Budge Speaks

Sertse

2 hours ago, Sir Gio said:

Get promotion, move the club forwards that it's in position to get the European football cemented, oddly enough the same place Neilson left us in, when that wasn't enough. 

Nothing is ever enough.

Those are the 3 fundamental objectives. 

Also this amateur assumption that Neilson is a actually enjoying watching this pish. 

Folk go on about lack of entertainment, they might want to check the defensive record first. 

Cathro Levein and Stendel to varying degrees have taken us all mentally to a bad place and its a ****ing long haul back up the ladder 

I think most people would forego the entertainment factor this season at least if we were winning every week grinding out results. We're currently grinding out draws in a pish league.

You're absolutely correct about Cathro, Levein and Stendel but I'm not even seeing us on the first rung, just more of the same. 

• Replies 792

• Bongo 1874

Cardiff Hearts

I have posted before on the lack of ambition that pervades the football side of the club. This snippet just reinforces it for me and is straight from the top. Basically, you all keep paying, we’ll ignore your wishes / feedback and we,ll carry on as before , making similar mistakes and continuing to accept mediocrity as the norm.

This from a “top business woman.” ?

it doesn’t’ sadden or surprise me anymore but it makes me reconsider MY continued support. It’s a poor, poor show.

2 hours ago, Sir Gio said:

Just watching Rangers, winning exactly the same way, grinding it out.

Rangers to Livingston, Hearts to Ayr United, the comparison is not that far apart if at all 

What a load of utter pish, the comparison is miles apart. 

Your post is on a par with some of the guff that our board spamming village idiot would come out with. 

1 hour ago, Rudy T said:

It’s not a separate issue though, if fans/members feel so strongly about them they should put themselves up for election. There’s lots of people good at sniping from the sidelines but not prepared to stand up for election.

It's not made any easier for members to to get elected when FOH is only seeking specialist directors (experience in Law or Accounting as at the last AGM).  That doesn't really make any sense when FOH currently isn't actually doing anything other than collecting Direct Debits.

Edited by Footballfirst

1 hour ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Just feel she really doesn't understand what supporter's want, I also believe fans/ FoH should have a larger say in club affairs. 

I don't see this ending well. 

So a club that are 99% on the way to fan ownership via FOH should have a larger say in club affairs....REALLY !!

An owner that doesn't understand what supporters want...total utter nonsense...it's not rocket science to know fans would like open entertaining winning football......what you really mean is an owner who is willing to give management time and will not bow to the small % of moaners and groaners on JKB is not one you would follow

She knows what fans want and is trying to deliver it but unlike you and others she is responsible for a club, employees, fans ,finances and all.....truly some on here seem to think running a business is a piece of cake and that is far more dangerous than anything she is doing

What I do know is that we could finish 3rd 5 years in a row by 15 points or so each season and still there would be complaints about why we are not finishing as runners up or winning the title.......that's a fan for you but is it a responsible fan with realistic dreams or ambitions.......it could happen ala Leicester City but the odds are vastly against it (nothing to stop the dreams though)

3 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

So a club that are 99% on the way to fan ownership via FOH should have a larger say in club affairs....REALLY !!

An owner that doesn't understand what supporters want...total utter nonsense...it's not rocket science to know fans would like open entertaining winning football......what you really mean is an owner who is willing to give management time and will not bow to the small % of moaners and groaners on JKB is not one you would follow

She knows what fans want and is trying to deliver it but unlike you and others she is responsible for a club, employees, fans ,finances and all.....truly some on here seem to think running a business is a piece of cake and that is far more dangerous than anything she is doing

What I do know is that we could finish 3rd 5 years in a row by 15 points or so each season and still there would be complaints about why we are not finishing as runners up or winning the title.......that's a fan for you but is it a responsible fan with realistic dreams or ambitions.......it could happen ala Leicester City but the odds are vastly against it (nothing to stop the dreams though)

And yet we now hear havers about "re-establishing ourselves" in the top flight. That's the difference. Any ambition Budge had for Heart of Midlothian is long gone and the sycophants around her seem to accept that.

