C19 vaccine and alcohol

Morgan

I’ve read so many conflicting theories on this, I  thought I’d ask for some ‘inside knowledge’ on here.

Can/should alcohol be consumed the night before the vaccine?  Can/should alcohol be consumed on the day, or days after, the vaccine has been administered?

Has anyone on here had a couple of drinks after receiving their shot?  If so, did it feel any different?

Thanks in advance for any advice or tips.

I had a drink the night before the vaccination, the night of the vaccine and the day after that. Had a headache the day after the vaccine but no other side effects. No idea if the headache was related to the drink but I never normally get headaches so I assume it was related to vaccine. It was the Oxford Astra zenica vaccine I had. 

edit. Tolerance to alcohol the same, didn’t get tipsy quicker or anything like that. 

There's no evidence that having alcohol makes a difference to the vaccine.

I only have a drink at the weekend. I had my vaccine on a Thursday and got hammered on the Friday night.

I didn't feel any different on the Saturday morning.

The bevy did make the sore arm I had on the Friday go away though :thumbsup:

Only recommendation I've had was fire in the maximum permissible doses of paracetamol and ibuprofen for 24 hours before your jag and 48 hours after.

I did and had no side-effects whatsoever - not even a sore arm. Can't recall if I had any bevvy around that time so no help really to your question but thought I'd pass on that public service announcement :D

Astra-Zeneca for me.

19 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

I had a drink the night before the vaccination, the night of the vaccine and the day after that. Had a headache the day after the vaccine but no other side effects. No idea if the headache was related to the drink but I never normally get headaches so I assume it was related to vaccine. It was the Oxford Astra zenica vaccine I had. 

edit. Tolerance to alcohol the same, didn’t get tipsy quicker or anything like that. 

17 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I only have a drink at the weekend. I had my vaccine on a Thursday and got hammered on the Friday night.

5 minutes ago, Boof said:

Only recommendation I've had was fire in the maximum permissible doses of paracetamol and ibuprofen for 24 hours before your jag and 48 hours after.

I did and had no side-effects whatsoever - not even a sore arm. Can't recall if I had any bevvy around that time so no help really to your question but thought I'd pass on that public service announcement :D

Astra-Zeneca for me.

So far, so good!

:cheers: 

i had a few the day after i got mine, the only symptom i had was a sore arm and i had that before i started drinking

I was trousered the night before my vaccine and leathered the night I got it and I had no problems at all. Just felt like a mild hangover. 

35 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

i had a few the day after i got mine, the only symptom i had was a sore arm and i had that before i started drinking

Hopefully I’ll have a sore arm tomorrow night then.

My vaccine is on Tuesday.  👍 

30 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

I was trousered the night before my vaccine and leathered the night I got it and I had no problems at all. Just felt like a mild hangover. 

Trousered tomorrow and leathered on Tuesday it is for me too then.  😎

Jambo-Jimbo

Had a couple of beers the night before and another couple on the evening after the jab, didn't notice any difference.

Had a mild dull headache about 5 or 6 hours after the jab which didn't require paracetamol and a slightly sore arm at the puncture site for a few days afterwards, that was it.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

Jason Leitch said he would be having his usual glass of red wine with his meal the day before, the day of and the day after.  The key word to me was 'usual'

Got my second AZ on Friday.  So usual Pub Zoom (8.30 till 1) on Thursday and then a couple of bottles of wine with my wife on Friday.

No ill affects.

But seriously, I doubt alcohol impacts how your body will react to the vaccine.  It's how your body reacts to the vaccine.  If your body does react to the vaccine, then the affect of alcohol will have a greater impact.  

Jamstomorrow

I had the Pfizer jabs both times.   No alcohol before or after.    Pfizer are the guys who make Viagra.   I reckoned this was why my arm felt stiff.  ;)

Had a few drinks last night before my 1st dose today. Just going to max out paracetamol the next few days. They did say to regular hydrate after the jab

Edited by Newton51

I'm pretty sure I read the health folks have said alcohol doesn't affect the vaccine efficiency. 

53 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Had a few drinks last night before my 1st dose today. Just going to max out paracetamol the next few days. They did say to regular hydrate after the jab

Not convinced maxing out on paracetamol will do you any good unless you get any side affects.

But if a hangover has already kicked in, I'd recommend 'hair of the dog'

Edited by DETTY29

I was a mess around 15 hours after my first vaccine (astrazeneca). Ached all over and had crazy chills for the rest of the day. Felt like I'd been on the beer for a fortnight the day after that.

@Morganhow you not know all this, you're surely much older than me 😁

Edit: I'm not brave enough to go near the stuff when I get my 2nd shot

Edited by IronJambo

1 minute ago, IronJambo said:

I was a mess around 15 hours after my first vaccine (astrazeneca). Ached all over and had crazy chills for the rest of the day. Felt like I'd been on the beer for a fortnight the day after that.

