Budge.

The Roller

12 minutes ago, Boris said:

Hardly. With the greatest respect, you're making comments about selling companies and takeovers without really understanding how these things work.

I'm no expert, far from it, but if I own a company and my customers aren't happy at how I run it, they can't just demand I sell up.

Ann has already sold up. The buyers for some reason seem unwilling to complete the purchase by sending her a cheque for £100k of our money which had been sitting in FOH's account for 6 months.

Edited by Francis Albert

• Replies 886

• Dusk_Till_Dawn

• Francis Albert

• NANOJAMBO

3 hours ago, RussAsia said:

Yes I really believe that's why we signed Neilson. She knew it would be an unpopular appointment by a large section of the support but she didn't care. She believed she knew better. However a couple of months in and the brutal football is back.

She put the money in and took a lot more back out. In this testing financial time it must have been great for her to guarantee herself a high interest rate on her money whilst also raising her public profile.

My only question to you is why would an owner bring back an unpopular manager at a time when the club needed it's fans backing and unity throughout?

I don’t believe she appointed him to troll anyone. I do believe that she appointed him because when it came to appointing someone she didn’t know (or god forbid, a quality coach) she wouldn’t even have known where to start.

I’ve always been convinced that she went for Stendel because there was a clamour for him. Odds on that she’d never even heard of him.

On 28/11/2020 at 17:33, cosanostra said:

Should have done the honourable thing and resigned at the end of last season given the disasters she's overseen.

Bringing back Neilson seemed a bad idea at the time and it's starting to look very bad now.

Massive changes needed at the club.

The disaster she's overseen. like saving the club from extinction?

You serious?

1 minute ago, upgotheheads said:

You serious?

That was six years ago. And let’s face it, she’ll be getting her money back

34 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

What’s her name? I haven’t yet come across anyone with that jib title at Hearts. She certainly isn’t a board member. 

Everyone is a director these days!

Times says she is Lesley

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/its-not-going-to-help-hearts-in-the-long-term-if-i-fall-out-with-people-g9cf2nfbr

2 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

You serious?

FOH played a huge part, financially dwarfing  that of Ann. Yet £11m in for some reason we don't have what we pledged for. Anyone explain why exactly?

4 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

She has already had her money back! With a miserable 6% pa interest.

Edited by Francis Albert

1 minute ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

The last six years of existence are down to her and her alone. The next 100 years (hopefully) will be largely down to her , and if she gets her money back are you complaining?

6 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

FOH played a huge part, financially dwarfing  that of Ann. Yet £11m in for some reason we don't have what we pledged for. Anyone explain why exactly?

Without Ann there would be no FoH and vice versa. There was no other buyer. That was clear a the time. We got a rich fan who's not a complete idiot or egomaniac. There aren't many of those around as anyone who's followed football for any length of time knows, which is why it's basically the holy grail of owners.

Hibs for example got Farmer - kind of a Budge light. The difference being he didn't care about the team on the park, which meant he was in charge during a very lengthy period of decline for Hibs which went only one direction. Budge on the other has presided over a period with ups and downs like any 5 or 6 year period basically. 

Now clubs like D Utd, Dundee and Hibs seem to have Romanov-light owners. People who seem to believe they can trade players to make money as a sustainable strategy. That's what we'd end up with unless we can convince someone like James Anderson to take over - another rich fan who's not an idiot.

3 hours ago, kila said:

The club is rotten. There is a serious problem that’s been going on for years. The buck stops with Budge. She’s accountable for it all. Time she faced the music instead of smokescreen, mirrors and getting her cronies to firefight on her behalf. 

So I take it you disagree with me, sh*t happens. What do you mean by "time she faced the music instead of smokescreen, mirrors and getting her cronies to firefight on her behalf " Sounds a bit dramatic.

2 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

The last six years of existence are down to her and her alone. The next 100 years (hopefully) will be largely down to her , and if she gets her money back are you complaining?

No they're not : James Anderson saved her arse when the stand costs went into a death spiral. 

1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

Without Ann there would be no FoH and vice versa.

And FOH hss more than met its obligations and should have owned 75.1 % of the club for the last 6 months. Why hasn't it?

I'm really struggling to believe some of the recent comments on Ann Budge, She saved the club, with the help of the FoH most certainly, but ungrateful doesn't get near it.

4 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

She has already got her money back

3 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

And FOH hss more than met its obligations and should have owned 75.1 % of the club for the last 6 months. Why hasn't it?

It was communicated very clearly that the handover to fans was being delayed. 

Has anything significant happened in the world in the last 6 months that caused that? I'll give you a minute. 

