The Buses are Maroon and White

Isn't it just marvellous that the buses in Edinburgh oor toon are Maroon and White just makes sense really 

Just now, The Maroon Pound said:

Isn't it just marvellous that the buses in Edinburgh oor toon are Maroon and White just makes sense really 

Apart from the new Green environmentally ones 😉

1 minute ago, John Findlay said:

And the blue ones and the black ones.... 🙄 

There's a lot of green pish on here

The buses are Maroon 

Edited by The Maroon Pound

...and the Lochend Cockends are bile-green, and shite.   :icon14:

One of the good things when working for lothian was the maroon buses and Maroon tie. **** driving an lothian country or east coast bus :clyay:

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Aye I see one of those *******s every time I'm out  ! 

1 hour ago, Section N Rules said:

One of the good things when working for lothian was the maroon buses and Maroon tie. **** driving an lothian country or east coast bus :clyay:

LC ties look like a hibs club ties, ****ing vile.

13 minutes ago, been here before said:

Why are the buses maroon and white?

Its surely nothing to do with the football colours.

Council colours, isn't it?

4 minutes ago, jamboozy said:

Is it urban myth the founder of Lothian was a dyed in the wool Jambo?

When I first joined the company I was told that was the reason why the buses were maroon and white from one of the driving instructors. There was a few hibees in the class so could have just been saying that to wind them up, I never bothered to look into it.

1 minute ago, Section N Rules said:

When I first joined the company I was told that was the reason why the buses were maroon and white from one of the driving instructors. There was a few hibees in the class so could have just been saying that to wind them up, I never bothered to look into it.

Thanks, I knew I had heard something about it, glad it’s no auld age😅

5 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Might be, dont know.

Dont the colours on the buses (and trams for a long time brfore them) pre-date the current council incarnation?

I once had a car painted LRT colours liberated via the back door.Even had a gold coach line.

Everything at the painters house and lock up was painted maroon.

He and his mate (both LRT painters)made a superb job of it.

When I was a wee lad a mate of mine would always flag down an Eastern Scottish bus (green yuck) just to wind me up. The only times I took one of their buses was to go down the coast before I could drive!

There’s more maroon in Edinburgh than anywhere else; front doors of houses, shop fronts, pub fronts, cars (incredible numbers don’t see many in other parts of the country!), buses and football shirts!

♥️♥️♥️♥️

Berra than you
2 minutes ago, Jambo-Fox said:

There’s more maroon in Edinburgh than anywhere else; front doors of houses, shop fronts, pub fronts, cars (incredible numbers don’t see many in other parts of the country!), buses and football shirts!

♥️♥️♥️♥️

The "double yellow" lines on the road are maroon/red in gorgie. Dunno if that means something different to double yellow. Nice all the same 

drumie jambo
51 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

I'm sure the Council colours are Red and Black are they not?

2 minutes ago, drumie jambo said:

I'm sure the Council colours are Red and Black are they not?

Thought they were black and white unless that is the City of Edinburgh colours

18 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Thought they were black and white unless that is the City of Edinburgh colours

Aye the Edinburgh 'colours' are black and white.

A quick check on Wikipedia states:

"Traditionally, Edinburgh Corporation, Lothian Regional Transport and Lothian Buses had a livery of madder (a dark red) and cream (white), with matching madder leatherette seating.

In the 1920s the livery, as seen on the Hall bodied Karrier Type WL6/1 six-wheelers on delivery, was maroon, with a cream band under the windows, with white window surrounds and a black roof. The fleetname was 'Corporation Motors', applied on the cream band".

So it seems the colours predate the 20s.

1 hour ago, been here before said:

Why are the buses maroon and white?

Its surely nothing to do with the football colours.

The colour of the buses pre-dates the current council incarnation and the foundation of Heart of Midlothian FC itself. (Although LB in its current form was only founded in 1919)

A pretty likely explanation is that the maroon colour was selected by either dance or football club founding members as a tribute to the city bus service at the time. 

51 minutes ago, Jambo-Fox said:

♥️♥️♥️♥️

I made sure the first car I bought was maroon, and its replacement is as well!

12 minutes ago, tian447 said:

I made sure the first car I bought was maroon, and its replacement is as well!

Snap! My current motor is Maroon, could we'll be my last, nice to bookend all the pish hue's in between with a man's colour...👍

Reg plate N051 JTS was available 3 years ago but I shat it...

Edited by OBE

1 hour ago, sum31uk said:

The colour of the buses pre-dates the current council incarnation and the foundation of Heart of Midlothian FC itself. (Although LB in its current form was only founded in 1919)

A pretty likely explanation is that the maroon colour was selected by either dance or football club founding members as a tribute to the city bus service at the time. 

Aye, thats dead likely.

1 hour ago, Jambo-Fox said:

I followed this car last night, nice colour! Number plate, no idea ….

A6CB27F0-B038-4D3D-98F5-B960AFE89A67.jpeg

SJ11 CFC, just with some *ahem* illegal character spacing.

Maybe just changed the spacing so it didn't look like Celtic at the end instead of getting a new reg? :lol: 

1 hour ago, sum31uk said:

There were buses before 1874 🤔🤷🏾‍♂️?

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

There were buses before 1874 🤔🤷🏾‍♂️?

Don't think so.  Didnt Hibs come back from Glasgow in 1902 in a stage coach?

It’s probably that simple. People do incorporate colours of their favourite team into their business logo. Maybe at one time the main council mob were mostly Jam Tarts?   

Don’t think we need a uni degree to work it out.

::troll::

2 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

Don't think so.  Didnt Hibs come back from Glasgow in 1902 in a stage coach?

Horse and Cart 

22 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Horse and Cart 

That's right.  Then they paraded it round Lochend on an open-topped horse.

Always loved that Edinburgh's buses are maroon.

My dad conducted on them before, and shortly after, I was born then drove them throughout my 70's childhood. 

Gives the city a wonderful splash of our colours.

"Even The Buses" was my username on the EEN back in the day. 

"The Hearts Whisperer" too, for a while.

17 hours ago, The Maroon Pound said:

Big team buses.

14 hours ago, Morgan said:

SMT buses were avoidable at all costs.   👍

Unless when trying to tip them over in the 70s 🤣🤣🤣

59 minutes ago, sum31uk said:

Who knows, all the pictures are black and white. 

I don’t think the horses, or carts would be maroon but I’m willing to be proved wrong. 

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

I recall years ago wearing my Hearts tie and grey suit to a function. 

Well that was until my wife said I looked like a bus driver......

I have a dark Maroon suit jacket that I feel like a bus driver if I wear a white shirt with it. 

On 29/07/2021 at 09:03, Berra than you said:

The "double yellow" lines on the road are maroon/red in gorgie. Dunno if that means something different to double yellow. Nice all the same 

The difference is that double yellows allow disabled parking/stopping and loading/unloading to happen, double reds prohibit any vehicle stopping for any reason (other than an emergency).

Weird that they are there though. Could be due to the relatively narrow nature of Gorgie Road.