Local rivals same home kick off times

Thought it was unusual yesterday to see Newcastle and Sundetland kick off league matches at home yesterday at the same time - same could be said for Middlesbrough and Hartlepool who had a big Carlisle following.

Always thought this scenario was avoided for policing difficulties

Have Hearts and Hibs played a league match at home on the same day and same time ? I can remember there being cup matches but can't think of it happening with league matches

2 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Thought it was unusual yesterday to see Newcastle and Sundetland kick off league matches at home yesterday at the same time - same could be said for Middlesbrough and Hartlepool who had a big Carlisle following.

Have Hearts and Hibs played a league match at home on the same day and same time ? I can remember there being cup matches but can't think of it happening with league matches

There a few miles distance between the north eastern teams, I'm not sure kickin off on the same day, at same times a problem down there, different with the Manchester and liverpool clubs obviously..i could be talkin pish though😁 as for hearts and the other lot, i can't think of league games we played and kicked off at the same time👍🏼

St James Park is 13 miles from Stadium of Light... probably not a big issue. Fester Road on the other hand is way too close to home!

Caught my eye that Ayr (albeit postponed) and Kilmarnock were both at home yesterday. Struck me as odd although, like Newcastle/Sunderland, they're far enough apart for both to host on the same afternoon.

Hearts and Hibs are both at home on the weekend of September 25. The Hibs game has already been switched to the Sunday but it's the first time I can recall the fixtures ever being deliberately scheduled that way.

It's probably a combination of the Covid effect (zero fans/restricted capacities) and games being routinely moved for tv.

Makes no real difference I suppose but, as a stubborn football traditionalist, I don't like it. 😊

Edited by martoon

40 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I think it did happen a few times in the early 80s, MS, but only because of postponements and rescheduling. 

It wasn't a big deal back then as Hearts and Hibs home attendances were frequently sub 5k.

Edited by martoon

9 minutes ago, martoon said:

Caught my eye that Ayr (albeit postponed) and Kilmarnock were both at home yesterday. Struck me as odd although, like Newcastle/Sunderland, they're far enough apart for both to host on the same afternoon.

Hearts and Hibs are both at home on the weekend of September 25. The Hibs game has already been switched to the Sunday but it's the first time I can recall the fixtures ever being deliberately scheduled that way.

It's probably a combination of the Covid effect (zero fans/restricted capacities) and games being routinely moved for tv.

Makes no real difference I suppose but, as a stubborn football traditionalist, I don't like it. 😊

They've also scheduled us both away on the weekend of 30th October and both at home weekend of 29th January. Very odd and I'd imagine very avoidable.

5 minutes ago, Super_Hans said:

They've also scheduled us both away on the weekend of 30th October and both at home weekend of 29th January. Very odd and I'd imagine very avoidable.

Aye, very odd.

I think the American bloke who does the fixtures has maybe flipped.

Imagine his face when certain caveats were revealed to him beforehand:

"Celtic can't be at home on remembrance weekend" must have been an eye opener for the poor bugger. 

55 minutes ago, LauderJambo said:

St James Park is 13 miles from Stadium of Light... probably not a big issue. Fester Road on the other hand is way too close to home!

I just thought the police had final dibs on the scheduling of fixtures and the 2 North East clubs generally have alternate weeks for home matches or maybe split over the weekend.

Edited by Maroon Sailor

20 minutes ago, Super_Hans said:

I think the 29th Jan fixtures will change for one of us

Hibs v Livi bumped to the Sunday

Edited by Maroon Sailor

10 minutes ago, martoon said:

Aye, very odd.

"Celtic can't be at home on remembrance weekend" must have been an eye opener for the poor bugger. 

I dread to think how much the SPFL paid Jarrod for the use of his super computer. Only because that fat **** Blair couldn't be arsed doing it himself.

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I just thought the police had final dibs on the scheduling of fixtures and the 2 North East clubs generally have alternate weeks for home matches or maybe split over the weekend.

I seem to remember that for many years it was only in Scotland that clubs were required to pay for Policing at Football matches. This may be, at least in part, how they have more say in where and when games go on due to police coverage.

In England it was considered part of the Policing activities and came out of their budget and as a result they "may" not have had any say in places and times of games and just had to get on with it.

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I think they come under two different constabularies. Newcastle Northumberland and Sunderland Durham.

9 hours ago, martoon said:

Aye, very odd.

There’s an interesting video of the NFL doing the schedule here. Would imagine the SPFL one is given less care and attention tho. 

https://youtu.be/bS1xGetyrh0

9 hours ago, martoon said:

Caught my eye that Ayr (albeit postponed) and Kilmarnock were both at home yesterday. Struck me as odd although, 

They probably take into account that you could most like fit their combined home supports into the wheatfield stand

Not exactly a logistical nightmare to handle

4 minutes ago, JCR said:

There’s an interesting video of the NFL doing the schedule here. Would imagine the SPFL one is given less care and attention tho. 

https://youtu.be/bS1xGetyrh0

Watched the first few minutes, bud.

