Get Budge to **** and as far away from our club as possible ( merged )

i8hibsh

8 minutes ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

I found the interview - these are direct quotes from Stuart Wallace on This is my Story podcast.

“I’ve got a couple of rules, if somebody’s got less than 100 followers I just ignore them... I don’t even read it. If somebody has got less than 500 followers and they’re making a decent point I think that all that’s going to happen is if I reply to it it’ll just give it oxygen” 

“There’s a small minority and if they want to make a point, frankly they’re welcome to make a point...if they’ve got a criticism of me or anybody else what I would say is pony up, put your name in, do something about it and come forward and get involved. Don’t sit in the background throwing rocks or otherwise pipe down”.

That first part is awful, comes across so far up his own arse and reeks of self importance.

Even the 2nd quote - it's a shame they are running a closed shop. The last AGM you could only even be considered for nomination to join the tea party if you had substantial experience in law or finance or something like that. But with that attitude coming from the top it's no surprise, stinks of a bowling club committee mentality but with added prestige! 

• Replies 403

• i8hibsh

• Jambo61

• Dusk_Till_Dawn

Just now, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

Yup, that’s my reading of it as well. Elitist and pompous. 

He also says “anyone can put themselves forward”. 

Which is totally disingenuous - for the reasons I set out. 

And while we're talking about FOH and their non exec roles - 

Good NEDs have the ability to stand up to the executive and demonstrate their role, which is to hold the executive to account for managing the delivery of the business.” “NEDs need impeccable integrity and to focus only on what's right for the business and stakeholders.”

2 hours ago, weehammy said:

Failure to change the 90% supermajority means we’re stuck with the hands-off FOH model with little hope of significant investment or accountability.

I would strongly argue that its the limitations imposed (by FoH themselves) in terms of number of seats on the Hearts board that is the biggest problem.

18Jambo_dave74
Just now, FTH said:

That first part is awful, comes across so far up his own arse and reeks of self importance.

Even the 2nd quote - it's a shame they are running a closed shop. The last AGM you could only even be considered for nomination to join the tea party if you had substantial experience in law or finance or something like that. But with that attitude coming from the top it's no surprise, stinks of a bowling club committee mentality but with added prestige! 

Fits in with the comments we hear from Budge. “A pile” of unhappy fans and “genuine supporters” are phrases that have been used.

Not allowed an opinion and not allowed to criticise but keep on coughing up seems to be the message. 

4 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said:

Looks like he's keeping his job. Unbelievable.

It really is beyond belief.

Fans should refrain from paying for PPV on Saturday. 

That's the only thing Budge understands and cares about, money.

6 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said:

Looks like he's keeping his job. Unbelievable.

What have you heard?

1 minute ago, Pans Jambo said:

What have you heard?

Just from journalists articles. No plan to have a board meeting today.

18 minutes ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

I found the interview - these are direct quotes from Stuart Wallace on This is my Story podcast.

“I’ve got a couple of rules, if somebody’s got less than 100 followers I just ignore them... I don’t even read it. If somebody has got less than 500 followers and they’re making a decent point I think that all that’s going to happen is if I reply to it it’ll just give it oxygen” 

“There’s a small minority and if they want to make a point, frankly they’re welcome to make a point...if they’ve got a criticism of me or anybody else what I would say is pony up, put your name in, do something about it and come forward and get involved. Don’t sit in the background throwing rocks or otherwise pipe down”.

Never seen that before.

Stuart Wallace: another one who can **** off.

Just now, OmiyaHearts said:

Just from journalists articles. No plan to have a board meeting today.

Budge helped save Hearts and she’s been successful in business, so well done for that.

But she’s proved time and time again that she is clueless when it comes to running a football club and has no sense of the anger and frustration that fans feel over her general incompetence and also Neilson’s management of the team.

Go now and take your love child with you.

Edited by hunts

16 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

Wake the **** up Jambos.

I owe you an apology i8, I used to see your posts about budge and thought why don't you give it a rest. However, since Saturday, I have been slowly changing my mind, then last night, a full 180 complete. Get her to feck.

47 minutes ago, FTH said:

Has she?

With Locke I imagine there was a relegation clause in his contract so hardly a ruthless act, but certainly one that was handled very much in an "Ann Budge" fashion in that she sneakily gave someone else the job behind Gary's back. With Cathro Levein was DoF so probably made the call. Next up Levein wasn't sacked he was moved to another job that was invented to avoid sacking him. Finally with Stendel she was a coward and took advantage of the fact he offered to take no wages and return to Germany. During which she took the time to review the small print of his contract to find a way to re-employ her golden boy Neilson without even having the courtesy to call Daniel and explain she no longer wanted to retain him.