1 minute ago, upgotheheads said:

I'm really struggling to believe some of the recent comments on Ann Budge, She saved the club, with the help of the FoH most certainly, but ungrateful doesn't get near it.

Grateful yes. But why is FOH not now the owner of the club? In line with what we have paid over £11m to achieve.

51 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Stendel was given much more flexibility in terms of bringing players in than Neilson has had so far. 

Is this a defence of last night's shambles? 🤣

Not a chance Stendel would've failed to beat Alloa over 120 minutes (+45 mins from Tuesday) while failing to score a single goal.

Stendel had Hearts conceding but fighting back and scoring. We came from behind a number of times with him as manager and there was belief we'd score. It didn't always work but the goals we conceded were largely down to Pereira (and of course Stendel sticking with him too long before finally dropping him). So add Gordon into how Stendel had the team playing and we'd have slept walked last night.

The more I think back about last night the more worrying it is for Neilson. He failed in 120 ****ing minutes to set a team that's on Premiership wages to even score a goal against a part time outfit! ****ing hell.

Ann Budge what have you done?!

Edited by kila

3 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

I'm not grateful to my credit card company when they bail my ass out at Christmas. I' ll just repay the money with interest and then I won't owe them feck all. 

20 minutes ago, Saughton Jambo said:

Do you know this for fact and if so what are the figures from the paragraph statement you’re alluding to? 

Been done to death on here. The interest rate and the fact she has worked without a wage since she took over. So interest compared to the wage of a CEO would be interesting to see. No point responding to that poster on certain topics though. 

3 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

She did  save the club but there have been financial issues since which she must very grateful indeed Mr Anderson was happy to remedy. 

1 minute ago, NANOJAMBO said:

No they're not : James Anderson saved her arse when the stand costs went into a death spiral. 

Good grief! There's more than a whiff of Celtic style entitlement here. It's like the Fergus McCann time at Celtic, they were dead, he saved them, and still the numpties complained, and he made a fortune out of it. AB won't.

1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

It was communicated very clearly that the handover to fans was being delayed. 

Has anything significant happened in the world in the last 6 months that caused that? I'll give you a minute. 

We were told we wouldn't want to celebrate and we could not have ceremonial handover. I don't remember us being asked. Personally I could do with a wee celebration and don't give a toss about ceremonies other than trophy parades. 

Just now, upgotheheads said:

Good grief! There's more than a whiff of Celtic style entitlement here. It's like the Fergus McCann time at Celtic, they were dead, he saved them, and still the numpties complained, and he made a fortune out of it. AB won't.

You've completely ignored my post so why are you replying to it ? 

PS I have just acknowledged AB saved the club - but that is not what we're talking about. 

4 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

She has from the original loan to help dave the club bit not from any subsequent loans. The accounts due out soon may help clarify. 

7 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

4 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Grateful yes. But why is FOH not now the owner of the club? In line with what we have paid over £11m to achieve.

3 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

She did  save the club but there have been financial issues since which she must very grateful indeed Mr Anderson was happy to remedy. 

Shameful ingratitude from all of you.

Correction, both of you.

Edited by upgotheheads

14 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Aye, there is a limit to the credit putting some money in gets you (and I've always been of the opinion that someone else would have come in, if she hadn't).  Plus, I'm fairly certain that, as a percerntage of our savings, most of us have given more to Hearts than Budge has. And on the field she's made one bad decision after another.

We really are the most forgiving support in football.

1 minute ago, Francis Albert said:

We were told we wouldn't want to celebrate and we could not have ceremonial handover. I don't remember us being asked. Personally I could do with a wee celebration and don't give a toss about ceremonies other than trophy parades. 

What are you talking about. The handover was delayed for very obvious reasons every sensible person understands.

1 minute ago, Francis Albert said:

What are you on about? The reasons given were the pandemic and uncertainty

11 minutes ago, cubanjambo said:

So I take it you disagree with me, sh*t happens. What do you mean by "time she faced the music instead of smokescreen, mirrors and getting her cronies to firefight on her behalf " Sounds a bit dramatic.

I was going for dramatic. But facing the music in that she has failed to achieve what her 5 year plan set out and we're going backwards now - we're in a worser position than when we were in our maiden season under her tenure. That's a lot of failure and that's down to her set up.

There is no denying what Ann Budge did for Hearts back in 2014 and how good it was at first. But that tank ran empty years ago and it's long overdue time for change.

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

What are you talking about. The handover was delayed for very obvious reasons every sensible person understands.

Just now, upgotheheads said:

Shameful ingratitude from all of you.

Whoa , bud. 

What I said is a fact and it was made in response to a factual error by you in an earlier post where you paint a picture of AB single handedly saving the club. 

