Draft beer machines @ home

graygo

Walter Payton

I understand that if you open a keg, you've got 30 days to get through it. How long will an unopened keg be ok for if you leave it in the fridge? Just wondering how many kegs to buy at once :)

• Replies 1.2k

• graygo

• Sooperstar

• Tott

• muldoon74

4 minutes ago, Walter Payton said:

I understand that if you open a keg, you've got 30 days to get through it. How long will an unopened keg be ok for if you leave it in the fridge? Just wondering how many kegs to buy at once :)

They have use by dates on them. Normally you get a few months, sometimes longer but can be as short as 6 weeks. If it says it goes out of date in September then it is the end, rather than thr start. They'll be good for a few months after the best before too, without you being able to notice any deterioration in quality.

And you don't have to keep them in the fridge if they are unopened.

Edited by Sooperstar

43 minutes ago, Tott said:

Oktoberfest  beers are in out in a few weeks time.

Didn't have the PD last time they came out...

Anybody get them last year?

Any noticeable difference from the normal beers?

Spaten & lowernbru oktoberfest are quite nice... But strong... Wee wobble on  after 3/4 pints lol

4 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

They have use by dates on them. Normally you get a few months, sometimes longer but can be as short as 6 weeks. If it says it goes out of date in September then it is the end, rather than thr start. They'll be good for a few months after the best before too, without you being able to notice any deterioration in quality.

My standard 3 keg order is generally on its way back to Beerhawk within a fortnight of delivery, so have never had the mind to check the bbf dates. 🤷‍♂️

2 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

My standard 3 keg order is generally on its way back to Beerhawk within a fortnight of delivery, so have never had the mind to check the bbf dates. 🤷‍♂️

I cannae even use mine anymore. I just buy kegs for other people now.

20 minutes ago, Cyber said:

Spaten & lowernbru oktoberfest are quite nice... But strong... Wee wobble on  after 3/4 pints lol

Bad enough on the normal stuff 🙂

Not a major fan of Spaten ,but Lowenbrau  is fantastic pint on the PD.

39 minutes ago, Tott said:

Bad enough on the normal stuff 🙂

Not a major fan of Spaten ,but Lowenbrau  is fantastic pint on the PD.

Lowernbru is a quality pint... But gives me such a banging headache next day. 

Walter Payton
13 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Cheers Sooperstar, much appreciated!

4 hours ago, allyby said:

Lowenbrau Oktoberfest out now, I just got three.

Had three in the basket ,however wouldn't let me check out , site kept on crashing.

Gave up in the end

2 hours ago, Tott said:

Had three in the basket ,however wouldn't let me check out , site kept on crashing.

Gave up in the end

They sold out in under two hours, unlucky mate but the Spaten should be out soon as well just keep looking.

23 hours ago, allyby said:

They sold out in under two hours, unlucky mate but the Spaten should be out soon as well just keep looking.

I missed out too, more being released end of the month so hopefully get some then.

• 3 weeks later...
13 minutes ago, Tott said:

Free Stein on the build a bundle link.

Oktoberfest Build Your Own Keg Pack (beerhawk.co.uk)

According to Conrad on the FB group, its max of   two  per customer of each beer. Though doesn't say so on the website .

Discount code still works with the build a bundle link.

I couldn't get the discount code to work on the bundles.

Anyone got one of the sub machines, was looking at the PD vs the sub yesterday thinking I may treat myself? Got the feeling the choice was better on the sub for me. Are both systems effectively tied to beerwulf and beerhawk or are there independent providers as well?

19 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

Anyone got one of the sub machines, was looking at the PD vs the sub yesterday thinking I may treat myself? Got the feeling the choice was better on the sub for me. Are both systems effectively tied to beerwulf and beerhawk or are there independent providers as well?

I’ve got a Sub machine and I really like it. I appear to be in the minority though as most of the feedback I’ve seen is quite negative. A lot of people appear to have problems pouring the beer and find it too frothy. I’ve never had this problem myself.
Beerwulf appear to have a monopoly on Sub kegs.You need to buy 8 kegs to get free delivery, although I think there are some shops where you can buy single Subs.I like the fact that the Sub kegs are only 2 litres as it means I can change beer types more often.

Edited by buzz

31 minutes ago, buzz said:

I’ve got a Sub machine and I really like it. I appear to be in the minority though as most of the feedback I’ve seen is quite negative. A lot of people appear to have problems pouring the beer and find it too frothy. I’ve never had this problem myself.
Beerwulf appear to have a monopoly on Sub kegs.You need to buy 8 kegs to get free delivery, although I think there are some shops where you can buy single Subs.I like the fact that the Sub kegs are only 2 litres as it means I can change beer types more often.

To be fair you can change kegs on the PD without having to finish the keg. Beerhawk have the monopoly on kegs for the PD although there are plenty shops who sell at the same price (minus any discounts), you can also buy slightly cheaper from European suppliers but heard some stories of goods not turning up.

2 hours ago, Tott said:

£5 in free beer tokens if you subscribe to beerhawks newsletter.

Though have to use them by 31st october.

PerfectDraft | Draft Week (beerhawk.co.uk)

or if anybody is looking for a Perfect Draft machine.

use referral code  PDRJ3BI278XODQL gets you 15% off 👍

PerfectDraft Bundles | Beer Hawk

Got mine added today, lasts 6 months mate. 

Edit: I can see in the email it does say end of October.

Screenshot_20211025-165252.png

Edited by Awbdy Oot

4 hours ago, Tott said:

£5 in free beer tokens if you subscribe to beerhawks newsletter.