She's a sneaky, back stabbing coward unless she's your pal like poor auld Craigy.

This in bundles!

3 hours ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

correct - she let Levein take all the stick going and did nothing - the minute the stick turned to her Levein was sacked (or a plan hatched to appear that he was sacked to appease  the plebs)

levein was sacked a matter of hours before queen ann attended a supporters/shareholder function

apparently she got a round of applause when she entered the room - she must have been secretly laughing her ass off - she did well to stifle it to be fair 

if enough fans (there’s been a few massive turn arounds in position on here recently) genuinely want change forget neilson the pressure needs to be applied to queen ann and foh - and just be clear that doesn’t mean tannin in windaes  etc

She did it with Cathro too, they were in the Gorgie stand the day of the Dunfermline game and were getting pelters the whole time. 
She didn’t actually sack Levein she just moved him and didn’t renew his contract. 

We should be grateful to have Ann.

In the past we've had egotistical owners who ran up club debt to fund their disastrous tenures, using the stadium as security.

That would never happen nowadays...

jambocall51
1 minute ago, fancy a brew said:

We should be grateful to have Ann.

In the past we've had egotistical owners who ran up club debt to fund their disastrous tenures, using the stadium as security.

That would never happen nowadays...

don't think anyone here doesn't appreciate the fact she saved us. however she hasn't be successful on the football front under the tenure. she's had 4 different managers since 2016 and none of them have delivered and there's seems to be this  softness about the club in recent years under her leadership too. the financial stability is important but there should also be success on the pitch which there hasn't been under her.

Auldbenches
1 hour ago, tolcross lad said:

Thanks for the info.

It's very concerning.Its hard to see a way out of this growing debt and dependence on Ann Budge.

She is now our Tom Farmer but more hands on.  

1 minute ago, jambocall51 said:

don't think anyone here doesn't appreciate the fact she saved us. however she hasn't be successful on the football front under the tenure. she's had 4 different managers since 2016 and none of them have delivered and there's seems to be this  softness about the club in recent years under her leadership too. the financial stability is important but there should also be success on the pitch which there hasn't been under her.

I think you missed a teensy weensy bit of sarcasm in my post.

Yes, we will always be grateful for her part in getting out of admin, but she shouldn't even be majority shareholder now according to the deal with FOH.

The poor decisions of the last 5 years that you mention have been expensive, and debts to Budge are being run up using Tyncastle as security.

Her reputation for financial stability is no longer deserved.

jambocall51
1 minute ago, fancy a brew said:

I think you missed a teensy weensy bit of sarcasm in my post.

Yes, we will always be grateful for her part in getting out of admin, but she shouldn't even be majority shareholder now according to the deal with FOH.

The poor decisions of the last 5 years that you mention have been expensive, and debts to Budge are being run up using Tyncastle as security.

Her reputation for financial stability is no longer deserved.

ah sorry, I missed the bit at the very bottom 😬

How much money can she give more, what facilities etc. Wrong target this time, perhaps 2 years ago, not now. 

In any case she seems in a hurry to get out herself now, these things dont take 2 mins to handover. A bit of common sense needs to be applied

5 year plan ....

The results are in

Two stints in the Championship

Loads of managers and players (all p1sh)

Out the Cups to Alloa and Brora (this season)

5-0 Livingston

No players from the Academy

Levein escorting Stendel around the club upon his appointment

Berra emptied to Dundee (Neilson brings back and makes Captain)

Martin / Damour / Periera (add away)

Fortunes on Naismith (missing in action ... again)

This list goes on and on, from here.

New stand (every club has a stand)

2 runners-up medals (the only silverware we're gonna see)

Saint Jambo
5 hours ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

Wow. I've been critical of both Budge and FOH for their rubbish or non-existent comms with fans before, but that it next level awful. 

People have already covered the point about the candidates needing to have certain qualifications at the last election. The 'pony up' bit is offensive. 8,000 of us have 'ponied up' so he can play at being a Board member of Hearts. Then he has the arrogance to suggest no fan/contributor has the right to criticise unless they are on the Board.

5 hours ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

Is this legit?

What an absolute . Pony up? I put in £50 a month you ****ing weapon, before all the other money I spend on the club. You’re the one who put yourself forward, only to act like a spineless, arse licking spiv. Why not try finding your bollocks?

