Scottish footballs biggest 'what ifs'?

Texia

Mauricio Pinilla without his issues.

without a doubt would have been one of the best strikers to grace the SPL and is still one of the biggest coups hearts ever pulled off

• Replies 107

• luckyBatistuta

• graygo

• leginten

• gator

Brighton Jambo

What if Miko hadn’t missed that great chance against AEK to make it two nil.  We could have held out away from home and made the Champions leagues groups stages.  The money would have changed the club massively.  

1 hour ago, Salad Fingers said:

What if JC had that wee bit more composure when one on one in the Olympiastadion? 

What if Jim Leighton wasn't bandy-legged?   

Was what i was going to say,    would've been maradonna and napoli in the semi at tynie

Edited by buba

10 hours ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Clydebank.

I think our unbeaten run began with a 1-1 draw with clydebank.  It might even have been at home.   One more goal against them wouldve done it.  

2 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

Or beaten Aberdeen the week before Clydebank, or if Kenny Black hadn’t missed a penalty at Dens earlier in the season, or if Sandy Clark hadn’t missed a sitter at ER in a 0-0 draw....... so many what ifs that season it still hurts to think about them

Mcstay equaliser at Tynecastle in the 90th minute. 

3 hours ago, Weakened Offender said:

What if Dundee United had defended a 2-0 lead against Roma is a pretty big 'what if' where football in general is concerned. 

UEFA was desperate for a Liverpool - Roma final, and it got one. A United - Bucharest final would have been lucky to attract 10,000 fans to the Olympic Stadium unless they had given the rest of the tickets away.

That said, in the second leg United were only a Ralph Milne open-goal miss away from being 3-0 up on aggregate, which would have left Roma needing four.

What if Scotland hadn’t been so conservative in the opening group match against Zaire in World Cup 1974? We should have left Brazil and Yugoslavia sweating about the goal difference. Some team we were at that time.

If the ref hadn't given a ridiculous penalty against Aberdeen on the Sunday game near the end of the 85/86 season when JC equalised late on. 

Ball battered against Ian Jardines arm from close range ( think it was Jardine anyway 🤔). 

5 hours ago, smiler said:

We had so many draws and losses that season though, but the roll we were on at that Clydebank game we should have pumped them.

Indeed.... including the embarassing 1-0 defeat at Clydebank in the first half of the season. We were absolutely woeful that day, outplayed by the likes of Gerry McCabe.     After starting the season with a fighting 1-1 draw at home to Celtic  (who scored an injury time equaliser), we got gubbed at St. Midden 6-2.  The next 7 or 8  results were poor, apart from the traditional beating of Hibs.     Things only turned around for us with that 1-1 game at Tynecastle against Dundee (Ian Jardine goal).

Plenty "what ifs" in among that lot.:shockio:

Ah the 85/86 season and so many what ifs.

What if we had got the stonewall penalty

What if CL was fit to play on final day

What if we had stuck another 2 or 3 past Clydebank

What if we had taken more than 1point out of 4 in our away games to Clydebank

What if McStay hadn’t scored in injury time

What if we had taken 8 out of 8 against the Hobos

What if we had scored the penalty against Dundee in December at Dens

What if the Aberdeen game had been played on the Saturday afternoon

What of we hadn’t taken it easy against Rangers at Ibrox in December 

What if we hadn’t capitulated at Love Street in August

What if the Motherwell game had got abandoned because of the bomb scare and we weren’t playing on a waterlogged pitch

What if Richard Gough hadn’t scored with about the last kick of the ball in October at Tannadice

What if we’d held on against United at Tynecastle in February 

What if St Mirren had more backbone

Gorgie Boot boy
4 hours ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

What if Wallace Mercer didn't try to take over the filth when they were on their knees?

They'd have died for sure! 

What if he did manage to take them over , they would be dead and gone a long time ago.

3 hours ago, graygo said:

In short - What if there had been plenty tatties in Ireland?

Or more correctly what if Potato Blight didn’t exist 

What if JC had scored against Bayern?