Though have to use them by 31st october.

PerfectDraft | Draft Week (beerhawk.co.uk)

or if anybody is looking for a Perfect Draft machine.

use referral code  PDRJ3BI278XODQL gets you 15% off 👍

Thanks TOTT, just hit the bid and ordered one!

4 hours ago, Awbdy Oot said:

Got mine added today, lasts 6 months mate. 

Edit: I can see in the email it does say end of October.

Screenshot_20211025-165252.png

Noticed that when i signed into beerhawk   ,not like beerhawk to create confusion on a new promotion 👍

On 25/10/2021 at 18:10, Japan Jambo said:

Thanks TOTT, just hit the bid and ordered one!

Mind and use the 15PDKT code if ordering kegs direct from beerhawk. Give's you 15% of kegs ,if you buy in multiples of three.

oh and cheers for using the referral code 👍

PDRJ3BI278XODQL if anybody else is interested in 15% of the bundles.

Code expires end of the month

6 minutes ago, Tott said:

Mind and use the 15PDKT code if ordering kegs direct from beerhawk. Give's you 15% of kegs ,if you buy in multiples of three.

oh and cheers for using the referral code 👍

PDRJ3BI278XODQL if anybody else is interested in 15% of the bundles.

Code expires end of the month

No worries, thanks for posting - hopefully they give you something too!!

On 12/10/2021 at 18:45, Sooperstar said:

If anyone is looking to buy a machine or bundle then I have a referral code which can be used for 15% off.

Don't use Tott's 20 digit code, just use this nice easy one PDRZW1S.

What are folks faves on this? Tucking into the Club Tropicana which was really well reviewed and feel it's someway short of a Punk or a Neck Oil...

27 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

What are folks faves on this? Tucking into the Club Tropicana which was really well reviewed and feel it's someway short of a Punk or a Neck Oil...

Only Tiny rebel i have  tried on PD is Cali Pale which was decent enough, but don't think i would rush out and buy again.

Crew republic's drunken sailor  and Jaipur are both excellent, though not  in stock just now are meant to be back in the next week or so..

4 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

anyone else noticed a leakage problem - keg is showing as practically empty with 25 days to go

Aye all mine have done that, some even quicker. 😄

12 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

anyone else noticed a leakage problem - keg is showing as practically empty with 25 days to go?

Heavy weekend ? 😂

To be honest the day counter is pretty irrelevant to how much is in the keg. The amount in the keg counter is also a pretty vague guide for me too. 

3 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Heavy weekend ? 😂

To be honest the day counter is pretty irrelevant to how much is in the keg. The amount in the keg counter is also a pretty vague guide for me too. 

Have to confess to being somewhat pissed off Saturday tea time 🤣

Anyone else feel the pints get better after the first two or three? To be clear I don't mean in one session!! I'd heard folks recommending storing kegs upside down (for weissbier). 

magicjohnston

Thinking about getting a PD, kept thinking I should wait for a potential black Friday sale. But see there is a PD tiny rebel bundle for £256. Quite tempted, any other discount codes floating about noticed some above, but none valid anymore :)

22 hours ago, Byyy The Light said:

https://www.thebeerclub.ie/collections/beer-dispenser-units/products/5-litre-chilled-beer-keg-dispenser

Anyone got one of these or know anything about them? I’ve got a PD but like idea of being able to nip up to Stewart Brewing or down to Tempest to get a keg or growler filled

no but licking my lips at that Kolsch !!

1 hour ago, Tott said:

261463930_6504114109659884_3082259432559

Perfect draft's latest offering.

omg, prayers are answered. don't see it offered yet though...

Edited by Japan Jambo

4 hours ago, Tott said:

261463930_6504114109659884_3082259432559

Perfect draft's latest offering.

I've heard it will be their most expensive beer at around the £40 mark. 😲

Edit: £41.90

Seen this though.

Punk keg! Here's the true cost breakdown.

41.90 for keg, take off your 15% if you add it onto a 3 keg order makes it £35.61

Add your beer tokens earnt 35x0.05 = 1.75 (every Little helps) - £33.97

Take off your fiver for keg return - £28.97

Divide by 10.5 = £2.75 a pint.

Still a quid cheaper than spoons.

I have too much time on my hands 🤷🏼

Edited by Awbdy Oot

3 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

omg, prayers are answered. don't see it offered yet though...

You can sign up to be among the first to know although that doesn't usually work. This week though apparently.

Use code 15PDKT gets you 15% off on multiples of 3 kegs.

Bought a keg earlier. It is quite expensive, but I do like Punk.

4 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

It's there now, no offers though.

3 minutes ago, Do The Dance said:

Use code 15PDKT gets you 15% off on multiples of 3 kegs.

Bought a keg earlier. It is quite expensive, but I do like Punk.

thanks!

Ok! who's DBM has had the biggest leak (Awbdy oot) over the last 12 month?...:unsure2:

Lightweight, nothing to see here or lush?

22 kegs purchased, average 4.23 pints a week...but we all know, that doesn't happen.

5 hours ago, OBE said:

Ok! who's DBM has had the biggest leak (Awbdy oot) over the last 12 month?...:unsure2:

Lightweight, nothing to see here or lush?

22 kegs purchased, average 4.23 pints a week...but we all know, that doesn't happen.

I'm not that bad, quick look shows I've bought 29 kegs with 1 still in the machine and 1 unopened.

Edit: Plus however many I've bought from the shop in Wallyford. :whistling:

Edited by Awbdy Oot