• Jambo-Jimbo

• Harry Potter

• The Real Maroonblood

• Tazio

6 hours ago, Smithee said:

2Y5yT9a_d.webp?maxwidth=640&shape=thumb&

The moon is pretty incredible this morning. 

It’s not exactly the Russian steppes in terms of weather but it still amazes me the amount of people walking about in summer footwear or standing at bus stops in thin coats moaning about the cold. I’m sure most people (though sadly not all) can afford to have a decently set of footwear and a warm coat in their house just in case proper winter arrives. I remember being in New York a couple of years ago and the city got hit with a solid 24 hours of heavy snowfall. When I left the apartment to see if I could find any shops open everywhere was open, main roads were cleared and everyone seemed to suddenly have a good winter coat and boots. 

6 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Looks like were going to need the shovels again in the morning 

Been murdering again Nucky?

11 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Looks like were going to need the shovels again in the morning 

Woke up early to dig my car out... look out the window and nothing, no even any frost on car window. Can relax and have a coffee now 

2 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

The opposite in Newtongrange. Was forecast to be heavy snow yesterday evening then light snow all during the night on BBC weather app. Looks like we just got a light dusting. 

Makes you wonder how they still get forecast wrong on the day. 

Understand it’s hard a week in advance but to get things wrong a matter of hours in advance isn’t right 

18 minutes ago, Muppetboy said:

Yeah, snows pish  unless it’s at Christmas 

It's vodt me a days pay. Cannae get on the roof. 

2 hours ago, BarneyBattles said:

The opposite in Newtongrange. Was forecast to be heavy snow yesterday evening then light snow all during the night on BBC weather app. Looks like we just got a light dusting. 

Same with Dalkeith (like last week). No snow left here.

3 hours ago, theshed said:

Makes you wonder how they still get forecast wrong on the day. 

Understand it’s hard a week in advance but to get things wrong a matter of hours in advance isn’t right 

Weather systems are unpredictable. They can change at the drop of a hat. Hence the weather man can get it wrong so often 

Edited by AlimOzturk

Fresh dusting of snow overnight, maybe a centimeter or so, although melting now.

The hills around here have had a covering of snow on them for around the last 2 weeks, but that's often the normal here in winter.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

I'd rather it just melt than keep getting wee pissy amounts and a street full of ice. 

If it wants to hammer it down for 3 days straight though... that would be worth seeing. 

Car battery is deed anyway. 

Edited by Greedy Jambo

21 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I'd rather it just melt than keep getting wee pissy amounts and a street full of ice. 

If it wants to hammer it down for 3 days straight though... that would be worth seeing. 

Car battery is deed anyway. 

Get a charger own it

7 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Get a charger own it

Ha, ken. 

I've got one but it's about 40 years old, i'll give it a bash when the car isn't frozen solid. 

Fully expect to need a jump start. 

3 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Ha, ken. 

I've got one but it's about 40 years old, i'll give it a bash when the car isn't frozen solid. 

Have you not got a crank handle?

7 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Babberton?

Yip. We’ve still got snow/ice from the last batch. Different climate up hete

Edited by Dagger Is Back

5 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Yip. We’ve still got snow/ice from the last batch. Different climate up hete

Gentle, steady, light snow in Davidson’s Mains. 

13 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Ha, ken. 

I have a portable jump starter if you need a hand, im in drumbrae.

3 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

I have a portable jump starter if you need a hand, im in drumbrae.

Cheers, it's cool though, I'm not in any rush to go anywhere. 

Another wad of snow came down last night. 

3 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Cheers, it's cool though, I'm not in any rush to go anywhere. 

Another wad of snow came down last night. 

No probs.

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Amber warning for snow, for large parts of Scotland for tonight and tomorrow.

image.png.6d61f8d5c780586f4f35f6affd62b5b2.png

I’ve just been for a wee walk and the pavements are lethal. Soft snow/sleet sitting in a thin layer on top of the wet. If it freezes overnight the pavements will be like an ice rink. 

23 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I’ve just been for a wee walk and the pavements are lethal. Soft snow/sleet sitting in a thin layer on top of the wet. If it freezes overnight the pavements will be like an ice rink. 

Mrs JJ has just drove back from the Borders General and she says the roads are atrocious (A72 & A6091) not been gritted, snow lying on them.

Thankfully she isn't working tomorrow as she'd have to drive on that first thing, often she's one of the first cars on the road, usually meets the gritter around Galashiels or Clovenfords, which isn't that much of a help as she's already driven around 10 miles before she meets the gritters.

2 hours ago, Tazio said:

I noticed the same, afternoon today.   Was worse than ice.    I had to waddle like a daft penguin with a pair of trainers on.  🐧 Would be better if it got covered with snow or just got gritted proper.   Could be a new sport, the slush Olympics. 

So far just sleet in Gorebridge. Roads are slush but safe to drive on.

Have they told the forecast wrong or is this proper snow due later?* 😀

*(I might eat my words in 12 hours)

6 minutes ago, Barack said:

But enough about your lovelife. How's the weather, jonno?