2 minutes ago, HighTimes said:

Aye, there is a limit to the credit putting some money in gets you (and I've always been of the opinion that someone else would have come in, if she hadn't).  Plus, I'm fairly certain that, as a percerntage of our savings, most of us have given more to Hearts than Budge has. And on the field she's made one bad decision after another.

We really are the most forgiving support in football.

You serious?

Just now, kila said:

I was going for dramatic. But facing the music in that she has failed to achieve what her 5 year plan set out and we're going backwards now - we're in a worser position than when we were in our maiden season under her tenure. That's a lot of failure and that's down to her set up.

There is no denying what Ann Budge did for Hearts back in 2014 and how good it was at first. But that tank ran empty years ago and it's long overdue time for change.

Which five year plan the commercial one or non existent football one that everyone quotes on here but was never a thing in the real world?

Just now, davemclaren said:

She has from the original loan to help dave the club bit not from any subsequent loans. The accounts due out soon may help clarify. 

If she has provided further loans I am sure the terms like the first loan give her solid security on them particularly given the FOH assisted enhancement of the club's assets.

Nothing to do with the FOH/Bidco agreement unless it had been amended without FOH members agreement

I have not said Ann should go. Just that in.line with the agreement between FOH and Ann it should be in FOH's power to decide.

5 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

I agree and some folk are twisting their arguments to pretend that if Mrs Budge hadn't stepped in all would have been well. 

I do think it's time she stepped aside though. 

Perhaps that was her plan when she appointed Andrew McKinlay, only Covid and the nonsense from the SPFL meant she had to keep going. 

I still think she will step aside in the near future. 

FOH members need to start taking a bigger interest in club affairs. 

6 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Ok what reasons? The virus might have been passed in the bank transfer?

Edited by Francis Albert

10 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Does FOH actually want to take over the club at this time ? 🤔 

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

I agree and some folk are twisting their arguments to pretend that if Mrs Budge hadn't stepped in all would have been well. 

Perhaps that was her plan when she appointed Andrew McKinlay, only Covid and the nonsense from the SPFL meant she had to keep going. 

Bet she was delighted about Covid - something else to blame our demotion on

Just now, Francis Albert said:

If she has provided further loans I am sure the terms like the first loan give her solid security on them particularly given the FOH assisted enhancement of the club's assets.

Nothing to do with the FOH/Bidco agreement unless it had been amended without FOH members agreement

I have not said Ann should go. Just that in.line with the agreement between FOH and Ann it should be in FOH's power to decide.

I think she still has s first charge over Tynecastle. I doubt our assets have appreciated much in reality. Large Stadium sales is quite a specialist market. 

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

I agree. If I was her, reading some of the stuff on here I would be out the door, but thankfully she 's made of sterner stuff than me, and some of the other folk on this thread.

14 minutes ago, sadj said:

Which five year plan the commercial one or non existent football one that everyone quotes on here but was never a thing in the real world?

https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/article/ann-budge-statement

"We must make changes. We must stop thinking short-term. We must put in place a 3-5-year plan that will see our commercial activities totally re-vamped, such that they once again provide a solid financial under-pinning to our football club; and we must also completely revitalise and re-focus the football side of our club."

🤷‍♂️

This sentence implies they are linked, otherwise why use a ; and not make it a new sentence.

She also said stuff like this back in May 2018:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44216233

"We want to be regularly in Europe, and we are not going to change from our position - we want to be top three or four in Scotland; that is the way we plan, and for this coming season as well."

Edited by kila

3 hours ago, The Fonz said:

In what way is she or FOH doing a fantastic job? We're in the championship and just got papped out the league cup by a bunch of guys that train 2 hours twice a week on top of full time jobs. 

It's clear the club has been going in a downward trajectory for years under the current regime. 

True, the board don't go out and play on the park but they are responsible for creating the culture and putting in place things to make us successful on the park. The CEO of McDonald's doesn't flip burgers, but it would be stupid to suggest they aren't key to the success or failure of the business. 

Most if not all managers of HMFC under her tenure have been given a budget and have given free reign to pick whatever players they need and we can afford. We have had 2 managers that have failed during her tenure, that happens too. Robbie Neilson is not one of them. Brilliant job FOH has done hats off to them, voluntary work and lots of unpaid work , just like Ann by the way. Top end of the top league when Robbie left. If the favourites won every time would be a pretty dour place, unlike here.

1 minute ago, davemclaren said:

I think she still has s first charge over Tynecastle. I doubt our assets have appreciated much in reality. Large Stadium sales is quite a specialist market. 

The top tripadvisor restaurant in the city must be worth a few bob? 

Anyway it's not the point

It has nothing to do with the FOH takeover. Unless FOH has agreed to a change on the terms of their/our agreement with Ann.