The Open

53 minutes ago, OBE said:

Going on for 20 minutes and not seen one ball struck on the course, Sky coverage is feckin rank....

It's light years ahead of what BBC used to offer. 

If there is no content on which you are looking for, I recommend putting on Talksport 2 as you'll get the Open Radio broadcast. Rob Lee and Inci Mehmet provide the coverage (before they do the Sky wrap-up show). Some good interviews and insights - although you'll still not see a shot being struck. 😉 

• Replies 223

• Maroon Sailor

• Cruyff

• Victorian

• Samuel Camazzola

1 minute ago, Harry Potter said:

Spieth could be in with a chance.

Yeah, there are eagles and birdies out there but some could be punished too. 

Bob Mac sneaking up nicely and on the verge of slipping into the top 5.

Sky should offer a red button service where you can mute welts like Faldo and even more so that wee slavering shitehouse McGinlay, who has the amazing ability to be totally wrong about everything. 

Looking like a 2 horse race now.  With a maximum effort MacIntyre could be looking at 4th or 5th.  Hopefully he'll grind away.

Great effort from MacIntrye to get up the leaderboard after an underwhelming first 2 rounds. Seems a good lad, hope he manages a top 10 finish.

6 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Looking like a 2 horse race now.  With a maximum effort MacIntyre could be looking at 4th or 5th.  Hopefully he'll grind away.

A tad too early to write off anyone yet. Will see how they are all placed with nine to go. 

9 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

How's MacIntyre looking for a Ryder Cup spot?

Before this week, 11th on European points list and 14th on World list. 

9 automatic placings and three picks. 

Lowry looks likely to move into final auto place ahead of Perez this week. 

1 minute ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Before this week, 11th on European points list and 14th on World list. 

9 automatic placings and three picks. 

Lowry looks likely to move into final auto place ahead of Perez this week. 

That's a shame, just outside. Hopefully a high finish will put him in Harrington's mind for a wildcard spot.

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

That's a shame, just outside. Hopefully a high finish will put him in Harrington's mind for a wildcard spot.

I think Harrington will go for 2 from rose/poulter/Garcia. 

Just now, Furious Styles said:

I think Harrington will go for 2 from rose/poulter/Garcia. 

Yeah. Hard to leave them out with their experience and track records tbf.

3 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Yeah. Hard to leave them out with their experience and track records tbf.

I’d like him to pick McIntyre. His performance at the wgc showed his ability at matchplay. 
Hopefully he qualifies automatically 

7 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Keep in mind that some of the guys high up on one list are also occupying high spots on the other so he's not too far away from applying pressure to the auto picks. 

Rose, Garcia, Poulter and Willett are all in and around him. With Hovland (and possibly Perez) being the only rookie, a form player may get the nod ahead of experience. 

10 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I admire golfers' bravery wearing white or light coloured trousers with all the erse twitching going on. 

Even a fert could have dire consequences. 

I can see why Louis has his dark ones on......

😂, yer some boy.

11 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I admire golfers' bravery wearing white or light coloured trousers with all the erse twitching going on. 

Even a fert could have dire consequences. 

I can see why Louis has his dark ones on......

8F6CD8B4-23FA-470C-901D-7811095AE4E5.jpeg

2 hours ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

It's light years ahead of what BBC used to offer. 

If there is no content on which you are looking for, I recommend putting on Talksport 2 as you'll get the Open Radio broadcast. Rob Lee and Inci Mehmet provide the coverage (before they do the Sky wrap-up show). Some good interviews and insights - although you'll still not see a shot being struck. 😉 

14 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Nightmare tee shot from Bob! Of all the holes to do that! 😔

Right handers might slice...left handers might hook, it's tight.

Top shitehousery from the Battle of Britain memorial flight buzzing the course with a pair of spitfires 👍

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Sky should offer a red button service where you can mute welts like Faldo and even more so that wee slavering shitehouse McGinlay, who has the amazing ability to be totally wrong about everything. 

Dougherty is a bit of a tool as well

Morikawa 3 birdies on the spin gives him daylight with the back 9 to play

If John Rahm's putter was working he'd be about -12. So many missed chances. 

Louis Oosthuizen has ****ed it. Speith is the only one that's catching Morikawa now and only if he makes a mistake. 

Glad the rules have evolved so no penalty for Rahm after his ball rolled a few cm as he addressed his eagle putt. But looks like he might end up with a par anyway :laugh:

39 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I'd be amazed if Morikawa loses this. 

Wonderful iron player and putting everything.

It's his to lose now.

By the way McGinlay was a great Ryder Cup captain but his commentary is mince. Just said "beautiful play there........oh no" as the ball went into the rough.

Murray is ok but a bit snooty. "Gillan is a wonderful course".

It's Gullane ya bools in the mooth welt.

That's the one thing I don't like about Murray. Seems ashamed of his natural accent and puts on this phoney posh English one.

Listen to him pronounce birdie 

Of course Oosthuizen would fade away, i had money on him. Same happened when I backed Molinari a few years ago at the masters :seething:

7 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Oooooooh Morikawa in the thick stuff. 

Just now, jonnothejambo said:

Now in the hole......

Reminds of nights out back in the old days. 

8 minutes ago, Section N Rules said:

Of course Oosthuizen would fade away, i had money on him. Same happened when I backed Molinari a few years ago at the masters :seething:

Golf for you. I prefer my bets to be leading in the clubhouse 😂

Pretty tame tournament not much movement at the top of the leaderboard.

The Open needs breezy conditions, not blowing a hoolie, just testing conditions.

2 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

The Open needs breezy conditions, not blowing a hoolie, just testing conditions.

Aye, looks all over now.

10 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

None of the courses on the Open circuit have a par 5 to finish. Some used to... maybe those same holes need lengthened again.