What if Aberdeen hadn't been given a dodgy handball  penalty with a couple of weeks to go in 86?

What if one of the big names had come in as manager?

Biggest two for me

1. What if Robinson had got his way and sold Tyney?

2. What if Ann Budge hadn't stumped up her dough?

Tokyo Drifter

What If we'd beaten AEK and qualified for the Champions League group stages?

££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££

4 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

If Ireland had been really prosperous and no one moved to find work. 

Thats the day Scottish football went tits up before it started! 

What if I had changed ends at Tannadice around 77/78 and found DUTD shooting towards me, lucky my mate pointed out this bloomer at half time whistle.

12 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Clydebank is where we lost the league imo. What if we had put a few past Clydebank...then I think Celtic wouldn’t have even been up for it on the last day. 

Or even the draw at Tynecastle against Celtic in the first day of that season. Dropped a point right at the end

What if St Liedoon hadn't dropped their drawers and took a dry scuff from the weegie tramps? 

What if McAllister had scored against Ingurland?

59 minutes ago, gowestjambo said:

What if the Hearts team had not been out drinking all night  before the derby in 1973..........

I just realised today that the 'Tommy Murray sitting on ball 1-0 win at Ibrox' was a week or two before that derby.   

14 hours ago, gator said:

Yes, I was at the match, we should have scored many more!

Me too.

Was back the week before for the Aberdeen game and hame until after the cup final. (was at Dundee and Hampden)

7 hours ago, graygo said:

In short - What if there had been plenty tatties in Ireland?

If Hibs had taken a point in either of the derby games in the 1949/50 season we would have won the League and won the title 3 years in a row. :jj_facepalm:lol

11 hours ago, Herbert said:

You could pish on the bits that weren't on fire.

True,  although , at my age the power to stop - start diminishes somewhat 😔

Perth to Paisley
15 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

You could feel the tension that day, massive weight lifted when Mackay hit that screamer.

Celtic needed to score 'loads'.

Celtic played midweek v Motherwell.

Coincidentally the Motherwell 1st choice goalkeeper was unfit as was St Mirren's Campbell Money on the last day.

Miraculously Money was able to play on the Sunday in a testimonial.

7 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

If they were rich enough to emigrate they were rich enough to eat in a Bernie Inn... image.png.2cda9d8def45c69c0973598e3376db3a.png

1 hour ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Me too.

Was back the week before for the Aberdeen game and hame until after the cup final. (was at Dundee and Hampden)

That must have been a very painful trip, I knew after losing the league the Cup Final was not going to go well! I still get angry about how things unfolded, it seems a magical season just turned into heartbreak!

9 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

Or beaten Aberdeen the week before Clydebank, or if Kenny Black hadn’t missed a penalty at Dens earlier in the season, or if Sandy Clark hadn’t missed a sitter at ER in a 0-0 draw....... so many what ifs that season it still hurts to think about them

Tannadice November 85 IIRC  . Gough equalised in the 95th minute I think 

What if Willie Young did what many of us thought he had, and awarded a penalty in the 1998 cup final?

what if Fyssas hadn’t been sent off in 2006?

59 minutes ago, Perth to Paisley said:

Celtic needed to score 'loads'.

Celtic played midweek v Motherwell.

Coincidentally the Motherwell 1st choice goalkeeper was unfit as was St Mirren's Campbell Money on the last day.

Miraculously Money was able to play on the Sunday in a testimonial.

If we had scored a few in that Clydebank game, I think Celtic would have thought it was beyond them, even with the cheating barstewards to help. 

11 minutes ago, cookieboy said:

Tannadice November 85 IIRC  . Gough equalised in the 95th minute I think 

I remember leaving that game gutted about the outcome but happy about how far we had come since the bad days.

9 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

No hibs 😁

45 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

Might as well say it.

What if we hadn't capitulated to those *******s in the cup?

118, that's what.

Phoodle oot!

What if I wholeheartedly agree with this