• Thomaso

• Chaps

• King Of The Cat Cafe

14 minutes ago, jonesy said:

I don't want to think of Preston or Berra in racey lingerie, thank you.

8 minutes ago, jonesy said:

ROW-5-2-MERCY.jpg

Solid three at the back, mixed bag up front.

Thats a weak centre there def the Starfelt in the three

Edited by sadj

Kirky Jambo

Only saw his post match comments but they were definitely a bit off. Mainly his one about Soutter being able to get a move away from Hearts.

His “VAR” comment was also a bit unnecessary, particularly as the flag had gone up before the cross even came in.

Could have been a bit more diplomatic about Halliday but to be fair, how Madden didn’t give him a yellow was beyond me at the time and even more so when I saw it on tv

12 hours ago, Section N Rules said:

He's just eyeing a job up as a pundit after he retires. No one would be interested in him if he was blowing smoke up our arses. 

He'll never make a pundit.......

Why do people feel the need to have a pop at former players and managers?

Berra was a great player for us and injury hampered him 2nd time round.

He said nothing controversial.

13 hours ago, loveofthegame said:

He referred to us as we.

Gordon’s first save was out of this world but the second was absolute run of mill for him- as Berra said, he was only surprised Craigy didn’t catch it.  

souttar also wouldn’t be anywhere near hearts by now if it wasn’t for his injuries. 

And hallidays challenge was shocking (loved it), albeit just a yellow in my book.

nothing to see here, move along. 

Sums it up nicely

14 hours ago, Thomaso said:

Coming across as a bit of a dick TBH.

Gordon's second save seemingly “looked better than it was” and if Souter keeps playing well “He’ll get a move away from Tynecastle”.

Would like to see someone pour a bucket of water over him

Edited by rudi must stay

2 hours ago, Jamboelite said:

So former players and managers are immune from criticism now are they?

I took his comments on Gordon in a pretty positive way in that he implied his great save at the end was just an ordinary one for him. Barring that he talks a bit too slow for me, like Presley. 

Jean Louis Valois

Bitter Berra. Wasn't even invited to the trophy presentation last season, poor end to his time at Hearts. All of his own making it has to be said.

2 minutes ago, Jean Louis Valois said:

Bitter Berra. Wasn't even invited to the trophy presentation last season, poor end to his time at Hearts. All of his own making it has to be said.

Didn’t know that and tbf he’s every right to be pissed off and a shocking way to be treated. Ok he’s been finished for a couple of season but up until then he was a great servant to the club and made us a few bob.

Personally think he has also helped turn Souttar into the player he is now.

john thomas
15 hours ago, 2205ian said:

I had a conversation with a Rovers ST holder & he advised both Berra and Benedictus showed no leadership on the park today.

Rovers also losing a lot of headed goals this season, so looks like Berra has lost more than his pace, which was never his greatest asset.

He is obviously still hurting after his rant at RN turned sour resulting in no more games for him. It did coincide with the run of shut outs at the end of last season, so maybe the Manager was correct. 

It's a pity a good servant to HMFC over many years left "under a cloud" & it all stems back to his horrific hamstring injury.

Berra's pace was never his greatest asset ?

You clearly know nothing about him .

Back to OP . Just another thread with faux outrage . Bitter nonsense from so many .

Depressing stuff

No Idle Talk
15 hours ago, Thomaso said:

Gordon's second save seemingly “looked better than it was” and if Souter keeps playing well “He’ll get a move away from Tynecastle”.

I really didn't appreciate the Souttar comment. 

We all know deep down that it's true but there's no need to say it. It felt like he was shopping one of our best players. Not cool.

augusthearts
15 hours ago, jambo89 said:

Thought he was bitter, but playing devils advocate, perhaps he didn’t want to come across as biased and went too far the other way? 

15 hours ago, jambo89 said:

Thought he was bitter, but playing devils advocate, perhaps he didn’t want to come across as biased and went too far the other way? 

That would be my call.

56 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

So former players and managers are immune from criticism now are they?

No, but people go looking to abuse ex players and managers why?

29 minutes ago, Absolute Scenes said:

Remember, Berra cost us two Scottish cups. That is all

He didnt set out to cost us anything did he ? Ffs.

16 hours ago, Thomaso said:

He’s been bitter since Stendel tried to push him out. Wasn’t prepared to admit he was finished and made some comments to the press he should have kept to himself.

Really sad as he was a good servant to the club however can definitely see that he’s blaming his own failures on the club.

17 hours ago, Thomaso said:

Bitter man it seems.....

2 hours ago, Jamboelite said:

He didnt set out to cost us anything did he ? Ffs.

He obviously didn’t intend to, but still did.

