• JackLadd

• Cade

• Homme

Actually, I flicked over to Red Button for a moment. Some Mafia Don was singing Nessum Dorma, brought back memories of Italia '90. Goose bumps !  Fecking terrifying !

Just now, Cruyff said:

Andrea Bocelli 

****ing 

:glorious:

I had that once, my guts were ROTTEN !

You're right he was outstanding !

2 minutes ago, whodanny said:

I had that once, my guts were ROTTEN !

You're right he was outstanding !

That was maybe the greatest performance I've ever seen tbh. 

john thomas
1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

4 nil to Italy. 

And I don't mind the English bias when Scotland are at the tournament. Especially if we pump them. 

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

giphy.gif?cid=6c09b952fe707729a0ddb87884

Starting to get the buzz. :yas:

Southgate has given me the buzz

This will unite the nation , we are a strong nation , we are a strong island

In case of doubt the 'we' referred to wasn't Wales or Scotland

Just now, Cruyff said:

That was maybe the greatest performance I've ever seen tbh. 

Like I said earlier, opening ceremonies aren't really my thing, but that was moving and fittng to open a big tournament like this.

Much better than that U2 pish, what was that ?

1 minute ago, Barack said:

Italy:

Best national anthem in the world, imo. 

:sadrobbo:

France and Russia would like a word.

2 minutes ago, john thomas said:

Southgate has given me the buzz

This will unite the nation , we are a strong nation , we are a strong island

In case of doubt the 'we' referred to wasn't Wales or Scotland

I do actually let them off being excited. 

But they are deluded about England. Just be a bit more humble about a talented but very inexperienced squad and one isn't any better than at each 12 other squads. 

Just now, Cade said:

What about Gebrovia ?  "We come from Gebrovia, and we don't give a shit"  beautiful.

Just now, Maroon Sailor said:

Mancini looking like a headmaster at assembly during the National Anthem

Looks like he's  borrowed Hermin Goerings outfit 

1 minute ago, Cade said:

And Wales. 

England and Scotland will put everyone to sleep, next week. :sleeping2:

3 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Like I said earlier, opening ceremonies aren't really my thing, but that was moving and fittng to open a big tournament like this.

Much better than that U2 pish, what was that ?

The Italians do things well and fair play to UEFA.

2 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

We need a proper anthem and to drop the dirge! 

Agree. I hate flower of Scotland 

The Azzurri The Bianci tonight

Not the same - no need to change

Edited by Maroon Sailor

john thomas
1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said:

I do actually let them off being excited. 

But they are deluded about England. Just be a bit more humble about a talented but very inexperienced squad and one isn't any better than at each 12 other squads. 

Of course people should support their team . The universal , arrogant , acceptance that Britain is England [or vice versa] is offensive

3 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

no knee taken. Rio better get em telt at half time. 

Give it a rest, we're here for the fitba.

1 minute ago, whodanny said:

Give it a rest, we're here for the fitba.

A knees as good as a rest, true. 

Just wondering how much of the crowd noise is genuine. Seemed to be a lot of booing when Italy won the ball back from the Turkish defence. A bit of canned crowd noise I think. Only 16,000 in attendance too.

I sort of assumed we'd have our own broadcast team for this tournament, listening to the likes of Ian Wright and Glen Hoddle is going to be a pain in the arse when we play them

3 minutes ago, cosanostra said:

Italy getting the ball plenty but they don't really look dangerous. 

Until that move

Just now, Mikey1874 said:

Until that move

Surprised how deep Turkey are sitting. By all accounts, they might be the fitter and faster team. 

25 minutes ago, Barack said:

Italy:

Best national anthem in the world, imo. 

:sadrobbo:

France and Spain?

:sweeet:

Just now, cosanostra said:

Surprised how deep Turkey are sitting. By all accounts, they might be the fitter and faster team. 

Turkey are relying on the Italian moves not coming off and just stifling them.

High risk. 

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

Spain?

If they could come up with some words, then it'd be an Anthem.

At the moment it's just a nice wee tune.