Alcohol free or low alcohol beer

redjambo

Marks and Spencer Czech lager is a nice easy drinker. Not too chemically, one of the better ones.

It is 0.5% tho, rather than completely alco free

• 7 months later...
  • Replies 147

• redjambo

• postage-stamp

• Francis Albert

• ri Alban

Wee bump since I've stayed sober over Christmas

Corona Cero is about the best zero alcohol lager. Helps that a lime is acceptable, gives it that more tart taste so you can just swig it.

Likely Budvar Nealko as well. Original Budvar is one of my favourite lagers. They don't come close but it's still decent.

Peroni 0% is also drinkable. Happy to have seen this in a few bars out and about. The less common Becks blue and Heineken zero become the better. Both bowfin but often the only options

Got friends who drink Guinness and like the alcohol free version, I'll take their word for it 🙄

14 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Got my cup holder modified so it takes two tins of Strongbow at the same time. Like, for longer journeys. 

This is a real man right here 👆😍

Guiness 0.0 still my favourite. 

A bit off topic but discoverd recently a locally brewed (Bermondsey) draught beer called "Small Beer". It is naturally brewed low alcohol (2.7%), not beer with alcohol removed. It is a sort common in the States and esewhere in the days when tap water was unsafe/unreliable. It is the real thing and tastes like it ... 

40 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Tbh, I don't see the point. I don't drink alcohol for the taste.

I went through a wee spell of buying Heineken 0, but soon realised I was chucking my money away. It’s not great and your post pretty much nails it. Heineken Silver is the only Heineken coming through my front door now.

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Still can't beat a pint on a summer's day etc. But sometimes not worth the hassle or the risk

I've never drunk soft drinks like cola etc. I'm not much of a sweet tooth. Whereas I enjoy a lager.

Also swigging bottles of peroni 0. I was well into the night before anyone even questioned it. Not that it bothers me but it saves the initial "just have a pint, get the car tomorrow" blah blah blah.

Think the main thing for me is how unproductive I am the next day.

I work, care for my mother, trying to get fit and have some time for me around family life and 3 kids. Times precious. I cba wasting it in bed these days.

Anyway, I totally get why folk wouldn't bother but there's my take.

I often just drink sparkling water as well tbf 

Plus I'm not teetotal anyway. But I've Defo been thinking about it

57 minutes ago, Alan_R said:

Still can't beat a pint on a summer's day etc. But sometimes not worth the hassle or the risk

I've never drunk soft drinks like cola etc. I'm not much of a sweet tooth. Whereas I enjoy a lager.

Also swigging bottles of peroni 0. I was well into the night before anyone even questioned it. Not that it bothers me but it saves the initial "just have a pint, get the car tomorrow" blah blah blah.

Think the main thing for me is how unproductive I am the next day.

I work, care for my mother, trying to get fit and have some time for me around family life and 3 kids. Times precious. I cba wasting it in bed these days.

Anyway, I totally get why folk wouldn't bother but there's my take.

I often just drink sparkling water as well tbf 

Plus I'm not teetotal anyway. But I've Defo been thinking about it

I'm the same about wasting time rotting in bed.

It's great to not drink alcohol, hop in the car home and then up and at it the next day.

I drink soft drinks but when you're in a pub or something I find I just plow through glasses of coke or whatever so a non-alcoholic beer can be drank more at pace with everyone else and avoids the sugar/aspartame grogginess the next day.

Edited by Taffin

3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Fair enough. I'm beer daft, though, so would much rather have a Beck's Blue than normal soft drink in the pub or with my dinner.

postage-stamp
2 hours ago, Bauld said:

This topic is providing the mods with a ban list. 

Non alcoholic beer, **** sake.

Buy a coke. It's cheaper. 

Coke is full of sugar though..non alcoholic beer much nicer

15 hours ago, jonesy said:

Still can't drink them with any real pleasure.

Would rather have a glass of water or one of those hipster colas.

Polar Cola? 

Get about a gallon of it from Farmfoods for about 60p. 👍 

2 hours ago, Bauld said:

This topic is providing the mods with a ban list. 

Non alcoholic beer, **** sake.

Buy a coke. It's cheaper. 

Don't understand why people find it difficult to understand that some people  don't like the taste, sweetness or gassiness of Coke, Pepsi and many other soft drinks. And like the taste of beer. 

I never used to understand alcohol free beer, but I've been trying to cut down on what I drink this year. Having a couple of Erdinger or San Miguel alcohol free beers in the fridge is a nice way to sit down in the evening and have a beer without getting melted. Unlike with regular beers, I'm quite happy to just have one or two of the non-alcoholic versions; if I have a normal can or bottle, I'll have about 7 more to make sure. 

It tastes like the real thing, and I'd much rather have one of those than a can of Coke.  If it's not for you, fair enough, but shitting on other people for not wanting to have a drink is strange behaviour.  If you don't want it, don't drink it, but lots of people have their reasons for not wanting to have an alcoholic drink. 

It's becoming far more popular, and the number of people drinking it suggests there is a strong market for it.  There are far more choices than there were even a few years ago, and it no longer tastes like diluted pish. 

