Broccoli, King of Veg!!

1 hour ago, Craig_ said:

Cold steamed broccoli with sesame oil, soy sauce and some toasted nuts or seeds is a wonderful side dish. 

Nice wee bit dukkah

4 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Pretty much this.

If we are looking for tasty veg, look no further than samphire.

Those uncultured souls, who haven’t tried it, can thank me later.

Kind of salty? Had it before but Cannae eat a lot of it.

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

I’m a huge fan of green beans. The wee skinny guys that squeak when you bite them. 

You'd love hello fresh then. Just about in every dish haha

13 hours ago, Cade said:

Nice wee bit dukkah

That's a middle-eastern thing, isn't it? Will need to check it out.

The broccoli salad I was talking about I've only ever had in China. 

45 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

That's a middle-eastern thing, isn't it? Will need to check it out.

The broccoli salad I was talking about I've only ever had in China. 

Aye but it's any mix of spices, herbs, nuts and salt to be honest.

There's just about as many Dukkah blends as there are people.

Tenaciousdandy
21 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Pretty much this.

If we are looking for tasty veg, look no further than samphire.

Those uncultured souls, who haven’t tried it, can thank me later.

Samphire is lovely with some grilled fish

Do like my broccoli 🥦 as well tho 

Edited by Tenaciousdandy

My wife forces me to have broccoli every so often. I can only eat it if I totally smother it in Tomato Sauce!

The first edict of George Bush senior when he became President was that he was never to be served Broccoli  after being force fed it by his mother then his wife. A good use of power and he lived to a ripe old age. 

51 minutes ago, jonesy said:

In light of this revelation, you should never be allowed to make decisions about food. 

:sick:

Uh oh, it takes a thread about humble vegetables for me to agree with the Jones boy. :( :lol:

4 hours ago, jambos are go! said:

My wife forces me to have broccoli every so often. I can only eat it if I totally smother it in Tomato Sauce!

The first edict of George Bush senior when he became President was that he was never to be served Broccoli  after being force fed it by his mother then his wife. A good use of power and he lived to a ripe old age. 

Mods? This needs looked at surely? 🤷🏼‍♂️

14 hours ago, jambos are go! said:

Do you round off the meal with some dry cereal?

2 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Do you round off the meal with some dry cereal?

i was about to ask is tha t worse than those deviants who eat dry cereal

1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

i was about to ask is tha t worse than those deviants who eat dry cereal

Two cheeks of the same arse, I reckon. 

On 09/06/2021 at 03:13, Konrad von Carstein said:

Beans,  broad, french,  butter,  endamami and so forth 🤤😎

Blonde or brunette?

On 09/06/2021 at 11:27, jambos are go! said:

Broccoli becomes bitter if it gets too old.  Buy it fresh (green) and cook it as little as possible.  A couple of minutes in a steamer works for me.

26 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

Blonde or brunette?

Hair colour doesn't matter,  as long as she has a pulse, cracking figure and is in general stunning... :lol:

Edited by Konrad von Carstein

I had an Italian  GF years ago, one of my favourites was broccoli, cooked in a little olive oil with garlic and chilli, cook some pasta (Orecchiette preferably) add it all together with loads of parmesan..... absolutely amazing. Had loads of family asking.me to make it over the years.

Broccoli and spinach are by far my favourite veg, so versatile, goes with Italian, Chinese, Indian, even Mexican food 

Swahili Jambo
4 hours ago, Bad Religion said:

Made this the other night, world class. Thanks 

Broccoli and stilton soup, sounds a bit posh but give it a try man.  Superb👍

Just had a good helping of Brocoli with my Scotch Pie and chips. Just like old times on Niddrie beat, no fish and chips the night over to the chip shop in Niddrie Mains Drive and get a pie and chips. Some things no matter how far your away can still be got.

20 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Prefer baked beans with Pie & Chips, Bob. 

Beans over the pie too.

Funny you mention that, it is my normal menu, but the doctor asked me recently if I was eating enough greens so I bought the Brocoli. I may have lived in Canadas for a while, but my food tastes are still Edinburgh, I was fortunate my wife spent enough time in Edinburgh to be able to feed my menu desires here. Even in our last times together when asked what the evening meal was going to be she would say mince and tatties, not as others may say ground beef and potatoes.

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

Prefer baked beans with Pie & Chips, Bob. 

Beans over the pie too.

Beans rather than pie? Weirdo