18 hours ago, Thomaso said:

Seems a tad bitter no doubt, only reason he’s on I suppose. 

5 hours ago, Jamboelite said:

Berra is a bitter arse at times and the way he dealt with Levein getting sacked and Stendel coming in sums him up. Great captain once upon a time, but he’s burnt his bridges a bit I think. 

Thought he acted a bit of a dick with the whole Stendal thing but doesnt seem an awful lot wrong with what he was saying last night.

OP slavering shite, who'd have thunk that.

Cue a rapier like reposte...

18 hours ago, Section N Rules said:

He's just eyeing a job up as a pundit after he retires. No one would be interested in him if he was blowing smoke up our arses. 

Cannot be arsed with another Mikey Stewart that just lays the boot into the club every opportunity he gets... 

Isn't Berra still employed by the club, but as a coach?

Neil Mccanns Wand
19 hours ago, Thomaso said:

Yeah that about he’ll get his move away. Surely being a Jambo he shouldn’t be encouraging quality for want to leave. That really isn’t my ambition as a fan to want our best players gone 🤷‍♀️

9 minutes ago, OTT said:

Cannot be arsed with another Mikey Stewart that just lays the boot into the club every opportunity he gets... 

Isn't Berra still employed by the club, but as a coach?

Thought he plays for Raith Rovers now.

3 hours ago, Jamboelite said:

No, but people go looking to abuse ex players and managers why?

Where was the abuse? I commented on Berra’s less than complimentary comments and his dour demeanour!

Edited by Thomaso

51 minutes ago, Neil Mccanns Wand said:

Yeah that about he’ll get his move away. Surely being a Jambo he shouldn’t be encouraging quality for want to leave. That really isn’t my ambition as a fan to want our best players gone 🤷‍♀️

No indeed - a comment along the lines of “he will get plenty of international caps if he keeps performing at Hearts!” would have been preferable.

58 minutes ago, been here before said:

Thought he acted a bit of a dick with the whole Stendal thing but doesnt seem an awful lot wrong with what he was saying last night.

OP slavering shite, who'd have thunk that.

Cue a rapier like reposte...

And you just having a pop - who would have thunk that! 😂

Did I pish in your pint once because you come across all bitter and twisted! 

Theme From Sparta F.C.

At half time last night, a bloke in Section S upper came down the steps and started shouting Dogs abuse at Berra.

Berra looked shocked by it. As did the Sky staff standing on the TV platform.

It lasted a good couple of mins, then he went back to his seat.

Then at the start of the 2nd half the said "Gentleman" was lead down from his seat an escorted out of the Stadium.

1 hour ago, OTT said:

From what I heard over the years, Mikey Stewart laid the boot into Levein, and Levein's decisions as manager or DoF or whatever, every opportunity he got, rather than into the club itself. In fact, I've heard him speaking positively about us already, before the season had even started. That said, I don't listen to Sportsound or the radio in general that much, so maybe I'm wrong.

Didn't hear anything Berra said yesterday, so can't comment on that.

Edited by Auld Reekin'

It's a bit sad how things ended between Berra and the club. There's no doubt that ever since his injury a couple of years ago he's never been the same and I think he just could not seem to accept that his race was run.

But make no mistake, Berra is a Hearts legend. In all my time supporting Hearts I struggle to think of a player who played with such commitment and determination. I just wish that every player we signed had his sort of attitude. I just don't get the small minority of Hearts fans that bear some sort of grudge against him. 

bajthejambo

Berra's comments were fair enough. The only issue I had was with his views on Halliday's tackle. It did appear to run a little deeper than just the opinion of a pundit.

Gordon's second save looked easy because of his footwork. A lesser keeper may have been on his heels and never even got down to it.

Rocky jamboa

When I was watching him talk at the end I was thinking "you're meant to be for us!" 

The whole sky coverage was so biased towards celtic. Our first goal was all about celtics bad defending. Nothing about souttars good run, the run from ginnelly, or Boyces perseverance to get the ball across goal for gms. Celtics goal was all about the run from ralston. Nothing about the missed chances by us to stop him. And our 2nd goal was all about how bad celtics zonal marking was.

Liam mcleod is so biased towards celtic. Andy ... sorry.. walker, is hardly an impartial summariser either, although even he seemed less biased than mcleod. It was like watching the game on celtic TV!

PhoenixHearts

Didn't think he was THAT bad tbh. Yeah he wasn't effusive or full on Hearts but he's there to comment on a football game as objectively as he can.

He was very complimentary of Souttar and Haring, and if we're being honest him saying Souttar will get a big move away from the club soon is no different to what everyone on here thinks.

While I wouldn't go as far as him saying Halliday should have had a nailed on red, I do agree that it was a horrendously stupid and reckless challenge. He was right to highlight it because if the ref hadn't been so lenient it could have cost us the game.

