2021 Scottish Parliament Election (Thursday 6th May 2021)

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

Ross had yet another nightmare on the latest debate last night. Great to watch

As did Sturgeon with drug deaths and child poverty .

• Replies 2k

• sadj

• Unknown user

• ri Alban

14 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

He's a worse politician than he is a linesman, which says everything you need to know about the bools in the mooth slavering erse.

yep shot themselves in the foot with that choice 

1 hour ago, Jeffros Furios said:

As did Sturgeon with drug deaths and child poverty .

Who do you think won the STV Leaders' Debate?

• Nicola Sturgeon58%

• Anas Sarwar17%

• Douglas Ross16%

• Willie Rennie2%

• Patrick Harvie7%

On 22/04/2021 at 00:58, ri Alban said:

Good, a thread I'm no banned fae. :)

Lol give it time ! 😂

I’ve voted Labour in both votes .purely for personal reasons and as a protest vote . Best of a bad bunch really . 

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

Who do you think won the STV Leaders' Debate?

• Nicola Sturgeon58%

• Anas Sarwar17%

• Douglas Ross16%

• Willie Rennie2%

• Patrick Harvie7%

No surprise considering the SNP support .

Also the above has nothing to do with what I wrote .

You seem more concerned with how she polls instead of child poverty and drug deaths .

58 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I'm staggered that Ross got 16%.

I don't mind Willie Rennie. Seems like a decent bloke but I won't be wasting my vote on them.

More or less what the percentages could be next week. No surprise as the post above yours states.

Brian Monteith: Nicola Sturgeon’s poor form shows a lack of preparation and match fitness

There are only ten more sleeps before the Holyrood election and it is still Nicola Sturgeon’s election to lose.

Monday, 26th April 2021, First Minister Nicola Sturgeon appearing on the BBC1 current affairs programme, The Andrew Marr Show from her home in Glasgow

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon appearing on the BBC1 current affairs programme, The Andrew Marr Show from her home in Glasgow

In normal times one would have to say Agent Sturgeon is playing a blinder for the opposition; occupying her favoured berth in left-of-centre midfield she is repeatedly giving the ball away with error-prone passes and now looks jaded if not physically drained.

On her last outing yesterday at the BBC’s very own Bernabéu, Sturgeon was given a torrid time by Andrew Marr, the home side’s ball winner. In her worst performance of this season’s campaign she had no answer for Marr’s quicker footwork, which kept her pinned down and looking out of her league. High balls, like her policy outcomes, have never been the diminutive midfielder’s forte – and Marr just kept lobbing her

Short of pace, unable to tackle a proverbial fish supper and scoring far fewer goals than in previous seasons, any other player with such a loss of form would have been subbed by now – but as she’s the player-manager that’s not going to happen. While a dressing room revolt is for now unthinkable, many senior players who feel they’ve served their time are moving on and going into coaching – do they know something about the team’s prospects we are not being told?

With Sturgeon’s husband in with the bricks as chief executive everything appears unified for now, but losing the title this season could usher in moves by shareholders never before contemplated. Apart from the decidedly tribal element (which to be fair is quite substantial) many SNP supporters must watch such games as yesterday’s and wince, leading to the question, will Sturgeon be hooked after the campaign is over or even go of her own accord?

Let’s look at some of the key highlights of yesterday’s game.

Asked if she had conducted any modelling of the impact on Scots of seceding from the UK Premiership, Sturgeon admitted she had not. This follows an admission in earlier matches that the previous financial modelling that had previously been rejected conclusively as unworkable was now out of date. Nothing has been done since the last unconvincing proposed league reorganisation by Andrew Wilson’s breakaway syndicate and there has been no taking of account of the Coronavirus pandemic that has put all clubs’ debt at record levels. Without help from the UK League Officials participating clubs would have undoubtedly folded.

Now one has to ask, why recommend having a vote on leaving the UK Premiership if you have not done the financial modelling of what it means for all the supporters of each and every club, especially the poorest?

Let us remember, every year since taking control Sturgeon has said that the time was right to hold another vote, that it should not be put off, that it transcended everything else –even her top priority of education upon which she wanted to be judged. Yet even though it is so important there has been no economic scoping of what impact it would have on the Scottish people. Is that the professional approach of a person in charge? It rather seems like the slap-dash, shoot-first-ask-questions-later approach of a dreamer and a fantasist. Or, rather like the ferries that cannot sail, the hospital scandals and the Gupta deals that have been turning sour, due diligence does not matter and does not happen.

Why claim that if it had not been for the Coronavirus pandemic there would have already been a vote on a league breakaway when at the same time saying there had been no work done on financial planning since May 2018 – three years ago? What we are seeing is the typical bravado and bluster more typical of Ally McLeod – and we all know how that turned out. One great goal does not a trophy win, no matter how it always pulls at the heart strings. Losing to Peru and drawing with Iran – yes, Iran – is the fate that awaits the SNP club captain in believing her own publicity.

And then there was the border issue. When pressed about the impact of facing a hard border if the SNP is admitted to the EU championship league Sturgeon tried to make light of the transfer restrictions that would immediately play havoc with movement between it and the UK Premiership where most of the current earnings are made – an eye-watering four times as much. That’s a little more than “practical difficulties” and would present an existential threat to the club’s financial existence. Overnight it would be open to acquisition by the likes of the Troika – the EU Commission, the EU central bank and the IMF – that infamously ensured the German Bundestag had sight of the Irish budget before the Irish Cabinet itself did. That’s not “independence” that’s subservience. Under current league rules the UK Cabinet only has sight of the Scottish Government budget when it is made public.

The UK Premiership has excelled against the EU Championship this year with, sadly, supporters in the EU now fifteen times more likely to die from Covid than in the UK, thanks to the latter’s superior vaccination programme. The Scottish team dodged a bullet staying in the UK.

Sturgeon has certainly taken her eye of the ball of late, and it’s more than unfortunate drug addicts needing rehab who are going to feel abandoned. We badly need a change – but it’s the team that needs changing – not the league we play in.

Roxy Hearts
30 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Brian Monteith: Nicola Sturgeon’s poor form shows a lack of preparation and match fitness

There are only ten more sleeps before the Holyrood election and it is still Nicola Sturgeon’s election to lose.

Monday, 26th April 2021, First Minister Nicola Sturgeon appearing on the BBC1 current affairs programme, The Andrew Marr Show from her home in Glasgow

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon appearing on the BBC1 current affairs programme, The Andrew Marr Show from her home in Glasgow

In normal times one would have to say Agent Sturgeon is playing a blinder for the opposition; occupying her favoured berth in left-of-centre midfield she is repeatedly giving the ball away with error-prone passes and now looks jaded if not physically drained.

On her last outing yesterday at the BBC’s very own Bernabéu, Sturgeon was given a torrid time by Andrew Marr, the home side’s ball winner. In her worst performance of this season’s campaign she had no answer for Marr’s quicker footwork, which kept her pinned down and looking out of her league. High balls, like her policy outcomes, have never been the diminutive midfielder’s forte – and Marr just kept lobbing her

Short of pace, unable to tackle a proverbial fish supper and scoring far fewer goals than in previous seasons, any other player with such a loss of form would have been subbed by now – but as she’s the player-manager that’s not going to happen. While a dressing room revolt is for now unthinkable, many senior players who feel they’ve served their time are moving on and going into coaching – do they know something about the team’s prospects we are not being told?

With Sturgeon’s husband in with the bricks as chief executive everything appears unified for now, but losing the title this season could usher in moves by shareholders never before contemplated. Apart from the decidedly tribal element (which to be fair is quite substantial) many SNP supporters must watch such games as yesterday’s and wince, leading to the question, will Sturgeon be hooked after the campaign is over or even go of her own accord?

Asked if she had conducted any modelling of the impact on Scots of seceding from the UK Premiership, Sturgeon admitted she had not. This follows an admission in earlier matches that the previous financial modelling that had previously been rejected conclusively as unworkable was now out of date. Nothing has been done since the last unconvincing proposed league reorganisation by Andrew Wilson’s breakaway syndicate and there has been no taking of account of the Coronavirus pandemic that has put all clubs’ debt at record levels. Without help from the UK League Officials participating clubs would have undoubtedly folded.

Now one has to ask, why recommend having a vote on leaving the UK Premiership if you have not done the financial modelling of what it means for all the supporters of each and every club, especially the poorest?

Let us remember, every year since taking control Sturgeon has said that the time was right to hold another vote, that it should not be put off, that it transcended everything else –even her top priority of education upon which she wanted to be judged. Yet even though it is so important there has been no economic scoping of what impact it would have on the Scottish people. Is that the professional approach of a person in charge? It rather seems like the slap-dash, shoot-first-ask-questions-later approach of a dreamer and a fantasist. Or, rather like the ferries that cannot sail, the hospital scandals and the Gupta deals that have been turning sour, due diligence does not matter and does not happen.

Why claim that if it had not been for the Coronavirus pandemic there would have already been a vote on a league breakaway when at the same time saying there had been no work done on financial planning since May 2018 – three years ago? What we are seeing is the typical bravado and bluster more typical of Ally McLeod – and we all know how that turned out. One great goal does not a trophy win, no matter how it always pulls at the heart strings. Losing to Peru and drawing with Iran – yes, Iran – is the fate that awaits the SNP club captain in believing her own publicity.

And then there was the border issue. When pressed about the impact of facing a hard border if the SNP is admitted to the EU championship league Sturgeon tried to make light of the transfer restrictions that would immediately play havoc with movement between it and the UK Premiership where most of the current earnings are made – an eye-watering four times as much. That’s a little more than “practical difficulties” and would present an existential threat to the club’s financial existence. Overnight it would be open to acquisition by the likes of the Troika – the EU Commission, the EU central bank and the IMF – that infamously ensured the German Bundestag had sight of the Irish budget before the Irish Cabinet itself did. That’s not “independence” that’s subservience. Under current league rules the UK Cabinet only has sight of the Scottish Government budget when it is made public.

The UK Premiership has excelled against the EU Championship this year with, sadly, supporters in the EU now fifteen times more likely to die from Covid than in the UK, thanks to the latter’s superior vaccination programme. The Scottish team dodged a bullet staying in the UK.

Sturgeon has certainly taken her eye of the ball of late, and it’s more than unfortunate drug addicts needing rehab who are going to feel abandoned. We badly need a change – but it’s the team that needs changing – not the league we play in.

Cheers Lord Haw Haw!

5 hours ago, Jeffros Furios said:

No surprise considering the SNP support .

Also the above has nothing to do with what I wrote .

You seem more concerned with how she polls instead of child poverty and drug deaths .

Maybe of you read the posts you might see that what I posted had everything to do with what you wrote. I said Ross had a nightmare in the debate and you came back saying so did Sturgeon. Me pointing out that the vast majority agreed with me was very much on topic. 

2 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

😁😁😁😁 Brian Monteith 😁😁😁😁

4 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Maybe of you read the posts you might see that what I posted had everything to do with what you wrote. I said Ross had a nightmare in the debate and you came back saying so did Sturgeon. Me pointing out that the vast majority agreed with me was very much on topic. 

I have no aligence to any party and have voted SNP more than others but her continual unwillingness to answer very important issues is annoying .They are all poor leaders but I do find Rennie to be a decent guy .

On 28/04/2021 at 09:17, jonnothejambo said:

He's a worse politician than he is a linesman, which says everything you need to know about the bools in the mooth slavering erse.

He was good at lining Andrew Dallas' pockets with rent money from Holyrood. Tory gonnae Crony. 

Nat West boss says RBS would move HO from Scotland to London if independence was voted for 

Alison Rose said the group - until 2020 called Royal Bank of Scotland - would be "too big for an independent Scottish economy".

have some fear with your breakfast 

On 23/04/2021 at 10:14, windsor1874 said:

Some folk in the independence side would do more for their "cause" if they just kept their mouths quiet. The more they open their mouths the more they make the idea of independence look like it's run by loonies. Do people that rant on this forum and other social media really think this sort of "debate" convinces undecided voters to switch to yes?!

If anything they're doing more harm than good.

Agree with this 100%. I actually think the way some posters present themselves, they might actually be unionist trolls. It's really the only explanation for their 'off-putting' behaviour with regards to the independence movement. 

FWIW, I fully support independence and their posts aren't putting me off, but I am not the person that needs convinced / change their mind. 

On 26/04/2021 at 09:58, Smithee said:

39D45C2D-66DB-48C9-901E-902FC3A2E46F.jpeg

And this lot give a **** about Scotland, about us, our families or our welfare?

The mask slips, don't forget this on polling day people

The one on the right has definitely had work done. 

dobmisterdobster

I'm going to use the word 'irrelevant' in a sentence. It's irrelevant what the turnout is.

Listening to the Podlitical podcast on BBC Sounds and it was discussing why folk don't vote, or spoil ballot papers.

There is something in spoiling ballot papers because all parties need to check them and read what they say.

Or how childish the press get when rumour goes round that someone has drawn a penis on their ballot paper and they run to see if it is true.

Mars plastic

Disappointing Ruth wont be contesting Edinburgh Central so we need to make all Conservative & Unionist votes count to keep out the highly questionable Angus Robertson as there wasn't a large majority at all in 2016. A serious want about that guy so there is.

4 minutes ago, Mars plastic said:

Disappointing Ruth wont be contesting Edinburgh Central so we need to make all Conservative & Unionist votes count to keep out the highly questionable Angus Robertson as there wasn't a large majority at all in 2016. A serious want about that guy so there is.

