• Space Mackerel

• Ainsley Harriott

• Konrad von Carstein

7 hours ago, BarneyBattles said:

Or should I say ‘obviously shiting it’  

Absolutely desperate tactics😂

I'm confident in Edinburgh west.

Nothing wrong with tactical voting rather than wasting your vote on your usual party.

I would vote Labour, Lib Dem or Tory if it would make a difference. 

I've no loyalty to any of them

How sad is this. Nothing matters to the britnats apart from stop Scottish people choosing who runs our country. NHS, COVID, Education etc etc matter not a jot. Ask Dross what time it is and his reply will include "no referendum". Actually it's not sad, it's hilarious

39 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I'm confident in Edinburgh west.

Nothing wrong with tactical voting rather than wasting your vote on your usual party.

I would vote Labour, Lib Dem or Tory if it would make a difference. 

I've no loyalty to any of them

Nationalist or not I could never bring myself to vote for that weasel Alex Cole-Hamilton under any circumstances. 

Do you have the equivalent one for tactical voting in order to try to ensure that the Tories (or any of their bosom buddies such as the Brexit Party, or whatever they call themselves now) don't win any seats? Because that's the way I've always voted and always will.

54 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Nationalist or not I could never bring myself to vote for that weasel Alex Cole-Hamilton under any circumstances. 

Likewise. He seems to be very good at being concerned about things, yet never actually does anything. 

23 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Do you have the equivalent one for tactical voting in order to try to ensure that the Tories (or any of their bosom buddies such as the Brexit Party, or whatever they call themselves now) don't win any seats? Because that's the way I've always voted and always will.

Although think only really been necessary once when I lived in Stirling and voted Labour to get rid of Michael Forsyth.

1 hour ago, Sooperstar said:

I find him very helpful and approachable. 

At least you see and hear from the Lib Dems. They come round the doors with their paper every month.

You never saw head nor tail of the SNP when they held the seat

48 minutes ago, redjambo said:

👏👏

2 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I find him very helpful and approachable. 

At least you see and hear from the Lib Dems. They come round the doors with their paper every month.

You never saw head nor tail of the SNP when they held the seat

Aye, I believe they have been done in the recent past for breaking spending limits on election leaflets etc, so you'd hope to have noticed something from them.

Ah the Unionists are bricking it. Only way to vote is SNP 1 Alba 2. If You can’t bring yourself to vote for Alba because of any personal reason against Salmond then vote Green Party (though Itheir agenda isn’t truly independence)

We will be a far better country without those pricks in Westminster. 

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

How sad is this. Nothing matters to the britnats apart from stop Scottish people choosing who runs our country. NHS, COVID, Education etc etc matter not a jot. Ask Dross what time it is and his reply will include "no referendum". Actually it's not sad, it's hilarious

They’re sad people.

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

How sad is this. Nothing matters to the snp apart from indyref2 NHS, COVID, Education etc etc matter not a jot. Ask Nicoliar what time it is and her reply will include "referendum". Actually it is vey sad the state they have the country in with their feck ups 

16 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Ah the Unionists are bricking it. Only way to vote is SNP 1 Alba 2. If You can’t bring yourself to vote for Alba because of any personal reason against Salmond then vote Green Party (though Itheir agenda isn’t truly independence)

We will be a far better country without those pricks in Westminster. 

If you vote Alba 2 you are voting against independence. SNP or Green are the only parties to give your second vote to

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

This is for Scottish people choosing who they don't want to run the country. Only people in Scotland will be voting in the Scottish parliament election.

The pro UK vote is split across the three traditional parties, so I think it's a reasonable option for devolutionists. Not convinced of it being particularly successful however.

27 minutes ago, XB52 said:

If you vote Alba 2 you are voting against independence. SNP or Green are the only parties to give your second vote to

Disagree. Greens don’t give a shit about independence. They really don’t. A super majority of Alba and SNP almost guarantees a second Indy ref 2. The greens only care about taking your car off you.

