2021 Scottish Parliament Election (Thursday 6th May 2021)

On 22/05/2021 at 14:02, Maroon Sailor said:

Well you didn't vote Tory did you ?

If you did then that question probably wouldn't even enter your head

Anyway it's Saturday 

How does that mean I'm moaning because I didn't get the result I want?

Scotland should be able to vote it's own government in and out.

If you don't believe that's my motivation, your problem not mine.

• Replies 2k

• sadj

• Unknown user

• ri Alban

38 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Scotland does and it's a more one sided, shit show than Westminster.

Sturgeon is more bullet proof than Bojo

53 minutes ago, weehammy said:

Now that the election is conveniently out of the way the Lord Advocate has resigned.

In fairness, the malicious prosecution that has so far cost Scottish taxpayers £20 million plus in compensation happened on his predecessor’s watch. Mulholland was made a judge as his reward for that feck-up!

Disgraceful manipulation of the law in the whole sorry episode 

45 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Scotland does and it's a more one sided, shit show than Westminster.

Sturgeon is more bullet proof than Bojo

No it doesn't.

1 hour ago, Smithee said:

Don't worry about it - keep moaning, I don't mind.

3 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Don't worry about it - keep moaning, I don't mind.

I've only just started moaning about the democratic deficit in Scotland, enjoy!

10 minutes ago, Smithee said:

8 minutes ago, Smithee said:

You've been Sturgeonised so I would be surprised if you didn't moan.

Ainsley Harriott

What happens with Indy ref 2 if Glasgow votes for independence and Edinburgh says no. Surely she couldn't drag people out of  a union against their will. Would that not be hypocritical?

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

You've been Sturgeonised so I would be surprised if you didn't moan.

I thought I felt a deathly chill in the night, is that what it was?

Just now, Ainsley Harriott said:

What happens with Indy ref 2 if Glasgow votes for independence and Edinburgh says no. Surely she couldn't drag people out of  a union against their will. Would that not be hypocritical?

No, behave

9 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Haha so only applies when it suits.

If you want it known that you don't have the smarts to understand the difference, that's fine by me.

frankblack
5 hours ago, BarneyBattles said:

Oh aye, we all forgot edinburgh is a country😂

I feel for all you lot. Must feel like supporting hibs being a Tory in a country that will always vote snp and will never vote Tory. 

Its actually the opposite.  The Nationalists can organise themselves to play the system at Holyrood while Scottish Labour works a hatchet job on the opposition.  However the combined No vote is going to sink any future referendum.

Check mate.

On 22/05/2021 at 12:54, Smithee said:

Has anyone come up with a convincing reason why the Scottish electorate shouldn't be allowed to choose it's own government yet?

Stockholm syndrome which has now brought the colonisation of Scotland into focus. 

Might be time to go a different route to independence, if the vote is no longer an option. 

frankblack
19 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

Scottish Election Constituency 2021 Demographics 16-34 year olds:
SNP 58% (+12% from 2016)
Tory 10% (-13% from 2016)
35-54 year olds show similar swings. Unionism is dying rapidly in Scotland.

Think the phrase you were looking for is tick tock rather than check mate😁

Selective statistics to support your argument when the actual share of the vote was pro-unionist, and your argument doesn't factor in those that voted SNP but don't want independence, which is larger than you anticipate.

What you are excluding are all those that didn't bother to vote because their vote wouldn't count.  As I said, Labour did a hatchet job of the opposition vote thanks to their hopeless new leader who spent the election fighting the Scottish Tories rather than having the guts to take on the SNP.

The argument isn't about the union dying it is actually about whether the SNP have a viable plan to indpendence that won't result in the economy getting trashed.

Edited by frankblack

frankblack
3 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

I’m not arguing Frank, merely pointing out the direction of travel.

Thirty years ago the SNP was a fringe party that hardly anyone voted for. They’ve now been running the country for nearly fifteen years and their popularity continues to increase. 

If you can’t see what’s around the corner, despite the evidence then I’m afraid I can’t help you. 

What comes up must come down.

They are due to hit a hard fall when they have the guts to put the detail of the independence plans up for scrutiny by the media.

People won't vote to make themselves poorer.  That is the be all and end all of it.

frankblack
2 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

That’s just conjecture from someone who has already decided that an independent Scotland isn’t financially viable. 

No less so than your view that independence is inevitable despite polls consistently showing no desire for it.

If you think people aren't selfish and will not vote for self-interest and personal wealth you are living in cloud cuckoo land.

Edited by frankblack

frankblack

The polls were at 28% Yes in 2012 and only once before the referendum did the yes vote go over 50%.

Something like 17 polls in a row had the yes vote at over 50% recently.  

Then several before the Holyrood elections had No leading.

The increase in the yes percentage over the years is in line with the voting stats I posted up a bit. 

I appreciate you’re not going to alter your stance so let’s just see what transpires. 

The SNP vote at holyrood doesn't map to Yes votes.

Whenever the leading SNP politicians face the hard interviews on independence they are all over the place and ripped for arse paper.

A vote on independence will be these hard interviews day after day rather than burying it under other issues like they managed for Holyrood.

33 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Then several before the Holyrood elections had No leading.

The SNP vote at holyrood doesn't map to Yes votes.

Whenever the leading SNP politicians face the hard interviews on independence they are all over the place and ripped for arse paper.