2 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

We are actually well over 100% on the way to fan ownership. Only FOH's inexplicable and unexplained unwillingness to deliver what we pledged for all those years ago has delayed it for nearly a year.

1 minute ago, Francis Albert said:

We are actually well over 100% on the way to fan ownership. Only FOH's inexplicable and unexplained unwillingness to deliver what we pledged for all those years ago has delayed it for nearly a year.

I’ll explain it to you Franco. It’s easier to take freebies and have lunch in the boardroom than it is to actually take on responsibility. Our FOH reps don’t want to lose the meal ticket, especially not when we’re piling cash in regardless 

6 hours ago, Gordon Ramsay said:

Basically Robbie, the team can perform as shite as you like and you don't need to worry about it. 3 years worth of wages coming your way no matter what. 

It really is a shambles.

The Grim Reaper
8 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

All I want her to do Is appoint a manager that knows how to manage a football club. It just seems logical. 

1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

And yet we now hear havers about "re-establishing ourselves" in the top flight. That's the difference. Any ambition Budge had for Heart of Midlothian is long gone and the sycophants around her seem to accept that.

I thought we were unfairly demoted and should never have been out of the top flight. So why, assuming we return to where we have always belonged, do we need a year to re-establish ourselves there?

Just now, The Grim Reaper said:

All I want her to do Is appoint a manager that knows how to manage a football club. It just seems logical. 

That’s too simple just like Neilson.

Last 5 years of the budge era..

2016-17 finished 5th (played shit football)

2017-18 finished 6th (played shit football again)

2018-19 finished 6th (apart from a wee purple patch of a couple of months, played shit for the majority.

2019-20 finished 12th (yeah we can make every excuse under the sun about how unfair it was, the fact is we were terrible for 30 games)

2020-21 ok currently top but playing eye bleeding football in the 2nd tier, with a 9mil per season budget with no signs of this getting any better and in all likelihood if we go up, we will be coming straight back down imo if we continue playing like this.

Can Ann budge not understand that this is not good enough and never will be for us.

1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

Why is it less competitive the season Hibs won it? Folk say that but I’m not clear what criteria they are using to decide that. 

It’s a good question Dave and a very subjective answer I’ll give. It’s just a matter of opinion as I guess there’s no real way of backing up that claim. I just think that this season is less competitive than 2016/17 as per the leagues make up below.

This season                Hibs season

Hearts                          Hibs

ICT                               St Mirren

Alloa                             Falkirk 

Dunfermline                 Dunfermline 

Dundee                        Dundee Utd

Raith                             Raith

Morton                         Morton

Ayr                                Ayr

QOS                              QOS

Arbroath                       Dumbarton

3 hours ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

Why was she being interviewed anyway? It couldn’t have been just about Robbie which despite the noise isn’t even really a story anyway.

Has she launched some sort of new initiative?

I presume it was this new super fast COVID test being trialled at Tynecastle today...

1 minute ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

I presume it was this new super fast COVID test being trialled at Tynecastle today...

Seriously? 

Just now, davemclaren said:

Seriously? 

I just saw in the EEN that that was happening today. Sky wouldn’t have sent cameras to ask her about Robbie Neilson 

Just now, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

I just saw in the EEN that that was happening today. Sky wouldn’t have sent cameras to ask her about Robbie Neilson 

1 hour ago, Gordon Ramsay said:

Comparing us to the team who havent lost a game all season while we pick up draws to QOTS and Morton 😂😂

That team that taken 3 years to build and who had a decent section of thier fans wanting him gone early doors because celtic were pissing all over them. 

That team we beat twice last season but outwith hibs couldn't buy  a win. 

It's almost like it takes time to build something decent and ignoring a small, but noisey section of fans is the best thing to do. 

35 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

Hold the bus, just stop why do you feel the need to come at me like that? 😂

1st point she is willing to give managers time , and tell me how did that work out in the end with Levein?. 