Putting SNP as your second vote is utterly wasteful and only serves the unionist parties. If you really can’t stomach Salmond then put the greens. I just think they aren’t truly bothered either way about Scottish independence and it is a policy purely as a vote grab. 

coconut doug
31 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Can you explain how a vote for Alba is a vote against independence?

3 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

It is none sense. Voting Alba 2 is literally the best and quickest route to independence. True Indy supporters will put personal feelings For Salmond and a sturgeon aside and put them

down. 

I detest sturgeon yet voting SNP 1. The cause is bigger than the people. Took albas emergence to reawaken the passion in me. 

Enzo Chiefo
12 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Cheers NT. I think Daniel Johnson (LAB) is the one to vote for in Edin Southern but I'll check the site first. It's time to fightback against the SNP who have poisoned Scottish politics for a decade now. The Unionist vote, the majority, is split between 3 parties, allowing the SNP to gain power, without a shred of interest in making devolution work. They've ended up with 85% of the seats in WM with about 40% of the vote. They conflate "the Scottish people " with separatists without any mandate whatsoever.  

You'll be lucky if there's even a 50% turnout for the Scottish election . Ffs, 33% of the country couldn't even be bothered voting in the EU referendum,  the most important plebiscite in our lifetime.  "Will of the people " my erse. Vote tactically,get them out!

coconut doug
8 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

It is none sense. Voting Alba 2 is literally the best and quickest route to independence. True Indy supporters will put personal feelings For Salmond and a sturgeon aside and put them

down. 

I detest sturgeon yet voting SNP 1. The cause is bigger than the people. Took albas emergence to reawaken the passion in me. 

I agree but why would anybody say that it is against Indy. You could say you couldn't vote for a party with Salmond or Sturgeon  as leader which is fair enough but i cant see how a vote for Alba  is a vote against independence unless you believe MacAskill, Kerevan, McEleny and numerous others who have been the most frequent and eloquent supporters of Indyref 2 are insincere. A position overloaded with irony IMO. Hopefully the poster will explain.

Roxy Hearts
3 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Correct or that Jardine!

Roxy Hearts
57 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

down. 

SNP 1 and Alba 2 for me. Keep those unionists away from our parliament as much as possible. Agitators and absolute roasters most of them.

1 minute ago, Roxy Hearts said:

SNP 1 and Alba 2 for me. Keep those unionists away from our parliament as much as possible. Agitators and absolute roasters most of them.

I have always said we need two Indy parties to keep the other one in check. If they become to confident and start ****ing about with things then the other party steps up to the plate. Born of them fighting for support is amazing and the true aim of Independence is never lost. 

Tactical voting is pretty pointless anyway. Nowhere near enough people are switched on to it, or willing to do it, to make it a success.

coconut doug
2 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Cheers NT. I think Daniel Johnson (LAB) is the one to vote for in Edin Southern but I'll check the site first. It's time to fightback against the SNP who have poisoned Scottish politics for a decade now. The Unionist vote, the majority, is split between 3 parties, allowing the SNP to gain power, without a shred of interest in making devolution work. They've ended up with 85% of the seats in WM with about 40% of the vote. They conflate "the Scottish people " with separatists without any mandate whatsoever.  

You'll be lucky if there's even a 50% turnout for the Scottish election . Ffs, 33% of the country couldn't even be bothered voting in the EU referendum,  the most important plebiscite in our lifetime.  "Will of the people " my erse. Vote tactically,get them out!

Good shout Enzo. He's indistinguishable from from the stereotypical Tory so you might as well co-opt him as the Tories have done to his party. If there is a Unionist vote why don't they just amalgamate and call themselves exactly that? A fleg in every office with a picture of the queen and Churchill and a constitution based on good old British values.