I'd happily do it next summer for a case of Stella and a bag of salt & pepper cashews.

Job done in 90 minutes.

The beers, cashews and fixtures. 😊

6 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

They probably take into account that you could most like fit their combined home supports into the wheatfield stand

Most of Ayrshire will be at the Celtic and Rangers games.

...well, watching them in the pub, most likely.

Silvery_Moon
12 hours ago, martoon said:

11 hours ago, Super_Hans said:

Very odd. I can only think that this is due to the split and for whatever reason ourselves and Hibs are due 17 home games before the split. They try to swap it each year so presumably Hibs had 16 home games before the split last year and we would have been 16 two years ago had we actually finished the season. 

12 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Maybe when the #obos were languishing in the lower league for all those years but I doubt when in the same league. 

7 minutes ago, alwaysthereinspirit said:

Maybe when the #obos were languishing in the lower league for all those years but I doubt when in the same league. 

Yeah that's my thoughts

I doubt Newcastle and Sunderland would kick off home matches at the same time either if they were both in the top flight.

Hearts Heritage
14 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Around 54 times in the league.

Over 300 times both at home same day.

Edited by Hearts Heritage

Hearts Heritage
4 minutes ago, alwaysthereinspirit said:

Really!!

Wow

Numbers by season. Assumption is KO times are the same. However Spring and Autumn holiday games were staggered so fans vould attend both games.

1877-78    1
1878-79    3
1879-80    6
1880-81    7
1881-82    7
1882-83    3
1883-84    9
1884-85    7
1885-86    9
1886-87    6
1887-88    7
1888-89    10
1889-90    6
1890-91    1
1892-93    6
1893-94    6
1894-95    6
1895-96    8
1896-97    6
1897-98    8
1898-99    6
1899-00    7
1900-01    9
1901-02    4
1902-03    5
1903-04    6
1904-05    5
1905-06    4
1906-07    5
1907-08    4
1908-09    2
1909-10    5
1910-11    4
1911-12    2
1912-13    5
1913-14    1
1914-15    1
1916-17    1
1918-19    1
1919-20    1
1920-21    4
1921-22    3
1922-23    4
1923-24    4
1924-25    3
1925-26    4
1927-28    3
1928-29    2
1929-30    2
1930-31    4
1931-32    1
1932-33    3
1933-34    1
1934-35    1
1936-37    1
1938-39    2
1939-40    2
1940-41    2
1944-45    1
1946-47    2
1947-48    2
1948-49    3
1949-50    1
1950-51    1
1952-53    2
1953-54    1
1955-56    1
1956-57    2
1960-61    1
1966-67    1
1970-71    1
1971-72    1
1972-73    1
1973-74    2
1975-76    2
1977-78    1
1978-79    3
1979-80    4
1980-81    2
1981-82    2
1983-84    1
1984-85    3
1986-87    1
1987-88    1
1988-89    3
1989-90    1
1991-92    1
1992-93    3
1995-96    2
1997-98    1
1998-99    2
1999-00    1
2002-03    1
2003-04    1
2004-05    2
2005-06    1
2007-08    2
2015-16    1
2020-21    3

Edited by Hearts Heritage

1 hour ago, Hearts Heritage said:

Numbers by season. Assumption is KO times are the same. However Spring and Autumn holiday games were staggered so fans vould attend both games.

1877-78    1
1878-79    3
1879-80    6
1880-81    7
1881-82    7
1882-83    3
1883-84    9
1884-85    7
1885-86    9
1886-87    6
1887-88    7
1888-89    10
1889-90    6
1890-91    1
1892-93    6
1893-94    6
1894-95    6
1895-96    8
1896-97    6
1897-98    8
1898-99    6
1899-00    7
1900-01    9
1901-02    4
1902-03    5
1903-04    6
1904-05    5
1905-06    4
1906-07    5
1907-08    4
1908-09    2
1909-10    5
1910-11    4
1911-12    2
1912-13    5
1913-14    1
1914-15    1
1916-17    1
1918-19    1
1919-20    1
1920-21    4
1921-22    3
1922-23    4
1923-24    4
1924-25    3
1925-26    4
1927-28    3
1928-29    2
1929-30    2
1930-31    4
1931-32    1
1932-33    3
1933-34    1
1934-35    1
1936-37    1
1938-39    2
1939-40    2
1940-41    2
1944-45    1
1946-47    2
1947-48    2
1948-49    3
1949-50    1
1950-51    1
1952-53    2
1953-54    1
1955-56    1
1956-57    2
1960-61    1
1966-67    1
1970-71    1
1971-72    1
1972-73    1
1973-74    2
1975-76    2
1977-78    1
1978-79    3
1979-80    4
1980-81    2
1981-82    2
1983-84    1
1984-85    3
1986-87    1
1987-88    1
1988-89    3
1989-90    1
1991-92    1
1992-93    3
1995-96    2
1997-98    1
1998-99    2
1999-00    1
2002-03    1
2003-04    1
2004-05    2
2005-06    1
2007-08    2
2015-16    1
2020-21    3

👍🏻

SomethingAboutObua

Think in the west you're more likely to see say Ayr and Kilmarnock home fixtures planned around each other only if the OF are playing one of them. Killie v Inverness wont require any police from Ayr but Ayr v Celtic would well bring in police from Kilmarnock 

Newcastle, Gateshead, Berwick and Sunderland come under Northumbria Police

Boro and Hartlepool come under Cleveland Police

Darlington comes under Durham Police

18 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

For Edinburgh the 2 Murrayfield 6 Nations fixtures need to be factored in.  05 & 26 February.

