John Lewis Christmas Ad 2020 (or maybe not)

15 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

3% which they are threatening to cut this year

They can only distribute the profits they make.

When times were good staff (partners) were getting a couple of months equivalent bonus.

It’s the UK’s largest staff co-operative.

1 hour ago, Dick Dastardly said:

It maybe does promote that, but the main object of the ad is to promote John Lewis and to make them seem like a caring, giving business, all to increase profits, imo. 

Companies making adverts to increase profits? What's the world coming to?

Dick Dastardly
9 hours ago, graygo said:

Companies making adverts to increase profits? What's the world coming to?

Did you only read half of my post before you replied or are you being deliberately obtuse? 

Dick Dastardly
9 hours ago, FWJ said:

They can only distribute the profits they make.

When times were good staff (partners) were getting a couple of months equivalent bonus.

It’s the UK’s largest staff co-operative.

While that is all good and well, Its still only 3% of the profits though. My point still stands

23 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

While that is all good and well, Its still only 3% of the profits though. My point still stands

Does that include the £500 one-off payment made to staff?

Edit: And the free food they are giving to staff over the 14 weeks of winter.

Edited by FWJ

32 minutes ago, FWJ said:

John Lewis own Waitrose, aye? For all I admire their cooperative business model,  the Waitrose customers are just ****ing rude!

When I was living in Berkshire, it was much safer to shop in Saibsbury's. Scruffy oiks like me faced physical intimidation at Waitrose, not from security or anything, the blue rinse brigade were vicious!

Dick Dastardly
1 hour ago, FWJ said:

Again, that is all good and well. Its a good gesture. It's still a tiny percentage of the profits

2 hours ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Did you only read half of my post before you replied or are you being deliberately obtuse? 

What half of your post did I miss?

1 hour ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

John Lewis own Waitrose, aye? For all I admire their cooperative business model,  the Waitrose customers are just ****ing rude!

When I was living in Berkshire, it was much safer to shop in Saibsbury's. Scruffy oiks like me faced physical intimidation at Waitrose, not from security or anything, the blue rinse brigade were vicious!

Are you blaming the company for the behaviour of it's customers?

2 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

:oohmatron:

henrysmithsgloves
2 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Were you wearing a 2002 Celtic away top😁

36 minutes ago, graygo said:

No, not at all, just venting about their vile customers. 

On 10/11/2022 at 10:37, neilnunb said:

It's Christmas 2022 😁

And the artist...

Definitely appreciating Blink far more with age.

48 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Obviously being obtuse then. Jog on 

Can't even answer a simple civil question without an arsey reply, sums you up ya roaster.

Cairneyhill Jambo
3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Everyone calm Doon. It's a Christmas thread and Christmas is the best time of the year.

Not if you're a turkey. 🤭

Dick Dastardly
7 hours ago, graygo said:

Can't even answer a simple civil question without an arsey reply, sums you up ya roaster.

There was absolutely nothing civil about your snidey reply. 

Edited by Dick Dastardly

henrysmithsgloves
41 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

This year it is. The sparrow is in hiding.

Last Spotted heading to fester road,never seen since😳.

18 hours ago, graygo said:

16 hours ago, graygo said:

8 hours ago, graygo said:

Snidey?  How precious are you?

It's a silly thread l on a thoroughly pointless message board, about a stupid advert that nobody cares about... for your own good,  give yourself a break 😂

5 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

It's a silly thread l on a thoroughly pointless message board, about a stupid advert that nobody cares about... for your own good,  give yourself a break 😂

If that's what you think then maybe it's you who needs a break. 

That first quoted post has no connection to the other two so please don't misrepresent what I said and who I said it to.

9 minutes ago, graygo said:

If that's what you think then maybe it's you who needs a break. 

That first quoted post has no connection to the other two so please don't misrepresent what I said and who I said it to.

Makes no sense,  but you bash on... you'd be happier if you didn't though! 😅

1 minute ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Makes no sense,  but you bash on... you'd be happier if you didn't though! 😅

Whatever. It must be late over there, you've probably had a few too many. Go to your bed. 👍

11 minutes ago, graygo said:

Whatever. It must be late over there, you've probably had a few too many. Go to your bed. 👍

It's all good here chief.  You just need to remember this is a frivolous thread, on a pointless website. No need to get all worked up! :thumb:

14 minutes ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

It's all good here chief.  You just need to remember this is a frivolous thread, on a pointless website. No need to get all worked up! :thumb:

It was you who stepped in hours later to a concluded conversation between me and another poster trying to antagonise. Surprising thing to do when something is so frivolous and pointless. I suppose we all need to get our jollies somehow, I'll be getting mine at Tynecastle today. 

Enjoy your evening.