39 minutes ago, tian447 said:

I never used to understand alcohol free beer, but I've been trying to cut down on what I drink this year. Having a couple of Erdinger or San Miguel alcohol free beers in the fridge is a nice way to sit down in the evening and have a beer without getting melted. Unlike with regular beers, I'm quite happy to just have one or two of the non-alcoholic versions; if I have a normal can or bottle, I'll have about 7 more to make sure. 

It tastes like the real thing, and I'd much rather have one of those than a can of Coke.  If it's not for you, fair enough, but shitting on other people for not wanting to have a drink is strange behaviour.  If you don't want it, don't drink it, but lots of people have their reasons for not wanting to have an alcoholic drink. 

It's becoming far more popular, and the number of people drinking it suggests there is a strong market for it.  There are far more choices than there were even a few years ago, and it no longer tastes like diluted pish. 

Good post, and exactly where I'm at.

I love the taste of beer, but when I get started on the normal stuff I simply don't have an off switch; and even if I do limit it to one or two, my sleep pattern goes all tae ****.

A couple of alcohol free's slakes the thirst quite the thing, but with none of the other stuff.

46 minutes ago, tian447 said:

Good posting . I drink once per week , or sometimes leave it for few weeks . Kicked the arse out of it Xmas day and won’t have another until New Year’s Day or the second , then I’ll probably leave it for a few weeks as January depressing enough as it is , without hangovers on top of it . I’d never be critical of those who don’t drink , or drink low alcohol. Never really drank alcohol free lager but can see it being a good alternative in the pub , as Diet Coke etc can get sickening really . I’m out tomorrow night for meal but no drinking , it’ll be a few diet cokes. 

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Better getting one glass of really nice wine and plenty of water on the side, IMO. 

I rarely drink alcohol with any meals really , unless it’s a night out . Wine knocks me daft 

22 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Bottle of gut rot before posting on here, izzit? ;) 

I Try to avoid posting on this under the influence of anything really ! I tend to run my mouth 😂

36 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Better getting one glass of really nice wine and plenty of water on the side, IMO. 

Absolutely. A (decent) meal without at least a glass of wine is like a day without sunshine. I would give up beer (alcoholic or not) before sacrificing wine.

Non alcoholic wine however is truly vile.

3 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Absolutely. A (decent) meal without at least a glass of wine is like a day without sunshine. I would give up beer (alcoholic or not) before sacrificing wine.

Non alcoholic wine however is truly vile.

I should have been clearer when I said I was going for a meal . I meant a pub meal . When I go to. Restaurant I will have a glass of wine , if heading out for few after . 

10 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Think we’re on the same page. 

Coke with any meal other than an American fast food heart-attack warmup ruins the taste. 

NA wine is vinegar, no?

Vinegar beats non alcoholic wine!

Haven't drank for a year, 0% Becks, Moretti or Heineken is pretty decent and much better to have with a meal than a kids fizzy drink.

I find I better to have one when socialising and it stops folk quizzing you why your not drinking, as if you are weird if you don't want to get wasted.

postage-stamp

Another good trick is you can be on the beer, say 7 pints, but then make your 8th and 9th non alcoholic ones. Then back to real stuff on the 10th pint.  It buffers it a bit and rehydrates you but your still feeling the effects of the 7 real ones at the time.

Can adjust the above numbers depending on preference.  Also if you get it put into a pint glass no one will know.

postage-stamp

Ok no joke. I tried the Sentia BLACK which is their new one and downed half of the small bottle then went to the pub to drink non alcoholic beer..and it works!

Felt like I had been drinking say one real beer before I even finished my non alcoholic beer.   

This only applies to the Sentia BLACK and not the RED one.   Try it and see

Edited by postage-stamp

53 minutes ago, postage-stamp said:

Ok no joke. I tried the Sentia BLACK which is their new one and downed half of the small bottle then went to the pub to drink non alcoholic beer..and it works!

Felt like I had been drinking say one real beer before I even finished my non alcoholic beer.   

This only applies to the Sentia BLACK and not the RED one.   Try it and see

What size of bottle?

postage-stamp
8 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

What size of bottle?

Think was 20CL.  It has a max dosage so I was probably took more than was needed.  8 doses per small bottle so probably only need to take 2 to be at maximum. 

5 hours ago, postage-stamp said:

Think was 20CL.  It has a max dosage so I was probably took more than was needed.  8 doses per small bottle so probably only need to take 2 to be at maximum. 

Cool, cheers.

I'm from a double-dunt, straight-off-the-bat, type of backfround, tbh, so see dosage instructions more as a guidline for the weak than a hard and fast rule.

Those guys probably factor that in and err on the side of caution when coming up with directions to print on their labels, right?

postage-stamp
1 hour ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Cool, cheers.

I'm from a double-dunt, straight-off-the-bat, type of backfround, tbh, so see dosage instructions more as a guidline for the weak than a hard and fast rule.

Those guys probably factor that in and err on the side of caution when coming up with directions to print on their labels, right?

It's just plant stuff so no real harm tbh.  The so called gaba effect has a maximum so you won't get any further effect by drinking more.   

I'm looking forward to the full alcarelle product in about 2025 - but this is just plant based.