn't half got the juices flowing.

Not been at a derby in nearly 2 years.

C'mon Hearts. 

Get those emailing, sleekit, scuttling feckers pumped.

Edited by martoon

57 minutes ago, CARDIFFBOY said:

hope you have a great weekend mate and welcome to the Jambo family. I will be the one down the front of section F with the Congo flag :olly::yas:

25th August 1984 at the San Giro when Derek O'connor scored in the 90th minute 

Edit: just seen all the other posts. 🤓

somejumpjimmy.jpg

Edited by The Mighty Thor

3 hours ago, John Findlay said:

MacLeod equalised in the game that both Jim Jeffries and Donald Park got sent off in. I'm sure a Hearts supporter got on the pitch and made a beeline for the ref.

Hearts v Hibs 1978 referee-1.jpg

2009-01-15_22-45-11_Hearts%20v%20Hibs%201978%20referee%20attacked.jpg

Broxburn Jambo

Just confirmed 01/01/68 Joe Davis penalty beat us 1-0.

I saw my first derby at Easter Road, because I could walk there from where I lived

My first derby was the De Vries 5-1 game. First game as a full season ticket holder, and I've had a season ticket consistently ever since 👍

This is a weird one. I can’t remember my first derby off the top of my head. You’d think it would be set in stone.

I think when I was young and first started going to games I was just excited about going to every game.

Will need to get onto London hearts and try and work it out…

I am not one for trying to outdo others on kickback, but for me it was at East Meadows 25th December 1875. Pumped them 1-0 on a freezing afternoon.

Disappointingly only one loyalty point for that game back in those days. Celebrated after the match by running with my gird and cleek all over the town. Rival fans then challenged each other to a croquet match after the match to settle the score. 

Haven't missed a derby since including the 2020 Scottish Cup semi final, Hearts got me into a near empty Hampden as a present for my 156th birthday and for having 72000 loyalty points.

PHM 

HHGH 

3 hours ago, queensferryjambo said:

I am not one for trying to outdo others on kickback, but for me it was at East Meadows 25th December 1875. Pumped them 1-0 on a freezing afternoon.

Disappointingly only one loyalty point for that game back in those days. Celebrated after the match by running with my gird and cleek all over the town. Rival fans then challenged each other to a croquet match after the match to settle the score. 

Haven't missed a derby since including the 2020 Scottish Cup semi final, Hearts got me into a near empty Hampden as a present for my 156th birthday and for having 72000 loyalty points.

PHM 

HHGH 

😊

It was 1989. They took the lead iirc and Robbo scored the winner. 

The one derby I can’t place being at and it bugs the absolute life out of me was the one at ER. it has to have been late 80’s, early 90’s 

I remember seeing all these blue flags in their end being twirled around in the 2nd half. We had a huge support that day - we must have had way over our allocation as it was busting at the seems 

There was a boy next to me, who had crutches, proceeded to put a Hearts Tammy on one of the crutches and started waving it back at them and they were going absolute nuts.

Total bedlam, and what a support we had that day. 

I’m sure someone said it was millwall arseholes in the vermin end who were waving the flags but can’t be sure. Our support didn’t care a jot and were just hurling abuse at the lot of them all game 🤣

It’s my memory playing up but I can remember that day seeing all this happen around me but for the life of me I can’t remember the specific game that it happened in. That was an atmosphere and a half. 

It might have been the fozzy derby but I’m just not sure 

14 hours ago, GinRummy said:

Though it was 1986 but after checking it was 31st august 1985. 2-1 colquhoun then Clark with the winner after Durie levelled for Hibs. 

I wasn’t alowed to go to Hibs or Celtic games when I was wee. 

Funnily, same here. I think it was because of the recent years of crowd trouble around that time. 

I’d been going to the games long before it (first game was 1979 with my Dad) but I actually think my first derby was at Fester in 1987 at the age of 12, turning 13 that year.  The postponed NYD game eventually played on the 6th, ended up Desmond.  

Went with a mate and had warnings from my big Brothers to, “watch yourself down there!”.   Deepest dark Fester on a blustery midweek. The wind was howling, rain battering down as we stood on the old terracing.  

Great days 🙄😁

2 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Funnily, same here. I think it was because of the recent years of crowd trouble around that time. 