2nd point didn't she come out with last season, that a certain amount of Hearts supporters comment re Levein? , just hold on a minute who does she think she is judging anyone, because she has been a season ticket holder for what 6-7years that makes her the don of Hearts supporters the godfather of Hearts nah. 

I won't never forget how she saved us etc for that i will never be able to thank her enough, but for the loan she gave us can you tell me if she gets interest on top of what we have had to pay her back? 

I know the recent one in 2020 was interest free. 

And do you know if any family members benefited from the building of our new stand or the running of the bar?. 

Ann budge running the club has probably been the best owner we have ever had, but she has made mistakes. 

The football department she has massively been taken a ride for, just my opinion though 👍

Edited by Bongo 1874

For all the negativity,  frustration and downright abuse being  aimed at Budge for our football performances, isn't it likely to be exactly the same after  FoH purchases her shareholding ?  Except Budge probably won't be the figurehead, someone from FoH will represent the decision making  body at the club.   He/she is going to need a strong constitution  to cope with future football spells like the current one - the team on track to deliver it's target, but playing unattractive football.

Budge is an easy target. She's not "one of us", and doesn't understand football people.

But just think -  once she's gone - thousands of FoH contributors on JKB  bombarding the FoH email account with abuse aimed at the person they elected to sit on the HMFC board because the team is passing sideways too much and only scraping draws against St. Mirren, Ross Co etc.     Would our figurehead person act any differently to Budge, or would he/she force the sacking of the  manager.      Fan owned but not fan run, remember. 

Maybe we should be careful what we wish for ...... 🙄   

Just now, Lone Striker said:

For all the negativity,  frustration and downright abuse being  aimed at Budge for our football performances, isn't it likely to be exactly the same after  FoH purchases her shareholding ?  Except Budge probably won't be the figurehead, someone from FoH will represent the decision making  body at the club.   He/she is going to need a strong constitution  to cope with future football spells like the current one - the team on track to deliver it's target, but playing unattractive football.

Budge is an easy target. She's not "one of us", and doesn't understand football people.

But just think -  once she's gone - thousands of FoH contributors on JKB  bombarding the FoH email account with abuse aimed at the person they elected to sit on the HMFC board because the team is passing sideways too much and only scraping draws against St. Mirren, Ross Co etc.     Would our figurehead person act any differently to Budge, or would he/she force the sacking of the  manager.      Fan owned but not fan run, remember. 

It's not thousands though, it's a few oddballs on here that love the attention, they love the sound of their own voices and crave notoriety.

1 minute ago, Lone Striker said:

You haven't read the FOH governance arrangements? No-one from FOH will "represent the decision making body at the club"

3 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Ann has been here for over 6 years. This 'doesn't understand football/football people' needs knocked on the head if its being used as an excuse for failure. It's surely by now not credible. 

4 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

You haven't read the FOH governance arrangements? No-one from FOH will "represent the decision making body at the club"

Indeed. As I say, that ties into the apathy I mentioned above.

2 hours ago, ToqueJambo said:

Instant promotion, 3rd, then heading or 3rd minimum again would do me fine. No other manager since JJ has been that consistent over a few seasons.

3rd minimum again in the premiership would do me fine too. Let’s see eh

Ann Budge backing Neilson is the least surprising thing to have happened this year. The fact that she’s having to back him will not be lost on her though. 

10 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Aye, you got me on that one.   :(   What 's the logic on having Stuart Wallace on the board just now........ but no-one once FoH become the owner ?

e

35 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

That team that taken 3 years to build and who had a decent section of thier fans wanting him gone early doors because celtic were pissing all over them. 

That team we beat twice last season but outwith hibs couldn't buy  a win. 

It's almost like it takes time to build something decent and ignoring a small, but noisey section of fans is the best thing to do. 

Tbh he has had them in the Europa last 16 two years in a row, and i doubt he would leave Rangers for Mk dons?. 

13 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Tbh he has had them in the Europa last 16 two years in a row, and i doubt he would leave Rangers for Mk dons?. 

