2021 Scottish Parliament Election (Thursday 6th May 2021)

1 hour ago, OmiyaHearts said:

Haha the guy was hilarious, 'I'm a proud Scot and I don't want my country turning into another country'.😄 It couldn't have worked out better for Sturgeon and the SNP.

To clear things up about most of the rubbish people read:

Govanhill and Glasgow southside is the best place I've lived - I was brought up in the east end, also lived in west end (couldn't get back to southside quick enough - students are awful people to live near). Been living here the last 7 years;  people who say it's bad or it's dangerous don't live here, they rely on news reports or statistics to suit their agenda, but usually they just have leanings to the right and don't like people with different coloured skin and hard to pronounce names.

Of course, like everywhere, there's aresholes. But I've never had any negative experiences living here. In my 43 years, I've been lucky to spend a total of about 15 years in Glasgow southside and I couldn't recommend it higher to anyone who's looking to move to Glasgow. Places like Cranhill, Baillieston and Easterhouse in the east end are the places you need to worry about.

It gets a bad press but it really is a cool place to live - I have the best craft beer shop and bar in Glasgow 5 mins from my flat, plus food places covering every country you can think of. Big thumbs up from me.

My sister in law's family are all  from Coatbridge and Glasgow's east end and again Coatbridge and Airdrie have a reputation but in reality its not that bad . Plenty new housing build near the M8 which ain't cheap .

• Replies 2k

• sadj

• Unknown user

• ri Alban

1 minute ago, sadj said:

No mate you can have your views but you dont debate anything just have a bitter outlook on anything different to you. My best mate is a 31 year old single female who is as Tory as it gets , difference she does not behave like people like yourself do. 

Your best mate is a young Tory, lol. Wow, that's me telt. 

7 minutes ago, gjcc said:

Glasgow Soofside:

Jayda Fransen 46 votes.

Nicola. Absolutely storms it. 

I’m no fan of Sturgeon but glad to see that racist harpy get a democratic beatdown. 

Just now, Barack said:

Sarwar gained 8% in that seat. That's very decent in fairness, in such a short space of time. 

By all accounts hes a decent lad , Tory down by 7% there 

7 minutes ago, sadj said:

Yes NS slapping her down

Told her she's not welcome in the south side of Glasgow, or in fact anywhere in Scotland, cracking like!! 

1 minute ago, BarneyBattles said:

Lib Dems majority is Shetland cut from 5,000 to 800. 

Who came second thats surprising

Just now, sadj said:

Who came second thats surprising

SNP. They've been trying to win Orkney and Shetland for a while now. 

Des Lynam
1 hour ago, OmiyaHearts said:

Haha the guy was hilarious, 'I'm a proud Scot and I don't want my country turning into another country'.😄 It couldn't have worked out better for Sturgeon and the SNP.

To clear things up about most of the rubbish people read:

Govanhill and Glasgow southside is the best place I've lived - I was brought up in the east end, also lived in west end (couldn't get back to southside quick enough - students are awful people to live near). Been living here the last 7 years;  people who say it's bad or it's dangerous don't live here, they rely on news reports or statistics to suit their agenda, but usually they just have leanings to the right and don't like people with different coloured skin and hard to pronounce names.

Of course, like everywhere, there's aresholes. But I've never had any negative experiences living here. In my 43 years, I've been lucky to spend a total of about 15 years in Glasgow southside and I couldn't recommend it higher to anyone who's looking to move to Glasgow. Places like Cranhill, Baillieston and Easterhouse in the east end are the places you need to worry about.

It gets a bad press but it really is a cool place to live - I have the best craft beer shop and bar in Glasgow 5 mins from my flat, plus food places covering every country you can think of. Big thumbs up from me.

Enjoyed reading your post. Folk just believe what they're told from the telly. 

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Seems a bit of a smarmy willy to me. But...🤷‍♂️

As I said earlier though, I thought a 3% swing in Glasgow would be a good inducation marker nationally, when the dust settles. 8's probably well exceeded Labour's expectations. 

Definite food for thought seems to be appearing, despite an almost certain majority, as expected.

Smarmy is Willie rennie

God only knows why people vote in Willie Rennie, he used to be my MP round here in Dunfermline and he was pish! 

I think results at this point mean that Labour has taken a bigger share of total vote than Tories. Might reflect the constiuencies that have declared but I thought it interesting. Maybe on track to take second place? 

16 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

I don't even know who she is but her voice is nails on a chalkboard.

Still would though, looks properly dirty

dobmisterdobster
4 minutes ago, dtgj said:

I think results at this point mean that Labour has taken a bigger share of total vote than Tories. Might reflect the constiuencies that have declared but I thought it interesting. Maybe on track to take second place? 

Too early to tell. Wait until the Tory held seats are called. Especially the border.

