Chocolate Bars

martoon

Another 2 which I cannot find original pics for are the 10p Wham bar which started at about 5cm by 15 cm - flipping enormous! and got smaller and smaller until it disappeared into a black hole somewhere... plus the Irn Bru Chews which I remember as being individual, rectangular, wrapped and in a packet of about 8 but I can only find pics as a bar like the Wham bar but that was later IIRC...

• Replies 153

• martoon

• ¼½¾

• Maroon Sailor

• Салатные палочки

9 hours ago, pointon said:

Rowntree Macintosh Golden Cup

This is the winner and loved golden cup 

Granny used to work for rowntree mackintosh and would bring home bags of 2nds. 

When my mum used to say we are going to visit granny my eyes lit up as I knew she’d have white bags full of sweets although she went through a spell of always bringing home bags of lion bars and wasn’t keen on them 

Jambo-Jimbo
2 hours ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Mars would occasionally release batches of 'Dark & Light' for limited periods but can't recall the last time I saw them. 

Mint Wispa was superb and should definitely make a return. 

Last time I seen them was in Cosco years ago, I bought a whole box of them.

Jambo-Jimbo
9 hours ago, Victorian said:

Golden Cup.

Munchies.

Star Bar.

Oh yes.

Munchies & Mintola's are still around, albeit smaller of course and near enough £1 a packet, not had them in absolute ages.

Mackintosh's Golden Cup, was always a favorite of mine.

2 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

Didn't get one of these very often.

99521688fb83346f137812ef468ed237.jpg

10p!! For a whole box of Milk Tray... in a bar!!!

Why did I not know this and why isn't there a petition in Government to get them to force Cadbury's to bring it back?

Savage Vince
1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

Another one I remember buying was confectionary cigarettes and cigarillos. Unbelievable that these got made. Couldn't find the actual UK ones as a pic but the Aussie ones were even called Fags!

image.png.174123712585d3243426d113db5816de.png

Those were the days 😎

crunchy frog
2 hours ago, Spellczech said:

Another one I remember buying was confectionary cigarettes and cigarillos. Unbelievable that these got made. Couldn't find the actual UK ones as a pic but the Aussie ones were even called Fags!

image.png.174123712585d3243426d113db5816de.png

Balderstones newsagent at Duart Crescent off Drumbrae always had these kind of sweeties you would never see anywhere else!

3 hours ago, fast_blood said:

Vice Versas made a return a few years ago but seem to have disappeared again. 

Aye. I read that last night. 

Must have been quite short lived as they were only introduced in the early 90's.

2 hours ago, martoon said:

Aye. I read that last night. 

Must have been quite short lived as they were only introduced in the early 90's.

Needless to say they weren't as good as I remembered. 

Jambo-Jimbo
1 hour ago, Pepe le pew said:

How about chelsea whoppers

Yum yum.

Shrimps, chocolate banana's, banana's, black jacks, fruit salad, mushrooms, milk bottles, flying saucers, cola bottles and goodness knows how many other wonderful things you got in the pick & mix, and best of all, you often got a big bag full of sweets for pennies.

50 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

0_Marathon-Chocolate-Bar.jpg.4c247bf5f97cd1acb9a768ffdae7462e.jpg

I'm sure Snickers were rebranded back to Marathon for a short while recently. I can't remember the reason but may have been associated with the Olympics before they were shelved last year. 

Stewie Griffin
21 hours ago, IronJambo said:

I've been in mourning since they changed the Milky Way to the abomination that it is now.

I’m the same wish they’d change it back 

21 hours ago, IronJambo said:

I've been in mourning since they changed the Milky Way to the abomination that it is now.

F993DBEF-3CEB-4B6E-A449-9376F3AF5F7F.jpeg

Not exactly a chocolate bar but galaxy truffles in celebrations were class 

Edited by Chaps

Haha. i also like Harry Enfield. 

Tasted better when it was Dime. 

Edited by Greedy Jambo

On 28/07/2021 at 21:25, IronJambo said:

I preferred these, probably because they were bigger,

f0be97933dff557162a4d98aca437519.jpg

5 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

I preferred these, probably because they were bigger,

f0be97933dff557162a4d98aca437519.jpg

Never seen those before. I'm only young 😁

On 28/07/2021 at 21:40, EH11_2NL said:

No photo description available.

