Scottish Clubs in Europe

Rangers get a relatively easy draw in the CL. Celtic, St Johnstone, Aberdeen and Hibs look unlikely to progress very far.

Rangers will face Malmo or HJK Helsinki in the CL 3QR. Memories for fans of the Oldco of 10 years ago after Malmo put paid to Craig Whyte's plans.

Celtic v Midtjylland (1st leg) tomorrow and, if they go through, PSV or Galatasaray in the CL 3QR.   If Celtic lose against the Danes, then they will face Jablonec of the Czech Republic in the EL 3QR.  I think that's their best route to playing group matches.

St Johnstone will face the loser of the PSV v Galatasary tie in their EL 3QR game.

Hibs v  Santa Coloma on Thursday in their Conf League 2QR, then Croatian side Rijeka or Gzira United of Malta if they progress.  They should get through the first round but will struggle against Rijeka.

Aberdeen play Hacken on Thursday then Austria Vienna or Breidablik of Iceland. They will struggle to beat the Swedes, far less the Austrians.

• Replies 4.6k

• neilnunb

• sadj

• Hearts007

Can we have a competition on the title of this years Hibs in Europe dvd….

Maltese Mayhem is my guess as they crash out on pens after a plucky 2-2 draw! 

Rangers will be happy with their draw. Malmo struggled to overcome a Latvian team in the last round albeit doing well in the league. Don't think HJK are anything to be feared.

Celtic won't have it easy against the Danes but reckon they'll see them off. Not sure there after who I'd want if I was one of them. Galatasaray is probably less favourable. Also PSV look set to lose Malen and Dumfries before the tie rolls around. Whether they'll have replacements for them in time, I don't know.

Not bad draws for Hibs. They should pump this Andorran team, and Rijeka is tough on paper, but pretty sure Aberdeen beat them a year or 2 ago? Speaking of the Dons, I think they'll struggle past Hacken, and Austria Vienna will be tough, but both are winnable if they turn up.

St Johnstone don't stand a chance against PSV or Galatasaray but should be a good occasion. They'll have one eye on the Conference play-off draw as that's the big one for them. 

Malmo really should be a favourite team for many of us.  If not all.

Killed Rangers, ****** Hibs.

Edited by DETTY29

I reckon Rangers and Celtic will end up playing Europa League Groups, the rest I suspect will be out before the end of August.

Im sure Ive heard of Malmo before in  European context...

Cannae mind what it is though.

JS22287709.thumb.jpg.553d624504fc4a527358f55f8fcc3873.jpg

I hope they all fall at the first hurdle. Selfish I know but I care not a **** about Scottish teams in Europe unless it’s Hearts.

1 hour ago, Rudy T said:

Can we have a competition on the title of this years Hibs in Europe dvd….

Maltese Mayhem is my guess as they crash out on pens after a plucky 2-2 draw! 

But but we qualified for the euro booby prize and the yams didnae. Like. 

38 minutes ago, been here before said:

Im sure Ive heard of Malmo before in  European context...

Cannae mind what it is though.

You beat me to it, BHB.  :sad: 

I use that picture a lot when it seems appropriate to completely mock these trash heaps.

Mind you, when is it not appropriate to mock these trash heaps?

C'mon Europe.

Get Hibs, Celtic and Rangers pumped.

Aberdeen and St.J can gtf, too.

I’ll be putting a bit of cash on Midtjylland

Been a huge success story and certain to be underrated 

1 hour ago, DETTY29 said:

Malmo really should be a favourite team for many of us.  If not all.

Killed Rangers, ****** Hibs.

Kaunas put a nail in their coffin as well as did we when we got 2nd…

No Idle Talk
3 hours ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

I’ll be putting a bit of cash on Midtjylland

Been a huge success story and certain to be underrated 

I have been thinking the same. Celtic are a mess at the moment. 

Japan Jambo
11 hours ago, alwaysthereinspirit said:

I hope they all fall at the first hurdle. Selfish I know but I care not a **** about Scottish teams in Europe unless it’s Hearts.

But, but, but think of the co-efficient. Na your right crash and burn, only Hearts.

7 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

I have been thinking the same. Celtic are a mess at the moment. 

You say that but their midfield and forward line could still be something like:

McGregor Turnbull Soro Christie

Ajeti Edouard 

Be honest we’d love that sort of talent at Hearts. Their defence is poor but with no away goal rule now so long as they out score them it doesn’t matter.

14 hours ago, Section N Rules said:

**** them, hope they all lose.

Is the right answer 👍🏽👏🏾

13 hours ago, been here before said:

What does the FF stand for?

Edited by Tasavallan

In the style of Viz top tips .

Scottish teams Scare the shit out of visiting European sides with giant welcome to plague Island banners around the stadiums .

