Happy Sir Paul Hartley day...15 years

rubyruby

How good was Hartley, his fee kicks and his energy. What I'd give for a team like that again. 

Jeez what a contrast to what we are having to watch at the moment.  Maybe Pep should show this to the current bunch of imposters.

2 hours ago, rubyruby said:

Can't believe its been 15 years 😢  what a team that was.

you look at that team and the one we have now ,budge is a disgrace

That was a wonderful day. One of the best. In common with our Cup win in 2012, it’s possible to argue that semi-final day provided even more exhilaration than the final itself.

We were deadly on the counter that year. Zipping the ball about from front to back, the pace of Hartley and the accuracy of the passing and finishing from the midfield and strikers. Such a wonderful team to watch. Remember getting excited before a game? 

How class was Jankauskas as well? 

Celebrating goals properly..... 😍

Even although we're pretty shite, it's good to know that beating hibs at Hampden still hasn't changed. 

Jambos_1874

So often over the years I have wished we had someone like Paul Hartley in midfield. The way he just got the ball, drove from midfield beating players and gave us real attacking intent is not something we've had since he left. Maybe Templeton down the wing when he was on form, but no-one else really. One of my favourite players and contributed to so many memorable games, not least the one in the OP.

On a separate point, it's strange that I enjoyed the semi-finals of our 2006 and 2012 cup runs more than the finals!!

What a day that was! Knew we had it won as soon as I saw the Hibs end half full. And our version of Seven Nation Army was absolutely phenomenal - raising the roof in the stadium for the best part of 2 hours and it just got funnier and funnier as the game progressed! Great Times!

1 hour ago, Jambos_1874 said:

So often over the years I have wished we had someone like Paul Hartley in midfield. The way he just got the ball, drove from midfield beating players and gave us real attacking intent is not something we've had since he left. Maybe Templeton down the wing when he was on form, but no-one else really. One of my favourite players and contributed to so many memorable games, not least the one in the OP.

On a separate point, it's strange that I enjoyed the semi-finals of our 2006 and 2012 cup runs more than the finals!!

Suso did this to a degree as well. The ability to drive with the ball forward can’t be underestimated. It literally can take you from defence to attack in seconds creating a host of problems for the opponents. 

Hartley, Colin Cameron absolute experts at this. 

12 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Suso did this to a degree as well. The ability to drive with the ball forward can’t be underestimated. It literally can take you from defence to attack in seconds creating a host of problems for the opponents. 

Players running and passing the ball towards the other teams goals.  Sounds quite simple really. 

Just now, Sherbet said:

Players running and passing the ball towards the other teams goals.  Sounds quite simple really. 

Tbh, despite the claims otherwise, football isn’t a complicated game. Ever since that great Barcelona and Spain team playing tippy tappy football the game has been spun as some uber complicated mechanism. They just had amazing players capable of playing to that level of system. 

Every manager comes with ideas but you need the fecking players first and foremost to be able to do it. Robbie is trying to have sub standard players playing from the back but when they do it and the opponent puts a bit of pressure on they panic and it is ultimately lobbed up the park. Wtf tie then the point in risking it? 

Take the Burely team. Could play direct or silky football. Only because we had the players though. 

The game which Hibs fought tooth and nail for to remain at Hampden because apparently Hearts didn’t have a great record there.  

All because Mowbray’s Marvels wanted to display to the nation at the home of Scottish Football how better they were than Hearts whilst beating us.  :rofl:

A very early variant what was to become known as “hibsing it”.   Although this could be termed a “pre-hibsing” given their mislead confidence before the game.  FTH.  🙂

Jambos_1874
35 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

That's a good point, Suso was good at driving attacks, and perhaps Nicholson albeit not consistently. Cameron and Hartley are very similar; superb players.

The football specials from Slateford were brilliant. No fuss, no traffic jams and back in the Ardmillan in no time.

Had to feel sorry for the M8 travellers who arrived about 90 minutes/2 hours later. 

Great night was had by all, though.

Who knew that a unique event like that would soon become the norm?

When's the next one? :HeartsManspotrun:

8 minutes ago, martoon said:

The football specials from Slateford were brilliant. No fuss, no traffic jams and back in the Ardmillan in no time.

Had to feel sorry for the M8 travellers who arrived about 90 minutes/2 hours later. 

Great night was had by all, though.

It’s almost possible to feel sorry for the M8 travellers who arrived home an hour early as well.

1 hour ago, AlimOzturk said:

kind of a normal thing for footballers though some are better than other.

receive the ball,

carry the ball into space if you can or beat a man if in the right areas

pass the ball

move into space to received a pass

other than at hearts.

Edited by kingantti1874

3 minutes ago, leginten said:

It’s almost possible to feel sorry for the M8 travellers who arrived home an hour early as well.

😄

Aye. That lot were home long before any of us. 

Thousands of others didn't even make it out their beds.

4 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

kind of a normal thing for footballers though some are better than other.

receive the ball,

carry the ball into space if you can or beat a man if in the right areas

pass the ball

move into space to received a pass

other than at hearts.

It's incredible how complicated Levein, and now Neilson, make football.

Don't think overthinking is one word in English but it is in Gorgie.

