• Thomaso

• Cruyff

• jr ewing

6 minutes ago, pointon said:

Won the game our biggest performance is required next week 

This is going to be our season when we play the smaller clubs in the division. Those players will all have been chomping at the bit to get out there and pit themselves against internationals and top league players, and Campbell will have got that idea in their heads all week. 
The players will adapt, tonight will have been a shock to some. 

Edited by Tazio

We played into arbroaths hands we done the same against dundee in the 2nd half last week. We need to control games and play at a higher tempo and stop letting other teams control the game.

Midfield is the problem.

Supply to the strikers 

I have no problem with us winning tho.

We’d have got a draw at best here last season

There is no problem. A clean sheet. Good away win. Top of the league. Semifinal next Saturday evening. 

What are you looking for exactly? 

The problem is we have lots of fans who apparently think we will win 6-0 every week.. doesn’t work like that.. this division will be a fight more often than not especially away from home.

great result, average performance.. I’ll take it .. 

won every competitive game so far? 

The midfield are too deep. Our strikers are isolated. We are showing teams such as Arbroath too much respect.

A flat performance. But Gordon was a game changer and we still have the winning momentum.

Hopefully Roberts is ready to step up. Can't rely on Frear.

Wighton though, so far he's our glimmer of hope when things just aren't happening.

Think the beers have taken their toll for some folk tonight. 

Pishy breeks all over the place because we didn't win 6-0 :laugh2:

9 minutes ago, Last Laff said:

We struggled against and should have lost against Ar ****ing Broath.

we are Heart of Midlothian.

Thats the problem. 

But we didn’t 

Same next weekend no one would be complaining 

No legs in the middle of the park and that is a major worry for me at Hampden next week!!

olly lee is so one paced it’s shocking.

halliday admitted himself a couple of weeks ago he was a good bit away from match fitness and it showed.
we are going to need legs in the middle not just for Saturday but the rest of the season 

Edited by 1874robbo

I thought we were much improved second half and should have run out easy winners. First half performance was a worry and was far too pedestrian but to give them the benefit of the doubt the injury may have disrupted us.

Arbroath are part time and got scudded 3-0 by Raith, so if we hadn’t won the seethe would have been well justified, but no harm done in the end

Winger and No 10 off for a holding midfielder and another left back...............yet Naismith has had few minutes before the hobo game! Smells to me Naismith can't play???

4 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

The problem is we have lots of fans who apparently think we will win 6-0 every week.. doesn’t work like that.. this division will be a fight more often than not especially away from home.

great result, average performance.. I’ll take it .. 

won every competitive game so far? 

Possibly the same fans who kept saying on here that we'd "skoosh this league".     We may well win the league,  but a lot of the  games will be an ugly slog like tonight's.    Time for some fans to adjust their expectations in line with reality.            

On games like tonight

I like to remember games against the OF. Games where we gave it a right good go and had the better chances. Then one of their better players would come along and take the game away from us.

I wonder if the OF fans slaughtered their team after those matches. 

Have to say really surprised Naismith did not get some minutes tonight. He is either miles off full fitness or there is some mileage to the rumours him and Neilson have had a wee fall out. 

as mentioned above worried about central midfield next week and really hope Roberts and Gino are fit.  

But 100% record in competitive games and Wighton are positives.  

3 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Possibly the same fans who kept saying on here that we'd "skoosh this league".     We may well win the league,  but a lot of the  games will be an ugly slog like tonight's.    Time for some fans to adjust their expectations in line with reality.            

I thought and think we'll skoosh the league, but with a large number of odd-goal wins in drafty grounds by the sea.

23 minutes ago, pointon said:

95% of posters don’t understand football and don’t have the mental capacity for objective thought. Makes this place unbearable ...

38 minutes ago, Leveins Battalion said:

Absolutely shite performance tonight.

4 minutes ago, Haringshairband said:

Another 3 points, my problem is i can't get off work next week :seething:

Feel your pain

2 minutes ago, Mr Elwood P said:

95% of posters don’t understand football and don’t have the mental capacity for objective thought. Makes this place unbearable ...

Bang on the money 

As a matter of interest, what were peoples thoughts when we scraped a 1-0 against Auchinleck, a junior side, at home in 2012 on our way to winning the Scottish Cup? A game we were lucky to win. 

The pish must have been running down the steps of the stands in waves. 

Have a bit of perspective. 

Just now, Salad Fingers said:

As a matter of interest, what were peoples thoughts when we scraped a 1-0 against Auchinleck, a junior side, at home in 2012 on our way to winning the Scottish Cup? A game we were lucky to win. 

Copy and paste effort for every one nil win against sea side teams including Cowdenbeath.

4 minutes ago, Mr Elwood P said:

When even winning match threads become a moan-fest you have to wonder what the point is.

White done more when he came on than frear really have high hopes for him now he's fitter looks better higher up the pitch 

2 minutes ago, Salad Fingers said:

Had a lot more shots at goal that night. Goalkeeper had a blinder. 

20 minutes ago, Last Laff said:

How do you conclude that we should have lost?

Scored more goals than them, more possession, more shots, more shots on target...and that was us playing very poorly.

Arbroath don’t deserve a ‘bonus win’ just because we toiled to get past them.

19 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

No legs in the middle of the park and that is a major worry for me at Hampden next week!!

olly lee is so one paced it’s shocking.

halliday admitted himself a couple of weeks ago he was a good bit away from match fitness and it showed.
we are going to need legs in the middle not just for Saturday but the rest of the season 

Lee was the one player showing some creativity. I think we missed Irving. Any 3 of Irving, Haring and Lee should be our centre mids with Halliday as back-up. My worry with Halliday vs Hibs is that a physical, all action player like him who is off the pace can get sent off very easily against better opponents. Just takes one moment of him forgetting he's off the pace and mis-timing a tackle.

27 minutes ago, Last Laff said:

we are Heart of Midlothian.

Thats the problem. 

We 'should' have lost?

Visit your GP. The drugs do work.

Edited by Forza Cuore

1 minute ago, JamboGraham said:

How do you conclude that we should have lost?

Scored more goals than them, more possession, more shots, more shots on target...and that was us playing very poorly.

Arbroath don’t deserve a ‘bonus win’ just because we toiled to get past them.

They where the better team.  A part time shit house with a couple of weeks training.

1 minute ago, alanjambo said:

There is no problem. Some games are hard to win. Anyone who has a problem with that doesn't understand football.

Problem comes when we play better teams. 

3 minutes ago, Last Laff said:

Copy and paste effort for every one nil win against sea side teams including Cowdenbeath.

:laugh2: Aye okay. 

Would personally take 1-0 away wins all season but that's because I am happy to see Hearts win. 

41 minutes ago, pointon said:

No one has a problem with winning games.

The problem is struggling to win these games and accepting these struggles catches up on you......see last season.

Just now, Last Laff said:

They where the better team.  A part time shit house with a couple of weeks training.

No they weren’t. They fluffed 3 or 4 scrappy chances, other than that every minute of the game Hearts controlled the game. 

2 minutes ago, Last Laff said:

Did you watch the game? Cos they weren't the better team by any measure. They were well-organised which we expected because of their very experienced manager.

Just now, Last Laff said:

Were they the better team because we didn’t beat them more comprehensively?

1 minute ago, Gambo said:

No one has a problem with winning games.

The problem is struggling to win these games and accepting these struggles catches up on you......see last season.

But not last time in the Championship where we did struggle in some games.

We will play a lot better in the future and lose games...

Surely the only thing that's actually important is

3 points won !! 

4FDDBE70-57AD-4709-A6B1-5BB16D088D72.jpeg