• BackOfTheNet

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

10 minutes ago, DH1986 said:

I don’t think the manager of a club of our size and stature should ever be telling its supporters that its target for the coming season is Top 6.

It really doesn’t get the blood flowing.....a Top 6 finish is something Livingston would be saying it’s fans pre season ticket sales.

It just confirms his lack of awareness of what we want, expect and it’s just adds to his reputation as safe and ever so negative.

If we finish 6th next season it’ll be job done again. Which means he’ll accept one or two teams with a fraction of our budget finishing above us.

Give the fans something to get excited about ffs......don’t talk us down to average before a ball is even kicked.

So if he said we want to be third, you would have a smile on your face ? 

It's just a reason to moan about him in another way. Since when has what managers say really meant anything. They are trained to not give anything away.

1 minute ago, jambopilms said:

It's just a reason to moan about him in another way. Since when has what managers say really meant anything. They are trained to not give anything away.

You don’t have to flip everything on it’s head to try and prove a point. Nobody at the club mentioned 3rd. Top 6 is too low a target, in my opinion and the opinion of many other posters. We’ve underachieved for so long it’s little wonder folk get pissed off by a modest target. 

4 minutes ago, jambopilms said:

I want him to say he wants us to finish as high in the premier league and two cups as possible.Job done.  

12 minutes ago, jambopilms said:

Trained not to give anything away 😂

He’s the Hearts manager ffs.....not 007. 

46 minutes ago, heartmussel said:

Sorry, to clarify it’s Robbies beyond belief 

Indeed, I'm wondering what planet they're all on in the Starship Tynecastle....🤔

1 hour ago, Jamhammer said:

So Stendel gets 4 months to avoid relegation but RN gets 8 and 2 transfer windows to get us promoted from a league we should never have been in?

Seems about right.

Stendel had 4 months to ensure we never dropped lower in the league. 

He failed. 

Robbie had 27 games to ensure we returned as champions - he was successful, easily as well. 

Just a fact, "seems about right" is irrelevant. 

1 hour ago, DH1986 said:

Bobmeister 

Licence to thrill. 

2 hours ago, Jamhammer said:

So Stendel gets 4 months to avoid relegation but RN gets 8 and 2 transfer windows to get us promoted from a league we should never have been in?

Seems about right.

One succeeded in his objective, one failed.

Just now, Smith's right boot said:

Bobmeister 

Licence to thrill. 

He needs to reapply for that......could be struggling.

1 hour ago, Agentjambo said:

I want him to say he wants us to finish as high in the premier league and two cups as possible.Job done.  

You don't think he wants that too ?

45 minutes ago, Smithee said:

One succeeded in his objective, one failed.

One didn’t get the opportunity because the season was ended prematurely.

Im not a “Stendel was the messiah” type.

However we were, uncharacteristically quick to get rid. Strange innit?

Edited by Jamhammer

53 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Stendel had 4 months to ensure we never dropped lower in the league. 

He failed. 

Robbie had 27 games to ensure we returned as champions - he was successful, easily as well. 

Just a fact, "seems about right" is irrelevant. 

Stendel was 4 points from safety with 24 to play for. That’s a fact too

1 minute ago, Jamhammer said:

A fact the Neilson firefighters forget to point out conveniently.

10 minutes ago, Agentjambo said:

A fact the Neilson firefighters forget to point out conveniently.

I've frequently pointed out what a shit job Stendel did overall. Took over with us 3rd bottom, 5 pts off 8th with 4 of our next 6 games at home.

Left us 4pts adrift at the bottom, 10 pts off 8th.

14 minutes ago, Agentjambo said:

Why not just say it??

I don't know but I do know that if he said I want to finish high as possible then plenty on here would say FFS it's so vague, tell us what that means.

36 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

He was also out of contract

49 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

Not quite safety. 4 points adrift with 24 to play for. We would have had to continue to win points. We weren't safe if we got 4 points.

12 minutes ago, TommyC said:

Not quite safety. 4 points adrift with 24 to play for. We would have had to continue to win points. We weren't safe if we got 4 points.

It was all to play for tho.