That first goal. The pass from Jankauskas. And Hartley. Of all the things he could have  done with that ball, he nudges it off the outside of his right foot. Some brilliant invention and intelligence going on there from a player right at the top of his game.

4 minutes ago, martoon said:

yep. Absolutely clueless 

3 hours ago, Salad Fingers said:

We were deadly on the counter that year. Zipping the ball about from front to back, the pace of Hartley and the accuracy of the passing and finishing from the midfield and strikers. Such a wonderful team to watch. Remember getting excited before a game? 

How class was Jankauskas as well? 

On the edge of your seat from the first whistle. 

Blasting teams off the park, the game won inside 30 mins. 

Fast forward to now, fast asleep on the couch after 30 mins. 

The difference is almost beyond belief. 

43 minutes ago, martoon said:

Aye, definitely.  There’s no doubt we had far far better players then but we’ve had plenty teams over the years with arguably less ability who were still decent to watch , won a lot and behind it all was being primed to give 100% in mind and body.

Nothing will change for me no matter what era of football. You need a decent manager allied with players he knows will give him what he expects from his team. 

We’re going through period after period of scatter gun approach to signings, the next manager inheriting players he probably doesn’t want or rate. Then acquiring more keech on top of that.  

Then we try and impose tactics or strategy the players aren’t good enough to carry out. Hearts do things back to front now.  

2 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Tbh, despite the claims otherwise, football isn’t a complicated game. Ever since that great Barcelona and Spain team playing tippy tappy football the game has been spun as some uber complicated mechanism. They just had amazing players capable of playing to that level of system. 

Every manager comes with ideas but you need the fecking players first and foremost to be able to do it. Robbie is trying to have sub standard players playing from the back but when they do it and the opponent puts a bit of pressure on they panic and it is ultimately lobbed up the park. Wtf tie then the point in risking it? 

Take the Burely team. Could play direct or silky football. Only because we had the players though. 

He’s signed 13 players now so he can’t blame what was at the club before he came. 
To think he played in this team but chooses to play like his mentor did is all you need to know about Neilson. 

2 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

We can’t expect the same quality as 2006, we can expect the same application and effort. 

15 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

We can’t expect the same quality as 2006, we can expect the same application and effort. 

Have had really teams on a fraction of the budget in the past. I don’t expect to have the same quality ever again but like you say application and desire would be a start. Would expect that from any professional. 

Just now, AlimOzturk said:

Have had really teams on a fraction of the budget in the past. I don’t expect to have the same quality ever again but like you say application and desire would be a start. Would expect that from any professional. 

its a minimum requirement mate. This hearts team would be well suited to over 60’s walking football.

52 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Aye, definitely.  There’s no doubt we had far far better players then but we’ve had plenty teams over the years with arguably less ability who were still decent to watch , won a lot and behind it all was being primed to give 100% in mind and body.

Nothing will change for me no matter what era of football. You need a decent manager allied with players he knows will give him what he expects from his team. 

We’re going through period after period of scatter gun approach to signings, the next manager inheriting players he probably doesn’t want or rate. Then acquiring more keech on top of that.  

Then we try and impose tactics or strategy the players aren’t good enough to carry out. Hearts do things back to front now.  

Great opportunity to finally get it right this summer with a lot of the squad out of contract, thank goodness.

A new leader at boardroom level, fresh outlook, new head coach, all DD's restored, big ST sales, fans enthused...

If only.

Scottish Cup was the least that team deserved but what might have been if Burley had stayed.    

35 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

The players have mentioned this too

The game was won before it started.

Hibs knew that as well as did their paltry support that day.

14 minutes ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

The game was won before it started.

Hibs knew that as well as did their paltry support that day.

6BADD2AE-5C4C-46B3-8429-126816E2E92A.jpeg

The welcoming of the team bus was a special moment. What a connection between the players and fans.

With that, then seeing the abysmal Hibs support, there was little doubt we'd win.

Usually a wreck of a man during the derby (cannot stand losing to those underlings) but not that day.

Paul Hartley's performance is probably the finest I've seen in my time.

Superb.

15 years ago ? !!  Jeez, I'm getting auld.  Still one of the most fun derbies. Sir Paul was on fire that day.

On 02/04/2021 at 09:20, Aaron78 said:

What a day that was! Knew we had it won as soon as I saw the Hibs end half full. And our version of Seven Nation Army was absolutely phenomenal - raising the roof in the stadium for the best part of 2 hours and it just got funnier and funnier as the game progressed! Great Times!

One of my best days following Hearts since the 60s😊🇱🇻 There with my lovely younger daughter😊 after 4 hours kip following a Saturday night shift on fast blacks.... Straight back from match to do a last shift on my taxi before selling it to a Hibbie! What a night- mostly delirious Jambo families plus a few sad Hibbie cants😂 Last fare from Colinton BC with tear/pish stained Hibbies going to Oxgangs - got about £20 in shrapnel from these destroyed w**ks = best Sunday night ever re cash plus feelgood factor - that plus 5-1 totally kicks 1-1-73 into a cocked hat - then 49k from said Hibbie for taxi + plate = Carlsberg weekend -almost forgot 7 Nation Army & Perfect Day HHGH 🇱🇻😊👀