10 hours ago, davie1980 said:

Or Kilmarnock are from Kilmarnock and Ayr are from Ayr.

20 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

St Mirren were at home yesterday, it's about 6 or 7 miles drive fae Ibrox. Mental. :scared:

Just as well Partick played Morton on Saturday.

P v M 

R v C 

SM v SJ 

Carnage!

Help! Us! All!

I worked in a boozer in Dalry on a Saturday we played Hibs at Tynecastle at 3 and Scotland played England at Murrayfield  with a 2pm KO. I’ve never done a shift like it. We had to get a dray at 3.30pm for the full time rush. Total carnage. Then audited on the Monday. 

7 hours ago, Hearts Heritage said:

1877-78    1
1878-79    3
1879-80    6
1880-81    7
1881-82    7
1882-83    3
1883-84    9
1884-85    7
1885-86    9
1886-87    6
1887-88    7
1888-89    10
1889-90    6
1890-91    1
1892-93    6
1893-94    6
1894-95    6
1895-96    8
1896-97    6
1897-98    8
1898-99    6
1899-00    7
1900-01    9
1901-02    4
1902-03    5
1903-04    6
1904-05    5
1905-06    4
1906-07    5
1907-08    4
1908-09    2
1909-10    5
1910-11    4
1911-12    2
1912-13    5
1913-14    1
1914-15    1
1916-17    1
1918-19    1
1919-20    1
1920-21    4
1921-22    3
1922-23    4
1923-24    4
1924-25    3
1925-26    4
1927-28    3
1928-29    2
1929-30    2
1930-31    4
1931-32    1
1932-33    3
1933-34    1
1934-35    1
1936-37    1
1938-39    2
1939-40    2
1940-41    2
1944-45    1
1946-47    2
1947-48    2
1948-49    3
1949-50    1
1950-51    1
1952-53    2
1953-54    1
1955-56    1
1956-57    2
1960-61    1
1966-67    1
1970-71    1
1971-72    1
1972-73    1
1973-74    2
1975-76    2
1977-78    1
1978-79    3
1979-80    4
1980-81    2
1981-82    2
1983-84    1
1984-85    3
1986-87    1
1987-88    1
1988-89    3
1989-90    1
1991-92    1
1992-93    3
1995-96    2
1997-98    1
1998-99    2
1999-00    1
2002-03    1
2003-04    1
2004-05    2
2005-06    1
2007-08    2
2015-16    1
2020-21    3

I've a feeling a few of them were split over the weekend.

Definitely been at Tynie when the rugby has been on at the same time. Gorgie is bad enough post match as it is

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

St Mirren were at home yesterday, it's about 6 or 7 miles drive fae Ibrox. Mental. :scared:

Probably takes 6 or 7 hours too if you hit Govan just after the final whistle !

9 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Probably takes 6 or 7 hours too if you hit Govan just after the final whistle !

No ***** in Paisley supports StM, anyway. :D 

I'm no a *****, I'm a Hearts man. Is my reply.

Hearts Heritage
4 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I've a feeling a few of them were split over the weekend.

No it is an exact match on the date.

Hearts Heritage
4 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Definitely been at Tynie when the rugby has been on at the same time. Gorgie is bad enough post match as it is

150,000 in Edinurgh

Sat 02 Feb 1957
Hearts 0 Rangers 4
Hibernian 3 Aberdeen 4
Scotland 9 Wales 6

image.thumb.png.abab0aac9458d6c978a2939e71f958c5.png

On 29/08/2021 at 10:38, Maroon Sailor said:

I think they do but Away fans travelling by Train normally pull into Newcastle then the metro out. It was only Southampton and Wycombe the away teams. I think it would be different if the away teams had some naughty fans looking for a scrap. They couldn't have it. 

There must be a lot of fans going to away games passing each other going all over the country. I remember going to a Liverpool game years ago and was on the train heading back to the hotel in Warrington and the train was full of Forrest fans they were away to Tranmere Rovers 

5 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Just as well Partick played Morton on Saturday.

P v M 

R v C 

SM v SJ 

Carnage!

Help! Us! All!

It could of been worse Imagine Broomhill Fc actually playing home games in Broomhill and not miles away in Alloa . 

They actually drew 2.2 with CCS on Saturday not to be mistaken with Brad Welsh Hibs football firm 😂

On 29/08/2021 at 12:45, John Findlay said:

I think they come under two different constabularies. Newcastle Northumberland and Sunderland Durham.

Both are covered by Northumbria