Academy Coaching Development Manager - John McLaughlin appointed

Sounds perfect for a few of the Experts On Everything on here.

I expect they'll be inundated with CVs from the JKB coaching experts.

Anyone sent theirs in already?

ACADEMY COACHING DEVELOPMENT MANAGER

We are recruiting an exciting new role within the Academy for an Academy Coaching Development Manager with a start date in July 2021.

The successful candidate will be responsible for overseeing the Academy coaching programme for all boys and girls within the Academy between the age groups of under 11 to under 18 under Club Academy Scotland (CAS).

This is an excellent opportunity for an experienced Coach who has worked at Elite level to contribute towards the development of elite level players and top talent within the Academy by ensuring the coaching staff work to the highest professional standards. The successful candidate will assist the Academy Manager to develop a culture and philosophy aligned to the ethos of the Football Department in delivering the club’s vision for a world class Football Academy developing talented youth players who go on to play in the first team and have a successful career.

How to apply: If you meet the criteria and would like to apply please send a Covering letter and CV to Janine Brown, Head of HR - [email protected] by close of play on the 30 May 2021.

We anticipate that initial interviews will take place on the 6/7 June via video conferencing depending on Government restrictions with a final interview on the 15/16 June.

Please e-mail the above e-mail address if you require a copy of the job description.

• Replies 160

• sadj

• Forever Hearts

• A_A wehatethehibs

Dennis Reynolds

There was a Brazilian guy on the linkedin page who pretty much typed out his full CV in the comments section. Not sure he'll get a call.

Once the JKB experts get in there with their elite level qualifications and experience the womens team will be binned too. Swiftly followed by the academy as a whole as its a waste of money...

#BecauseHearts!!!

If it wasn’t for the ‘criteria’ I’d give it a bash. Writing off a lot of folk with those exclusions. Hope they don’t regret it. 

Just please give it to someone with experience. 

JJ, McGlynn, Frail.. not some ex-pro who's been out the game 5 minutes. 

I'm already a bit sus about employing so many rookie coaches when we're trying to run a successful academy. 

Given some of the comments from those who claim to hate Hibs, those who post from early evening to early morning, those who are forever hearts and those who have written off almost all of our youngsters as not good enough and behind Hibs, this post should be filled quickly. 

Someone will have to help them explain how playing Football Manager on PlayStation counts as experience though. 

Randy Marsh

Budge will send all the CV's to Levein to look through.  None will be deemed good enough.  Levein will then suggest he's the man for the job. 

1 hour ago, OTT said:

Just please give it to someone with experience. 

JJ, McGlynn, Frail.. not some ex-pro who's been out the game 5 minutes. 

I'm already a bit sus about employing so many rookie coaches when we're trying to run a successful academy. 

JJ is driving the changes so unlikely to be after any role in the structure. 

2 hours ago, Shanks said:

No point applying. Budge will already have a close friend/family member lined up. 

Or spend months finding and interviewing suitable candidates to then realise the person they wanted was already at the club🤭

Agentjambo
30 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Driving what changes??

35 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Sorry, meant posts on u18 thread. 

What specific changes are you aware of? (I know you've said separate thread, but it sounds interesting and this is academy related anyway :D )

1 hour ago, OTT said:

What specific changes are you aware of? (I know you've said separate thread, but it sounds interesting and this is academy related anyway :D )

On the U18s thread, FF mentioned that Hearts have dispensed with the lead academy scout and all other academy scouts.

Also interesting that soonbe110 confirms what was part of an interesting rumour on the transfer thread when he says JJ is driving force behind changes (the rumour a poster said he was told was JJ was getting involved in a shakeup of the academy. That rumour also included that we have three top players lined up.) Obviously doesn't mean that will happen just found it interesting.

I know a lot about football.  Should do.  I've been passionately involved for 65 years.  My experience would be invaluable in this role but there is a snag.  I enjoy an afternoon sleep.

I expect this would exclude me from serious consideration but it was no impediment to Ronald Reagan and he arguably had an even bigger role.  Leader of the free world.  No such thing as ageism in his day.

It's a shame they're looking for someone to help "develop a culture and philosophy aligned to the ethos of the Football Department".

The "football department ethos" currently in place for the 1st team needs ripped up and rewritten not forced upon poor unsuspecting youngsters looking to have a future in the game!

Worthing Jambo
9 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

I know a lot about football.  Should do.  I've been passionately involved for 65 years.  My experience would be invaluable in this role but there is a snag.  I enjoy an afternoon sleep.

I expect this would exclude me from serious consideration but it was no impediment to Ronald Reagan and he arguably had an even bigger role.  Leader of the free world.  No such thing as ageism in his day.

I can’t see your afternoon nap being a problem Doug as it will be the middle of the night here so no one will notice👍

On 14/05/2021 at 18:18, Toxteth O'Grady said:

Another manager type to pay for. 

My thought too. How many managers do we have? 

10 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Top heavy bit like office " jobs for boys/girls".

21 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Without knowing is it not a tad reactionary to criticise?

On 14/05/2021 at 21:12, soonbe110 said:

Fantastic news 

Anyone that criticises an initiative that JJ is driving forward isn’t any kind of Hearts fan IMO.

Edited by Tom Hardy’s Dug

Nothing to do with the vacancy, but the phrase “close of play” really triggers me! 

42 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Without knowing is it not a tad reactionary to criticise?

It is my reaction. So I suppose in that sense it is reactionary. We certainly seem to have many more managers of one sort or another than we used to have. Maybe we will see the benefits on the pitch sometime.

Captain Lithuania

Usual suspects finding a reason to pick this apart. I don’t understand how this isn’t a positive thing, but then again I support Hearts. 