I’d been going to the games long before it (first game was 1979 with my Dad) but I actually think my first derby was at Fester in 1987 at the age of 12, turning 13 that year.  The postponed NYD game eventually played on the 6th, ended up Desmond.  

Went with a mate and had warnings from my big Brothers to, “watch yourself down there!”.   Deepest dark Fester on a blustery midweek. The wind was howling, rain battering down as we stood on the old terracing.  

Great days 🙄😁

They were great days. Everything changes over time but I’ll always have the fondest memories of supporting Hearts in the mid to late 80’s. Some great times after that as well obviously but not as good.

I had a really unlucky derby debut it was the game at Tynecastle that we lost 0-1 circa 2007/08 I think hibs scored a penalty after about 5 mins, was also the game that we had beniusis (useless) up front. In fact I have seen us win more from the telly than in the flesh! Which is just weird considering out total domination of them, don't worry I'm on the other side of the world so won't be coming on sunday, will be watching on hearts tv in full kit at 11pm at night over hear in NZ though.

Had to look back at fixtures to work this out but pretty sure it was 1/1/85 a 2-1 win at Easter Road. I don't actually remember much about the game other than it was cold and scary.  Was 10 years old and with my Dad and we were in the enclosure in front of main stand.  My only real memory is getting crushed quite badly in there and the police bringing us out onto pitch to reorganise crowd.  

38 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

They were great days. Everything changes over time but I’ll always have the fondest memories of supporting Hearts in the mid to late 80’s. Some great times after that as well obviously but not as good.

👍🏻 

22 minutes ago, savage said:

Had to look back at fixtures to work this out but pretty sure it was 1/1/85 a 2-1 win at Easter Road. I don't actually remember much about the game other than it was cold and scary.  Was 10 years old and with my Dad and we were in the enclosure in front of main stand.  My only real memory is getting crushed quite badly in there and the police bringing us out onto pitch to reorganise crowd.  

First of January eighty five

Gary’s in the box with a left foot drive

Number two from Sandy Clark

We are the Gorgie Jam Tarts. 

New Years day 1986.

Could only get tickets for Hibs end. Escorted through the gates to the Hearts end after Iain Jardine scored in the 25th minute and we along with dozens of other Hearts fans couldn't supress the celebrations. 

Scottish Footy Cards on Twitter: "Edinburgh Derby Action #Hearts v #Hibs  #ScottishFootballToday 1986-02… "

Edited by Nobreath

8 hours ago, Hearts1975 said:

It was 1989. They took the lead iirc and Robbo scored the winner. 

The one derby I can’t place being at and it bugs the absolute life out of me was the one at ER. it has to have been late 80’s, early 90’s 

I remember seeing all these blue flags in their end being twirled around in the 2nd half. We had a huge support that day - we must have had way over our allocation as it was busting at the seems 

There was a boy next to me, who had crutches, proceeded to put a Hearts Tammy on one of the crutches and started waving it back at them and they were going absolute nuts.

Total bedlam, and what a support we had that day. 

I’m sure someone said it was millwall arseholes in the vermin end who were waving the flags but can’t be sure. Our support didn’t care a jot and were just hurling abuse at the lot of them all game 🤣

It’s my memory playing up but I can remember that day seeing all this happen around me but for the life of me I can’t remember the specific game that it happened in. That was an atmosphere and a half. 

It might have been the fozzy derby but I’m just not sure 

You sure it wasn't Chelsea ? 

Both clubs fans seemed to be blamed for anything and everything back in the day, I know a few Millwall fans, been a few times, they're not arseholes although like every club,  including Hearts they do have arseholes in their support but on this occasion relating to your point I cannot remember blue flags in the home end at Easter Rd.

Highly unlikely Millwall after 900 his ccs took liberties on a near empty Old Kent Road. 

3 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

Great days 🙄😁

250726206.jpg

3 hours ago, savage said:

20210101_171138.jpg

12 hours ago, queensferryjambo said:

PHM 

HHGH 

respect 

1 hour ago, Thomaso said:

New Years Day 1966. A 3-2 win at ER after going 2-0 down. 😊

Remember that game,when we eventually got in,the score was 0-2,shocked! then to turn it around,fantastic!