Outrageous that the SNP should get 45% of the vote and be ignored, more outrageous still that they accept their ritual humiliation at Westminster on an almost daily basis. Time now to vote Alba2 and maximise the indy vote. Time to stop the compromising and start delivering the wishes of the Scottish people should they deliver yet another mandate for Indy. We need to take Ruth Davidson and the Tories at their word and wait till we have a majority of Mps and form our own government. That's a good way to get around a divisive second referendum is it not.

You can't get them out whether you vote tactically or not. You don't have enough support over most of the country. Tories are not just disliked they are despised by many, even people who are keen to see the UK state continue will not vote to endorse the current kleptocracy. Some of us don't actually support foreign wars, nuclear weapons, rising inequality,patronage to donors, the house of Lords,Brexit, windrush, worst covid figures in the entire world, Russophobia, Sinophobia, anti Scottish attitudes, proposals to neuter or destroy our democracy, the overly centralised nature of the UK economy, Hs2, Hs3, Tunnel/bridge to Ireland, tax havens, privatisation, selling off the NHS to their donor pals at knockdown prices, vilification of the poor, a hereditary head of state and a racist, homophobic, philandering, plagiarising, lying, bumbling, duplicitous, self serving bulloon as PM . Tactical voting doesn't get you round these issues you actually need some policies rather than the constantly divisive us and them mantra of the Unionists. You would need a different approach to unite the main parties as they are supposed to be ideologically opposed. A good slogan and baseball caps might help. 

6 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Tactical voting is pretty pointless anyway. Nowhere near enough people are switched on to it, or willing to do it, to make it a success.

Agreed. The three pro UK parties would need to actually stand down candidates in certain seats for it to be effective. And that's never going to happen. 

3 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Out of interest, what is the deal with Cole-Hamilton. Have heard a few people say similar, has he been involved in a scandal or something?

I live in Edinburgh Western and would have considered voting for him so would be interested to know. 

2 minutes ago, TheOak88 said:

Out of interest, what is the deal with Cole-Hamilton. Have heard a few people say similar, has he been involved in a scandal or something?

I live in Edinburgh Western and would have considered voting for him so would be interested to know. 

He's English.

5 minutes ago, pablo said:

He's English.

Can see why that would be a problem for some people. 

8 minutes ago, TheOak88 said:

I can't think of anything he's done wrong. He always answers his e-mails and facebook posts.

People won't like him because he's not SNP

12 minutes ago, TheOak88 said:

He just comes across as a horrible wee man. I've had an exchange with him on Facebook before and I do not like him.

10 minutes ago, pablo said:

He's English.

Didn't realise that.

The trouble this tactical voting idea has is that Labour/Lib Dem voters would never countenance voting Tory, and vice versa. 

3 hours ago, redjambo said:

E47F7875-4842-4C47-AF40-E438EA2C81D6.jpeg

9 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

The trouble this tactical voting idea has is that Labour/Lib Dem voters would never countenance voting Tory, and vice versa. 

That’s nonsense I’m afraid.
In 2015 Miles Briggs the Tory candidate for Edinburgh South reckoned he had 13k votes tied up, he ended up with 10k as the rest voted for Ian Murray to keep the SNP out. The unionist vote in that area keeps him in a job, twice now he’s been the only Labour MP in the whole country, bucking the trend. 

35 minutes ago, TheOak88 said:

https://www.thenational.scot/news/19098343.alex-cole-hamilton-continues-argument-snp-f-off-incident/

https://www.thenational.scot/news/16973587.alex-cole-hamiltons-claims-election-spending-innocence-not-seem/

Enzo Chiefo
36 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

Good shout Enzo. He's indistinguishable from from the stereotypical Tory so you might as well co-opt him as the Tories have done to his party. If there is a Unionist vote why don't they just amalgamate and call themselves exactly that? A fleg in every office with a picture of the queen and Churchill and a constitution based on good old British values.

