Pro Cycling 2021

Cade

Stefan Kung down again. Powerful rider but showing that some riders struggle on the cobbles if they don’t have the bike handling skills. 

• Replies 1.1k

• Cade

• Tazio

• Greedy Jambo

Interesting that Bike Exchange still have most of their riders together as a unit. They’ll be riding for Michael Matthews who could be a dark horse if they can keep it together. Not being mentioned at all by the commentators. 

3 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Pidcock was 45/1 last night. 

He doesn’t have the raw power of VDP and Van Aert. You saw it in the cyclocross races in the winter where the 3 of them dominated. I wouldn’t even try to predict the winner of this today. 

1 minute ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I think Phil has done too much, too early. 

That’s what it looked like in the world champs as well. He went off and got caught a couple of times. He seems to have great on road recovery times. 

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Disqualified for chucking a bottle to the side of the road

****ing great idea - encourage souvenir-hunting crowds to accumulate in permitted disposal areas...

Ballsy win. It takes a lot to go head to head with VDP like that after 250k. Pleased for Van Avermaet as well. 
Now fingers crossed for Annamiek Van Vleuten in the women’s race though that’s another one any rider from 10 could win.  

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Ballsy win. It takes a lot to go head to head with VDP like that after 250k. Pleased for Van Avermaet as well. 
Now fingers crossed for Annamiek Van Vleuten in the women’s race though that’s another one any rider from 10 could win.  

Called it. Delighted for her. 

2 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Roglic wins the first stage of the Basque country. 

I thought it started tomorrow!

Not all that excited by it but might tune in for stage 2 tomorrow. 

https://www.cyclingnews.com/itzulia-basque-country/

Absolutely rotten way to start a short stage race by having a TT. Roglic won it by so much it’s going to be tough for anyone to make up so much time. It’s normally a very hilly race so could be some interesting tactical racing. 

This has been a great day's racing.

Loving the footage of riders negotiating their way up through the team car/motorbike convoy.

Some fairly near misses on show.

:wow:

Right, so, since we're not allowed to talk about the cycling until Tazio has watched it... lol

I decided to search all the sports on the Eurosport player, there's feckin millions of random shit. 

Shooting, Archery, Electric car racing... 

I ended up watching the women's weightlifting for about 2 hours!  haa

Oh and heads up there are two channels of cycling tomorrow afternoon as the Schelderprijs one day race is on Eurosport 2 at the same time. 

Just now, Greedy Jambo said:

I see Sagan might be making a move to quick step. 

That's some team to join. 

That would be an odd move as Sam Bennett is top dog there in terms of stages and beat Sagan to the green the TdF last year. 

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

That would be an odd move as Sam Bennett is top dog there in terms of stages and beat Sagan to the green the TdF last year. 

Fair point, could be bullshit, or maybe they want the 2 of them. 

2 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Fair point, could be bullshit, or maybe they want the 2 of them. 

It sort of makes sense as he would be going in to replace Cav who only has a one season contract and will probably retire at the end of the year. 

Now I don't know what you watch today! 😆

Scheldeprijs has a really strong start list and I love cobbled classics.

But then after watching the first to days of the Basque tour, and it only being 6 days long, I don't really want to miss that either.

Scheldeprijs is scheduled to end before stage 3 of Basque, so I may have to just catch the end of the Basque stage live and watch highlights later.

Schelderprijs is as expected so far. Not too exciting but the last 2km should be lively to say the least. Bennett looks like a shoe in but Ackerman is there as well and had some good form last year. 

Just now, Cade said:

:scenes: Pog and Rog going at it head to head all the way up that climb and all the way back down again.

Back to my point of how unfair it is to start a stage race with a TT. It means Roglic just has to make sure he can stay close to Pogacar and not let him get too many bonus seconds on stages. 

34 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Back to my point of how unfair it is to start a stage race with a TT. It means Roglic just has to make sure he can stay close to Pogacar and not let him get too many bonus seconds on stages. 

But that also works in reverse.

All Rog would have to do was stick close to Pog then smash him later on in the TT.

GT riders have to be good at everything, from TT to climbing to sprinting.

20 minutes ago, Cade said:

But that also works in reverse.

All Rog would have to do was stick close to Pog then smash him later on in the TT.

GT riders have to be good at everything, from TT to climbing to sprinting.

Well I’d also argue that a TT has no real place in a one week stage race. Over a full grand tour you can make up for not being a great TT rider. And if you must have one in a short race have it at the end of the week so you get to see riders working hard all week to make sure they have a time advantage over the specialists going into it. I don’t want it to go back to the days of TT riders caning everyone on them and then being dragged through the rest of the race by their team, and I believe the UCI don’t want that either as it was making the grand tours boring, the TdF especially. 

Aye it was pish having a TT prologue then three weeks of a team crushing all opposition to defend that time.

TT and even flat sprinter stages are a bit shite on a GT anyways, to be honest.

Just token events to give a small handful of specialists something to do.

Screaming at the motorbike to get out of the way as the cyclists are going faster than the camera bike on the descent

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Cav won stage 2 of the Tour of Turkey yesterday.

:wow:

I missed it.

Add stage 3 to that, he’s just won again. 

I was also amazed yesterday that the commentators didn’t clock that his bike had thrown its chain just as he crossed the line. Really pleased for him as he genuinely loves the sport and racing. Tour Of Turkey is very much a 2nd level race but that won’t matter a bit to him as he just want to be doing it. 

A first pro win for Tom Pidcock on today’s Brabantse Pijl race. And beating Van Aert and Trentin on the sprint to do it so a top class win. 

Some climb that.

Like a wee roundabout in that part of the world too.

Good finish, felt bad for the guy that got caught just short.

Nothing left in the tank.

Just now, Tazio said:

Amazing finish to the Amstel Gold race. Millimetres in it and still no final result from the judges. 

Did I hear joint winners?

10 minutes ago, Hesh said:

Did I hear joint winners?

They’ve given it to Van Aert. Not a clue how they could make that decision as it must be about a mm at most.