A vote on independence will be these hard interviews day after day rather than burying it under other issues like they managed for Holyrood.

Aye because the Unionist politicians always bring thier A game to interviews  :lol:

Theres more chance of Lord Lucan riding Shergar out the long grass than there is of an indyref2 in the near or distant future 

.:davebp:

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

What comes up must come down.

The union's time must be nearly up then eh?

frankblack
1 hour ago, Smithee said:

The union's time must be nearly up then eh?

Not according to the opinion polls.

4 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Not according to the opinion polls.

"What comes up must come down" must be a really weak argument then

frankblack
Just now, Smithee said:

"What comes up must come down" must be a really weak argument then

Support for independence is dropping like a stone.  The SNP haven't clarified their position on any of the major stumbling blocks and people can see through them.

4 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Support for independence is dropping like a stone.  The SNP haven't clarified their position on any of the major stumbling blocks and people can see through them.

Auditions to replace Zlatanable aren't until next week

Ainsley Harriott
3 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Theres more chance of Lord Lucan riding Shergar out the long grass than there is of an indyref2 in the near or distant future 

.:davebp:

And to think there are grown adults who actually believe Nicola will deliver it. Amazing these special types walk and live amongst us.

1 minute ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

And to think there are grown adults who actually believe Nicola will deliver it. Amazing these special types walk and live amongst us.

Says the guy who can't work out the difference between a country and a city

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

Do you live in Scotland, Frank? 

Ainsley Harriott
11 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Says the guy who can't work out the difference between a country and a city

Ooo that hurt 

frankblack
55 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Its heads in the sand time with fingers in their ears to not listen to any coherent reasons against separatism.

Anyone who thinks that the economic impact of Covid is going to be rectified during this Holyrood parliament to allow for any Indy ref needs to stop taking their drugs ASAP.

2 hours ago, frankblack said:

Just a wee reminder that there is no indeoendence campaign at the moment. When there is one, the SG will clarify their position on any problem area. Unionists shouting for all the details now are just being daft. Well they are unionists so to be expected 

Just realised this thread is about the latest snp election victory so sorry for going off topic(like every unionist post for the last few weeks) 

Edited by XB52

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

frankblack
1 hour ago, XB52 said:

Just a wee reminder that there is no indeoendence campaign at the moment. When there is one, the SG will clarify their position on any problem area. Unionists shouting for all the details now are just being daft. Well they are unionists so to be expected 

Just realised this thread is about the latest snp election victory so sorry for going off topic(like every unionist post for the last few weeks) 

These are the details they supposedly had in 2014 yet don't have now?

giphy.gif

frankblack
3 hours ago, Smithee said:

What actually happened with that poster?

17 minutes ago, frankblack said:

What actually happened with that poster?

He repeatedly bored the rest of us into a coma with his "Im right,  you're wrong" posting style.

18 hours ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Only Glasgow and Dundee voted yes first time around

Ainsley Harriott
2 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Only Glasgow and Dundee voted yes first time around

Let's build walls round Glasgow and Dundee and they can be independent. The rest of the UK would be better for it.

32 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

He repeatedly bored the rest of us into a coma with his "Im right,  you're wrong" posting style.

He had autism. I remember the thread he started about living with autism.

Maybe that reflected in his posting style.

People with autism sometimes can't get things over the way that they want to

35 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

He had autism. I remember the thread he started about living with autism.

Maybe that reflected in his posting style.

People with autism sometimes can't get things over the way that they want to

Hmmm I remain unconvinced,  got the impression he knew exactly what he wanted to say and got it across.

I'm nor piling on him, and if he is autistic the last thing Id be doing is taking cheap shots at that.

frankblack
26 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Hmmm I remain unconvinced,  got the impression he knew exactly what he wanted to say and got it across.

I'm nor piling on him, and if he is autistic the last thing Id be doing is taking cheap shots at that.

Was there some kind of meltdown that got him launched?

1 hour ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

I just remember the thread he started about autism. 

I wasn't trying to make excuses for him, just that it might be a reason for his odd posting style

2 hours ago, frankblack said:

Not that Im aware of.

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I just remember the thread he started about autism. 

I wasn't trying to make excuses for him, just that it might be a reason for his odd posting style

I know you weren't 👍

3 hours ago, frankblack said:

Just his entire time in here. 

Probably do him some good not posting here. 

Free drugs, loads of Asylum seekers, Cuts to Services, bigger Handouts all paid for by the few who bother to work their tits off.

The SNP vision of the future. 

No thanks 😂 get that pish straight in the bin.

Swahili Jambo
1 hour ago, kingantti1874 said:

Free drugs, loads of Asylum seekers, Cuts to Services, bigger Handouts all paid for by the few who bother to work their tits off.

The SNP vision of the future. 

No thanks 😂 get that pish straight in the bin.

Yeah, that's the SNP vision.  Or an all welcoming party, who will increase public services, increase places at university for our working class kids, will increase public services, will increase child benefits, will increase the NHS in Scotland.  ****in bad SNP, ****in pathetic, caught in the headlights wannabe English pish.

10 minutes ago, Swahili Jambo said:

Yeah, that's the SNP vision.  Or an all welcoming party, who will increase public services, increase places at university for our working class kids, will increase public services, will increase child benefits, will increase the NHS in Scotland.  ****in bad SNP, ****in pathetic, caught in the headlights wannabe English pish.