I think he'll have better options than mk dons Tbh. 

Also, Tbf to the rangers element that never liked him ( I'm often hard on the Govan unwashed) and wanted him gone, even they never hired a plane, hung manky bedsheets from a train station and then gave him a daft nickname. 

9 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Also, Tbf to the rangers element that never liked him ( I'm often hard on the Govan unwashed) and wanted him gone, even they never hired a plane, hung manky bedsheets from a train station and then gave him a daft nickname. 

So because we have a dozen or so dafties who did that, that makes us, in general, worse?

Actually, forget it. In Tosh logic it probably does.

5 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

So because we have a dozen or so dafties who did that, that makes us, in general, worse?

Actually, forget it. In Tosh logic it probably does.

Never said that. 

You can draw you own conclusions to what it may or may not mean. 

Just now, Smith's right boot said:

Never said that. 

You can draw you own conclusions to what it may or may not mean. 

The great JKB brainfart.

If you simply posted the word "Yes" somebody would pull you for suggesting " No!"

5 hours ago, OTT said:

I was very enamoured with Stendel. I thought he brought a real passion to the coaching. McDonald was quoted as enjoying the sessions, saw how obviously good a coach he is and noted the intensity. I would probably take him back provided the club could position itself in advance of his coming. I know folk are keen to point out his low win rate, but lets also not gloss over the fact either that his plan was to come in during the summer, rather than when he did. He also had the pish that Levein signed who even he couldn't get a tune out of or MacPhee. I think they build a house of cards which eventually collapsed and Stendel was the poor sod left holding the bag. 

When I think of who is a manager that I know can work with youth that I would like to see, the only answer I'm getting is Stendel, I don't doubt they exist elsewhere but there is something about the counter pressing style I think matches fan expectations on footballing philosophy. I don't want that to sound pretentious, I mean that successful Hearts teams have been big and physical, Robbie wanted us to be the fittest team in the league when he was first here, JJs teams were built on physicality etc.. Counter pressing isn't so much about silky football as it is about being aggressive, athletic and high energy. All of which I think ticks the boxes the fans want ticked. Stendel proved he could do it in the big games, he just fell short in the games where teams don't really want the ball. Theres clearly something to work on in that regard, but I think its something I'd like to see tried again. I could actually see a change in his style of play to accommodate just how bad our defence actually was. It was too little too late, but I'd be 100% down for giving it another try. We're not going to develop under Robbie. I think counter pressing could be used from ground up at the club and have a very effective academy/First team set up. 

I would welcome him back with open arms to be honest. Right guy, wrong time seems to be the opinion on here. So when is the right time? Maybe when we've just been promoted and are looking to assemble a squad following another season of short termism? In the summer we will likely lose Berra, Bobby, Doyle, Frear, White and hopefully Damour. We may also lose Irving too the way things are looking. You could get Stendel in for the day following us winning the league and immediately set about building a squad ready to compete. He'll also have an intimate knowledge of the squad as it largely hasn't changed so will know who needs to go. 

Agree, don’t think Neilson arriving in the same circumstances as Stendel would have done any better. People will point to the Goalie situation or lack of cover for Centre backs and the final St Mirren game. The upside was beating Rangers and gubbing Hibs on their own patch both results I wouldn’t have any confidence doing next year. I really hope he changes his style and proves me wrong as the side to side passy  possession football will drive the crowds away and apathy will soon set in not long after we’re all itching to get back 👍 

2 hours ago, Shanks said:

Her reign is a bit like a tv series that should’ve ended years ago. 

Meg mortimer on crossroads ???

1 hour ago, gregzy2k7 said:

Last 5 years of the budge era..

2016-17 finished 5th (played shit football)

2017-18 finished 6th (played shit football again)

2018-19 finished 6th (apart from a wee purple patch of a couple of months, played shit for the majority.

2019-20 finished 12th (yeah we can make every excuse under the sun about how unfair it was, the fact is we were terrible for 30 games)

2020-21 ok currently top but playing eye bleeding football in the 2nd tier, with a 9mil per season budget with no signs of this getting any better and in all likelihood if we go up, we will be coming straight back down imo if we continue playing like this.