1 minute ago, IronJambo said:

remember morgan is in france so i assume they are a long way behind us in their vaccine program

38 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

remember morgan is in france so i assume they are a long way behind us in their vaccine program

In a nutshell. Milky.  👍

They have been ridiculously slow here, it took us about five weeks to even book a ‘slot’.

42 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

If you’re 21, Iron, then yes, I’m older than you.

😜

3 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

I had a vindaloo and was fine.

My burning farter made me forget my sore arm.

Bon chance, mon ami.

Merci, Monsieur.

get my second on Wednesday and me and the wife are out for a three course meal and bevvy at The Balmoral on the Thursday so hoping ill be okay was fine after the first so keeping fingers crossed.

@Morgan have a good nice bottle of Red after your vaccine and you'll be fine.

14 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

get my second on Wednesday and me and the wife are out for a three course meal and bevvy at The Balmoral on the Thursday so hoping ill be okay was fine after the first so keeping fingers crossed.

@Morgan have a good nice bottle of Red after your vaccine and you'll be fine.

Enjoy Thursday, Ray.  🍷

And, many thanks for your wee wine tip.  I’ll take you up on that, and raise a glass to you.

Made no difference to me. I’d had a good drink the night before my first jag (I only got the call to go and get it out the blue the following morning). I had a sore arm that was all.

the 2nd jag I never had a drink before but had mental chills and took to my bed early but felt fine the following morning. 

Tenaciousdandy

Had a drink the night before my first vaccine and felt fine, only symptoms I had where a heavy arm and felt a little tired 

4 hours ago, IronJambo said:

@Morgan

I was about 12 hours after but same, woke up at 2 in the morning thinking a new ice age had started and every joint in my body was aching. It lasted about 18 hours, if that's what covid feels like, **** getting covid!

6 hours ago, milky_26 said:

Aye I know but I didn't think they were that far behind 😂

Edited by IronJambo

1 hour ago, Smithee said:

I was about 12 hours after but same, woke up at 2 in the morning thinking a new ice age had started and every joint in my body was aching. It lasted about 18 hours, if that's what covid feels like, **** getting covid!

Add on fevers, diarrhoea, vomiting, headaches, and everything tasting vile (and slightly less vile for over 3 months) and it's pretty close 

10 hours ago, Morgan said:

I’ve read so many conflicting theories on this, I  thought I’d ask for some ‘inside knowledge’ on here.

Can/should alcohol be consumed the night before the vaccine?  Can/should alcohol be consumed on the day, or days after, the vaccine has been administered?

Has anyone on here had a couple of drinks after receiving their shot?  If so, did it feel any different?

Thanks in advance for any advice or tips.

Can confirm I had a few pre and post jag. And I'm still a rampant Scotsman. 

10 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Oh wa, you said Bevy and no Bevvy. Your vaccine didnae work. And if Morgan husnae said anyhin, his vaccine has fecked his grammar detector. 

10 hours ago, Morgan said:

So far, so good!

:cheers: 

He said Bevy, no bevvy. What's wrong with you?? 

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Oh wa, you said Bevy and no Bevvy. Your vaccine didnae work. And if Morgan husnae said anyhin, his vaccine has fecked his grammar detector. 

Wa didnae husnae anyhin :fonzie:

15 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Got hammered lol

11 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Likewise. Was holed up in bed for a couple of days, sweating and shivering.

Sign of a strong immune response, apparently.

12 hours ago, IronJambo said:

7 hours ago, Smithee said:

I was similar after the first dose but fine after the 2nd. 👍

6 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Aye I know but I didn't think they were that far behind 😂

I forgot Morgan as a kid was cutting about with Moses

I’ve read a few medical articles suggesting you should stay off alcohol for a couple of days after the jag as alcohol dampens your immune system si could reduce your response. However, others suggest there won’t be any impact or it will be minimal. 

2 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

I was similar after the first dose but fine after the 2nd. 👍

Good to know 👍

7 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Wa didnae husnae anyhin :fonzie:

:rofl:Brilliant

Nae full stoaps

5 hours ago, milky_26 said:

I forgot Morgan as a kid was cutting about with Moses

Just now, ri Alban said:

:rofl:Brilliant

Nae full stoaps

:greggy: 

11 hours ago, ri Alban said:

He said Bevy, no bevvy. What's wrong with you?? 

Who did?

🤷🏿‍♂️

11 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Nae chance, buddy.

Dreading tomorrow now.  :sad: 

7 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Nae chance, buddy.

Dreading tomorrow now.  :sad: 

:biglaugh: