New manager incoming ( merged )

Hendolad

9 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

I'm not sure it is, I'm obviously being more negative than yourself but promotion after "relegation" is just getting back to where you started rather than actual progress. 

It's all he could do tho, he couldn't finish higher. 

Winning more games, winning out of Edinburgh, getting promoted is all progress for me, but I agree the real work starts next season. 

• Replies 3.3k

• sadj

• soonbe110

28 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

If the rest of the board really want something they can outvote Ann. 

And they said the Comedy Festival wasn't going ahead this year! 😄😄😄😄

anyone who would even consider joining the bottom feeders of Scottish football is no loss to Heart of Midlothian 

2 minutes ago, iainmac said:

It’s true…if they really wanted to. 😎

Just now, davemclaren said:

It’s true…if they really wanted to. 😎

Dave....come on!

15 minutes ago, Taffin said:

If he replicates what he did before it will indeed be miraculous. If he finishes above Hibs and Rangers then fair play, fair play. Will he? No.

This entire season was thrown away. If you think a year in the Championship for Hearts isn't a waste, then your acceptance of the crap served up makes more sense and also, fair play to you for being happy with that 👍

Robbie had no influence on what came before this season. 

He got us promoted, so he's done his job. Not getting promoted would have Been "throwing the season away". 

Hearts could not have finished higher than they did, this shouldn't surprise anyone. 

Unlikely we'll finish above rangers, but I'm not shitting it from hibs. 

For a bit perspective They're going to  end up on about 62 points give or take a Couple of points and be third, Robbie had us on 65 points last time last time after promotion. 

Be prepared to be amazed! 

7 minutes ago, iainmac said:

Some folk believe anything and are blinkered.

2 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

He got us promoted, so he's done his job. Not getting promoted would have Been "throwing the season away". 

Hearts could not have finished higher than they did, this shouldn't surprise anyone. 

For a bit perspective They're going to  end up on about 62 points give or take a Couple of points and be third, Robbie had us on 65 points last time last time after promotion. 

You the fanxx club chairman?

David Black
36 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

If the rest of the board really want something they can outvote Ann. 

That's true,but that requires the rest of the board to have the cajones to do that. Do they ?

1 hour ago, Section Q said:

Even if we're in the bottom three of the league after ten games she won't sack Robbie.

Don’t know about that.  I think he knows he has to hit the ground running next season.  His position at the club  was hanging by the proverbial thread after the Brora game. 

1 minute ago, Smith's right boot said:

Never said he did. The club has wasted numerous seasons over the last 5 years, including this one. That's not Robbie's fault. It's the clubs fault and imo, failing to replace him, they risk doing it again next season.

The season was thrown away before it even kicked off. The best outcome was still a waste. Anything worse was a catastrophe.

Would you advocate us making any new signings for next season? If so, why? Given the players have done their job of us getting us promotion. If that earns the manager the right to stay on, surely it earns the players that right too?

So you agree it will be miraculous if he replicates the season you referenced.

Robbie is a specialist in getting teams out of leagues that their budget and natural position suggests they shouldn't have been in to begin with. He's very good at that.

He's also had 1 good season in the 'correct' League which was diminished by missing two of the other 'big' teams. 

Your confidence is admirable, but misplaced to my view.

1 minute ago, David Black said:

That's true,but that requires the rest of the board to have the cajones to do that. Do they ?

Nothing to do with that, it's because removing Ann right now would not help Hearts in any way at all. 

You may not want to hear that but that's the simple truth. 

The board members will know this. 

3 minutes ago, David Black said:

I think IanMac is suggesting they don’t. However, people should be aware that the board can, if they so wish, overrule the exec chair at Hearts. 

1 hour ago, Kev1998 said:

She'll have just been off the blower congratulating nelms and dundee on clinching second and wishing them all the best for the playoffs"remember Mr nelms ,don't worry about those stupid so called hearts fans wanting you to stay down" roll on next season aaaggghhhh

Imagine sitting at home actually being worried about these kind of scenarios happening, and having nothing else to do apart from getting all worked up over some deluded fantasy:rofl:

Section Q
58 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Nope. 

Are you having a mental breakdown? 

Fair concerns, but promotion after relegation is progress. 

Aye, is that right? 

She sacked CL for doing exactly that. 

Not after ten games she didn't 

5 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I think IanMac is suggesting they don’t. However, people should be aware that the board can, if they so wish, overrule the exec chair at Hearts. 

Have a look at who is on the Board then get back to me.

7 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Nothing to do with that, it's because removing Ann right now would not help Hearts in any way at all. 

You may not want to hear that but that's the simple truth. 

The board members will know this. 

Voting against AB equates to "removing Ann"  in your world?

OK, then.

Just now, Taffin said:

Never said he did. The club has wasted numerous seasons over the last 5 years, including this one. That's not Robbie's fault. It's the clubs fault and imo, failing to replace him, they risk doing it again next season.

The season was thrown away before it even kicked off. The best outcome was still a waste. Anything worse was a catastrophe.

Would you advocate us making any new signings for next season? If so, why? Given the players have done their job of us getting us promotion. If that earns the manager the right to stay on, surely it earns the players that right too?

Robbie is a specialist in getting teams out of leagues that their budget and natural position suggests they shouldn't have been in to begin with. He's very good at that.

He's also had 1 good season in the 'correct' League which was diminished by missing two of the other 'big' teams. 

I don't understand your defenition of a  wasted season. 

Is it top 3?

Cup finals

Cup wins? 

Progress and going forwards? 

You'll need to be more specific than that. 

Depending on your definition we could have wasted almost all our seasons in our history apart from a handful. 

No, I don't agree - It would be miraculous to finish above rangers, but not to be third again, like he did last time.

Why is that a bad thing? 

It wasn't diminished, is hibs 3rd place finish diminished this season because we are not in it, or rangers league diminished?

No, absolute shite. 

3rd is 3rd., 1st is 1st.

My Confidence may be Misplaced, but it is based on what has come before and  not emotional nonsense and fear. 

2 minutes ago, Section Q said:

Not after ten games she didn't 

11, I think we were 2nd bottom as well iirc. 

To an.you keep on believing everything rosy in the garden.well come back to this in October November time.and then we can all rinse repeat,rinse repeat million percent.oh and the reason I get all worked up is I care about my football team.

19 minutes ago, iainmac said:

Have a look at who is on the Board then get back to me.

They may well chose not to but they do have the right to. That’s all I’m saying. 😎

2 minutes ago, Kev1998 said:

To an.you keep on believing everything rosy in the garden.well come back to this in October November time.and then we can all rinse repeat,rinse repeat million percent.oh and the reason I get all worked up is I care about my football team.

Exactly she is just kicking the can doon the road, however when we revisit this issue in the autumn to bring in a new coaching set-up, mid season makes things much more difficult than an end of season change 

Neilson should have been gone by now, season ticket sales will now suffer and the lack of trust from the support to recruit another massive squad turnover in the pipeline does not inspire confidence 

Saint Jambo
12 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

They may well chose not to but they do have the right to. That’s all I’m saying. 😎

Although until the share transfer is complete Budge has the ability to remove Board members. Budge also has the ability to pass shareholder resolutions whenever she chooses to instruct the Board how to act.

15 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

My Confidence may be Misplaced, but it is based on what has come before and  not emotional nonsense and fear. 

So where was your confidence a few weeks ago when you admitted that it was time for Neilson to go? You posted numerous times that the Brora Rangers (not Cove Rangers as you posted earlier) result was unacceptable and he should be sacked. What was that based on? “Emotional nonsense”? “fear”?

It’s amazing that “what has come before” is the reason for your confidence, yet the same “what has come before”, is the reason for a large percentage of people wanting rid of Neilson. We’ve seen the turgid football, the dreadful tactics, the pish poor signings, the embarrassing defeats, and we don’t want to see any more of it. 

A wee reminder that out of Neilson’s entire managerial career he has spent all but 18 months of it in the lower leagues. In the 18 months he was in the top league with Hearts there was constant chat that Levein was running the show, even to the extent of notes being passed down from the stand at Pittodrie.  

Neilson has made every excuse under under the sun (rain or wind depending on the weather) this season for pish poor performances, of which there have been many. His lack of tactical nouse and managerial ability has been evident. He happened to be the manager of the team that had the best players and were always going to win that league. Neilson and the club can bum that ‘achievement’ up all the want, he did what everyone in football expected him to do.

You, as you always do, just try to back the winning horse. When it looked like Neilson would be emptied you jumped onto it quicker than a fly on shite. Now it looks like Budge is backing him you have changed your tune completely.

Fear not though, this horse is a loser. The handicapper will catch up with it next season when it’ll be shown up for the plodder it is.

3 minutes ago, siegementality said:

So where was your confidence a few weeks ago when you admitted that it was time for Neilson to go? You posted numerous times that the Brora Rangers (not Cove Rangers as you posted earlier) result was unacceptable and he should be sacked. What was that based on? “Emotional nonsense”? “fear”?

It’s amazing that “what has come before” is the reason for your confidence, yet the same “what has come before”, is the reason for a large percentage of people wanting rid of Neilson. We’ve seen the turgid football, the dreadful tactics, the pish poor signings, the embarrassing defeats, and we don’t want to see any more of it. 

A wee reminder that out of Neilson’s entire managerial career he has spent all but 18 months of it in the lower leagues. In the 18 months he was in the top league with Hearts there was constant chat that Levein was running the show, even to the extent of notes being passed down from the stand at Pittodrie.  

Neilson has made every excuse under under the sun (rain or wind depending on the weather) this season for pish poor performances, of which there have been many. His lack of tactical nouse and managerial ability has been evident. He happened to be the manager of the team that had the best players and were always going to win that league. Neilson and the club can bum that ‘achievement’ up all the want, he did what everyone in football expected him to do.

You, as you always do, just try to back the winning horse. When it looked like Neilson would be emptied you jumped onto it quicker than a fly on shite. Now it looks like Budge is backing him you have changed your tune completely.

Fear not though, this horse is a loser. The handicapper will catch up with it next season when it’ll be shown up for the plodder it is.

And that particular punter will try to rewrite history by saying "I always knew Neilson would blow it".

Chief Revisionist in Residence.

3 minutes ago, siegementality said:

👏

57 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

It's all he could do tho, he couldn't finish higher. 

Winning more games, winning out of Edinburgh, getting promoted is all progress for me, but I agree the real work starts next season. 

He couldn't of finished higher but any lower with the massive advantages he had would've been unacceptable. 

I think any coach in our league would've won it with the advantages RN had. We haven't improved for me at all, we haven't brought on any youngsters and we play pedestrian, predictable football. 

For the majority of fans to want rid of a manager who's won the league says something isn't really right. 

I think most are predicting a slow start next year having wasted another window on a manager we don't think is cut out for the job. 

I pray I'm wrong and we start well but Tynecastle will not be pleasant if we start badly. 

12 minutes ago, Saint Jambo said:

Although until the share transfer is complete Budge has the ability to remove Board members. Budge also has the ability to pass shareholder resolutions whenever she chooses to instruct the Board how to act.

As majority shareholder she would need to call an EGM for that though, which would take time. In that scenario you would have to imagine that FoH no longer supported Ann and would force the completion of the share transfer. All academic anyway but would be an interesting scenario. 

32 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

It wasn't diminished, is hibs 3rd place finish diminished this season because we are not in it, or rangers league diminished?

No, absolute shite. 

3rd is 3rd., 1st is 1st.

It's fair enough to say 3rd is 3rd whether Hibs and Rangers were there or not, but if you insist on that line then to be consistent you have to give Neilson zero credit for winning his first championship by finishing above those teams.

Cos it's 'just' the championship and winning it makes you 13th best team in the country.

Either their presence is relevent or it isn't, but you can't claim it was relevant in the Championship but not in the Premiership.

My opinion is that he should get credit for the record breaking Championship win, finishing above teams with higher budgets, but finishing 3rd in the Premiership was probably to be expected given the relative budgets of the teams we were above.

23 minutes ago, siegementality said:

59 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

I don't understand your defenition of a  wasted season. 

Is it top 3?

Cup finals

Cup wins? 

Progress and going forwards? 

You'll need to be more specific than that. 

Depending on your definition we could have wasted almost all our seasons in our history apart from a handful. 

It's competing at the level were expected to. In the mix for Europe, in the latter stages of the cups. 

There's an idea that those who want change have unrealistic expectations. I don't, I expect us to be there, or thereabouts where our budget dictates.

Bottom half of the table and the championship isn't that and is what I'd term a wasted season.

No, I don't agree - It would be miraculous to finish above rangers, but not to be third again, like he did last time.

It sounds like you do agree. Miraculous to replicate what he did last time...part of which was being ahead of Rangers and Hibs but behind Celtic and Aberdeen.

Why is that a bad thing? 

No, absolute shite. 

3rd is 3rd., 1st is 1st.

It's not based on what's come before. It's based on one season where two of our competitors for the top 4 weren't in the league. That's not what we're up against next year. If we're 3rd next year happy days. 

If any team just suddenly became good though their fans would be happy. It's like saying Arsenal might win the league next year because they've done it before so what their problem.

Anyway enjoy next season. If you're right I will too 👍

Edited by Taffin

9 minutes ago, fancy a brew said:

It's fair enough to say 3rd is 3rd whether Hibs and Rangers were there or not, but if you insist on that line then to be consistent you have to give Neilson zero credit for winning his first championship by finishing above those teams.

Cos it's 'just' the championship and winning it makes you 13th best team in the country.

Either their presence is relevent or it isn't, but you can't claim it was relevant in the Championship but not in the Premiership.

My opinion is that he should get credit for the record breaking Championship win, finishing above teams with higher budgets, but finishing 3rd in the Premiership was probably to be expected given the relative budgets of the teams we were above.

I'd say that was fair. 

26 minutes ago, siegementality said:

Tosh has never backed the winning horse in his life.

One of the world’s confirmed losers.

1 minute ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Tosh has never backed the winning horse in his life.

One of the world’s confirmed losers.

Apart from Hibs in the cup final vs Rangers. 😜

2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

It's competing at the level were expected to. In the mix for Europe, in the latter stages of the cups. 

There's an idea that those who want change have unrealistic expectations. I don't, I expect us to be there, or thereabouts where our budget dictates.

Bottom half of the table and the championship isn't that.

It sounds like you do agree. Miraculous to replicate what he did last time...part of which was being ahead of Rangers and Hibs but behind Celtic and Aberdeen.

It's not based on what's come before. It's based on one season where two of our competitors for the top 4 weren't in the league. That's not what were you against next year.

Anyway enjoy next season. If you're right I will too 👍

If that's true, then on balance we have wasted more seasons than we have had successful ones,I agree tho it is about going forward and agree with your definition of relative success 

Also, Despite generally being poor in the last last two seasons we've reached 2 sc finals, so not completely wasted even by your definition. 

Replicate, as in third place wouldn't be miraculous imo, we've done it before, even under Robbie. 

I would not consider us being third next season miraculous. 

I enjoyed parts of this season, hated others. I expect next season will be a mix as well, whoever is manager. 

5 minutes ago, iainmac said:

:scenes:

46 minutes ago, siegementality said:

You definitely talk my language, top post sir! 

1 hour ago, Lfhearts said:

Foxy not surprised, great coach another mistake by Hearts.

People on here thought he was rubbish and put him in the same bin as Jon Daly. 

You know better ? 🤔 

51 minutes ago, siegementality said:

Excellent post.

37 minutes ago, luckydug said:

People on here thought he was rubbish and put him in the same bin as Jon Daly. 

You know better ? 🤔 

Yip great coach and more importantly from a hearts family.

stevie1874
1 hour ago, siegementality said:

👏👏

If by the luck of the Irish we had Ann Budge give her thumbs down, like a Roman Emperor at the games, for the ending of the misery Robbie Neilson has inflicted on our players & support this week I know it would take many, many moons before she sifted through the candidates, picked a few donkeys, held intensive interviews asking questions like how do you feel about global warming, Brexit, house hunting, schools for their kids and how big a club like Hearts is. Many more moons later she picks the Hearts Woman’s football team manager Andy Kirk and guess what it’s welcomed by the fans and he’s given a 5 year contract to go along with the new improved 5 year plan. If only Ann if only.

Just remember it was me MITCH41 that predicted this.

Mars plastic
1 hour ago, iainmac said:

Absolutely incredible that a Hearts fan would want them to win that game. 

Mars plastic
2 hours ago, siegementality said:

What an excellent analogy. 

3 hours ago, Taffin said:

To be fair he was also having a good season the next year when only the shite weren’t in the league.

Edited by Tom Hardy’s Dug

Robbie Neilson is our Ronnie Deila. Did the minimum expected in winning a league title in a league where he had vastly greater resources than everyone else but the style of football wasn't always great and did poorly in the cups. Difference here is thellik actually acted after an unacceptable cup defeat to a lower league team (rangers!) and brought in a much better quality manager who achieved above the minimum.

Robbie may prove us all wrong (I don't think he will), but the only way he will get the time to do that from the fans is if we come flying out the traps next season. The first hint of below par performances or poor results and it will turn ugly very quickly. I just don't see the point in keeping him on whilst wasting yet another pre season and transfer window. Might as well cut the cord now and get a new man in and let him get pre season and his own players in.

• davemclaren locked this topic