1 minute ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Too early to tell. Wait until the Tory held seats are called. Especially the border.

Good point. Border seats and I guess the ones in the North East too. 

HartleyLegend3

Wow! 

Labour getting smashed again. 

England confirmed as tory.. 

Scotland heading for SNP landslide.. 

Yet still people will say there is not separation... 

22 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Conservative Labour Libdem - The unionist parties 

Labour refused to talk about independence. Hardly Unionists. 

The gain that the SNP got in E Lothian may well be negated by the loss of a list seat in the S of Scotland (E Lothian is part of S of Scotland for list purposes).

36 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

A 60% plus unionist seat but they let the seps take it. 

I suggest that says more about unionist voters than nationalist voters.

Tories are worried that instead of unionists votes going to them, they are going to Lib Dems and Labour instead which won't help their list position.

Edit - hadn't seen Banff and Buchan result which was a big swing to Tories although SNP retain. It was in the EN so it is a Lothian's List concern.

Edited by DETTY29

Just now, ri Alban said:

If Willie Rennie mentions mental health again, I might lose my mind. 

It’s the “narrow the gap” that grates on me for some reason. :lol: 

Just now, gjcc said:

It’s the “narrow the gap” that grates on me for some reason. :lol: 

He's now telling us all what Scotland thinks. 

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

Aye the dentist is in a wee corner of the pub so that the teeth that get knocked oot during a pagger can be stuck back in again.....

You joke but that wasn't far from reality when I worked there. 

5 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Aye the dentist is in a wee corner of the pub so that the teeth that get knocked oot during a pagger can be stuck back in again.....

Proves NHS dentistry is working well.

Edited by John Findlay

6 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Probably the only way of getting the locals into a dentist. 

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

Probably got some wee ned selling someone's teeth at the bar. 

A Hibs mate of mine was drinking in the Artisan bar many years ago and a regular came into the bar and asked if anyone wanted to buy a diver's wetsuit....

That beats a whole frozen chicken and bottle of cheap plonk I was offered in the Station Tavern, as was.

Just now, ri Alban said:

Good seeing Labour doing well. 

Agreed. Any move away from the Tory party is a positive. Hopefully the list votes shut them out as far as possible. 

1 minute ago, John Findlay said:

Time for the chase on CH853 on Virgin media.

Time for the uk government coronavirus update - including foreign travel

Just now, gjcc said:

Agreed. Any move away from the Tory party is a positive. Hopefully the list votes shut them out as far as possible. 

2 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

A frozen chicken  :rofl:

Not sure how the boy did it because he had a Sainsbury carrier bag but the plonk was from Aldi.

Edited by DETTY29

15 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Good seeing Labour doing well. 

I know Scotland isn't meant to have an 'opposition' party but it would be better if Sarwar was the key opposition.

Ross is beyond useless.

Edited by DETTY29

Just now, DETTY29 said:

I know Scotlabd isn't meant to have an 'opposition' party but it would be better if Sarwar was the key opposition.

Ross is beyond useless.

I quite like Anas. 

Who was the bulbous nosed guy on BBC?

On one hand saying that not all SNP voters were voting for a referendum. 

Yet apparently all Unionist votes were voting to reject a referendum. :lol: 

15 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Probably got some wee ned selling someone's teeth at the bar. 

A Hibs mate of mine was drinking in the Artisan bar many years ago and a regular came into the bar and asked if anyone wanted to buy a diver's wetsuit....

Didn't get anyone selling that but a couple did ask if I wanted to buy any drugs. 

Whilst I was pulling their pint. 

1st day I got there, they'd ran out of Tennents. Everyone switched to Stella. 

Carnage. Utter, utter carnage. 

7 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Not sure how the boy did it because he had a Sainsbury carrier bag but the plonk was from Aldi.

If he’s stealing chickens and plonk he sure as hell isn’t asking to buy a bag at the till. At least he’s environmentally minded  :lol: 

Just now, Norm said:

Didn't get anyone selling that but a couple did ask if I wanted to buy any drugs. 

Whilst I was pulling their pint. 

1st day I got there, they'd ran out of Tennents. Everyone switched to Stella. 

Carnage. Utter, utter carnage. 

Does sound like you’d need to be on drugs to last in that job. 

1 hour ago, dtgj said:

East Lothian - SNP GAIN from Labour. Big result. 

giphy.gif

1 hour ago, JackLadd said:

Disgusted with the morons that could not tactically vote in East Lothian to thwart the seps. Well done you clowns. 

giphy.gif

Jeremy Ross Balfour 

Tory Lothian list msp

Edited by The Frenchman Returns

Rutherglen is a cracking SNP result too.

That guy was a tory but his name escapes me Jeremy Balfour maybe