Tory desperation, love it.

181680200_317221159767535_5928534485734549437_n.jpg

On 23/04/2021 at 10:14, windsor1874 said:

Some folk in the independence side would do more for their "cause" if they just kept their mouths quiet. The more they open their mouths the more they make the idea of independence look like it's run by loonies. Do people that rant on this forum and other social media really think this sort of "debate" convinces undecided voters to switch to yes?!

If anything they're doing more harm than good.

Couldn't give a feck about undecided voters, especially called Windsor. 

2 hours ago, Mars plastic said:

Shame the kilted cretin didn't have the guts to join his former fat controller Salmond's new militant group.

Paddy Crossan
Just now, Paddy Crossan said:

Mods, can I report this post as abusive?

The previous post of course

Randy Marsh
6 hours ago, Mars plastic said:

Bonnie Prince Bob has as good a chance as the Labour candidate apparently. :rofl:  It will probably be really tight between the Tories and SNP in this constituency. 

Swahili Jambo

If anyone thinks this is anything but a SNP/Green landside, you will be very very disappointed.  Tick tock.  Let the Saltire on our badge roar loud and proud!!

Mars plastic
1 hour ago, Paddy Crossan said:

Mods, can I report this post as abusive?

What a nauseating wee grass.

3 hours ago, Swahili Jambo said:

If anyone thinks this is anything but a SNP/Green landside, you will be very very disappointed.  Tick tock.  Let the Saltire on our badge roar loud and proud!!

Urgh. All for Indy, but I've no belief that the Greens care for it. They are vile. 

The greens are the John Terry of Scottish politics - basically bleat on about climate change when all parties are working towards this now - do little else then claim it was down to them if anything good goes through Parliament 

Des Lynam

Brian Monteith 

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: 

Is there a company he has worked for that hasn’t gone bust? 

That ***** didn’t even want a Scottish Parliament. 

Latest, and possibly last, poll before the elections

Scottish parliament voting intention(s):

Constituency:
SNP: 52% (+3)
CON: 20% (-1)
LAB: 19% (-2)
LDEM: 6% (-)

List:
SNP: 38% (-1)
CON: 22% (-)
LAB: 16% (-1)
GRN: 13% (+3)
LDEM: 5% (-)
ALBA: 3% (+1)

via
@YouGov
, 02 – 04 May
Chgs. w/ 20 Apr

Projecting YouGov 2 – 4 May into seats (changes vs 16 – 20 Apr / vs 2016):

SNP ~ 70 (+2 / +7)
Conservative ~ 25 (-2 / -6)
Labour ~ 18 (-1 / -6)
Green ~ 12 (+1 / +6)
Lib Dem ~ 4 (nc / -1)

30 minutes ago, Boab said:

Record number of voters registered !

:greggy:

hopefully all the auld nawbags with their postal votes :ears:

5 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

hopefully all the auld nawbags with their postal votes :ears:

You wish, mate !

54 minutes ago, Boab said:

Record number of voters registered !

:greggy:

Sturgeon's Meadow's Fight Club young team.

9 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

Sturgeon's Meadow's Fight Club young team.

How's your tax returns going?

Fun sponge no letting us go on holiday if she gets in 

( has she mentioned she is the only experienced leader)

Dear Nicola. 

The UK was not " ripped out" of the EU.  Westminster honoured  a referendum where a majority of the the UK population mandated this.  You know about that dont you. ?  Incredible hypocrisy. btw I voted remain. 

39 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Fun sponge no letting us go on holiday if she gets in 

( has she mentioned she is the only experienced leader)

" experienced " doesnt  always translate as competence 

Only debate I’ve ever watched where all leaders have performed better than the chair...and Ross is involved to add insult to injury.

Campbell is the BBC’s political correspondent ? 
**** me !

Quite enjoyed that. They all held their own and I prefer the respect they had to give their point of view. 

33 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Dear Nicola. 

The UK was not " ripped out" of the EU.  Westminster honoured  a referendum where a majority of the the UK population mandated this.  You know about that dont you. ?  Incredible hypocrisy. btw I voted remain. 

Scotland didn't and have been, but you know that, don't you. 

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Scotland didn't and have been, but you know that, don't you. 

Scotland didnt vote to join the EU it was the UK who voted to join the EU  

Edited by JamesM48

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

Scotland didnt vote to join the EU it was the UK who voted to join the EU  

True. Scotland didn't vote to join the UK either. 

5 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

True. Scotland didn't vote to join the UK either. 

Scotland had a vote in 2014 to stay in or not and you LOST.