6 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

It is my reaction. So I suppose in that sense it is reactionary. We certainly seem to have many more managers of one sort or another than we used to have. Maybe we will see the benefits on the pitch sometime.

I think the term ‘manager’ is an overused one these days and they often don’t manage people. 

1 hour ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

Anyone that criticises an initiative that JJ is driving forward isn’t any kind of Hearts fan IMO.

If JJ approved that crap about elite this and elite that and the ethos of the Football Department then he is not the JJ I remember. And "driving forward" FFS?

12 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I think the term ‘manager’ is an overused one these days and they often don’t manage people. 

Indeed. One of my first jobs was as a Senior Assistant Supply Officer. It seemed laughable at the time. There were of course no Junior Assistants. Now there would be manager in the title.

7 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Indeed. One of my first jobs was as a Senior Assistant Supply Officer. It seemed laughable at the time. There were of course no Junior Assistants. Now there would be manager in the title.

Aye, we’re starting to sound like auld farts. 😄

1 hour ago, Captain Lithuania said:

Usual suspects finding a reason to pick this apart. I don’t understand how this isn’t a positive thing, but then again I support Hearts. 

Yep.

It's beyond pathetic, again.

Although I do retain the right to laugh at modern day job titles.  😆

Not that there is anything wrong in this case as it appears there will be other coaches reporting in to him, her.

Edited by DETTY29

I think we need a Change Manager.  Absolutely no idea what that is what they do but every organisation here has one.

My mate has a theory that their role is to make everything worse.  That makes me think we've already got one, and a very good one at that.

1 hour ago, jamboinglasgow said:

The Sun is reporting that highly rated Celtic youth coach John McLaughlan has got the role.

He is that highly rated he is leaving Celtic for Hearts, proof will be in pudding.

Some jobs we are creating in youth set up, cost of this must produce results quickly, no feckin excuses.

StevenNaismith
4 minutes ago, Lfhearts said:

He is that highly rated he is leaving Celtic for Hearts, proof will be in pudding.

Some jobs we are creating in youth set up, cost of this must produce results quickly, no feckin excuses.

He’s been at Celtic a long time, maybe sees this as a fresh challenge.

11 minutes ago, StevenNaismith said:

He’s been at Celtic a long time, maybe sees this as a fresh challenge.

Let's hope, should at least know the market, could benefit us if they let a few go with a point to prove aka Hickey. 

On 16/05/2021 at 22:15, Francis Albert said:

😂😂

I'm angry/ concerned about the amount of managers but don't know how many we have, what areas they cover or have any basis for a Comparison type post 

This thread is going to be a belter. 

The :seething: mob are gonna go keyboard bashing today. 

Something to get angry about, but by the end of the thread they won't know why so end back up at Robbie oot and Budge hasnae a clue. 

1 hour ago, jamboinglasgow said:

The Sun is reporting that highly rated Celtic youth coach John McLaughlan has got the role.

Would be a fantastic appointment. I’m delighted to see the clubs focus has returned to bringing the youth through. 

On 17/05/2021 at 10:16, been here before said:

So any of the experts on here applied yet?

They'll need to find time off from their medical, HR, construction, legal careers and Ofc football management careers to do so. 

On 16/05/2021 at 23:31, davemclaren said:

I agree but nowadays folk can manage data, systems work flow, etc as opposed to people. 

It is misleading tho, There's a space planning managing where I work- She manages herself and a computer. 

On 17/05/2021 at 02:29, Kiwidoug said:

I think we need a Change Manager.  Absolutely no idea what that is what they do but every organisation here has one.

My mate has a theory that their role is to make everything worse.  That makes me think we've already got one, and a very good one at that.

We need a senior change manager to manage the change manager who is managing all the changes. 

This should all come under a change director who directs the change via the senior change manager who can then facilitate the work flow of the change manager who can then focus on managing change. 

This should all be brought together by a steering group who will need a manager to  coordinate the activities with the other department managers to ensure fluidity, productivity and continuous improvement. 

On 14/05/2021 at 17:20, been here before said:

Sounds perfect for a few of the Experts On Everything on here.

I expect they'll be inundated with CVs from the JKB coaching experts.

Anyone sent theirs in already?

ACADEMY COACHING DEVELOPMENT MANAGER

We are recruiting an exciting new role within the Academy for an Academy Coaching Development Manager with a start date in July 2021.

The successful candidate will be responsible for overseeing the Academy coaching programme for all boys and girls within the Academy between the age groups of under 11 to under 18 under Club Academy Scotland (CAS).

This is an excellent opportunity for an experienced Coach who has worked at Elite level to contribute towards the development of elite level players and top talent within the Academy by ensuring the coaching staff work to the highest professional standards. The successful candidate will assist the Academy Manager to develop a culture and philosophy aligned to the ethos of the Football Department in delivering the club’s vision for a world class Football Academy developing talented youth players who go on to play in the first team and have a successful career.

How to apply: If you meet the criteria and would like to apply please send a Covering letter and CV to Janine Brown, Head of HR - [email protected] by close of play on the 30 May 2021.

We anticipate that initial interviews will take place on the 6/7 June via video conferencing depending on Government restrictions with a final interview on the 15/16 June.

Please e-mail the above e-mail address if you require a copy of the job description.

I’ll pass on this job as I’ve never wanted to work with under 18’s. Managing Hearts first team is the only job that would interest me although if there was an outstanding under 18 that I thought was first team material there he would be fast tracked into the squad. Just remember I’m a legend in my own mind. 

Considering that our academy specialises in not actually producing good players, they might as well give the job to someone off here. 

• davemclaren changed the title to Academy Coaching Development Manager - John McLaughlin appointed