IveSeenTheLight
1 hour ago, Longbaws said:

Double figure wins for all the European teams please.

**** the coefficent.

Only Hearts.

Out of interest, do you have hope for Hearts to qualify for Europe and progress to the more lucrative group stages?

It is extremely difficult when facing the seeding system e.g. our next two likely opponents (BK Hacken and Austira Vienna) probably represent one of our better opportunities to progress (although Hacken are hitting form and are half way through their season)

Even if we were to progress the next two qualifying rounds, we'd be in a draw to likely be up against one of the following in the play-off round

AS Roma                  Ita  90.000

Tottenham Hotspur        Eng  88.000

FC Basel **              Sui  49.000

FC København **          Den  43.500

Viktoria Plzen **        Cze  33.500

AA Gent **               Bel  26.500

Anderlecht *3            Bel  25.000

FK Astana **             Kaz  22.500

LASK *3                  Aut  21.000

Feyenoord **             Ned  21.000

Qarabag FK **            Azb  21.000

FCSB **                  Rom  21.000

Maccabi Tel-Aviv **      Isr  20.500

PAOK Thessaloniki ***    Gre  20.000

AEK Athens **            Gre  19.500

Spitonastranger
1 hour ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Out of interest, do you have hope for Hearts to qualify for Europe and progress to the more lucrative group stages?

It is extremely difficult when facing the seeding system e.g. our next two likely opponents (BK Hacken and Austira Vienna) probably represent one of our better opportunities to progress (although Hacken are hitting form and are half way through their season)

Even if we were to progress the next two qualifying rounds, we'd be in a draw to likely be up against one of the following in the play-off round

Hope you are humilated and Broonie scores 8 own goals 😃

8 minutes ago, Spitonastranger said:

Apparently we've signed 97 players since 2014/15. Every single one of them is head and shoulders above him.

They are a man down everytime he starts.

IveSeenTheLight
1 hour ago, Longbaws said:

I hope Aberdeen lose 20-0👍

1 hour ago, Spitonastranger said:

Understandable gents, but I would think that your hopes are unrealistic and likely to be unfulfilled. 

20 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

Rangers get a relatively easy draw in the CL. Celtic, St Johnstone, Aberdeen and Hibs look unlikely to progress very far.

Rangers will face Malmo or HJK Helsinki in the CL 3QR. Memories for fans of the Oldco of 10 years ago after Malmo put paid to Craig Whyte's plans.

Celtic v Midtjylland (1st leg) tomorrow and, if they go through, PSV or Galatasaray in the CL 3QR.   If Celtic lose against the Danes, then they will face Jablonec of the Czech Republic in the EL 3QR.  I think that's their best route to playing group matches.

St Johnstone will face the loser of the PSV v Galatasary tie in their EL 3QR game.

Hibs v  Santa Coloma on Thursday in their Conf League 2QR, then Croatian side Rijeka or Gzira United of Malta if they progress.  They should get through the first round but will struggle against Rijeka.

Aberdeen play Hacken on Thursday then Austria Vienna or Breidablik of Iceland. They will struggle to beat the Swedes, far less the Austrians.

Is there any hint to who the rangers would play in the play off round? Surely a team with pedigree...

12 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Is there any hint to who the rangers would play in the play off round? Surely a team with pedigree...

Rangers is the seeded team in QR3 of the champions path, but is predicted to be unseeded in the PO Round 

The predicted seeded clubs in the PO Round are Salzburg, Dinamo Zagreb, Slavia Prague and Olympiakos.  That assumes that the last three progress through their qualifying round.

That would leave the possibility of a repeat of last season's Slavia Prague v Rangers tie. I wonder if Kudela would be free to come to Glasgow should the draw play out that way.

Edited by Footballfirst

Similarly Celtic is a seeded team in QR2 and QR3 of the non champions path, but is predicted to be unseeded in the PO Round.

The predicted seeded clubs for the PO Round in the non champions path are Shakhtar Donetsk and Benfica.

Expect sevco to do well tbh. The others may last a round but will get pumped soon enough.

of course ideal situation is for each and every one of them to be humiliated in their first game

Edited by 1971fozzy

3 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Id love you lot to get Spurs .

popcorn at the ready

Spitonastranger
1 hour ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Understandable gents, but I would think that your hopes are unrealistic and likely to be unfulfilled. 

How do you know  you still dream of the 80's 

My Celtic supporting mate reckons they are in for a bit of a tanking over the two legs. I hope he is correct! 

1 hour ago, Bluesy1874 said:

My Celtic supporting mate reckons they are in for a bit of a tanking over the two legs. I hope he is correct! 

Been watching. They look very poor, apart from their front 3.

Liam McLeod still shrieking like a loon when Celtic score.

Can't stand that snivelling wee git.