I wasn’t 100% convinced, however I do wonder what would have happened if

a. We’d played till seasons end and stayed up or 

b. Our appeal had been successful 

I still think Mr Neilson would be manager

I suppose we’ll never know

I don’t want to turn the transfer thread into another bitch fest so

lets just move on.

We are where we are with who we have in charge and I don’t think that’s changing.

Hopefully things improve 

Edited by Jamhammer

bobby bombscare

Out of curiosity.. was there any young players (say under 21) that impressed enough in the championship this season that might be worth signing to develop?

3 hours ago, DH1986 said:

Bob,James bob

10 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

It was all to play for tho.

I wasn’t 100% convinced, however I do wonder what would have happened if

a. We’d played till seasons end and stayed up or 

b. Our appeal had been successful 

I still think Mr Neilson would be manager

I suppose we’ll never know

I don’t want to turn the transfer thread into another bitch fest so

lets just move on.

We are where we are with who we have in charge and I don’t think that’s changing.

Hopefully things improve 

I was being pedantic anyway. You're right 👍

12 hours ago, iwasthere1954 said:

Everyone has the right to their opinion.

Actually I was trying to be funny. Don't think it worked though. 

Went over my head. No harm done pal.

3 hours ago, Jamhammer said:

It is. 

Also a fact CL was 2nd bottom with about 80 points to play for and Cathro's was sacked iirc correctly with 114 points to play for and if we sacked Robbie it would be with 3 to play for this season and 114 next season!

It's actually a Pointless fact, most managers get sacked with points to play for. 

4 hours ago, DH1986 said:

He needs to reapply for that......could be struggling.

Right now he's a biit shaken, but not stirred. 

6 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

It is. 

Also a fact CL was 2nd bottom with about 80 points to play for and Cathro's was sacked iirc correctly with 114 points to play for and if we sacked Robbie it would be with 3 to play for this season and 114 next season!

It's actually a Pointless fact, most managers get sacked with points to play for. 

and, I think pretty much everyone is in agreement that Levein and Cathro should have been emptied much earlier.

Fact is we rushed to get rid of Stendel. Something Mrs Budge has not rushed to do with anyone else since Budgement Day.

IMO RN was a done deal regardless of whether we stayed up or not because a manager you don’t have a cosy relationship with, who challenges the set up is not what she is comfortable with.

Enough. He’s gone. Neilson is manager. 

Transfers!!

Edited by Jamhammer

and, I think pretty much everyone is in agreement that Levein and Cathro should have been emptied much earlier.

Fact is we rushed to get rid of Stendel. Something Mrs Budge has not rushed to do with anyone else since Budgement Day.

IMO RN was a done deal regardless of whether we stayed up or not because a manager you don’t have a cosy relationship with, who challenges the set up is not what she is comfortable with.

Transfers!!

Had Levein’s paws all over it. Get rid of the outsider and reappoint his protege. 

Transfers!!

No chance he'd have been kept on if not promoted imo. 

Ban the obmeister is manager, just now. 

We do  need some transfer gossip!

Scott Allan.... 

🙄

34 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Had Levein’s paws all over it. Get rid of the outsider and reappoint his protege. 

😂😂😂😂

Nothing to do with let's get the last guy in that had us third in the top flight and got us promoted easy after the last shit show, oh and he's a cup winning legend and played with us for ten years. 

Nah, just CL. 

Lie doon, man. 

5 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

😂😂😂😂

Nothing to do with let's get the last guy in that had us third in the top flight and got us promoted easy after the last shit show, oh and he's a cup winning legend and played with us for ten years. 

Nah, just CL. 

Lie doon*, man. 

Nope. Just a cosy Budge/Levein appointment. 

🙂

1 minute ago, Nookie Bear said:

Nope. Just a cosy Budge/Levein appointment. 

🙂

🙃

1 hour ago, Smith's right boot said:

No chance he'd have been kept on if not promoted imo. 

Ban the obmeister is manager, just now. 

We do  need some transfer gossip!

Scott Allan.... 

🙄

Funny enough, watching him last week, knowing he’s riddled with Hibernianism, knowing he’s got health issues 

Boy can still play 

The Apprentice
10 hours ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Markus Fjortoft Always looks decent 

Because he won a few headers in our last game against them?