Outrageous that the SNP should get 45% of the vote and be ignored, more outrageous still that they accept their ritual humiliation at Westminster on an almost daily basis. Time now to vote Alba2 and maximise the indy vote. Time to stop the compromising and start delivering the wishes of the Scottish people should they deliver yet another mandate for Indy. We need to take Ruth Davidson and the Tories at their word and wait till we have a majority of Mps and form our own government. That's a good way to get around a divisive second referendum is it not.

You can't get them out whether you vote tactically or not. You don't have enough support over most of the country. Tories are not just disliked they are despised by many, even people who are keen to see the UK state continue will not vote to endorse the current kleptocracy. Some of us don't actually support foreign wars, nuclear weapons, rising inequality,patronage to donors, the house of Lords,Brexit, windrush, worst covid figures in the entire world, Russophobia, Sinophobia, anti Scottish attitudes, proposals to neuter or destroy our democracy, the overly centralised nature of the UK economy, Hs2, Hs3, Tunnel/bridge to Ireland, tax havens, privatisation, selling off the NHS to their donor pals at knockdown prices, vilification of the poor, a hereditary head of state and a racist, homophobic, philandering, plagiarising, lying, bumbling, duplicitous, self serving bulloon as PM . Tactical voting doesn't get you round these issues you actually need some policies rather than the constantly divisive us and them mantra of the Unionists. You would need a different approach to unite the main parties as they are supposed to be ideologically opposed. A good slogan and baseball caps might help. 

I think you should have a good lie down Doug, old boy👍. There's a lot of bitterness,  falsehoods and good old flat-earth conspiracy theories floating about in your mind.

However, when faced with the prospect of an inward looking, flag waving,  national socialist party, one that indoctrinates children, redacts reports, shreds evidence, defies legal orders and parliamentary votes, constantly passes flawed legislation that aims to control what it's citizens say, think, eat, drink and write, one that tramples over the rights of millions, and redefines biology, in order to appease all sorts of loudmouth pressure groups,  one that does not care a jot about education, health or crime, that is not interested in making devolution work well, I think I'll stick with the Union, the Barnett formula, the open GB borders, the freedom of trade and movement of people and, yes, all the "issues", real or otherwise, that you list above👍

44 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

So those are his biggest scandals. 

He once swore on a Zoom call.

He got into an argument with the electoral commission about the cost of leaflets. 

He is not exactly Margaret Ferrier is he. 

1 hour ago, Sooperstar said:

He just comes across as a horrible wee man. I've had an exchange with him on Facebook before and I do not like him.

Didn't realise that.

Appreciate your point of view, but a Facebook exchange is what it is. I am sure many politicians have come across as blunt, or unlikable on social media. 

1 hour ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

I think you should have a good lie down Doug, old boy👍. There's a lot of bitterness,  falsehoods and good old flat-earth conspiracy theories floating about in your mind.

However, when faced with the prospect of an inward looking, flag waving,  national socialist party, one that indoctrinates children, redacts reports, shreds evidence, defies legal orders and parliamentary votes, constantly passes flawed legislation that aims to control what it's citizens say, think, eat, drink and write, one that tramples over the rights of millions, and redefines biology, in order to appease all sorts of loudmouth pressure groups,  one that does not care a jot about education, health or crime, that is not interested in making devolution work well, I think I'll stick with the Union, the Barnett formula, the open GB borders, the freedom of trade and movement of people and, yes, all the "issues", real or otherwise, that you list above👍

Seriously? Get a grip.

I like reading your stuff,  rarely agree with you mind,  but there's no need for that nonsense.

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

E47F7875-4842-4C47-AF40-E438EA2C81D6.jpeg

Pleasingly enough, exactly how I intended to vote in my area. Cheers. :thumb:

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Pleasingly enough, exactly how I intended to vote in my area. Cheers. :thumb:

Me too 

3 hours ago, coconut doug said:

Because they are only going to take votes from the snp and greens and won't, imo, get enough votes to get any msps. The only parties to benefit from Alba are the blue and red tories