18Jambo_dave74
11 minutes ago, Saint Jambo said:

Wow. I've been critical of both Budge and FOH for their rubbish or non-existent comms with fans before, but that it next level awful. 

People have already covered the point about the candidates needing to have certain qualifications at the last election. The 'pony up' bit is offensive. 8,000 of us have 'ponied up' so he can play at being a Board member of Hearts. Then he has the arrogance to suggest no fan/contributor has the right to criticise unless they are on the Board.

3 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Is this legit?

What an absolute . Pony up? I put in £50 a month you ****ing weapon, before all the other money I spend on the club. You’re the one who put yourself forward, only to act like a spineless, arse licking spiv. Why not try finding your bollocks?

As I say this is from the This Is My Story Podcast - Episode 10 which is from last August (sorry on my phone so not sure how to put up a link). I’m sure it was around 1 hour 40 mins in to the episode.

I listened to it at the time and was pretty disgusted with these comments but don’t remember much being said at the time. The comments stuck with me though and thought it was relevant to listen again today to make sure I wasn’t misquoting.

Its exactly how I picture people employed at Hearts at that level. ‘Older’ people with a background in law/finance/IT etc (blazers) that split their time between playing golf and enjoying the hospitality of boardrooms that boost their own self importance. Our new CEO seems to be along these lines.

Elitist. Arrogant. Pompous. 

Sums up the whole “we know best, cough up and shut up” attitude that has been prevalent at our club for years now.

5 hours ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

It really is beyond belief.

Fans should refrain from paying for PPV on Saturday. 

That's the only thing Budge understands and cares about, money.

But last night has cost us a lot of money. Cup finalists last two seasons. Not even in the ****** 3rd round!!!!

Scott980612
4 hours ago, MCW1976 said:

5 year plan ....

The results are in

Two stints in the Championship

Loads of managers and players (all p1sh)

Out the Cups to Alloa and Brora (this season)

5-0 Livingston

No players from the Academy

Levein escorting Stendel around the club upon his appointment

Berra emptied to Dundee (Neilson brings back and makes Captain)

Martin / Damour / Periera (add away)

Fortunes on Naismith (missing in action ... again)

This list goes on and on, from here.

New stand (every club has a stand)

2 runners-up medals (the only silverware we're gonna see)

Utterly depressing  

In a business where it’s results based .. how can anyone argue when you see that. 

Clueless 

It has oft been quoted that the club should be "fan owned not fan run"

How is that working out for us??

Seriously a group of well minded fans off the street could hardly do a worse job.

glynnlondon
27 minutes ago, Saint Jambo said:

Sounds like an entitled arse enamored enough of Budge to blindly defend her over very valid supporter concerns.

Just the type Annie likes around her.

**** him

10 hours ago, Forever Hearts said:

You're praising him for winning the Championship? There really is no hope with fans like you. Utterly mind-boggling. 

Did you just shrug your shoulders when we won the Championship at a canter with both Hibs and Rangers in the league? Nah didn't think so.

Nice attempt at sidestepping the main points in my post though.

2 minutes ago, saxondale said:

Did you just shrug your shoulders when we won the Championship at a canter with both Hibs and Rangers in the league? Nah didn't think so.

If your post is defending either Snoreson or Mrs Mangle then I cannae even be arsed to read it

To compare this to 2015 is the most stupid thing I’ve heard in a while

19 minutes ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

As I say this is from the This Is My Story Podcast - Episode 10 which is from last August (sorry on my phone so not sure how to put up a link). I’m sure it was around 1 hour 40 mins in to the episode.

I listened to it at the time and was pretty disgusted with these comments but don’t remember much being said at the time. The comments stuck with me though and thought it was relevant to listen again today to make sure I wasn’t misquoting.

Its exactly how I picture people employed at Hearts at that level. ‘Older’ people with a background in law/finance/IT etc (blazers) that split their time between playing golf and enjoying the hospitality of boardrooms that boost their own self importance. Our new CEO seems to be along these lines.

Sums up the whole “we know best, cough up and shut up” attitude that has been prevalent at our club for years now.

I have to say that I found the FOH bits of the BBC documentary very interesting. I'm probably of an age with most of these people and my first thoughts were that I didn't recognise any of them. I appreciate that you will never know everyone, but in the days of the terracing when it was easier to move around you could recognise all the regular faces especially those prepared to turn up at the likes of Dumbarton and Ayr on miserable midweek evenings. 