I'm going back to when I was a laddie living in Muirhouse 1975. There was a papershop opposite the Spar in the shopping centre but can't recall the name. 

I don't remember a newsagent opposite the Spar. There was the El Mexicano sweet shop just down from the Spar on the other side. The newsagent I remember was round the corner towards the chippy. R S McColls, maybe Birrells originally? 

Used to enjoy a Caramac myself. Cadburys have now issued a version, forget the name.

On 28/07/2021 at 21:25, felix said:

Cadbury's answer to the Mars - tasted better iirc

aztec.jpg

Cheers, i did not know that was what they were.

Disappeared early 70s im sure.

7 minutes ago, Cade said:

Now all you're going to do here is start the 'chocolate bar or biscuit' argument. :D

48 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Cheers, i did not know that was what they were.

Disappeared early 70s im sure.

'Had me worried so had to check. Aztecs disappeared during punks heyday ('78). Remember them well. 

The advert from '68 didn't exactly aim for the young market. Reminds me of Mel Gibsons (superb)  Apocalypto :25:

3 hours ago, mrcrisps said:

Now all you're going to do here is start the 'chocolate bar or biscuit' argument. :D

Wafer, caramel, fondant, rice, chocolate.

Nae biscuit in sight. :thumbsup:

On 29/07/2021 at 18:22, Samuel Camazzola said:

I'm sure Snickers were rebranded back to Marathon for a short while recently. I can't remember the reason but may have been associated with the Olympics before they were shelved last year. 

Weird but i hate calling them Snickers to this day.

Anybody mind Rocky Bars from the ice cream van? They didnt come in a wrapper. They were a wee square chocolate bar with something similar to honeycomb bits inside it.

On 29/07/2021 at 14:57, Sawdust Caesar said:

Cadbury is bringing back a classic chocolate bar after a decade off our  shelves

I miss this although Ritter Sport do a decent rum and raisin bar.

@Morganand I have an appreciation of the Old Jamaica bar. Bournville have recently dont their variation on it but I am struggling to find stockists (cleared a sweet shop of their stock @ Selby at the start of the month).

Home Bargains currently stock a dark chocolate R&R bar this is worth a try. 

52 minutes ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

@Morganand I have an appreciation of the Old Jamaica bar. Bournville have recently dont their variation on it but I am struggling to find stockists (cleared a sweet shop of their stock @ Selby at the start of the month).

Home Bargains currently stock a dark chocolate R&R bar this is worth a try. 

:fing10:

Edited by Morgan

On 29/07/2021 at 18:41, Lemongrab said:

8a90fa9fe569c0db1d2823beb5f92256.jpg

You can get a 3 pack of these which are a decent size for £1 in Home Bargains, love them.

On 29/07/2021 at 11:42, crunchy frog said:

Kinda glad these are gone.

Tasted like crap

Screenshot_20210729-114147_Gallery.jpg

Just the name itself says they’ll be shiiiiiiite

On 28/07/2021 at 21:13, martoon said:

The 54321 chocolate bar/biscuit was mentioned in the Scottish Clubs in Europe thread and got me thinking of other confectionery that has been discontinued. 1989 in this case.

The one I miss most from childhood/younger days were these bad boys which disappeared in 1992, apparently.

lylasZXWEjANIEw-800x800-noPad.jpg.e3ccf9151749e03a183b357165143ab5.jpg

What's you're long forgotten favourite?

Think I’ve seen these in Home Bargains too.

Still prefer this one as the best bar of chocolate ever...

14457373-9DF3-418C-BEE2-F73A7C477847.png

2 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

You can get a 3 pack of these which are a decent size for £1 in Home Bargains, love them.

Just the name itself says they’ll be shiiiiiiite

Think I’ve seen these in Home Bargains too.

Still prefer this one as the best bar of chocolate ever...

14457373-9DF3-418C-BEE2-F73A7C477847.png

Need to check it out.

Cheers, bud.