Sweet tooth?

Morgan

Do you have a ‘sweet tooth’?  

What do you eat to satisfy it?

I’ve always had one, but recently it’s become ridiculous.  :sad: 

Edited by Morgan

Having a sweet tooth is a curse. 

I've been trying to avoid it recently. Few bits of fudge is usually enough to deal with it as its pretty sugary sweet stuff. Anymore you just get scunnered and feel ill. 

Weirdly been tanning packets of cheese oatcakes when i do get an urge. Sometimes does enough to keep it away. 

Love a sweetie - prefer chewy to boiled.

Love a bit of chocolate.

Love a custard slice or a millionaire's shortbread but you're safe with any other cake - I'll share.

I used to but definitely not as bad as it was, definitely prefer savoury now.  Things like olives and goats cheese that I used to hate I really enjoy now.

Pains au chocolat. Can't get enough of them. They go far too well with a cup of coffee too.

Edited by redjambo

Chocolate 

Cakes 

Doughnuts

Jelly Sweets

My ever-expanding waistline will testify to that. 

29 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I prefer savoury. 

Cheese, cheese and more cheese. 

They do cheese butteries up here. 

Unreal. 

3 minutes ago, indianajones said:

They do cheese butteries up here. 

Unreal. 

Sounds brilliant. 

Tesco do cheese rolls that aren’t a million miles away from butteries. Definitely not the same though, less lard is probably the issue. 

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Do you have a ‘sweet tooth’?  

What do you eat to satisfy it?

I’ve always had one, but recently it’s become ridiculous.  :sad: 

Yh mine has got really bad recently too. One could if they wanted take a chromium supplement it helps to regulate blood sugar levels but can also help to stop sugar cravings

Just now, sadj said:

🤢🤢

No a fan Sadj? 

I prefer the originals with a cup of coffee. Had to stop buying them recently as i was tanning the whole back in one sitting. 

Sinclairs of Rhynie do the best imo!

1 minute ago, indianajones said:

No a fan Sadj? 

I prefer the originals with a cup of coffee. Had to stop buying them recently as i was tanning the whole back in one sitting. 

No im not a fan at all! My pal Becca loves them , she can’t understand why I don’t like them. 

Im not far from Rhynie but i’ll just take your word for it rather than try them 🤣🤣

Sweet tooth my downfall. Chocaholic me, especially dark chocolate. Box of Black Magic chocolates my ultimate downfall.

7 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Chocolate. 

In my youth I used to love a quarter of loose midgets gems covered in a Bassett's Sherbet dab. Ate the liquorice then poured the sherbet over the sweets, gave it a good shake then endulged. 

I'm 64 and still have all my teeth....

and they sit in a glass at the side of your bed

Like a fruit scone. Wi butter and jam on.

We always have a cake when Bake Off is on.

Had a Mary Berry Raspberry Ripple tonight. Bit meh!

Mrs JH is ridiculous 

Tablet, Puff Candy, Millionaire Shortbread all the proper sweet stuff

Edited by Jamhammer

2 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Those Lindt chocolate baws melt in the moof. 

You can ram the dark chocolate ones though. 

No crap from me tonight, GJ.

These Lindt (the red ones) are my all-time favourite chocolate.

Secondly, like you, I hate dark chocolate.  👍

1 hour ago, Jamhammer said:

Mrs JH is ridiculous 

Tablet, Puff Candy, Millionaire Shortbread all the proper sweet stuff

Aye, she was saying....

😉

10 minutes ago, Morgan said:

No crap from me tonight, GJ.

These Lindt (the red ones) are my all-time favourite chocolate.

Secondly, like you, I hate dark chocolate.  👍

They are good. 

I'm more of a savoury tooth man myself, not that it does me any good, i'll end up buying oat cakes trying to be healthy and end up putting slabs of brie on them.

Depends what it is.  If I never had a bit cake in my life again I wouldn’t care.

Crisps are a different story. 

1 minute ago, Byyy The Light said:

Depends what it is.  If I never had a bit cake in my life again I wouldn’t care.

Dark chocolate of any description, especially peppermint.

Not biscuits, bit shortbread or any chocolate biscuit.

Jelly babies, the whole bag gone in minutes. 

I admit it : I'm a greedy pig. 

2 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

They are good. 

They sell a box of them here, but 15 large squares of the wee beauties, like twice the size of the balls.  Absolutely delish, and only 2.79€ a box.