26 minutes ago, The Apprentice said:

Because he won a few headers in our last game against them?

Roddy MacGregor from ICT has looked pretty useful.

Didn't see Saturdays game but I believe he came on second half, anyone notice how he did?

Leveins Battalion

Players we should be all over-

Murray Wallace

Ryan Gauld

Alan Campbell

Jamie McGrath

Ali McCann

Jason Kerr

Jack Byrne

Dylan Bahamboula

Donald Love

Thomas Robert

Jimmy Dunne

Ulrik Jenssen

Alexander Buksa

Filippo Berardi

Mirko Topic

Adam Zrelak

Branimir Hrgota

Alexander Fransson

Max Svensson

Lee Evans

Cheick Timite

Robert Muric

Frederik Holst

Joan Simun Edmundsson

Thomas Lam

Hjortur Hermansson

Literally hundreds of good players available,no excuses for guys like Grezlak or Kastaneer.

Batistuta87
11 hours ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Markus Fjortoft Always looks decent 

He does aye. His man bun looks good. 

Pish player though. 

Batistuta87
3 minutes ago, Leveins Battalion said:

Players we should be all over-

Murray Wallace

Ryan Gauld

Alan Campbell

Jamie McGrath

Ali McCann

Jason Kerr

Jack Byrne

Dylan Bahamboula

Donald Love

Thomas Robert

Jimmy Dunne

Ulrik Jenssen

Alexander Buksa

Filippo Berardi

Mirko Topic

Adam Zrelak

Branimir Hrgota

Alexander Fransson

Max Svensson

Lee Evans

Cheick Timite

Robert Muric

Frederik Holst

Joan Simun Edmundsson

Thomas Lam

Hjortur Hermansson

Literally hundreds of good players available,no excuses for guys like Grezlak or Kastaneer.

Some of these are a bit pie in the sky, but your point is absolutely valid. There are hundreds of very useful players out there. The ones I listed were only from down south lol - even looking within Scotland there's a lot, and looking to the continent the list is absolutely endless. 

4 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

😂😂😂😂

Nah, just CL. 

Lie doon, man. 

More that there was going to be a line drawn between footballing matters and everything else. Ann couldn't handle the thought. 

16 hours ago, Smithee said:

He was also out of contract

Perfect excuse to get rid.

He called out the weakness in our football department. Budge did not like what she heard and went for the safe do as your told option in Neilson.

Just now, Rods said:

He called out the weakness in our football department. Budge did not like what she heard and went for the safe do as your told option in Neilson.

Being out of contact is indeed a good reason not to keep paying someone to do a job

Seriously though, I don't know what happened with Stendel. I liked the guy and thought he could go something positive but he didn't get the short term response we needed, that's a fact.

It's very likely he was on a wage we'd had to push the boat out for given his employment history, so it's likely that after expulsion we did indeed go for a cheaper safe pair of hands over a guy who had a question mark over him and high wage expectations.

It is what it is, I can see why the club reached the decision it did.

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Being out of contact is indeed a good reason not to keep paying someone to do a job

Was their not an option in the contract to renew?

Budge would have used our money to get rid of him and bring in Neilson anyway. She does not like home truths. The football training camp/retirement home she had help setup was being scrutinised. 

17 hours ago, ToqueJambo said:

I've frequently pointed out what a shit job Stendel did overall. Took over with us 3rd bottom, 5 pts off 8th with 4 of our next 6 games at home.

Left us 4pts adrift at the bottom, 10 pts off 8th.

Aye it’s all Stendal’s fault for the problems at Hearts over the last 5 years, Stendal bad, and Levein, Neilson & Budge amazeballs.

Seriously embarrassing the levels club shills like you will go to in passing off the blame.

Edited by HMFC 86

37 minutes ago, jr ewing said:

More that there was going to be a line drawn between footballing matters and everything else. Ann couldn't handle the thought. 

:wtfvlad:

17 minutes ago, Rods said:

Aye Now't to do with him taking us to rock bottom of the league. 

Nothing at all to do with that. 

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to ***Summer 2021 Transfer Window - Barrie McKay signs 2 year deal ***