Can Ann budge not understand that this is not good enough and never will be for us.

It's f....g embarrassing....

sandylejambo

Ok she says he's staying, the least she can do is ask him if the football is going to get watchable and the players at least break into a sweat. It looks so much like a Levein situation is being allowed to happen again.

1 hour ago, Francis Albert said:

So why, assuming we return to where we have always belonged, do we need a year to re-establish ourselves there?

Quite. That seems a rather misguided thing for her to say and suggests that finishing 10th place for example, would be deemed acceptable by the Hearts board. 

It seems that the boards standards and expectations are below that of the support and there is no real desire to achieve or improve anything. 

That follows on from a comment she made in the documentary where she said something like, and I'm paraphrasing, "the fans just want a club to support".... Implying that it doesn't matter what happens on the field, as long as we're toiling away, that's all the matters. 

If that is really what she and the board believe then they quite frankly need to go as soon as possible. 

Edited by Cruyff

1 hour ago, Smith's right boot said:

The fact any Hearts manager deems Mk dons a better move and club should be a sackable offence within itself, if it had been a championship club then fair play 😂

Tbf though Rangers have improved every year under Gerrard. 

The small section and that's all it was, were angry he hadn't won silverware when he should of by now. 

And this shouldn't be their first title it should be number 2 they chucked it last season, Rangers and Gerrard know that. 

As far as improvement within style of play they have improved every season. 

Edited by Bongo 1874

14 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

The fact any Hearts manager deems Mk dons a better move and club should be a sackable offence within itself, if it had been a championship club then fair play 😂

Tbf though Rangers have improved every year under Gerrard. 

The small section and that's all it was, were angry he hadn't won silverware when he should of by now. 

And this shouldn't be their first title it should be number 2 they chucked it last season, Rangers and Gerrard know that. 

As far as improvement within style of play they have improved every season. 

You are good.....that cannot be denied.

Edited by alwaysthereinspirit

5 hours ago, Sir Gio said:

Just watching Rangers, winning exactly the same way, grinding it out.

Rangers to Livingston, Hearts to Ayr United, the comparison is not that far apart if at all 

Exactly, I had a conversation with someone last week where I asked "who in Scotland is playing great attacking football just now?" Rangers was the answer, now apart from the fact that we can't afford the quality of player they have Rangers have mostly been scraping wins and are certainly not entertaining. 

Teams sit in against them and they struggle to break them down, a bit like what is happening to us. Different story in Europe where teams don't sit in and Rangers score for fun, they also lose goals for fun.

2 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Please tell me?. 

Oh stop it. Don’t sell yourself short.

15 minutes ago, graygo said:

Exactly, I had a conversation with someone last week where I asked "who in Scotland is playing great attacking football just now?" Rangers was the answer, now apart from the fact that we can't afford the quality of player they have Rangers have mostly been scraping wins and are certainly not entertaining. 

Teams sit in against them and they struggle to break them down, a bit like what is happening to us. Different story in Europe where teams don't sit in and Rangers score for fun, they also lose goals for fun.

So because everyone else plays shit apart from Rangers, Celtic, and St Johnstone. 

That means we have to be the same 🤔

1 minute ago, alwaysthereinspirit said:

Oh stop it. Don’t sell yourself short.

Ok mate 👍

Just wondering what you are suggesting?. 

Clubs too quick to react, did she not rightly sack Cathro after 6 months of awful football? Did she not move on from Stendel, rightly or wrongly that’s not the argument, after 3 months of football? Did she not give Levein too long, again probably over a year but not the argument, which has put us in this mess. But her wee pal Robbie gets three years too? She really doesn’t get that the fans always decide when a manager goes, if they want him to go he goes eventually. Her smugness might not be repeated when they try to sell season tickets in the near future, after last summers problems you couldn’t blame folk for not renewing especially if we are not all allowed into games.