They have also made a box of them (Egg shaped) for Easter (obvs) with about 30 of them for 4.49€.

8 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

3 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Dark chocolate of any description, especially peppermint.

Not biscuits, bit shortbread or any chocolate biscuit.

Jelly babies, the whole bag gone in minutes. 

I admit it : I'm a greedy pig. 

😄 that’s me too. Those maoam pinball things, woomph gone. 

4 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

😄 that’s me too. Those maoam pinball things, woomph gone. 

I started eating them when I took up running - I couldn't find anything to eat that didn't give me a stomach upset on 10 mile runs (bad pun).

Feck sake, I was running half marathons for fun  and I still put weight on. 

9 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

I started eating them when I took up running - I couldn't find anything to eat that didn't give me a stomach upset on 10 mile runs (bad pun).

🤣 I don’t even bother buying them or jelly babies any more. As soon as I have one the rest get hoovered pronto

8 hours ago, Byyy The Light said:

🤣 I don’t even bother buying them or jelly babies any more. As soon as I have one the rest get hoovered pronto

As I head for my 50s I still don't have the willpower to leave any jelly babies in the bag. I literally end up with stomach ache for hours, can't help myself.

Also, dairy milk, god damn you Cadburys!

Yes I have a sweet tooth unfortunately. Cola flavour sweets, black jacks and fruit salads my particular favourites. 

Toffee, penny dainties especially although they are nowhere as near as good as they used to be. They'll be the reason I'm getting root canal treatment just now unfortunately

13 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Chocolate. 

In my youth I used to love a quarter of loose midgets gems covered in a Bassett's Sherbet dab. Ate the liquorice then poured the sherbet over the sweets, gave it a good shake then endulged. 

I'm 64 and still have all my teeth....

Hopefully, like me, you have protested about the Maynard's takeover of the midget gem and their abolition of the liquorice black one (Sports Mixture, too).

Thankfully, a hero on JKB pointed me (about a year ago) to Home Bargains where the original Lion's midget gems are available. Luckily, Home Bargains is a bit of a hike for me so my teeth have survived.

Never tried the sherbet/gem combo, though. Even for me, that sounds a bit tingly.

17 hours ago, iantjambo said:

Not really.

I do enjoy my sweet stuff but I’m more a savoury type of guy.

I'm the same. Used to love a lot more sweet stuff when I was younger. Always liked a chocolate bar in the morning, but as I've got older, as much as I still love a bit of chocolate, I don't eat it anywhere near as much. Give me a roll and a bag of crisps any day.

17 hours ago, iantjambo said:

Not really.

I do enjoy my sweet stuff but I’m more a savoury type of guy.

Sweet tooth as a kid but when I discovered stuff like dry roasted peanuts, cashews etc. as a teen, the tide turned.

Can only face chocolate in tiny amounts now.

Thought my dad was talking shite when he told me as a child that it would happen.

Could sit and eat things like wine gums and haribos till I was sick. Love sour sweets too. Been on a diet, sort of, since the start of February so barely touched any sweets. A blow out isn't far away.

Edited by Jamie Walker Tash

17 hours ago, milky_26 said:

and they sit in a glass at the side of your bed

14 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Love maoam , used to keep my car stocked up with them. Before the gym , after the gym (the natural sugar is good for protein uptake) , but also anytime...I used to park my car beside the lift in the car park. Id get out of bed and nip down to the car for a handful if the mood took me. 🙈

Edited by sadj

18 hours ago, indianajones said:

No a fan Sadj? 

Iv been reliably informed by Miss Grimmer that hearing them up and having them with butter is a different ball game. I do not however believe this and think it is Aberdonian hype to try to get me to try this lard laden abomination again 😒

3 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

They ain’t the same nowadays.....

Nothing is, Jonno.  :sob:

crunchy frog

When I was younger the doctor told me I had too much sugar in my water.

My mother caught me pissing on my cornflakes the next morning 🙄

Never been a sweetie person . I used to wonder why but I think it was due to not being spoilt as a kid and brought up in poverty in some respects so we didn’t have much for luxuries !!’ Awe .,,, “ we weren’t poor poor we just didn’t have anything “ ! So anyway I liked bread and savoury stuff due to that I think . Off bread now though but still like snacks like cheese and crackers or nachos 

Edited by JamesM48