Maybe Berra is a little bitter but I think some on here are being a bit too sensitive.

Do ex-players have to just whisper sweet nothings in our ears and kiss up the whole time?

21 hours ago, loveofthegame said:

He referred to us as we.

Gordon’s first save was out of this world but the second was absolute run of mill for him- as Berra said, he was only surprised Craigy didn’t catch it.  

souttar also wouldn’t be anywhere near hearts by now if it wasn’t for his injuries. 

And hallidays challenge was shocking (loved it), albeit just a yellow in my book.

nothing to see here, move along. 

Guarantee if that had been brown instead of mcgregor, there'd have been a full scale melee, with halliday red carded and brown getting a knighthood!!

Let Berra get on with his post football career.

Remember how grateful we all were when he returned to Hearts and took the financial hit to do so.

The injury he suffered in that Celtic game sounded horrific. He never recovered but gave everything to return and play for the club.

If he was chosen to play, and wasn't up to it, the blame lies elsewhere.

It annoys all of us when an ex OF player displays his bias, so why get angry if Berra didn't?

i wouldn't get anywhere as a pundit as I'd make even more cutting remarks about Hibs fans than David Currie did today.

Unlike ex OF players, Berra and co have to be impartial, probably pro OF if anything, or they won't last more than an afternoon as a pundit.

Ever heard Willie Miller, Alan Preston, Michael Stewart...say anything to upset the loons who follow those clubs?

Edited by martoon

Didn't see SKY so won't comment about Berra. 

I'm intrigued about the supposed disagreement with RN. 

I thought his issue was with Stendel which was before Robbie came back on the scene. In fact Robbie brought him back into the team didn't he ? 

KyleLafferty

Acted like a dick when Stendel came in and emptied him. Wasn’t invited to the trophy presentation. Wanted his move to raith announced before winning the league (strangely). Not really a fan of him anymore tbh. 

It’s a real shame, he was incredible up to the point that he destroyed his hammy, he was also desperate to get back playing and rushed himself back.  

He should be leaving as maybe not a legend but at least a cult hero but then we had the Stendel thing and I suspect the fallout with Robbie was after Brora when he went public and said he could see it coming. 

strange and silly way for it to end, said some dodgy stuff last night but also couldn’t help himself refer to hearts as “we” on a few occasions.. either way it’s probably best left at that 

At the game I thought Halliday should've had a yellow, but looking back on TV I'd 100% want a red if it was a Celtic player.

The offside call was wrong.

Not complaining at either obviously, sometimes it goes for you, others it doesn't.  Absolutely nowt wrong with what Berra said IMO, he's there as a pundit. He also constantly referred to Hearts as "we" and "us".

Odd thing to gripe about tbh.

3 hours ago, Theme From Sparta F.C. said:

At half time last night, a bloke in Section S upper came down the steps and started shouting Dogs abuse at Berra.

Berra looked shocked by it. As did the Sky staff standing on the TV platform.

It lasted a good couple of mins, then he went back to his seat.

Then at the start of the 2nd half the said "Gentleman" was lead down from his seat an escorted out of the Stadium.

That's really poor, guy gave many years of service to the club doesn't deserve that - he hardly slowed down and made mistakes on purpose.  

3 minutes ago, Jambo92 said:

That's really poor, guy gave many years of service to the club doesn't deserve that - he hardly slowed down and made mistakes on purpose.  

yep unnecessary 

3 minutes ago, Jambo92 said:

Aye.

Awful way to treat a lad like Berra.

Gave 100%, even when he wasn't.

Seeing a few comments about him not being invited to the league trophy  presentation, it was odd he wasn’t invited.

also that he apparently pushed for his raith move to be announced, has to be a reason.

im fairly certain however he isn’t involved with the club in any respect anymore. Think he was offered to continue in a coaching role, somewhere maybe with the academy but rejected it as he wants to focus on his playing career with Raith.

always two sides to every story I suppose 

1 hour ago, BM1874 said:

Seeing a few comments about him not being invited to the league trophy  presentation, it was odd he wasn’t invited.

also that he apparently pushed for his raith move to be announced, has to be a reason.

im fairly certain however he isn’t involved with the club in any respect anymore. Think he was offered to continue in a coaching role, somewhere maybe with the academy but rejected it as he wants to focus on his playing career with Raith.

always two sides to every story I suppose 

Things were not great between him and Robbie with how he left. Robbie was pissed off that he announced he was off to Raith before the season had finished. Felt he should’ve waited.

Berra had been told his contract was up so free to speak to other clubs. Felt Robbie completely disrespected him by basically telling him to do one after Raith move was announced.