If it has come to a beauty contest won by those who can put the most money into FOH then it is hardly representative of the membership and, as you say, it is just going to be stuffed with hospitality brigade using our money to boost their egos. 

If I've got this wrong then I'm sorry, but I have to say that the comments you are attributing to Stuart Wallace are horrific. 

38 minutes ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

Some of the players were playing at Dalmahoy today. FYI.

Forever Hearts
38 minutes ago, saxondale said:

Whoopy doo, we won the Championship with a shite Rangers team and a shite Hibs team in it five years ago. All is forgiven. Thanks Robbie. 

Like everyone on here I'm really saddened by how all of this is unfolding. Ours has been a quite unbelievable story - from the very edge of extinction to 'imminent' fan ownership. AB has played a huge part in that and gave us the chance to save our club which we have. IMO we should always be grateful to her for giving us that opportunity and for that reason I won't be joining in the angry/juvenile name calling that some seem to be drawn to.

In saying that, her legacy is on a very shaky wicket. She needs to leave asap before she does even more damage to that legacy - if she does leave now, she'll be talked about in years to come in far more glowing terms than she is now.

She's made mistakes like many others before her, and I do feel that she's been horribly let down by lots of the so called football people she's had on board. Ultimately though, she carries the can - she'll happily take the plaudits when all goes well so she needs to accept the criticism when it's due too. Levein must of course take a major share of the blame for our demise but it's AB that he was accountable to, and she didn't act quickly and decisively enough.

We'd all love to be a fly on the wall at these Board meetings. Rightly or wrongly I get a picture of cozy wee cups of tea and a packet of Hob Nobs. Boards need strong characters, not just at the very top, and you only have to look at RBS to see what a Board full of nodding dogs does to your business.

Whatever the reality, there has been a  massive disconnect between the club and fans for some considerable time. A real lack of desire to understand what the football club means to them and how to tap into the knowledge/experience/'wishes' of the fanbase. It does seem to be their way or no way until of course the hats handed round for a wee donation. 

I've been disappointed with the interaction I've had with FOH. Very similar to the club - quite dismissive, having not taken the time to fully understand the issue and the proposal. 

Part of me thinks that having these rich benefactors has been a millstone around our necks. Players and agents talk and they all know how we're placed. It's no different from many family budgets - you earn X, you spend X. Doesn't necessarily make you any happier it just means you can buy a more expensive whatever. When you hand that budget over to someone who decides to 'reward' their new signings with a high basic and low bonus structure, don't be surprised when you get a bunch of players who don't give a rats ass. CL should never have been allowed to get away with that and that was on ABs watch. 

She needs to be very careful in these trying times. Covid has shown many of us that whilst football is important, there are actually more important things in this world. As things start to open up and we return to something more approaching normality, she might find that supporter loyalty is not boundless.

FOH need to wake up too and realise that it's not a bottomless money pit.

It's sad when you realise that you and your fellow supporters are the ones who are really hurting after a result like last night. I doubt many of the 'others' are feeling it quite so badly.

7 hours ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

It would be good if you could post a link to that so folk can listen for themselves. Not suggesting you are misquoting or anything, as I haven’t heard it, but hearing it first hand helps put things in context. 

19 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

In saying that, her legacy is on a very shaky wicket. She needs to leave asap before she does even more damage to that legacy - if she does leave now, she'll be talked about in years to come in far more glowing terms than she is now.

An excellent read. 

However I feel that her legacy is well and truly "blown out of the water"......She will always be associated with and remembered for the Brora cup game.
Mrs Budge legacy has been slowly eroding away for years now...the glowing terms you refer to are fast becoming a fading memory after one catastrophic decision after another.

She cannot, and should not be forgotten or forgiven for her total mismanagement of the footballing side, the core of the Hearts business.

Last nights result is for ever consigned to the history books. No matter what Mrs Budge does between now until the end of her reign will never eradicate what will always be the worst result in our history.

Edited by Hashimoto

21 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Like everyone on here I'm really saddened by how all of this is unfolding. Ours has been a quite unbelievable story - from the very edge of extinction to 'imminent' fan ownership. AB has played a huge part in that and gave us the chance to save our club which we have. IMO we should always be grateful to her for giving us that opportunity and for that reason I won't be joining in the angry/juvenile name calling that some seem to be drawn to.

She's made mistakes like many others before her, and I do feel that she's been horribly let down by lots of the so called football people she's had on board. Ultimately though, she carries the can - she'll happily take the plaudits when all goes well so she needs to accept the criticism when it's due too. Levein must of course take a major share of the blame for our demise but it's AB that he was accountable to, and she didn't act quickly and decisively enough.

We'd all love to be a fly on the wall at these Board meetings. Rightly or wrongly I get a picture of cozy wee cups of tea and a packet of Hob Nobs. Boards need strong characters, not just at the very top, and you only have to look at RBS to see what a Board full of nodding dogs does to your business.

Whatever the reality, there has been a  massive disconnect between the club and fans for some considerable time. A real lack of desire to understand what the football club means to them and how to tap into the knowledge/experience/'wishes' of the fanbase. It does seem to be their way or no way until of course the hats handed round for a wee donation. 

I've been disappointed with the interaction I've had with FOH. Very similar to the club - quite dismissive, having not taken the time to fully understand the issue and the proposal. 

Part of me thinks that having these rich benefactors has been a millstone around our necks. Players and agents talk and they all know how we're placed. It's no different from many family budgets - you earn X, you spend X. Doesn't necessarily make you any happier it just means you can buy a more expensive whatever. When you hand that budget over to someone who decides to 'reward' their new signings with a high basic and low bonus structure, don't be surprised when you get a bunch of players who don't give a rats ass. CL should never have been allowed to get away with that and that was on ABs watch. 

She needs to be very careful in these trying times. Covid has shown many of us that whilst football is important, there are actually more important things in this world. As things start to open up and we return to something more approaching normality, she might find that supporter loyalty is not boundless.

FOH need to wake up too and realise that it's not a bottomless money pit.

It's sad when you realise that you and your fellow supporters are the ones who are really hurting after a result like last night. I doubt many of the 'others' are feeling it quite so badly.

Great post 

Brauhauser2012

Such a sad situation.  I backed her through everything because she saved the club. But now she's virtually overseen our demise. I can't just stand and watch while she kills the club I love. 

18Jambo_dave74
15 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

It would be good if you could post a link to that so folk can listen for themselves. Not suggesting you are misquoting or anything, as I haven’t heard it, but hearing it first hand helps put things in context. 

https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/this-is-my-story/id1518389968?i=1000488009624

7 hours ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

So basically, I'm not accountable to the membership and myself and my committee can do what we like.

This man also needs removed but will Hearts fans overcome their apathy to do so?

20 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

David, David, David

Just now, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

David, David, David

Dusk, Dusk, Dusk

Didn’t realise it was over two hours long though. 😄

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
7 hours ago, superjack said:

I owe you an apology i8, I used to see your posts about budge and thought why don't you give it a rest. However, since Saturday, I have been slowly changing my mind, then last night, a full 180 complete. Get her to feck.

well done mate :clap:

18Jambo_dave74
9 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Dusk, Dusk, Dusk

Didn’t realise it was over two hours long though. 😄

2 hours ago, 18Jambo_dave74 said:

40 minutes ago, Hashimoto said:

An excellent read. 

However I feel that her legacy is well and truly "blown out of the water"......She will always be associated with and remembered for the Brora cup game.
Mrs Budge legacy has been slowly eroding away for years now...the glowing terms you refer to are fast becoming a fading memory after one catastrophic decision after another.

She cannot, and should not be forgotten or forgiven for her total mismanagement of the footballing side, the core of the Hearts business.

Last nights result is for ever consigned to the history books. No matter what Mrs Budge does between now until the end of her reign will never eradicate what will always be the worst result in our history.

I totally get where you’re coming from.

Yip sadly that result will never go away. I just think that over time, we’ll remember saving the club more than a defeat, albeit horrendous, against Brora.

Her legacy had been eroded by a number of poor footballing decisions as you say.

The clocks ticking.

FWIW I think they’ll both stay until the leagues won. 

David Black
28 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

So basically, I'm not accountable to the membership and myself and my committee can do what we like.

This man also needs removed but will Hearts fans overcome their apathy to do so?

When it is the FOH AGM it needs 51 people in attendance to give it the required quorum. I have been to every one and the last couple have been quite close to only the 51. I and my mate will not be attending anymore and i suspect other will as well. What happens then?

Just now, David Black said:

When it is the FOH AGM it needs 51 people in attendance to give it the required quorum. I have been to every one and the last couple have been quite close to only the 51. I and my mate will not be attending anymore and i suspect other will as well. What happens then?

A very good question.

• davemclaren changed the title to Get Budge to **** and as far away from our club as possible ( merged )